Friday, July 31, 2015

Review: The Child Garden A Novel by Catriona McPherson






24586135
Title: The Child Garden
Author: Catriona McPherson
Published: Sept. 8, 2015
Publisher: Midnight Ink
Pages: 336
Genre: Mystery/Thrillers
Review: Ebook provided by NetGalley and the publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk






Eden was its name. "An alternative school for happy children." But it closed in disgrace after a student's suicide. Now it's a care home, its grounds neglected and overgrown. Gloria Harkness is its only neighbor, staying close to her son who lives there in the home, lighting up her life and breaking her heart each day.
When a childhood friend turns up at her door, Gloria doesn't hesitate before asking him in. He claims a girl from Eden is stalking him and has goaded him into meeting her at the site of the suicide. Only then, the dead begin to speak—it was murder, they say.
Gloria is in over her head before she can help it. Her loneliness, her loyalty, and her all-consuming love for her son lead her into the heart of a dark secret that threatens everything she lives for.

#PaperbackFriday Dark Inside and Rage Within by Jeyn Roberts


Today is one of my favorite days. I get to read paperbacks!!!!! Yes I love both of my kindles, and my nooks but something about a paperback just calls to ya. 
I went to my local library and was looking in the YA section when I saw the cover of Rage Within it called to me. First the book's cover looked like a book I had on my kindle and so I had to get it to see. Luckily it was a totally different book than what I had on my kindle, that one had zombies in the background so it was the truck that made me think it was similar. 
Any way, I noticed Rage Within was book two and I started to search for book one as you can't read book two first what would I be missing? I found book one Dark Inside two books over, grabbed it and didn't even think to read if the book was going to be bad or not. 
Hey what kind of life is it in a book readers world if you don't take chances on books.

So below is the synopsis of each book!

Dark Inside #1:
  Since the beginning of mankind, civilizations have fallen: the Romans, the Greeks, the Aztecs...and now us. Huge earthquakes rock the world. Cities are destroyed. But something even more awful is happening: An ancient evil has been unleashed, and it's turning everyday people into hunters, killers, and crazies. This is the world Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are living in--or rather, trying to survive. Each is fleeing unspeakable horror, from murderous chaos to brutal natural disasters, and each is traveling the same road in a world gone mad. Amid the throes of the apocalypse and clinging to love and meaning wherever it can be found, these four teens are on a journey into the heart of darkness--and to find each other and a place of safety.



Rage Within #2: 
Aries, Clementine, Mason and Michael have survived the first wave of the apocalypse that wiped out most of the world’s population, and turned many of the rest into murderous Baggers. Now, they’re hiding out in an abandoned house in Vancouver with a ragtag group of surviving teens, and trying to figure out their next move.

Aries is trying to lead, but it’s hard to be a leader when there are no easy answers, and every move feels wrong. Clementine is desperate to find her brother Heath, but it’s impossible to know where he’d be, even if he is still alive. Michael is still haunted by the memories of his actions during his harrowing struggle to survive. And Mason is struggling with something far worse: the fear that he may be a danger to his friends.

As the Baggers begin to create a new world order, Aries, Clementine, Mason and Michael will have to trust and rely on each other in order to survive.

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Interview and excerpt with Author Valarie Savage Kinney

Thank you so much Valarie for reaching out and doing an interview. I love authors who do interviews and are willing to let us into your lives just a bit!







25848622
Title: Slither
Author: Valarie Savage Kinney
Published: July 2, 2015
Publisher: Twisted Core Press
Pages: 175
Genre: Horror
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


We're often told tales of the underworlds to feed the darkest corners of our nightmares. We tuck them away with the sunlight and laugh away the fear our minds created. But the daylight offers no relief for Zari. She's hidden her waking nightmare as nothing more than a damaged past. The venom of her secrets consumes her, as well as those she cares for most. Emmett, the love of her life and the only one with a past dark enough to respect her space, becomes a pawn in the war against the demonic force which is her bloodright. Can Zari overpower those out to get her to feed on the innocent? Can she save Emmett from the evil of Slither?




Excerpt from Slither:
Zari clawed at her sister, Gianna, in a desperate attempt to escape. Gianna ran her forked tongue slowly across her upper lip. The slimy, berry-colored muscle dripped hot saliva onto Zari’s face as she turned away from Gianna’s menacing glare. “Please don’t make me watch! I don’t want to see this again!” Zari cried, curling into a ball on the hard, cold floor of the shed.
Nan stomped on Zari’s stomach, anger flushing her grizzled features. “Listen, you little bitch. You will sit still and watch, or I will see to it your father beats you senseless…again. Remember the last time?” Zari did remember. She’d not been able to walk for two days after the last beating. The pain in her gut now was so great it knocked the air from her lungs as she wheezed.
Zari whimpered. Pain, shame and disgust clenched her stomach as the young man tied to the pallet in the corner screamed for mercy. Pop straddled the man, laughing as his prisoner frantically thrashed about. Nan and Gianna gripped Zari’s arms and forced her to a sitting position. Roughly grabbing her chin, Nan yanked her head forward. “Watch!” Nan hissed.
Terror shook Zari’s bones, leaving her shivering as she raised her eyes to the scene in the corner of the shed. Pop ran his thumb over the lips of the man, who cried out once more but was quickly silenced when the snake burst forth from Pop’s mouth and slithered down the throat of the drifter who had stopped by the farmhouse the day before, looking for work.
The man’s body had stilled and dark, thick rivers of blood dripped from his mouth and nose down the side of his face. Pop’s mouth pressed against the lips of the stranger as the serpent fed. When her father finally rose, the snake slid back into his mouth and Pop wiped the blood from his lips with the back of his hand. He met Zari’s gray-green eyes with his own, and grinned. His teeth were stained dark red.
Gianna’s split tongue flicked against Zari’s ear; the feel of the wet, dual points of it against her skin made Zari flinch. “Soon,” Gianna whispered, tracing the outer edge of Zari’s ear with her tongue. “Soon, it will be your turn to feed.”



1.) Do you have to have matching colored socks?

I’d prefer to be barefoot, and stick with flip flops until the snow in Michigan forces me to wear socks and boots. When forced to wear socks, I try to stick with the same color, if not the same actual style.

2.) Have you ever had a nightmare and were able to remember it?

I have always been prone to nightmares, the sort that are so vivid it feels entirely real, and I can remember even as a child waking up and still seeing the nightmare going on around me in my room. The earliest memory I have of this is when I was seven and went with my sister and mom to see E.T. at the theater. The next night and for weeks after, I dreamed that E.T. was in my house trying to kill us all. I would wake up and see him clearly in my room, then in the hallway, even downstairs in the kitchen when I tried to run. My parents tried to break me of the habit of climbing into their bed during my nightmares and locked their door. I took my pillow from my bed and went to the next door neighbor’s house, screaming and pounding on their front door. The woman there let me in and gave me chocolate milk and called my mother.

3.) How old were you when you first started writing?

I started writing poetry in seventh grade and short stories in high school. In tenth grade, I wrote a bit for the high school newspaper.

4.) Do you have any pets?

I have two dogs. Zoey, a hysterical, five year old papillon/poodle cross, and Ziva, a super sassy four year old yorkie.

5.) One place you would love to live or at least visit?

Ireland.

6.) Who is one author you would go fangirl or fanboy over?

Diana Gabaldon. She answered a tweet from me one time. I immediately screenshotted it and started screaming about it in the grocery store. My husband thought I had lost my marbles.

7.) If you could be a pirate would you?


I already am a pirate. I work a Ren Fest every year through June, and I’ve got the tricorn to prove it.




Valarie Savage Kinney


Valarie Kinney is a writer, fiber artist and Renaissance Festival junkie with a wicked caffeine addiction. She resides in Michigan with her husband, four children, and two insane little dogs. She is the author of Slither and Just Hold On. Narrator for Dragons of Faith.



https://www.facebook.com/ValarieSavageKinney
https://twitter.com/kinneychaos
https://www.goodreads.com/ValarieSavageKinney
https://organizingchaosandothermisadventures.wordpress.com/
amazon.com/author/valariekinney


Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Review: The Swiss Family RobinZOM (Book 5) The Classic Family Adventure... Now With Zombies! by: Perrin Briar



Title: The Swiss Family RobinZom 5
Author: Perrin Briar
Published: July 27, 2015
Pages: 97
Genre: YA/action/zombies
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



A shipwreck; a deserted island; a horde of zombies; a single family fighting to survive.
A new type of zombie has made an entrance on the island. It is the virus in its purest form, bypassing any limitations the human consciousness might have imposed on it. The family come against the most difficult adversary they have yet faced. The solution to their problem comes from the most unlikeliest of places.

The classic tale, inspired by Robinson Crusoe, written by Johann David Wyss, adapted by Perrin Briar, is an adrenalin-pumping adventure of zombie survival. If your family was trapped on an island, what would you do?

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Summer Blog Hop: Duke of Devonwood by Carly Carson








Title: Duke of Devonwood
Author: Carly Carson
Publisher: Cupid Publishing
Pages: 269
Genre: Contemporary Romance (Billionaire)
Buy Link: Amazon









TEASER: Sparks fly as Miranda plots to gain control of her inheritance from a modern day Duke who tries

his best to resist her wiles. Can both of them win?








Miranda's father left her inheritance under the trusteeship of a Duke of England? Did he not realize this is the twenty-first century? She is certainly capable of managing her own money. More importantly, she needs that money to start her business, and to keep her family together.
She is not about to sit around while some arrogant Duke tells her what she can do with her own inheritance. Luckily, she's determined, hard-working, and a touch devious. She vows to do whatever it takes to foil the Duke...
The Duke of Devonwood doesn't want more dependents. With an entire dukedom to run, plus his father's second family to manage, he has too many people hanging on his coattails already. But this headstrong American, Miranda, won't take 'no' for an answer. In fact, she soon has his other dependents conniving with her—and against him.
He could handle the problem...if only she weren't so enticing.

Monday, July 27, 2015

Interview and Giveaway with Author Tilia Jacobs

I actually read two books by this author. Wrong Place, Wrong Time and Second Helpings at the Serve You Right Cafe. Both were very good books my review can be found by clicking on the titles of the books above. I was very happy to have the author contact me to do an interview. I love getting to know an author by interviews even if they are silly questions at times. So below I introduce you to Tilia Klebenov Jacobs and at the bottom make sure you enter into the giveaway for the ebook 






Tilia Klebenov Jacobs
Tilia Klebenov Jacobs holds a BA from Oberlin College, where she double-majored in Religion and English with a concentration in Creative Writing. Following an interregnum as an outdoor educator with the Fairfax County Park Authority in Virginia, she earned a Master of Theological Studies from Harvard Divinity School and a Secondary School Teaching Certification from the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Despite lacking the ability to breathe fire except in the strictly metaphorical sense, Tilia has taught middle school, high school, and college. She has also won numerous awards for her fiction and nonfiction writing. She is a judge in the Soul-Making Keats Literary Competition, and she teaches writing to prison inmates. Tilia lives near Boston with her husband, two children, and two standard poodles












1. Are you working on anything new?

Yes, and it’s a real break from my last two books, both of which are crime novels. I have two kids, and I promised them I would write something they were allowed to read. The current opus, as yet untitled, is a children’s fantasy story about a set of twins rescuing their parents from an evil count. ‘Nuff said!

2. What made you start writing?

Learning to read, I suppose. I was your classic, nose-in-a-book kid, the kind who plunged so deeply into whatever book I was reading that I saw and heard the story as I read. At such times I didn’t always hear or see what was happening in real life, which I’m sure was alternately annoying and funny for my parents when they wanted me to do things like come to dinner, sleep, etc. From about first grade on I was writing stories in little books, certain that they would be published. I’m not sure what I was doing before then. Just loafing, I suppose.

3. Tell us one thing that we could not find on the Internet about you.

I’m not allergic to poison ivy. I could roll around naked in the stuff and not get a rash.

Please note that I do not plan to test this theory.

4. What is your favorite book that you could read over and over?

Knight’s Castle by Edward Eager. It’s a children’s story about two sets of cousins who are thrown together one summer, and end up getting sucked into a magical adventure with the characters of Ivanhoe. It’s witty and exciting and marvelously inventive. I first read it when I was eight, and it still enchants me—pun fully intended.

5. What is your favorite T.V. show or what show are you looking forward to seeing?

I don't generally have favorites; more like a rotating Top Ten list. Currently I love Castle for its banter and the partnership between Castle and Beckett. I love Dancing with the Stars for its elegance and the thrill of watching people strive to improve and break out of their comfort zones. I am in awe of Phineas and Ferb for its intricate plotting and unfailing cleverness, and I love The Daily Show for Jon Stewart’s incisive wit and unswaying moral core.

6. What is your earliest childhood memories?

Believe it or not, I remember lying in my crib and batting at the toys that were strung across it. Part of what convinces me this is a genuine memory is the fact that no one would string toys on a crib these days, because it would be a strangulation hazard for the baby.

7. Looking back what advice would you give yourself if you were younger?

I went through high school and college with an undiagnosed learning disability that made reading very difficult. Since I double-majored in Religion and English with a concentration in Creative Writing, I leave it to you to imagine what my academic life was like. I was lucky to find an excellent vision therapist who helped me a lot before I went to graduate school, and I’m very grateful; but if I could get my fourteen-year-old self tested and diagnosed, even my current self would thank me for it.

8. Do you have an author that you would fan girl over?

JK Rowling. I’m sure I would babble like a complete idiot if I ever met her. I admire her on every level. She has written some of the finest fantasy novels ever, and the richness of their universe is unsurpassed. She went on to create adult fiction that is very good and completely different from the Harry Potter books—if you didn’t know they were written by the same person, you’d never guess.

I admire her fortitude in writing the first Harry Potter book when she was a single welfare mother. It took seven years to get it published, but she never gave up. And I admire her as a person, because she has been enormously generous with her well-earned fortune, supporting children’s charities and other good works. Finally, the fact that she is the master of the well-worded smack-down whenever anyone disrespects her online only makes me love her all the more.

9. Have you thought about writing outside of the genre you are currently writing in?

I’ve never thought about staying in my current genre. I don’t only read crime novels, so why write only crime novels? Sitting on my desk right now are Romeo and Juliet, The Borrowers, and an early PG Wodehouse novel. I also love fantasy (Narnia, Middle Earth, a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away). Finally, really good nonfiction has a thrill all its own, and I’m pleased to say I’ve published some of my own.

10. Fun question: Do you have to have matching socks?

Sort of! If they’re not matched, they have to be deliberately mismatched and thus complimentary. I used to get socks in “pairs of three” from Little Mismatched. They’re great fun.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Review: Draw the Dark by Ilsa J. Bick

7811598
Title: Draw The Dark
Author: Ilsa J. Bick
Published: Oct. 1, 2201
Publisher: Carolrhoda Books
Pages: 328
Genre: YA
Review: Hardback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk, Barnes and Noble














There are things in Winter, Wisconsin, folks just don't talk about. The murder way back in '45 is one. The near-suicide of a first-grade teacher is another. And then there is 17-year old Christian Cage. Christian's parents disappeared when he was a little boy, and ever since he's drawn and painted obsessively, trying desperately to remember his mother. The problem is Christian doesn't just draw his own memories. He can draw the thoughts of those around him. Confronted with fears and nightmares they'd rather avoid, people have a bad habit of dying. So it's no surprise that Christian isn't exactly popular. What no one expects is for Christian to meet Winter's last surviving Jew and uncover one more thing best forgottenthe day the Nazi's came to town. Based on a little-known fact of the United States' involvement in World War II, Draw the Dark is a dark fantasy about reclaiming the forgotten past and the redeeming power of love.

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Review: Killing Secrets (Nan Vining Mysteries #5) by Dianne Emley


23395405
Title: Killing Secrets
Author: Dianne Emley
Pages: 277
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group- Alibi
Published: July 21, 2015
Genre: Murder/Mystery/Thriller
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and Publisher:
Buy links: Amazon, Amazon.co.uk, Barnes and Noble







For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner comes a razor-sharp novel of suspense featuring Detective Nan Vining—a single mother whose worlds collide when her teenage daughter stumbles upon a grisly double homicide.
When she gets the call, Nan Vining responds as a mother first and a detective second. Her daughter, Emily, has made a gruesome discovery in a secluded section of a Pasadena park: a pretty, popular young teacher from Emily’s high school and a bright yet troubled transfer student—both dead and bloody in a copse of trees. But the crime scene isn’t the only thing that seems off to Detective Vining. There’s also the cocky classmate who was with Emily in the park—the boyfriend she never knew about. What else doesn’t she know about her daughter?
As she attempts to channel both her maternal and investigative instincts into one single point of focus, Vining’s superiors at the Pasadena Police Department are moving at lightning speed. Before the evidence has even been processed, the case is closed as a clear-cut murder/suicide: a disturbed teenager murders his teacher, then takes his own life. Vining doesn’t buy it. Now she’s chasing dangerous, powerful people with secrets they would kill for—and taking them down means risking her own flesh and blood.

Consumed by NJ Flatman: Summer Blog Hop








Title: Consumed
Author: NJ Flatman
Published: June 5, 2015
Pages: 225
Genre: New Adult/Romance/Dark Romance
Buy Link: Amazon and Add to your TBR shelf Goodreads










The problem with a love that consumes you….is what do you do when it’s gone?
Avery Bradfield didn’t believe in soul mates or true love. She wasn’t sure she believed in love at all. That is, until she met Spencer Phillips. From day one, Avery found herself consumed by Spencer and the connection that the two of them shared. He taught her that she could feel alive, happy and bonded with another on a level that most couldn’t understand.
Until she wakes up and finds that Spencer has left her…..again.
Certain that this time her relationship is over for good, Avery is forced to endure a world that alternates between happy memories of a man she can’t forget and a darkness that consumes her nearly as much as he did.
Finding herself wondering if it is possible to exist in the world when half of her soul is missing, Avery is only sure of one thing- When pain consumes your every thought, you would do almost anything to make it stop.
Join Avery Bradfield and Spencer Phillips as they venture through a love that tests their limits, pushes them through their fears and shows them that sometimes addiction takes on many forms.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Review: Deadly Aid by Michel Tarou translated by Alexis Pernsteiner


24965066
Title: Deadly Aid
Author: Michel Tarou translated by Alexis Pernsteiner
Publisher: Amazon Crossing
Published: July 14, 2015
Pages: 206
Genre: Murder
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and Publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.co.uk













Jeanne Lebrec knows that in real life, criminals are rewarded and the virtuous suffer. As a social worker, she has dedicated herself to helping the poor, the desperate, and the down and out, but now it seems like all she sees are deadbeat dads and drug-addicted moms who use people and have no desire to better themselves.
One day, after a particularly heartbreaking case, Jeanne reaches her limit and does something unexpected—with deadly consequences. Before long, she’s secretly practicing her own twisted version of “social services.” In a world where bad guys win and good guys pay, is there a difference between justice and retribution?

Review: Susannah Screaming (Al Krug and Casey Kellogg #2) by Carolyn Weston

25468863
Title: Susannah Screaming
Author: Carolyn Weston
Publisher: Brash Books
Published: May 5, 2015
Pages: 224
Genre: Murder mystery
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and Publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.co.uk, Barnes and Noble
















THE SECOND BLOCKBUSTER THRILLER IN THE KRUG & KELLOG SERIES…WHICH BECAME THE HIT TV SHOW “THE STREETS OF SAN FRANCISCO”

It’s the turbulent 1970s, a time of social upheaval. University-educated ex-surfer Casey Kellog is the youngest homicide detective on the force. He’s teamed up with Al Krug, an older, tougher, street-wise cop resistant to change. Their latest case involves a vicious hit-and-run death: a driver in a Mercedes chases a motorcyclist, hits him, and then backs up over him again, making certain that he’s road kill. The investigation takes a bizarre turn when the victim is undressed in the morgue and the two cops discover that his corpse is plastic-wrapped in twenty-dollar bills…

Monday, July 20, 2015

High Summer Read-a-Thon 2015


I got invited to join in on this Read-a-Thon. It goes from July 20-26 I have never participated in something like this so it will be fun to see how it goes for me. I am not setting myself any goals as far as how many books I will read, but I will attempt to see if I can finish a book a day. Normally I read a book every two or three days, so push myself to read a book a day will be pretty awesome for me. Once I have my review up for any book I finish this week I will link my review to here so be on the look out. 

Day one starts now and I am reading Susannah Screaming by Carolyn Weston. 
The hashtag we will be using is #HSreadathon

7/20
Finished: Yes last night at 10:32 p.m.

7/21
Finished: Yes- 11:45 a.m. 

7/22
Finished: Yes 5:00 p.m. 

7/23
Finished: Yes- 6:50 a.m. 

7/24 
Finished: Yes 7:00 a.m.

7/25
Book/s read: Draw The Dark by Ilsa J. Bick 
Finished: No stopped on page 212 at 10:15 p.m. 

7/26
Finished:  5:30 p.m.




Cover Reveal: Turn of the Moon by L.P. Dover
















Title: Turn of the Moon

Author: L.P. Dover

Series: Royal Shifters series

Genre: Paranormal Romantic Suspense

Release date: 8/24 for iBooks, 8/25 all other retailers

Cover designer: Sara Eirew



One girl. Two wolves. Promised to one. Destined for the other.

To escape the cruel, overbearing, Kade, the Yukon Pack alpha she’s been promised to, Bailey Whitehill flees her home in search of a new life, one of freedom where she can make her own choices. However, Kade will stop at nothing to make her his and begins the hunt.

As Bailey starts her new life, everything she’s known to be true, is not. Time is of the essence and choices have to be made or consequences suffered. Not only does Bailey fear Kade, but another danger lurks deep in the recesses of the forest. Unbeknownst to her, that danger is what she’s been searching for all along. At the turn of the moon, her fate hangs in the balance . . . and it’s up to her to make the right choice.
There was a time when I lived for the pack, when I would do anything to save my people. The white wolves were slowly reducing in number, and now everyone was desperate, struggling to make ends meet before we were wiped into extinction. I was twenty-four years old, and a daughter of the Northern pack alpha. It was my duty to continue my lineage. The only problem was, there were no other unmated alphas around other than my best friend, Sebastian, and the supreme douche, Kade Whitemore.

There was no way in hell I was going to alliance myself with that rat bastard. He was alpha of the Yukon pack, violent, and an overbearing ass who’d rather see me on my back with my legs spread open than being his equal. I’d rather die than be forced to be his mate for all eternity. Why couldn’t I mate with Sebastian? Thinking of fucking him gave me the willies, but anything was better than Kade.


Anger racked my body and I sat there, seething . . . until I felt him. He was coming for me; I could sense him drawing near. The closer we got to the meadow, the more I could smell Kade and his excitement—his lust. Hopefully, he could smell the rage and disgust coming from me.


NYT and USA Today Bestselling author, L.P. Dover, is a southern belle residing in North Carolina along with her husband and two beautiful girls. Before she even began her literary journey she worked in Periodontics enjoying the wonderment of dental surgeries. Not only does she love to write, but she loves to play tennis, go on mountain hikes, white water rafting, and you can’t forget the passion for singing. Her two number one fans expect a concert each and every night before bedtime and those songs usually consist of Christmas carols. Aside from being a wife and mother, L.P. Dover has written over nine novels including her Forever Fae series, the Second Chances series, and her standalone novel, Love, Lies, and Deception. Her favorite genre to read is romantic suspense and she also loves writing it. However, if she had to choose a setting to live in it would have to be with her faeries in the Land of the Fae.