Posts

NetGalley: Home is Where the Bodies Are by Jeveva Ros

Image
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Published: 4/30/2024 Pages: 270 Genre: murder mystery Review: NetGalley Amazon After their mother passes, three estranged siblings reunite to sort out her estate. Beth, the oldest, never left home. She stayed with her mom, caring for her until the very end. Nicole, the middle child, has been kept at arm's length due to her ongoing battle with a serious drug addiction. Michael, the youngest, lives out of state and hasn't been back to their small Wisconsin town since their father ran out on them seven years before. While going through their parent's belongings, the siblings stumble upon a collection of home videos and decide to revisit those happier memories. However, the nostalgia is cut short when one of the VHS tapes reveals a night back in 1999 that none of them have any recollection of. On screen, their father appears covered in blood. What follows is a dead body and a pact between their parents to get rid of it, before the video abruptl

Information about Amazon and how I can not post

I have been getting some emails that ask me if I could review books which I can still review. I am a bit slower in getting reviews out because of work and having a senior, so I am trying to get him ready to be out in the world. Running the household, doing home renovations, keeping my baby from breaking her arm again, and getting her ready for All Stars and travel ball. It is a busy busy time I feel like more busy than it has been in the past.  With that said, I can review it here and in Goodreads. Amazon has taken away my right to write reviews because I wrote two reviews. They said it violated their terms of service, and there was nothing they could do. I am not sure why I looked over my reviews and found nothing wrong, and trying to find someone to actually talk to has been a hassle. They don't care about their customers but are quick to not let you write reviews as you are speaking your mind and just take your money.  If you have any tips on how I could get them to let me revie

NetGalley: Crime Paradise #3 by Gene Desrochers

Image
Publisher: Acorn Publishing Published: 12/12/2023 Pages: 305 Genre: Mystery/murder Review: NetGalley  Amazon Three dead bodies. One prime suspect. Boise wakes up after his latest adventure in drinking to find that he’s the prime suspect in a murder atrocious enough to startle even the hardened citizens of St. Thomas. The road to salvation lies on a dark path into his past that leads him from the Virgin Islands’ prison system, to Los Angeles, where his beloved wife, Evelyn, was killed. Along the way, Boise enlists the assistance of his long-time mentor, a cagy volunteer from the non-profit organization, and a self-involved attorney who specializes in defending drug dealers. As Boise uncovers hidden facts about the victims and their connection to his life, he realizes that to get to the truth, he’ll have to confront both his personal demons and the sins of his family from long ago.

Library Book: The Hacker Ericka Blackwood Files #1 Daniel Scanlan

Image
Publisher: Head of Zeus Published: 9/1/2022 Pages: 351 Genre: Thriller Review: Library book Amazon He's online. He's anonymous. He's deadly. When a video surfaces on the dark web showing a murder no one else could have witnessed, FBI Special Agent Ericka Blackwood must race to catch the killer. But the case is even darker than Ericka thought. Hidden behind an avatar named Dantalion, a criminal mastermind is feeding his sadistic appetites by directing the crimes of others - and he may have been orchestrating his schemes for years. As Ericka's investigation homes in on her target, the tables are suddenly turned. Dantalion knows that she is obsessed with tracking down the men who destroyed her sister's life, and has information that will enable her to find them. To exact her long-awaited revenge, Ericka will have to risk her career, her life, and the fate of Dantalion's future victims. But does vengeance come at too high a price?

The Last Time by Heather Kirchhoff

Image
Publisher: Self Published: 12/9/2023 Pages: 255 Genre: Realistic Fiction Review: Not sure where I got the book Amazon  Fans of Taylor Swift and Nicholas Sparks will enjoy this heartwarming story about a girl overcoming grief. How can you tell someone you love them if they’re gone? Sarah Hill and Ryan Smith had it all planned out. They were going to college together after high school, get married and start a family. That is until Ryan's suicide derailed it all. Now Sarah's haunted by questions as memories threaten to suffocate her. Their future disappears into dust before her eyes. However, shortly after his death, she receives unexpected news. Ryan's sweet cousin steps in to offer emotional support and becomes her salvation as they process through their grief. Will Sarah's secret ruin their budding friendship? Trigger warnings: mention of suicide, depression representation, bullying

NetGalley: On a Clear Day, You Can See Block Island by Gage Greenwood

Image
Publisher: Tanner Switch Publishing Published: 2/10/2024 Pages: 274 Genre: horror Review: NetGalley Amazon They left the island, but the island never left them. Four years after the Keating family endured the darkest experiences of their lives, the children are still fighting to move on. Charlie's anxiety has control of his life. Angela is afraid of the dark. Brian suffers from a drug addiction. Chrissy struggles to remember what happened to them, the details forever haunting the outskirts of her mind. But when new information comes to light about what they had witnessed, they make a plan to escape their problems once and for all. Sometimes, the only way to confront your demons is to face them head on, so the Keating siblings decide to go back to the island and call their monsters out of the darkness. They soon realize the terror awaiting is much more than they bargained for. On a Clear Day, You Can See Block Island is a coming of age horror novel about grief, PTSD, and how some h

Library book: The Only One Left by Riley Sager

Image
Publisher: Dutton Published: 6/20/2023 Pages: 308 Genre: Mystery Review: library book Amazon At seventeen, Lenora Hope Hung her sister with a rope Now reduced to a schoolyard chant, the Hope family murders shocked the Maine coast one bloody night in 1929. While most people assume seventeen-year-old Lenora was responsible, the police were never able to prove it. Other than her denial after the killings, she has never spoken publicly about that night, nor has she set foot outside Hope’s End, the cliffside mansion where the massacre occurred. Stabbed her father with a knife Took her mother’s happy life It’s now 1983, and home-health aide Kit McDeere arrives at a decaying Hope’s End to care for Lenora after her previous nurse fled in the middle of the night. In her seventies and confined to a wheelchair, Lenora was rendered mute by a series of strokes and can only communicate with Kit by tapping out sentences on an old typewriter. One night, Lenora uses it to make a tantalizing offer— I w