Tuesday, August 23, 2016

#PBwkendread Review: A Firefighter's Flame by D. Hart

21943342Title: A Firefighter's Flame
Author: Dani Hart
Published: March 7, 2014
Pages: 297
Genre: Romance, New Adult
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


Real Life can be a b*tch and living with bipolar disorder only made it harder. Add in a firefighter, a rock star, a crazy best friend, and all my bad choices and you have a recipe for disaster. But it was my life and my disaster and all my stupid choices made me who I am and nothing can be more beautiful than the truth.
Women's Fiction
WARNING: This is not your every day perfect love story wrapped in a pretty bow. It's raw, real, beautiful, and heartbreaking. It touches on issues of depression, bipolar, and an epic love story that everyone hopes to have, and might even have, but forgets in the chaos of mundane every day life. This is a REAL love story based on actual events of a man who loved a woman too deeply and a woman who loved a man the only way she could.

If you dig into the deepest parts of your soul, what would you find? Happiness, pain, love, regret, peace, sorrow? Now imagine experiencing all those feelings at once and then nothing at all. These were the average days in the life of Lennox Ashford.

Lennox walked a fine line between truth and deception, love and lust, and most of all, pain and happiness. A line had been drawn between highs and lows, testing her stability on a daily basis. She lived in between the grays of right and wrong, not knowing which way to sway. Strength was supposed to come from within, but being broken exposed her weaknesses instead.

She grew up believing in love and believing in Dean. He protected her when she was weak, picked her up when she fell, and fought for her when she couldn't. They lived for each other, and eventually, for their children.

High school, college, marriage, children, and many rocky days had taken a toll on their marriage, deepening Lennox's depression and screaming for a way out. She needed something. She needed a change. Fate intervened and the change she got was not what she expected nor wanted.

A tragic moment will test her already wavering strength and leave a permanent scar on her conscience. Follow her journey of rediscovering love and searching for her own fairy-tale ending

Monday, August 22, 2016

Review: Zombie High Chronicles 1 by Amy Miles

29345177Title: Zombie High Chronicles #1
Author: Amy Miles
Published: June 19, 2016
Pages: 170
Genre: Teens, Zombies
Review: ebook won in a giveaway
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




My name is Roan Sterling.
I am seventeen years old.
I am not infected.

Three months ago my world went to hell and never looked back. I knew long before the others that we were all officially screwed. Growing up as an army brat had taught me a few things. Like when the military enacted martial law and forced you to leave your home, a normal day would be anything but.

Life in the Safe Zone sucked. The soldiers could poke us like lab rats, load us up on buses bound for school and pretend like everything was normal, but I knew fear when I saw it and the soldiers manning the gates were gripping their guns just a little too hard for comfort. This place used to be a typical “last place on earth anything would ever happen” slice of suburbia. Until they happened.

Dead Heads. Stiffs. Lame Brains. We had a lot of names for them to replace dad, sister or son. Something flipped a switch in their brains and the lights went out, but I suspected that the blackout was only temporary. I’d seen things I wasn’t supposed to. The Dead Heads were starting to notice us for the first time.

Life at Zombie High was about to get a lot bloodier.

Book Reviews and so much more

Wow it has been a busy weekend. I didn't read anything as far as paperbacks go but I did read on my kindle of course. We have finished up school shopping and getting birthday items ready for this upcoming weekend it is like I have had no time to sit and breath.

So within the next few hours hopefully I will have some reviews up and posted before the kids come home from school. Right now I am in the blah mood only because my youngest minion started Pre-k and we all know how that goes for us moms and some of the dads.

Next weekend I am sure I won't be reading any paperbacks as I will be celebrating my daughter's 4th birthday and we will be busy doing arts and crafts with her friends.

The upcoming reviews will be of


  1. Zombie High Chronicles 1 by Amy Miles
  2. A Firefighter's Flame by D. Hart (Paperback)
  3. Cold, Cold Heart by Karin Slaughter 

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Review: Doll of Mine: a Dia de los Muertos Story by Lila Felix

23269372Title: Doll of Mine: A Dia do los Muertos Story
Author: Lila Felix
Published: Oct. 1, 2014
Publisher: Rebel Writer Productions
Pages: 26
Genre: Short Story, Teens, YA
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



*a horror short story*
In spite of her mother’s protests, Alma has decided to visit the Island of the Dolls on the day before El Dia de Los Muertos. She is bound and determined to go, sure that it is just an island that rumor has deemed haunted.
When she gets there, it is impossible to ignore the doll that seems to call to her.
But there are rules when you take a doll from the island.
Rules that can never be broken—unless you are willing to pay the price.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

#PBwkendread: A Firefighter's Flame by Dani Hart




So this weekend's read is going to a book I won called A Firefighter's Flame by Dani Hart. I am about 79 pages in and so far it is pretty good. 
The blurb I have on the back of the paperback I own is a whole lot different than the blurb I will post below. I can say though I am wondering what Lennox is going to do to find her own fairy tale ending. 


Real Life can be a b*tch and living with bipolar disorder only made it harder. Add in a firefighter, a rock star, a crazy best friend, and all my bad choices and you have a recipe for disaster. But it was my life and my disaster and all my stupid choices made me who I am and nothing can be more beautiful than the truth.
Women's Fiction
WARNING: This is not your every day perfect love story wrapped in a pretty bow. It's raw, real, beautiful, and heartbreaking. It touches on issues of depression, bipolar, and an epic love story that everyone hopes to have, and might even have, but forgets in the chaos of mundane every day life. This is a REAL love story based on actual events of a man who loved a woman too deeply and a woman who loved a man the only way she could.

If you dig into the deepest parts of your soul, what would you find? Happiness, pain, love, regret, peace, sorrow? Now imagine experiencing all those feelings at once and then nothing at all. These were the average days in the life of Lennox Ashford.

Lennox walked a fine line between truth and deception, love and lust, and most of all, pain and happiness. A line had been drawn between highs and lows, testing her stability on a daily basis. She lived in between the grays of right and wrong, not knowing which way to sway. Strength was supposed to come from within, but being broken exposed her weaknesses instead.

She grew up believing in love and believing in Dean. He protected her when she was weak, picked her up when she fell, and fought for her when she couldn't. They lived for each other, and eventually, for their children.

High school, college, marriage, children, and many rocky days had taken a toll on their marriage, deepening Lennox's depression and screaming for a way out. She needed something. She needed a change. Fate intervened and the change she got was not what she expected nor wanted.

A tragic moment will test her already wavering strength and leave a permanent scar on her conscience. Follow her journey of rediscovering love and searching for her own fairy-tale ending

Review: Splintered by Kelly Miller

28515770Title: Splintered
Author: Kelly Miller
Published: Jan. 26, 2016
Publisher: Kindle Press
Pages: 344
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Life turns from barely tolerable to complete hell when Maddy Eastin’s impulsive plan to win back the attention of her absentee father backfires. Word of her scheme spreads through her high school, but when mockery escalates to cyberbullying, Maddy and her failed stunt become headline news. But the worst is yet to come…
A disturbed man is fighting the overwhelming urge to surrender to his true nature—a moral code molded by a sadistic father who taught him that a girl needs proper training to become the perfect subservient woman. As he watches Maddy on the evening news, his already fractured psyche completely splinters. She’s the girl he’s been waiting for.
When Maddy disappears, she’s labeled a runaway even though her mother believes it was foul play. Will the detectives investigating Maddy’s disappearance find her before it’s too late? Or has she already fallen prey to the vicious stranger hunting her?

Review: The Charm by Jojo Debrazza

25290527Title: The Charm
Author: Jojo Debrazza
Published: March 24, 2015
Pages: 79
Genre: Teen, Sci-fi
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Extraordinary powers come with a price

Fifteen year old Luca has the charm, a gift he inherited from his mum. Charmers can control minds, but they abide by a code—to only use the power for good, and only with the person’s permission. Luca knows breaking the code is wrong, and his mum would kill him if he tried!
But when a rogue charmer uses the power for criminal means, the Restorative government jumps in. Luca’s mum is imprisoned and the Register for Charmers is announced. The media creates a frenzy of fear and suspicion against charmers.
Believing the family is in peril, and wishing to keep Luca’s gift a secret, Luca’s dad takes them to stay with a friend in the country. Here, Luca meets Fee, a computer genius who can hack into anything. Fee introduces Luca to an underground rebellion group of internet hackers who have their own issues with the Restoratives and their own way of protesting. Fearful of how the Restoratives are treating his mum in prison and concerned about their motives for creating the Register of Charmers, Luca must make an impossible choice—break the rules and use his gift or stand by and watch as the power is abused.