Posts

The Nursery (The Bayou Hauntings Book 3) by Bill Thompson

Image
Title: The Nursery
Author: Bill Thompson
Published: Dec 1, 2018
Publisher: Ascendente book
Genre: Ghost supernatural
Pages: 303
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




A house that sat empty for fifty years as its dead owner instructed. A locked room with no key. A single father with eight-year-old twin girls. A nursery from long, long ago that no child ever played in.There are eerie things going on at The Arbors in St. Francisville, Louisiana. Architect Jordan Blanchard is joined by his friend Callie Pilantro (“Callie – The Bayou Hauntings 1”) and Landry Drake (“Forgotten Men – The Bayou Hauntings 2”) to learn the secrets of a domineering matriarch whose two husbands died in bizarre ways. They explore the house as someone watches from a hidden place high above. The Nursery, the third book in the series, will keep you up late at night wondering what’s behind the next door, what lies beyond the mirror and who hides and waits at The Arbors.

New Release: Apocalypyse 5 by Stacey Rourke

Image
GOOD LUCK AND HAVE A PLEASANT APOCALYPSE WITH THIS YA ADVENTURE, AVAILABLE NOW! 

Title: Apocalypse Five Written by: Stacey Rourke Genre: Young Adult Sci-fi Link:  https://amzn.to/2E41Efr


The end of the world is coming. How or when scientists can't agree upon. For decades, Earth's best line of defense has been a team of young soldiers known as the Apocalypse Five, forced into virtual reality simulations to train for Doom's Day. But, this is no game. Death on the grid is brutally final and calls up the next in a long line of cadets. Stationed aboard the AT-1-NS Starship, the A5 are celebrities thrust into the limelight by a calling they didn't choose. All it takes is one unscheduled mission, showing seventeen-year-old team leader Detroit a harsh and unfathomable reality, to shake the A5's belief in all they thought they knew. After questioning people with the power to destroy them, the team is framed for a crime they didn't commit and marked for death. Now, the …

Apocalypse Five (Archive of the Fives) by Stacey Rourke

Image
Title: Apocalypse 5 Author: Stacey Rourke Published: Feb. 12, 2019 Publisher: Black Spot Books Pages: 241 Genre: Sci-Fi Review: ebook provided by author Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 





The end of the world is coming. How or when, scientists can’t agree upon. For decades, Earth’s best line of defense has been a team of young soldiers known as the Apocalypse Five, forced into virtual reality simulations to train for Doom’s Day. But, this is no game. Death on the grid is brutally final, and calls up the next in a long line of cadets. Stationed aboard the AT-1-NS Starship, the A5 are celebrities thrust into the limelight by a calling they didn’t choose.
All it takes is one unscheduled mission, showing seventeen-year-old team leader Detroit a harsh and unfathomable reality, to shake the A5’s belief in all they thought they knew. After questioning people with the power to destroy them, the team is framed for a crime they didn’t commit and marked for death. Now, the hunt is on. Can the Apocal…

NetGalley: Say You're Sorry by Karen Rose

Image
Title: Say You're Sorry
Author: Karen Rose
Published: Feb. 12, 2018
Publisher: Berkley Publishing
Pages: 624
Genre: Cult/Suspense/murder
Review: ARC received from NetGalley and Publisher
Buy Links: Amazon,Amazon.uk





Special Agent Gideon Reynolds has tried hard to put his past behind him. He escaped the violence of his cult upbringing when he was just thirteen, and since then routine and discipline have been his way of making sense of the world. But when a petite blonde woman crashes into his life, he begins to realize that a little bit of chaos might not be so bad.
Daisy Dawson has had more than her fair share of pain too—but she's done being a victim. Daisy's determined to explore every new experience she can—including getting to know the dark and serious FBI investigator she meets when she fights off a masked attacker one night.
It soon becomes clear that Daisy's attack was just the beginning. Now the bloodied bodies of young women are showing up all over California, an…

NetGalley Review: The Girls At 17 Swann Street

Image
Title: The Girls at 17 Swann Street Author: Yara Zgheib Published: Feb. 5, 2019 Publisher: St. Martin's Press Pages: 384 Genre: Women's Fiction Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


My name is Anna.

I am a dancer, a constant daydreamer.

I like sparkling wine in the late afternoon, ripe and juicy strawberries in June.

I believe in the rich taste of real vanilla ice cream, melting stickily from a cone...
I am madly in love, I am madly in loved.

I believe in living life with purpose, but in floating through the day too.

I have books to read, places to see, babies to make, birthday cakes to taste. I even have unused birthday wishes to spare.

So what am I doing here?

NetGalley Review: The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

Image
Title: The Night Olivia Fell Author: Christina McDonald Published: 2/5/2019 Publisher: Gallery, Threshold, Pocket books  Pages: 368 Genre: Mystery/Thriller Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and Publisher Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.
A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.
In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.
When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s …

Closing post for reading challenge

So I was hoping to get a lot of reading done but that didn’t work out too well. I did get some books read off my list but not much, I guess with working full time to doing basketball and making sure my family has a dinner cooked and house clean I have put reading on the back burner. The following books below are what I did get to get to finish before the 31st.

The Chaos of Now by Erin Jade Lange-this one was pretty good. I wasn't expecting it to go the way it did.
Bird Box by Josh Malerman- after watching the show on Netflix I knew I needed to read the book and I enjoyed how much more detail it had then the movie.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi- I had this on my Goodreads list for a long time and until my husband's niece mentioned this book I hadn't thought about it. For me this book was good there were a few issues I had with it, but nothing too major.

Where Secrets Lie by D.S. Butler- Now this one was a NetGalley read and was actually pretty good. I was happy to be able to …