Saturday, September 24, 2016

NetGalley Review: Strange Things Done by Elle Wild

30641911Title: Strange Things Done
Author: Elle Wild
Published: Sept/ 24, 2016
Publisher: Dundrun
Pages: 304
Genre: Murder, Mystery
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and Publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


As winter closes in and the roads snow over in Dawson City, journalist Jo Silver investigates the dubious suicide of a local politician – and quickly discovers that nothing in the sleepy mining town is what it seems.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Book Spotlight: Sunshine in Neverland by Moira Darling



Title: Sunshine in Neverland
Author: Moira Darling
Published: September 5th 2016
Publisher: Sol-Brek Books
Pages: 184
Genre: Self-help/spiritual men and women alike.
Buy Links: Amazon www.moiradarling.com
Review: book provided by author


This is the story of Moira’s own personal journey into consciousness and leads us through the step-by-step transformational process. The real life situations within this book, allows the reader to identify and resonate with their own life story. The uniqueness of having the wisdom and insight within the highlighted boxes throughout the book allows the reader the opportunity to possibly gain a clearer understanding and perspective which in turn can help them to let-go, grow and move forward. This a spiritual self-help book with its feet firmly on the ground of reality. It is funny, real, insightful and emotional full of wisdom and teachings, which anyone who reads it can benefit from – a beautiful grounded read that can be re-visted for insight at anytime.






  1. The Beginning

4th October 1999 was the day it happened, the turning point in my life. On that day I stepped onto a whole new path, and was taken in an entirely different direction from the well-trodden road I knew, far away from everything that was my ‘normal’. It was a life-altering day when everything turned upside down, and profound changes began to spontaneously unravel themselves. I was unaware of the magnitude of what was about to happen and completely oblivious to the impact it would have on me. This day was the starting point to a journey of self-discovery and personal transformation taking me to heaven and through hell many times. I was to discover and experience the depths of emotional pain and pleasure, mental confusion, crystal clarity, chaos and peace, as the process of unlearning old beliefs, rediscovering and re-connecting to deeper truth began. It was the day I began to truly awaken.

Up until that day, I felt like an insignificant hamster running around in circles, only going through the motions, lost, getting nowhere, merely existing but not living, wondering what life was all about. I had no idea that the life-changing journey I was about to embark upon would bring me to a new depth of awareness. It was then that I realized that every new experience we have in our lives, whatever it is, comes with an opportunity to gain growth and insight on a deeper level beyond anything that we ever dared to imagine.

Deep within the soul of each individual, treasures of wisdom reside patiently waiting to be discovered, connected with and set free. All of us, whoever we are, have the ability to reach a place of deep inner peace, truth and love. As each one of us courageously embarks on our own inner journey, re-evaluating our priorities and simplifying our lives, we come to appreciate what is most meaningful to us. This allows us to transform our fears, old limitations, conditioned beliefs and mindsets, and opens the secret door to realise our true-life purpose. It brings us to understand and accept the deeper meaning of true compassion, and self-love.

That day I found myself in a Chรขteau de Vine in France at a business function with three of my work colleagues. The company I worked for along with others from our industry were involved in a charity fundraising rally. The task for each of the participating companies was to race from Dover to Monte Carlo in Monaco, raising money for charity en-route. The plan was to drive towards the South of France during the day, while in the evenings we would meet for dinner and continue to raise more funds. Although this was for a great cause, to be honest for me personally, it was an amusing work jolly, and a very welcome change from the normal humdrum life I was living at the time.

During the course of the enjoyable evening, with great hilarity and a definite over indulgence of the endlessly flowing champagne, laughing as we attempted to speak French actually, it was more like franglaise or in my case franglaise with a Scottish accent, and was probably very offensive to the lovely, patient French waiters.






Scottish born Moira darling has been teaching and empowering people world wide since her transformational awakening seventeen years ago. Her unique down to earth common sense approach to spirituality and empowerment along with a natural intuitive gift and ability to translate and clarify energies has changed the lives of thousands of people over the years. Moira has recently returned to her Scottish roots from Canada bringing her profoundly straightforward no nonsense clarity to the world. This is Moira’s first book and the story if her own transformational process that anyone who reads cannot fail to identify with and learn from.



Moira Darling can be reached on info@moiradarling.com

#FrightFall Read-a-Thon 2016

Wow it is that time again for the #FrightFall Read-a-Thon for this year.  Which is hosted by Seasons of Reading

It will take place from Oct. 3-9 which gives us a full week to get as much reading done. I think this year I am going to do some things different on this read-a-thon. I always try to push myself to read as much as I can, and that they are only review books, because let's face it as a reader/blogger I have found myself completely booked with reviews and it seems like I never have enough time to read them all.
So I think this year I am going to go through my list of books and pick out the ones that have just been sitting on my kindle to read. Not sure what I will find just yet but I will update this post with what I find. I think that is going to take me some time to actually find some good ones.

Now the rules to this read-a-thon is you have to read at least 1 scary book. It can be thriller, mystery, gothic just plain anything but it has to be scary. So which we all know that is my kind of genre it should not be too hard to find a few books.


Make sure you look for an update on what books I pick out.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Book Spotlight: Let's Destroy Investutech by Jeremy Thompson

Title: Let's Destroy Investutech
Author: Jeremy Thompson
Published: July 11, 2016
Publisher: Bedlam Press
Pages: 356
Genre: General Fiction
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Believe it or not, a multi-planetary conglomerate controls humanity. Investutech is its name, and the company's applied research and product development methods would petrify even the maddest of madmen.

To Investutech, no scientific atrocity is too horrific in the pursuit of ultimate profit. In fact, sin is an inapplicable concept.

Only the Flux Facers, a group of face-shifting patriots, are dedicated to overthrowing biggest business. Utilizing every means at their disposal, including body hijacking, they embark on an Investutech-overthrowing mission that reaches from Earth all the way to the afterlife.

This special Necro Publications release includes five bonus Investutech stories, comprising decades of sacrilegious scientific innovation.




I attempted suicide once. I did it the old-fashioned way, with a belt around my neck that I’d wrapped around a doorknob. Gripping it white-knuckled, I felt a tiny part of my brain die—nothing important, I think. Like fireworks of euphoria, dying was. My mind generated spontaneous poetry, where the lines that made no sense were the most beautiful of ’em all. I wish that I could remember them. It wasn’t unpleasant, though, and I no longer fear death.

But that was a while ago. Today, I’m craving female company. The problem is: With all the wondrous tech available nowadays, humanity is simultaneously more connected than ever and more isolated than before. Take FoldEstate, for example. Here we are, with dimensional distortion generators allowing multitudes to inhabit the same residential spaces, passing wraithlike through each other’s vibrationally altered essences, and we barely interact face-to- face. In fact, with FoldEstate biofarms, the population has mushroomed to hundreds of trillions, intermingling to the point where to even claim a race is to brand oneself an anachronism. Omnisterilizers have eradicated every virus. Nanobots can cure mental defects—aside from those of crack mutants, as their incest-warped gray matter no longer behaves humanoid.

Since we have pills that eliminate the need to urinate and defecate, only the destitute use toilets. The rest of us have outgrown our bowels and urinary tracts, as we’re outgrowing what remains of our birth bodies. Soon, we’ll have to craft new physiques to house our designer intellects.

We have contact lens nanosystems that generate images directly upon a wearer’s retinas, creating a heads-up display to utilize during all conscious hours. They are used for business, instantaneous information access, and recreation through hallucination—the latter of which can provide all the visuals of an LSD experience with none of the consciousness-expanding epiphanies.

We have Wisp World Constructs: three-dimensional hologas piped up from a vent, much better than those televisions that people used to watch. The gas comes in hundreds of scent shades, but a defect in my apartment’s line leaves everything lilac-scented—NASCAR, mobsters, whatever, everything smells flowery.

A piece of technoseeded sensor paper called a Smart Sheet controls nearly everything that we use. When unfolded, it works like a keyboard. But you already knew that, didn’t you?


Jeremy Thompson is the fictionist responsible for the novels The Phantom Cabinet (Necro Publications) and Let's Destroy Investutech (Bedlam Press). His stories have appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Into the Darkness,Under the Bed, DarkFuse, Sanitarium, and Walk Hand in Hand into Extinction. A San Diego State University graduate, Jeremy resides in Oceanside, California.

Monday, September 19, 2016

Book Spotlight: What's In Your Barn by Lindon King




Title: What’s In Your Barn?
Author: Lindon King
Publisher: Createspace
Pages: 44
Genre: Essay


What’s in your barn… reminds us of who we are as created beings and inspires a purpose filled way of life. We are not deserving of the gift of life or of the benefits it brings but instead we should count ourselves privileged and blessed for God’s unmerited favour. The decisions we make create our path and influence a way of life for others. We should therefore be reminded that the path of life is for every one and comes with no detours; this path is inevitable and takes us all from "the cradle to the grave.

You can pick up your copy at Amazon.



Entrenched in our society is an arguable understanding that socioeconomic attributes determine our intrinsic value or the lack thereof. It should therefore be understood that we are also validated by our abilities and resilience in addressing and dealing with the unexpected intermissions and interruptions that come with this incomparable package called life.

Though it has been said the beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, we must all come to the understanding that there is beauty and a God –given value in each of us, even if the beholder fails to see it, or fails to admit that this is so.

Regardless of the value we may place on ourselves, or that has been placed on us by others, our true worth will be determined by the test of time. It is therefore our responsibility to demonstrate our true value and to understand that the path of life will take us all from the cradle to the grave.  



Lindon J. King was born in Jamaica West Indies and migrated to Toronto Canada in 1992. Lindon is a former student of Fair Prospect Primary and Secondary Schools and Prospect College in Jamaica and a former student of Ryerson University in Toronto Canada. Lindon is the author of "The Wounds Have Healed. ...The Scars Are Bleeding" which was published in 2009.
Lindon’s latest book is What’s In Your Barn?

http://www.pumpupyourbook.com


Sunday, September 18, 2016

Guest Post: Aladdin The Genie's Keeper

Title: Aladdin The Genie's Keeper
Author: Gibson Morales
Published: July 28, 2016
Publisher: Mo Bros Books
Pages: 340
Genre: Sci-fi
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



A Sci-fi Take on the Classic Tale!

When Aladdin awakens, he can barely remember his own name, let alone his past. All he knows is that a giant metal monster is trying to burn him to ash.

After narrowly escaping with a team of peacekeepers, Aladdin finds himself in a world completely foreign to him. A world ruled by the alien Anunnaki, where blood mobs seek his head, resistance fighters demand his ring, and a giant robot hunts him like a rat. But when he meets the lovely Cassie, he discovers hope for the life he has always desired. That is, until he learns the Anunnaki will wipe out humanity in a few days.

Now Aladdin and Cassie's only chance for survival may be to join the mysterious Sorcerer, an immortal warlord, who frightens even the Anunnaki. But there is more to the ring on his finger, the Sorcerer, and his amnesia than he thinks. Can he discover the truth before it's too late? And even if he does, how will he survive the Anunnaki's wrath?

Saturday, September 17, 2016

Guest Post: Lies, Love & Redemption by Kelli A. Wilkins

New Romance Release — Lies, Love & Redemption
By Kelli A. Wilkins
Hi everyone,
Today I’m sharing an exclusive excerpt from my new historical western, LIES, LOVE & REDEMPTION. This full-length novel is set on the Nebraska prairie in 1877 and blends a steamy romance with mystery and danger.



Lies, Love & Redemption
Shot and left for dead, Sam Hixton stumbles into a general store on the Nebraska prairie and collapses into the arms of Cassie Wilcox.
Cassie’s world is turned upside down when the handsome stranger drops into her life. Sam is another complication she doesn’t need: her business is dying and her trouble with the townspeople is escalating. Yet she’s determined to keep the store open — no matter what the cost.
As Sam recovers from his injuries, he hides the truth about his identity and convinces Cassie to let him work in the store. He’s attracted to her and admires her independent nature but quickly realizes Cassie’s in way over her head. They fight their growing attraction, and Cassie questions whether she can trust her fragile heart to a mysterious stranger. Will he accept her once he knows about her troubled past?
Cassie resists Sam’s advances and represses her feelings until one fateful night when they give in to their fiery passion. Together, they work out a plan to save the store but find their efforts are thwarted—and their lives endangered—by the locals.
Sam’s secret returns to haunt him and pulls him away just when Cassie needs him the most. Will he regain her trust when she learns the truth?
Cassie has everything invested in the store—can she save it and find true love with Sam before it’s too late?



Cassie dusted off a can of apricots and restacked it on the shelf. “Why do I even bother?” she muttered as she picked up the next can.

Another week had come and gone, but her days were always the same. Get up at dawn, sweep out the store, dust off the cans, and . . . wait. Her few customers strolled in on Saturday and Sunday afternoons to buy odds and ends, but nearly everyone bought their bulk goods at the general store in Baxter. Townsfolk came here only when they wanted something quick—or on credit.

The bell above the door jangled, but she didn’t bother to turn around. “That you, Luke? You’re up early. I bet you haven’t seen this side of ten o’clock in—”

She glanced over her shoulder and shrieked. The can of apricots slipped from her hand and rolled across the floor.

A stranger covered in blood leaned against the doorjamb.

She rushed to his side. “Who are you? What happened?”

The man locked his blue eyes onto hers. “Help me.”

He held a battered leather satchel out to her. “Hide this,” he said, then collapsed forward.

Cassie caught him around the waist and eased him to the plank floor. Was he dead? She felt the side of his sweaty neck. His heart was beating, but he looked like hell. His clothes were coated in blood and dirt, and his face had a sickly white hue to it. He was lucky to be alive. Someone had shot him full of holes.

Where had he come from? Holloway was in the middle of nowhere with no railroad connection, and it wasn’t on the stagecoach line. She hadn’t heard a horse out front, and he couldn’t have walked here from Baxter, could he? That would be suicide.

Wild ideas raced through her mind as she stared down at him. Maybe he was a fugitive or a bank robber. Decent people didn’t get themselves shot for no reason. Whoever shot him could’ve been following him, looking to finish him off.

Her gaze settled on the satchel. What was in it? Money? Gold? The deed to a silver mine? Why did he want her to hide it?

Cassie brushed her hair away from her face and frowned. What the hell was she supposed to do with him? Why had he wandered into her store, of all places? The last thing she needed was a half-dead stranger complicating her life. His being here would only stir up trouble—and she already had more than she needed.

Maybe she could— With a start, she realized he hadn’t moved. She shook his bloodied left shoulder. The man remained motionless. “Damn it to hell.” She yanked the satchel from his grip, then ran behind the counter and stuffed it in the bottom drawer. There wasn’t time to look inside and see what the stranger was hiding. Whoever he was, he needed help—fast.

Order your copy of Lies, Love & Redemption here:


Read more about the book and get links to other platforms here:

And if you love historical romances, don’t miss my other Medallion Press novels:
The Viking’s Witch:
and Dangerous Indenture:

In a future blog, I’ll share an inside look at the making of the book and a steamy excerpt.
Happy Reading!
Kelli


Kelli A. Wilkins is an award-winning author who has published more than 95 short stories, 19 romance novels, and 5 non-fiction books. Her romances span many genres and heat levels.
In 2016 Kelli began re-releasing her romances previously published by Amber Quill Press. Visit her website and blog for a full title list. Her Medallion Press historical western romance, Lies, Love & Redemption, was published in September 2016.
Kelli’s writing book, You Can Write—Really! A Beginner’s Guide to Writing Fiction is a fun and informative non-fiction guide based on her 15 years of experience as a writer. It’s filled with writing exercises and helpful tips all authors can use.
If you like to be scared, check out Kelli’s horror ebooks: Dead Til Dawn and Kropsy’s Curse.
Kelli posts on her Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKelliWilkins and Twitter: www.Twitter.com/KWilkinsauthor. She also writes a weekly blog: http://kelliwilkinsauthor.blogspot.com/.
Visit her website, www.KelliWilkins.com to learn more about all of her writings, read book excerpts, reviews, and more. Readers can sign up for her newsletter here: http://eepurl.com/HVQqb.


Here are a few links to find Kelli & her writings on the web
Newsletter sign-up: http://eepurl.com/HVQqb