Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Interview and Giveaway with Author Teri Polen

Let me welcome Author Teri Polen for an interview.

I read her book Sarah which I got from NetGalley and let me tell you it was actually a really good read.
If you click on the link you can read my review. What truly pulled me to requesting the book was the
cover.
I know, I know, you should never just get a book by its cover but you know sometimes the cover
catches your eye and you just have to read it.
I was very happy and surprised to have the author contact me. I think in all my requesting from
NetGalley I have had maybe two authors contact me.
So I jumped on the chance to interview Mrs. Polen.
Check out her interview and enter into the giveaway that she was kind enough to do.

Below is the blurb for the book with where you can purchase the book from amazon, also add it to
your TBR shelves on Goodreads.



33113495Seventeen-year-old horror fan Cain Shannon thought helping a ghost find her killers would be the supernatural adventure of a lifetime. Now, he just hopes to survive long enough to protect his family and friends from her.
A bet between friends goes horribly wrong, resulting in Sarah's death. When she returns to seek justice against those responsible, Cain agrees to help her. But when he discovers Sarah has been hijacking his body, he realizes she wants retribution instead of justice.
Terrified of what could have happened when he wasn't in control, Cain commands Sarah to leave his house - but exorcising her isn't that easy. She retaliates against her murderers in bloody, horrific ways, each death making her stronger, then sets her sights on Cain. With the help of friends, Cain fights to save himself and his loved ones and searches for a way to stop Sarah before she kills again. 

Amazon 





1. What made you write Sarah from a teenage boy's point of view? 


    I have two sons, which means I’ve been around them and their friends for years now and overheard their conversations, seen how they interact with girls and each other, etc. But I have a friend who says I’m more of a guy than a girl because of my preference in books, movies, gifts, and my reactions. Given all that, writing from a male perspective comes easier for me. Weird, but true.

2. Do you believe in ghosts?


       Although I’ve never actually seen one, I absolutely believe in them. I think there’s too much evidence out there not to believe, although I think some people are more sensitive to them than others. Makes life a little more interesting, don’t you think?


3. Can you share a bit of your writing process with us?

       I’ll get an idea in my head, but it has to marinate for a while as I figure out the details and develop characters. I wish a fully formed story would smash through the walls of my brain, but evidently my mind isn’t built that way. Sarah didn’t turn out the way I’d originally intended – sometimes the characters dictate the story, but when that happens, it feels more honest to me.


4. Do you have any rituals while writing? 

Such as maybe listening to certain music, eating chocolate, maybe having your favorite socks on?

     I usually have music playing on Spotify or Pandora – I just got an Amazon Echo Dot for Christmas and have some big plans for that when I write. Diet Coke and chocolate are usually involved, they get the blood flowing to the brain, along with a flannel shirt I stole from one of my sons. For some reason, I’m more productive when I wear it. No way he’s getting it back.


5. What else is in the works for you?

     I was 25K words into a YA sci-fi/fantasy when I was offered the contract for Sarah, so it’s been on the backburner since last summer, but I’m planning to dive back into that story in the next couple of days. I’m excited about getting reacquainted with those characters.


Fun questions:

1. What is one thing you cannot live without?

My family, of course, but also books. When I see people on planes, in waiting rooms, by the pool – any place where they’re sitting for periods of time, I’ve never understood how they couldn’t be reading. I guess they could be pondering some idea that could change the course of the world, but I need my entertainment.

2. What is your favorite book you could read over and over?

The Harry Potter series – I’ve read it through about four times and it’s what got me started reading YA as an adult.

3. Favorite genre of movie?

I generally prefer fantasy/sci-fi or horror, but my hubby doesn’t care for either, so we usually watch action/adventure and I’ll either see the fantasy and horror by myself, with my sons, or watch it on Netflix.

4. If you could be in a TV show what show would it be?

Wow – that’s a great question. I’d have to say The Walking Dead – my son and I are devout fans of the show. I’d probably never make it as a main character, but I’d love to go to Zombie University and have a dramatic, gory death on the show.

5. What would you do for a Klondike bar? 

I can pass on all the Klondike bars – except for the Reese’s. If you have one of those, I’ll whip out my Ninja stealth skills and take you down – you’ll never see me coming.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Book Blitz: #BLUR by Camria Herbert


#Blur
Cambria Hebert
(GearShark, #4)
Publication date: January 10th 2017
Genres: M/M Contemporary Romance




Nothing but a #blur…
There’s a new kid in town, and he’s hell on wheels.
From what we’ve heard, it may be because
he knows exactly what hell’s like.
Lonely.
Scorching.
Unforgiving.
You may know his brother, the NRR hotshot
(and former GearShark cover model)
Lorhaven.
It’s only natural a driver with his background and family connections
has sped his racecar into the newest, hottest division.
But that’s not all.
Arrow may be following in big bro’s tread marks,
but he doesn’t plan to stay there.
He’s swerving onto the road less traveled…
and a lot more controversial.
He’s opening up about his private struggles with sexuality
to tell a story that’s gone unheard until now.
One thing’s for sure; Arrow may have a painful past,
but his foot is heavy on the accelerator.
With speed like this, he’s bound to leave everything behind in
nothing but a #blur.
Check out the full feature article inside…











Cambria Hebert is an award winning, bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair.
Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house).
Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: The Hashtag Series, Text, Torch, and Tattoo.
Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC.

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Review: Puck by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes

32993642Title: Puck
Authors: Kim Askew and Amy Helmes
Published: Nov. 15, 2016
Publisher: Doublet Press
Pages: 330 (print)
Genre: Young Adult
Review: ebook provided by authors
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 






Life isn’t always fair, and no one knows that better than fifteen-year-old Puck. When she’s unceremoniously booted from yet another foster home, this city kid lands at DreamRoads, a rehabilitation wilderness camp for juvies. Her fellow campers include a famous pop star with a diva attitude, a geeky, “fish out of water” math whiz, and a surly gang-banger with a chip on his shoulder. The program’s steely director aims to break Puck, but she knows that every adult has a breaking point, too. Determined to defy this realm of agonizing nature hikes and soul-sucking psychobabble — even if that means manipulating four lovestruck camp counselors and the director’s dim-witted second-in-command — Puck ultimately gets much more than she bargains for in this “wondrous strange” outdoor odyssey inspired by The Bard’s most beguiling comedy.

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

NetGalley Review: Two Days Gone by Randall Silvis

32895043Title: Two Days Gone
Author: Randall Silvis
Published: Jan. 10, 2017
Publisher: Sourcebooks landmark
Pages: 400
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



The perfect family. The perfect house. The perfect life. All gone now.
What could cause a man, when all the stars of fortune are shining upon him, to suddenly snap and destroy everything he has built? This is the question that haunts Sergeant Ryan DeMarco after the wife and children of beloved college professor and bestselling author Thomas Huston are found slaughtered in their home. Huston himself has disappeared and so is immediately cast as the prime suspect.
DeMarco knows-or thinks he knows-that Huston couldn't have been capable of murdering his family. But if Huston is innocent, why is he on the run? And does the half-finished manuscript he left behind contain clues to the mystery of his family's killer?
A masterful new novel by acclaimed author Randall Silvis, Two Days Gone is a taut, suspenseful story that will break your heart as much as it will haunt your dreams.

Sunday, January 8, 2017

New Release: Loving a Wild Stranger by Kelli A. Wilkins


Title: Loving a Wild Stranger
Author: Kelli A. Wilkins
Genre: Historical romance (mail-order bride/wilderness/pioneer)
Heat Level: mild
Length: 295 pages
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Price: $2.99
Order Loving a Wild Stranger here:
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N6M551HApple: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1190943526
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loving-a-wild-stranger-kelli-a-wilkins/1125413251?ean=2940154172131
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/loving-a-wild-stranger
Scribd: https://www.scribd.com/book/335361512/Loving-a-Wild-Stranger
Page Foundry: http://www.inktera.com/store/title/51d0c248-fe8d-4a14-b1db-b524786870f4




A woman running from her past… straight into the arms of an untamed man

In a moment of desperation, Kathleen Stanton flees her pampered life in Kingston, New York and ends up stranded in a small town in the Michigan Territory. Out of money and forced to rely on her instincts, she impersonates a handsome stranger’s mail-order bride.

Committed to her deception, Kathleen calls herself Michelle and starts her new life with Luther in an isolated cabin in the wilderness. Luther can’t believe his luck when his beautiful bride arrives, but something doesn’t feel right about his new wife. Michelle has terrifying nightmares involving a man named Roger and is reluctant to talk about where she came from.

Luther’s friend, Redfeather visits and tries to convince Luther to send Michelle back east. Distrusting Michelle, he warns Luther that his bride is not what she seems. But Luther is in love with Michelle, and he is harboring a secret of his own—one that might force Michelle to reject him when she learns the truth.

Michelle falls in love with Luther and adapts to her new way of life. Together, they face off against brutal townspeople and overcome harsh living conditions. When they finally give in to their desires and agree to become a proper man and wife, a dark figure from Michelle’s past resurfaces and threatens to destroy everything.

The idea for this book started with a simple premise: a woman on the run impersonates a mountain man’s mail-order bride and lives in his cabin in the woods. From there, I thought about the characters and how they would interact, learn to live with each other, and naturally, fall in love.

But before I started writing, I went to the library and did a lot of research. First, I had to decide on the time period. When and where I set my story would determine all the necessary details that bring the characters to life—and also influence the plot.

Once the time period was finalized, I needed to learn about mail-order brides, fur trapping and trading, Native Americans, and get an overall feel for what life was like back then. As I wrote the book, I incorporated my research as background information. This gives the story a rich historical feel without going overboard with details that might bog down the book or bore readers.

I enjoyed creating the characters and all the conflicts that take place between them. Michelle and Luther are very different people—sort of like a city mouse and a country mouse—and I played on their differences in lifestyles, clothing, expectations, etc. throughout the book. When Luther’s friend Redfeather arrives, Michelle realizes how far she is out of her comfort zone and begins to see her situation (and Luther) in a new light.

As Luther and Michelle get to know each other (and fight for each other) they realize they have a lot more in common than they once thought. They both had to fend for themselves to survive in a rough world, with little or no family support. This brings them closer together and makes their love stronger.

I enjoyed writing this book, and I hope readers will fall in love with the characters the way I did.

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Cover Reveal: Doppelganger by Danielle Bannister









































Julie Green was NOT having a midlife crisis.
Her move across the country from sunny LA to the unsuspecting town of Bucksville, New Hampshire, was NOT about her being up to her eyeballs in fake people and even faker tits. It was NOT about hating her job as a temp and most definitely did NOT have anything to do with her ex-boyfriend or his wife getting pregnant with kid number three.
No, this move was going to be her chance for a ‘do over.’ A quiet life in a quiet town.
Or, at least, that was the plan.

A case of mistaken identity thrusts her into the public eye, tossing her into in a world of flashbulbs and shadows. Not the ideal situation to meet her potential Mr. Right, but her newest temporary gig was unlike any she'd ever held. The chance of a lifetime… Will it get to be too much, forcing her to cut and run--or will she find out that love stories aren't just for the silver screen?






Pre-order links:

Doppelganger (Pre-order/Releasing Feb. 7)
Amazon: http://amzn.to/2hXJCCb
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/2iLJx1BOther formats coming soon



Danielle Bannister

Danielle Bannister lives with her two children in Midcoast Maine along with her precious coffee pot and peppermint-mocha creamer. She holds a BA in Theatre from the University of Southern Maine and her Masters degree in Literary Education from the University of Orono. She has written: a collection of short stories called: SHORT SHORTS, The Twin Flames Trilogy: PULLED, PULLED BACK, and PULLED BACK AGAIN, THE ABC'S OF DEE and ENIGMA. She is also a contributing writer to the website, Venus Scribe. In addition, her work can also be found in the following anthologies: 2012 Goose River Anthology, 2012 Writeous Anthology, 2013 Maine Writes: Maine National Writing Project Anthology; and, 2013 The Stroke of Midnight: A Supernatural New Year's Anthology.
You can visit her website at:
http://daniellebannister.wordpress.com/
or
You can also join her newsletter at:
http://eepurl.com/bNvK7D

ARC Review: Sink: Once Upon A Time by Perrin Briar

33809105Title: Sink: Once Upon A Time
Author: Perrin Briar
Published: Jan. 5. 2017
Pages: 234
Genre: Action and Adventure
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



A sinkhole is a natural phenomenon. It can happen anywhere, anytime. It drinks lakes dry, consumes jungles, and even demolishes entire mountains. You may have seen one in your street. But these things aren’t lost. They’ve simply been moved. Things are forgotten on the surface all the time. Beneath the crust, they’re always remembered.

A monster terrorizes a medieval town. The townspeople are being murdered. Dead bodies rise from hell. One member of town is responsible for it all. But who?

SINK. A forgotten world. A lost world. But not for long.