Friday, January 31, 2014

Guest Post and Excerpt Devil's Dilemma Chronicles Chosen by Author Sirena Robinson

GUEST POST: Author Sirena Robinson

Hey everyone! A huge thank you to Autumn for featuring me today. She’s invited me to do a guest post for you all and to post an excerpt from my new novel, Devil’s Dilemma. A few days ago, another blogger asked me some very good questions about why my characters are who they are and how I decided. It’s made me think a lot about that, and I thought I’d explore it a little more here.
For me, it’s not a conscious decision who my characters are. I tend to feel more comfortable with a female MC, but I almost always have a male MC as well. For example, in Devil’s Dilemma, Griffin and Braxton are equally important to the story and each are a main character. We have chapters where Griffin never appears, and chapters where Braxton never appears. They share MC status in my head. However, even though the story is different without Brax, it is still Griffin’s story.
When I sit down to write a new book, I often have an idea of what it should be. That might be some dialogue, a few scenes, the ending. It could be anything. I’ve mentioned before that once, I wrote a whole novel around one single line of dialogue. That one line got in my head and I couldn’t rest until I wrote the book that went along with it. For other people, they outline every scene and chapter and know exactly what is going to happen.
For my characters, I never think about whether they’re a man or woman. They just are. I never consider whether they have blue or green eyes, I just know what they look like. It’s never a conscious decision to have a character be good or bad, that’s just who they are. I know this might sound weird to some of you, but I’d be willing to bet there are a lot of writers out there who agree with me.
I always joke that it’s the characters’ story, I’m just the one they picked to tell it. People laugh, but they don’t really realize how true that is. Fiction is its own kind of truth. No, the characters might not exist in our reality, but they DO exist. They exist in the book, they exist in my imagination, and after you’re done reading the novel, I’d hope that they would be just as real for you as they are for me.
Thanks again for letting me join you today. It’s been a blast and I can’t wait for some of you to read the book! If you’re interested in reading it, I am doing a raffle of five e-copies of Devil’s Dilemma at the end of the tour. I’m drawing names on March 1st, and all you have to do to win is leave a comment with an email address. In addition, several other indie authors are donating books for one grand prize.

Author Bio:

Sirena N. Robinson has been writing since she was ten years old and cast her 5th grade teacher as a villain in a series of short stories. She continued to write through high school and pursued a Minor in English Literature from The Ohio State University, graduating in 2008 with Bachelor's Degrees in Political Science and International Relations. She received her Juris Doctor from Capital University Law School in 2011 and passed the Ohio bar that July. She will receive her Master's Degree in Social Work from Ohio University in 2014.
 
When not writing, Sirena is pursuing a career as an attorney in private practice in Jackson, Ohio where she predominantly works in the Juvenile Court as an appointed lawyer in child welfare cases. She lives in the sleepy Appalachian town of Jackson with her husband, daughter, and their menagerie of dogs and cats. She has a flair for the paranormal, discusses her characters as if they are real people, and is at the mercy of the army of plot bunnies that constantly fight to get out of her head and onto paper.
 
 
Connect with Sirena:
Website ~

Excerpt: 
Griffin spent most mornings looking out the window, searching the woods for any sign of life. A bird, a snake, anything that would tell her that her instincts were wrong. Every morning, there was nothing. So after a while, she would resign herself to yet another day of being afraid and go downstairs to eat. At least she was keeping food down since Gabriel had given her a reprieve from the wasting away. She'd managed to put on a few pounds, filling out her gaunt frame slightly.
            It was snowing. Big flakes falling from the sky, piling on top of one another, coating the ground and the road, covering the cars. It was nearly impossible to see for how thick the snow was coming down.
            Griffin had always loved the snow and could vaguely remember sitting on her grandmother’s lap, watching the flakes drift down, amped with excitement that she would get to go outside with her grandfather and play in it as soon as he got home. Even throughout her time in foster care, she’d always loved the first snowfall.
            Mind made up, she left the window and crossed the room, her clothes hitting the floor. She pulled on jeans instead of her sweat pants and donned a thick grey sweater and wool socks. She hopped on one foot to tug on her boot before switching and yanking on the other. Rifling through her closet, she realized she didn’t have a coat, then saw Braxton’s hanging up by the door. Feeling more relaxed than she had in months, she grabbed the coat and dashed down the stairs, swinging around to hurry through the kitchen and out the back door.
            The cold air was fresh and crisp on her face, and she curled her toes inside her boots, enjoying the feel. She tipped her head back and let the snowflakes settle on her skin, melting from her body heat. After a moment of enjoying the snow, she spread her arms out and fell backward.
            The impact jarred her, but the snow cushioned the fall. Feeling like a child, she moved her arms and legs, reveling in the simple joy of making a snow angel. When she’d sufficiently cleared the snow around her, she simply lay there, staring up at the dreary gray sky, watching the snow drift down. She let the tears take her.

Buy the book: http://www.amazon.com/Devils-Dilemma-Chronicles-Chosen-Book-ebook/dp/B00H0JSUDI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1390930131&sr=8-1&keywords=sirena+robinson

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Guest Post and Excerpts by Author Margo Collions of Waking Up Dead



Writing Ideas, Writing Rituals
by Margo Bond Collins

“Where do you get your ideas? What kind of writing rituals do you have?” These are two of the most common questions authors get—so much so that they’ve become clich├ęs, the kinds of questions that authors joke about answering. But we keep getting these questions because people are interested in the answers. I’m interested in hearing other authors’ answers; I love learning about the creative process as it is experienced by other authors! And because I teach writing, too (I’m a college professor in my other life), I’m always interested in finding out how it is that my favorite authors do what they do.

I have been writing all my life. The first story I remember actually writing down was basically fan-fiction of The Wizard of Oz. I wrote it in long-hand in a yellow legal pad. I’ve been writing ever since. But about ten years ago, a friend suggested I join in National Novel Writing Month (nanowrimo.org). Until then, I had always written short stories. That year, I finished the first draft of what would eventually become Legally Undead—it will be my third published novel, but it’s the first one I wrote.

I used to have elaborate rituals for writing. I used to make sure my office was perfectly clean and my day was absolutely clear for nothing but writing. But writing Legally Undead changed all of that. In the process of finishing that first novel, I learned to write even when I didn’t feel like it, when my house was dirty, when my day was busy, when life got in the way—because life will always get in the way! Now I make time to write every day, no matter what else is going on. Sometimes it’s just for fifteen minutes; other times it’s for several hours in a row. And what I’ve discovered is that once I get started, I can generally keep going until life intervenes again.

And when I get good and thoroughly stuck, I go for a drive. Most of my best ideas seem to come to me when I’m behind the wheel. I remember driving to work one morning and seeing just a wisp of fog move across the statue in the middle of the town square. The statue was of some Civil War figure (I was living in Alabama at the time), and I remember thinking that it looked oddly ghostly. In between teaching classes that day, I started writing Waking Up Dead.  Something similar happened with Fairy, Texas, the YA novel I have coming out in February. I was driving through rural Texas near where I grew up and passed the sign for the cut-off to the town Fairy, Texas. I must have driven by the sign hundreds of times in my life, but this time I started wondering what it would be like if the town were actually occupied by fairy-like creatures—not exactly European fairies, but a race that could intermingle with the humans of our own world.  The book developed from there!

What I’ve learned over the last few years, though, is that ideas can come at any time, from any place. A glimpse of fog, a sign for a town, the curve of a hill, the way a tree dips over a fence, the smile on a person’s face—any of these things can lead to a story. The important thing is making time to bring them to life!

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Review: Sunshine by Nikki Rae


16637812
18 year old Sophie Jean is pretty good at acting normal. Sure, she's not exactly happy, but happiness is nothing compared to being like everyone else. She can pretend she's not allergic to the sun. She can hide what her ex-boyfriend did to her. She can cover up the scars she's made for herself. Ignore anything. Forget anything. Then Myles enters her life, and he has more than a few secrets of his own. When accident after accident keeps happening to Sophie, she can't help noticing that he's everywhere. That he knows too much. That she's remembering too much.
It's one thing covering up her own dark past, but does she really need to worry about people finding out just how much Myles likes her? Or that despite how much she doesn't want to repeat past mistakes, she kind of likes him back? Not to mention the fact that she now has to conceal that Myles drinks blood-that he says he's about four hundred years old.
She almost forgot about that part.
But Sophie has no plans to ruin the normal life she has created for herself. She can deal with this little glitch, no problem. Even if word has gotten around to the wrong vampire about Sophie and Myles, even if she's putting the few people she loves at risk. Suddenly, those who were monsters before are just people, and the monsters? They're real. Now being a normal human being is the least of her problems. Now she has to stay alive.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Review: 150 plus Great Fundraising Ideas by Kelly Elkins

17178864
A list of successful fundraising ideas for both small and large nonprofit organizations to use as a planning tool when developing their fundraising strategy. Designed to answer the often asked question “What can I do to raise money?” it contains a list of over 150 ideas that range from simple to product sales to large signature events and multi-year sports events that can attract thousands of participants. Many of the fundraising events presented include helpful tips to help you maximize potential income as well as useful information to assist in event planning.

Review: Buzz (Book 2 of The Game Trilogy) by Andres De La Motte

16130351
In the second installment in a new crime trilogy, a young man is on the run to escape a “game” that blurs the lines between reality and fiction, from an award-winning Swedish author and former policeman.
It's been four months since he was dragged into the Alternative Reality Game that nearly cost him his life, and HP is still on the run. He has everything he ever wished for-freedom, money, and no responsibilities, but he still isn't happy. Plagued by insomnia and paranoia, HP misses the rush and attention of The Game. Sometimes he almost wishes the Game Master would find him.

In Dubai, HP meets Anna Argos, a sophisticated and beautiful Swedish IT millionaire. When she disappears, HP is questioned by the police. Fearing he has been found by The Game, HP returns to Sweden after being released from custody. Determined to uncover the truth about Anna's disappearance, HP uses a fake identity to apply for a job at ArgosEye, the company Anna worked for. In the business of online information management, ArgosEye is involved in some questionable practices, under the control of Anna's husband, the CEO Philip Argos.

Meanwhile, HP's sister Rebecca has started dating Philip Argos. When she unknowingly reveals her brother's real identity to Philip, the police try to bring HP in for questioning again. On the run again, HP refuses to give up and tries to uncover what is really happening at ArgosEye. Before he can find the truth, HP is stopped in his tracks. Thinking he's about to be thrown in prison, HP is taken to the outskirts of the city and left in the woods, where an elderly man hands him a piece of paper. HP believes the game is over, but is it really just beginning?

Monday, January 27, 2014

Cover Reveal and GIVEAWAY: Forever Begins Prelude (Creatura 0.5) by Nely Cab





Prelude
Author: Nely Cab
Release Date: 2/3/14


Synopsis:
Prelude – Creatura 0.5
It’s not easy creating life, but that’s what Deus was meant to do. And as amazing as his new creations may be, Deus finds that there’s nothing wonderful about being the only person in existence. Using his power, he molds a companion to keep him company; only, something goes awry and Starr soon proves to be as wild as the animals he’s crafted.
What do you do when the only other person in the universe hates you? You fall in love, of course…because that’s how forever begins.



*IMPORTANT*

The Prelude will not be available to buy until Feb. 3, 2014. You can click the links below to get the book when it becomes available. 



AUTHOR BIO
Nely Cab was born on December 9, 1974, in Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico. She has lived and resided in a small, quiet South Texas town most of her life. Putting her Computer Accounting skills to use, Cab worked in banking for several years. In 2001, the author relocated to Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico, where she dedicated time to the study of culinary arts and the art of oil painting. After her return to the U.S., Nely resumed her employment in banking and later transitioned to the field of Social Work.

Today, Nely Cab writes from the comfort of her home, where she lives with her husband and son. Her life goal is to check-off Bucket List Item No. 95,623,351: To Conquer the World. While she aspires world domination, Nely continues to work on her debut series Creatura.


LINKS:
Website:                     www.nelycab.com
FB Book Page:            www.facebook.com/Creatura.by.NelyCab
FB Author Page:        www.facebook.com/NelyCab
Twitter:                      www.twitter.com/nelycab
Goodreads:                 www.goodreads.com/nelycab
Blog:                            www.nelycab.blogspot.com
Google+:                     https://plus.google.com/115804598442656662617/posts
Goodreads:                 www.goodreads.com/nelycab
Amazon  Author Page:         





Giveaway:

1 Prize- 1-ebook, 1- 8.5' x 11' Prelude poster and Creatura bookmark. 







Sunday, January 26, 2014

Review: Game by Anders De La Motte

20045341
Aimless young Henrik “HP” Petterson finds a cellphone on a Stockholm train that invites him to play a game: in no time, he's embarking on daring, high-stakes missions that turn his ordinary life extraordinary. HP loves the thrill, and the rewards, but is there a sinister side to the seemingly innocent contest?
Meanwhile, ambitious Detective Rebecca Normen is moving up the career ladder in the Swedish Secret Service but is troubled by the handwritten notes she keeps finding in her locker. Whoever writes them knows way too much about her past. HP's and Rebecca's worlds inevitably collide. But if reality is just a game, then what is real?

Friday, January 24, 2014

BTS Presents: Shielding HER HEART by Cheryl Yeko




Title: Shielding Her Heart
Author: Cheryl Yeko
Series:  Milwaukee Series  (Last in a 3-book series: Protecting Rose/A Man to Trust/Shielding Her Heart)
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Release Date: Jan 8 2014
Edition/Format Available In:  eBook
Blurb/Synopsis:
The woman Rick Smyth desires has shut him out of her life after being brutally beaten in her own home. But as a new threat arises, Sheila now turns to him for protection.
This time, not only does he vow to keep her safe, but he’s determined to win her heart as well.

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Rockin' the Heart Release Day Blast by Gracen Miller Excerpt and GIVEAWAY







 BLURB:

If music nourishes the soul…


Loved by millions, but shunned by blood, Heath “Fang” Fangor has led his band, Hot Wired, to the top while others have fallen by the wayside. He devoted his life to music, and from that devotion harvested a new family—his band mates and fans.


A man can desire nothing else…or can he?


Living in the shadow of her brother’s fame sucks! Sam Collins is desperate to have what she wants—a simple and uncomplicated life. She’s no stranger to scandals and how they work. Now that she’s inadvertently dragged Fang into the center of her latest gossip, could the scandal she created in her quest for freedom have gone too far?


Amid stardom the heart stages a new melody…


Fang has more fame and fortune than he will ever need, but none of that matters if he can’t have the woman of his dreams. Years have been wasted waiting for the right moment to approach the woman his heart desires above all others. There’s just one major problem...she’s his best friend’s sister. To have her, he will have to risk it all.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Book Promo Love Me? The Trust Me? Trilogy by: K.E. Osborn





Trust Me?
The Trust Me? Trilogy
Book 1
KE Osborn


Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance


ISBN: 9780992333805
ASIN: B00F0G6JRW


Number of pages: 283 pages
Word Count: approx 89,000


Amazon Smashwords


Book Description:


This book is for mature audiences 18+ It contains explicit language and sexual content.


Jenifer Taylor is content with her life, dull and boring as it is. Being absent from the dating scene means she doesn’t have to deal with the major trust issues she has with men that stem from a controlling and aggressive ex-boyfriend and an absentee father. She’s happy being alone, sharing her life with her friends and family.


When Jeni starts a typical day in the big city of Mornington Vale, California, it turns from bad to worse when she’s involved in a chain collision on her way to work.
Her world changes forever that day because she meets Aiden O’Connell, the billionaire son of Alistair O’Connell, who owns Mornington Vale’s largest financial corporation. Aiden is an up-and-coming young businessman who's ready to take on the vice presidency of his father’s company. He is the good son, and it’s imperative to Alistair that Aiden succeed and follow in his footsteps. Life for Aiden involves working hard and not much else.


After the accident, however, Aiden’s world changes as well. He finds Jeni irresistible and instantly pursues her. With some coaxing, she eventually agrees to a date, and the attraction is mutual.


Jeni finds love quickly with Aiden, but trusting him is another issue. When to trust is tested in many different ways but comes to a head when Aiden is investigated for a serious crime. As her trust issues spark, she is forced to go through a journey of self-discovery.


She must decide once and for all whether she trusts the man she loves when she’s asked the ultimate question: “Do you trust me?”


This is book one in a series of three. Book two "Love Me?" was released on November 18th, 2013.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Review: Eternal Darkness: Natalie Hancock

13599838
Layla, a twenty-one-year-old half-breed known as a dhampir, is incredibly beautiful and deadly. She drinks vampire blood for power to stop the burning hunger.
The vampire academy is a hundred acres of land surrounded by high tech security to ensure that none enter or leave. She is the protection.
When she has a lesson with the vampires, she struggles with her hunger and has to learn to trust them-a big issue for Layla because of her past, something she can neither forget nor run from. The past that haunts her dreams reminds her that she cannot hide as she lives her life in the academy.

Then there is Shade-an impossibly handsome vampire and Layla's one-on-one instructor. Desires she never knew rise whenever he looks at her. She cannot stop how her body reacts to his touch or how much she wants his body and his blood.
It is a forbidden lust that they share, one they must keep a secret from those around them or Layla risks everyone finding out who she really is.
Someone wants her dead. Layla's goals, deal with the vampires who hate dhampir's and keep herself alive. Can she do it?

Review: Mile Marker by Terrill L. Davis

18746883
A Texas serial killer has a ritual of burying his victims in the woods near the highway mile markers. On his next night out to bury his prize, he didn't account for a state trooper to be on his trail. On his next night out, he has a bad night.

Tik Tok Press Presents: The P.J. Stone Gates Trilogy by D.T. Dyllin



Got Dragon?

Get the entire P.J. Stone Gates Trilogy in a boxed set on sale from Jan. 22 through Jan. 29th

You may just find you like to get burned.


http://dtdyllin.com/


gates 
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19448945-the-p-j-stone-gates-trilogy
The P.J. Stone Gates Trilogy (#1-3)
Genre: New Adult Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Tik Tok Press
Cover Artist: Lindsay Tiry
Interior Book Design: The Eyes For Editing
Trilogy Logo Designer: Eye Of The River Media Design
Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1fda5Eb

The P.J. Stone Gates Trilogy anthology contains the following books:

~Hidden Gates (Book 1)~

For P.J. Stone, being a “Seer” who has never seen anything is less than fun. And P.J. isn’t known for her patience.

To make matters worse, she must choose a suitable mate to continue the Seer bloodline. Duty always comes before her heart…at least that’s what her parents taught her. When she finds herself wanting someone who is considered off-limits, P.J. is forced to question everything she believes.

As if navigating her love life isn’t complicated enough, P.J. finally receives a vision—of a threat to her world that only she can perceive. But no one will believe a fledgling Seer’s warnings. With nowhere else to turn, she may decide to trust a stranger with her life, her world, and maybe even her heart.

~Broken Gates (Book 2)~

P.J. Stone is a Seer who saw too little, too late.

In the past, her biggest worries were boys and school—but war has a way of changing things. Now, the alien Riders are trying to overrun the world. As the last of their kind, P.J. and her friends must find a way to save humanity before there’s nothing left to save.

After choosing a mate, P.J. hoped she'd have time to enjoy her love life. But with everything changing so quickly and major secrets revealed, who knows what the future will bring?

~Open Gates (Book 3)~

Bryn is gone. Jenna isn’t herself. And the world has been taken over by the alien Riders. The only constant in P.J.’s life is Khol. But even he might not be able to help her pick up the shattered pieces of her existence.

 P.J. finally gets the answers to all her questions, but will she be able to handle the truth? And will she be strong enough to face her own destiny when the time comes?


About the Author

D.T. Dyllin is a Bestselling Romance Author who writes in both New Adult and Adult genres. She is a member of the RWA (Romance Writers of America) and also her local chapter, the MCRW (Music City Romance Writers).

D.T. was born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. (Black & Gold for life, baby!) She now lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband and two spoiled GSDs.
 

Monday, January 20, 2014

Book Blitz Guest Post and Giveaway: Moonbow by Shelia Hollinghead







Title: Moonbow
Author: Sheila Hollinghead
Published: December 17th, 2013
Publisher: AltWit Press
Word Count: 65,000
Genre: Inspirational Romantic Suspense
Synopsis:
A widow, a doctor, an unborn child. Three lives are at risk in this high stakes suspense. Die Auserwahlten, the Chosen Ones, have impregnated Gisa with an embryonic clone. Is it evil or just a child? It's up to Dr. Rayden Brooks to untangle the web that keeps them captive and save their lives. But will Gisa trust him?


Thursday, January 16, 2014

Review: Bloodline of the Black Dragon by Lachelle Redd

16163989
A queen terrified for the future of her kingdom and her young, handsome son, Prince Caleb, seeks the advice of an ancient being in order to sway fate. Her son must journey far from home and from what he knows to a land of poverty, lust and a curse. The curse of the dragon where once a prominent kingdom lay, now lay in dark days and wicked nights.


Blog tour: The Billionaire Banker by Georgia Le Carre







About the Book:
Title: The Billionaire BankerGenre: Romance/EroticaAuthor: Georgia Le CarrePublisher: Georgia Le CarreFormat: eBook

Time is running out for Lana Bloom. She needs money desperately and fast. And all she has left to sell is her beautiful body. When she walks into that exclusive restaurant she does not know that the highest bidder will not be the rich man she has accompanied into the restaurant.

Utterly confident and breathtakingly handsome, Blake Law Barrington is the fourth generation of an illustrious banking family. He has everything he desires, and everything under control. As is the custom in the great, old houses, marriage is a time of consolidation and expansion. He is due to marry Victoria Montgomery, daughter of the Fourth Earl of Hardwicke.

If he had left that restaurant five minutes earlier he would not have seen the girl in the cheap orange dress and the six-inch high plastic platforms walk in.

And his carefully constructed universe would still be intact…


Purchase your copy:

AMAZON

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Review: Chasing Sam Vegas Mates Book 1 by: Krystal Shannan

17236331
Samantha Demakis doesn't want a mate right now. She wants to finish her degree and work as a doctor in third world countries. Her birth-rite and family obligations to her status as the first daughter of a noble family beg to differ. In fact, even her wolf seems to be against her. When a chance encounter reveals the man who might just be a perfect fit, will she run? Or will she fight?
Chase Michaels has been alone for seventy-five years. He's fought in Vietnam, the Persian Gulf, and Afghanistan in the US Army. Somewhat resigned to never finding his true mate, he is shocked when his wolf reacts so strongly to a woman he runs into in the airport. Unprepared for the politics and snobbery of the noble families, Chase finds himself fighting in a different type of war- a war for the heart of a woman he knows should be his.
A lot of things are chasing Sam, but who or what will catch her in the end?

Review: Stalk Kill Travel Stalk Kill by: T.P Keating

17825036
Stalk Kill Travel Stalk Kill is the fast-paced, action-packed tale of a female vampire, told with an eclectic mix of humor, excitement and scares. It's aimed at reader from 13-313. An early draft appeared on America's ground-breaking Textnovel.com, a social network for authors and readers of Japanese-style cellphone fiction.

Review: Secrets and Lies book 2 by: Christine Amsden

17972727
Cassie Scot, still stinging from her parents' betrayal wants out of the magical world. But it isn't letting her go. Her family is falling apart and despite everything, it looks like she may be the one who can save them.
To complicate matters, Cassie owes Evan her life, making it difficult for her to deny him anything he really wants. And he wants her. Sparks fly when they team up to find two girls missing from summer camp, but long-buried secrets may ruin their hopes for happiness.
Book 2 in the Cassie Scot Mystery series.
“Christine Amsden unleashes her brilliant storytelling magic as the adventures of Cassie Scot escalate to the extreme. Rife with betrayal and a debt too deep for money to clear, Secrets and Lies plunges the reader into an utterly believable world where villains and heroes spring lifelike from the pages. Brace for a whirlwind ride of sorcery, romance and knife-edge peril. A truly original urban fantasy. Not to be missed!”-Kim Falconer, bestselling author of The Spell of Rosette, Quantum Enchantment Series.

Book Blitz: Then Like the Blind Man: Orbie's Story Blog Tour






Title: Then Like the Blind Man: Orbie’s Story

Author: Freddie Owens
Publisher: Blind Sight Publications
Pages: 332
Language: English
Genre: Historical Fiction/Coming of Age
Format: Paperback & eBook
Purchase at AMAZON









A storm is brewing in the all-but-forgotten backcountry of Kentucky. And, for young Orbie Ray, the swirling heavens may just have the power to tear open his family’s darkest secrets. Then Like The Blind Man: Orbie’s Story is the enthralling debut novel by Freddie Owens, which tells the story of a spirited wunderkind in the segregated South of the 1950s and the forces he must overcome to restore order in his world. Rich in authentic vernacular and evocative of a time and place long past, this absorbing work of magical realism offered up with a Southern twist will engage readers who relish the Southern literary canon, or any tale well told.

Nine-year-old Orbie already has his cross to bear. After the sudden death of his father, his mother Ruby has off and married his father’s coworker and friend Victor, a slick-talking man with a snake tattoo. Since the marriage, Orbie, his sister Missy, and his mother haven’t had a peaceful moment with the heavy-drinking, fitful new man of the house. Orbie hates his stepfather more than he can stand; this fact lands him at his grandparents’ place in Harlan’s Crossroads, Kentucky, when Victor decides to move the family to Florida without including him. In his new surroundings, Orbie finds little to distract him from Granpaw’s ornery ways and constant teasing jokes about snakes.

As Orbie grudgingly adjusts to life with his doting Granny and carping Granpaw, who are a bit too keen on their black neighbors for Orbie’s taste, not to mention their Pentecostal congregation of snake handlers, he finds his world views changing, particularly when it comes to matters of race, religion, and the true cause of his father’s death. He befriends a boy named Willis, who shares his love of art, but not his skin color. And, when Orbie crosses paths with the black Choctaw preacher, Moses Mashbone, he learns of a power that could expose and defeat his enemies, but can’t be used for revenge. When a storm of unusual magnitude descends, he happens upon the solution to a paradox that is both magical and ordinary. The question is, will it be enough?

Equal parts Hamlet and Huckleberry Finn, it’s a tale that’s both rich in meaning, timely in its social relevance, and rollicking with boyhood adventure. The novel mines crucial contemporary issues, as well as the universality of the human experience while also casting a beguiling light on boyhood dreams and fears. It’s a well-spun, nuanced work of fiction that is certain to resonate with lovers of literary fiction, particularly in the grand Southern tradition of storytelling.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

A Dauntless Authors Giveaway!!!!!!


Join The Dauntless Authors for a giveaway for 2 $25 Amazon Giftcards during the week of January 13. Throughout the week they'll also be giving away TONS of ebooks at their Facebook Party!



Team Dauntless:


Kate Avery Ellison 

Nancy S Thompson
Wendy Knight
Amber Argyle

RaShelle Workman
Elle Strauss
Megg Jensen
Angela Corbett
Cindy Hogan
Christy Dorrity
Rachel Morgan
Shantal Hiatt


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, January 13, 2014

Review: Original Sin by Megan J. Parker and Nathan Squiers


18686404

"Our sin would change everything."
There was something different about Joseph Stryker.
I knew I shouldn't have gotten involved, but the way he looked at me called to me. It was unnatural, inhuman, and more importantly...
unforgettable.
***
The origin story of Xander Stryker's (Crimson Shadow series) parents and the backstory of how their sin would change everything. A look into Joseph Stryker's life and the movement they started with falling in love. 

Book Blitz First Chapter and Book Trailer: My Death A personal Guidebook by Jeremy Kagan









Title: My Death: A Personal Guidebook
Genre: Spiritual/Self-Help
Author: Jeremy Kagan
Publisher: Balboa Press
Pages: 124
Language: English
Format: eBook
Purchase at AMAZON

This is a powerful memoir of a near-death experience. After a Native American sweat lodge, the author loses control of his body and then his life. He begins a passage that leads to a personal hell. He discovers a way to escape and emerges into an amazing exploration of the soul’s journey. In this intense adventure, there are insights into stages of consciousness and encounters of blissful perfection. This spiritual, inspirational book is meant to be an aid to removing the universal fear of the final journey we are all taking.


Buy the Book at Amazon

Discuss this book in our PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads by clicking HERE.

Sunday, January 12, 2014

Review: Always Smiling Through The Tears by: Kenny


17223851
In October, 2010, Kenny put 2 nooses round his neck in the garden shed. Twice. This is his story, a story of a broken home, mixed race children, racism, adversity and heartbreak. Suicide is all too common in our broken society, and here you see it revealed from the inside, to find what actually drives somebody to the point where the pain of death is seen as preferable to the pain in life.
Told in his own words, his own language, the raw emotion comes through so you feel his pain beneath the facade of smiling happiness, Kenny would like this to be a manual for people in pain, giving them help and resources to conquer their problems and live a full and happy life.  

RBTL Presents Excerpt and Giveaway: Severed Ties by Angie Skelhorn Excerpt









Title: Severed Ties
Author: Angie Skelhorn
Genre: Paranormal/YA
Publisher: Damnation Books
Release Date: Dec 1 2012
Edition/Formats Available In: E~Book & Print
Synopsis:
By the use of divination and magic, some ties can never be severed.
In the beginning, by the light of the Full Moon, Frankie connects with Candice's energy through dream time and witnesses her involvement in a terrifying act of violence. After receiving information from Sandra that their childhood friend is missing, they pack their bags and head to the inner city to find her.
Frankie, afraid for her own safety, has a chance encounter with a local named Calvin who is plugged into what's happening. Using his workable ideas—as well as Frankie and Sandra consulting tarot, ordinary playing cards, astrology, and spell-casting—they set forth to free Candice from the dangerous situation she is in.


Purchase Links



Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Damnation Books
Goodreads


Author Information



My name is Angie Skelhorn and I live in Canada. My interest include tarot, and other forms of divination, astrology, spirituality, mythology and harness racing. I gear my writing toward Witchcraft and Spiritualism. I've been published in Circle Sanctuary Magazine and online at Witchvox, WitchesandPagans.com and GlobalGoddess.org.
I authored No Reins and Till Death and Beyond - Publisher, Club Lighthouse Publishing. My newest release is Severed Ties - Publisher, Damnation Books- book launch December 1, 2012.


Author Links



Book Goodies
Blog
Cold Coffee Press
Facebook Author Page
Goodreads
Readers Favorites
Witchskel Wordpress
Website
You Tube

Book Trailer

Link



 http://youtu.be/O5XwBGQQTb4

Excerpt 

Frankie sat on the stoop and looked around. Across the street, a woman only a couple of years older than her had two infants in a playpen and was chain-smoking. An old man, his lined face showing the evidence of his hard life, pushed a shopping cart full of empty beer bottles past her. Kids too young to be on their own played out front, in the streets.
“I’m Calvin. Who are you?” a young man asked, walking past her down the stairs. She gave a quick glance in his direction before turning away.
He had medium brown hair cut close to his scalp, brown puppy-dog eyes, a stocky build, and a sweet smile. The tattoos around his neck, arms, and hands surprised her. She read “love” on one set of his knuckles and “hate” on the other.
“Doesn’t that say it all,” she said.
“This one I fight with,” the young man explained his hand in a fist. “This one, I love with.”
She smiled at his answer.
“Are you moving in?”
“I’m Frankie. I think so. I’m waiting here for my friend,” she said, pointing to the front door. “She’s inside, making the arrangements.”
“I live here on the second floor. Have now for a couple of years. You’ll like it here. The tenants mind their own business. Well, they mostly keep to themselves. Do you have a job, yet?”
“No, I’m going to start looking tomorrow. I think Sandra wants to spend tonight settling in.”
Calvin lit a cigarette. He blew the smoke out of his nostrils.
“I’ve got to go. I’m in room 203 if you need anything. Just knock.”
“Okay,” she giggled, giving him a quick once over without being obvious. She found him quite interesting. She hoped to know him better. She didn’t know why, but she did.
Calvin disappeared down the street and rounded the corner before Sandra reappeared.

GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, January 10, 2014

YA Bound Book Tours Presents: Promo Post and GIVEAWAY of Branded by Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki





Branded (Sinners #1)
by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki
Release Date: 06/28/13
252 pages

Summary from Goodreads: 
Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best.
Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain.

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

YA Bounch Book Tours Presents: Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki







Branded (Sinners #1)
by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki
Release Date: 06/28/13
252 pages

Summary from Goodreads: 
Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best.
Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain.

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.


Buy Links:


About the Authors
Abi and Missy met in the summer of 1999 at college orientation and have been best friends ever since. After college, they added jobs, husbands and kids to their lives, but they still found time for their friendship. Instead of hanging out on weekends, they went to dinner once a month and reviewed books. What started out as an enjoyable hobby has now become an incredible adventure.

Author Links:


Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Review: The Luck of the Weissensteiners (The Three Nations Trilogy #1) by: Christoph Fischer


16177343
In the sleepy town of Bratislava in 1933 a romantic girl falls for a bookseller from Berlin. Greta Weissensteiner, daughter of a Jewish weaver, slowly settles in with the Winkelmeier clan just as the developments in Germany start to make waves in Europe. The political climate in the multifaceted cultural jigsaw puzzle of disintegrating Czechoslovakia becomes more complex and affects relations between the couple and the families.The story follows their lot through the war with its predictable and also its unexpected turns and events and the equally hard times after.

From the moment that Greta Weissensteiner enters the bookstore where Wilhelm Winkelmeier works, and entrances him with her good looks and serious ways, I was hooked. But this is no ordinary romance; in tact it is not a romance at all, but a powerful, often sad, Holocaust story. What makes The Luck of the Weissensteiners so extraordinary is the chance Christoph Fischer gives his readers to consider the many different people who were never in concentration camps, never in the military, yet who nonetheless had their own indelible Holocaust experiences. Set in the fascinating area of Bratislava, this is a wide-ranging, historically accurate exploration of the connections between social location, personal integrity and, as the title says, luck. I cared about every one of this novel's characters and continued to think about them long after I'd finished reading.
-- Andrea Steiner, University of California Santa Cruz
The Luck of the Weissensteiners is an epic saga set in wartime Eastern Europe. It follows the lives of two families - one Jewish, one Catholic - and their entwined survival amidst the backdrop of the second world war; first the fascist then the communist invasion and occupation of Slovakia, and the horror of the consequences of war. The reader is transported to a world of deception, fear, distrust and betrayal, alongside enduring love and family drama. The characters are vividly painted in the mind of the reader as we follow their journey across Europe at a time of unimaginable challenge and trauma. Weissensteiners is a magnificent tale of human survival. I wish I hadn't read it already so that I may repeat the pleasure of discovering and becoming lost in the story once again.

Review: Finding Happy For The Love Of Chihuahua by Bev E Taylor


19175697
Finding Happy is the first of 3 books in the trilogy For The Love Of Chihuahua inspired by my love of my pet dog Chihuahua called Star. For those that love a feel good read romance book, then you'll love Finding Happy. Most people love romance books but I wanted to do something different and have my books based around a pet dog that unites love and brings love together as we all love our pets and they too are one of the big loves of our lives. Finding Happy will bring you a great love and romance story of how the character of a little dog can bring so much power to ones lives!Prologue: Joshua is a graphic designer who is stuck in an unhealthy relationship with a manipulative vamp called Elena. Starlyna is a young woman whose dreams have been crushed and is struggling with depression. However, one puppy, named Happy, unites their fates together. In Finding Happy, Starlyna and Joshua will face the ups and downs of life but, will find themselves united with each other. Will Joshua be able to break up with the Elena? Will Starlyna find joy? Will they find happiness with each other? All will be revealed in Finding Happy.

Book Blitz and Giveaway Let Love Shine by Melissa Collins

Let Love Shine Book Blitz Banner





Synopsis
What comes after “they lived happily ever after?
Maddy and Reid have seen their fair share of trials and tribulations, of love and loss. Facing down the biggest challenges of their young lives, they managed to survive and endure. With the future stretching out before them, they must learn to navigate new and unfamiliar paths.
Being new parents, starting new jobs, and continuing college is enough to overwhelm any couple. New challenges come up daily, as do small victories. Watch Maddy and Reid grow stronger together in this “one year later” tale of the everyday stuff that happens in real life.
With a solid foundation of love under their inexperienced feet – and with the help of their family and friends – Maddy and Reid learn how to let love shine, lighting the way for a beautiful future to come.