Monday, July 30, 2012

Peer Inside My Soul and See Me by De Ann Townes Jr.


Peer Inside My Soul and See Me

My Review:

I was given this book from the author to give an honest review.

De Ann has talent in writing poems. There were many poems that I could relate to or touched me in a way.
These poems will touch your inner heart.

A couple of my favorite were
" You Are the Artist and Creator of My Masterpiece."
"Killing Me Softly Feels Real Good."
"Today My Child Was Born To Me, Today I Let Him Go." My son is not quite a man yet since he is only 6 but this really touched me as a mother. I know soon I will be able to relate.
"To Live Is...."
"My Love, My Husband, My King To Be In Love So Deeply To Feel Our Love for One Another So Completely... A Dedication to the Man That I Love, the Man of My Dreams, And the Love That We Feel." 


A couple of quotes in here that I could relate to were the following:

"So many times in life, what's meant to break you can actually strengthen you. As long as you are willing to take the time, do the work and find that special center core of who you've always been. You will make it through..." Native

"Who you are, is who you will be. Live strong, live honorable, live life..." Native

And the last one 
"The strengthening and rediscovery of a relationship between two people in love can be a wonderfully amazing journey..." Native.

I normally do not read poems to review but with this one I gave it a shot and truly enjoyed reading each and every one. I did catch myself going back to one just read it again because it was great. 


My Rating: 5 books

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Yesterday's Daughter by Sallie Lundy-Frommer


Yesterday's Daughter


Synopsis: 


Yesterday’s Daughter is an emotionally laden vampire romance novel woven with layers of betrayal, love and loss. Grace Stone, who later learns her true identity is Sapphira, is a loner who survives abuse in the foster care system after being abandoned as a child. 

A brilliant student, she escapes from her brutal foster parents as a teenager and creates a life for herself. But, her life is little more than existence; plagued with questions about what she really is, a family that she has never known and the never-ending need to keep her differences hidden. She is alone and lonely, believing it will always remain so until Malachi appears in her life. 

Malachi, a Guardian of the vampire communities, has searched for his life mate, Sapphira, for decades. He refuses to cease searching for Sapphira even though she is believed dead by all. Conflict arises over the decades between Malachi and his family because of his refusals to accept another mate. But his very soul drives him on to continue his search, knowing that he could not exist if Sapphira were not in the world, somewhere.





My Review:




I received this book from the author to give an honest review!

This may have spoilers.
I truly enjoyed reading Yesterday's Daughter, there was action, comedy, suspense, and of course love. There were good guys and bad guys. Though the title did throw me off a bit on what the book was about I have nothing negative to say about it.
The cover looks great I love the eyes that are on it.
Yesterday's daughter is about a young woman named Grace but later on finds out her name is Sapphira (which I love the name by the way). Who is a vampire. She was raised in a foster home and never knew her parents. She works in a morgue and never knew of any other vampires. Until one day she comes home from work and finds Malachi in her apartment. Unknown to her at the moment, she is Malachi's life mate also known as a soul mate. And he knew of her parents. As their relationship evolves into love Sapphira learns that she is a guardian like Malachi and they along with the rest of the guardians fight harvesters. There is a mystery that the guardians are trying to figure out since someone has betrayed them but who could it be?

I do hope that Sallie chooses to write another book with Sapphira and Malachi because I want to know what other powers Sapphira has, and more of the relationship between them too.

My Rating: 5 books

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Night of the Purple Moon by Scott Cramer

Night of the Purple Moon



Synopsis: 


Space germs wipe out virtually everyone who has passed through puberty.

Abby Leigh is looking forward to watching the moon turn purple. For months, astronomers have been predicting that Earth will pass through the tail of a comet. They say that people will see colorful sunsets and, best of all, a purple moon.

But nobody has predicted the lightning-fast epidemic that sweeps across the planet on the night of the purple moon. The comet brings space dust with it that contains germs that attack human hormones. Older teens and adults die within hours of exposure.

On a small island off the coast of Maine, Abby must help her brother and baby sister survive in this new world, but all the while she has a ticking time bomb inside of her -- adolescence.




My Review:

I recieved this book from the author give an honest review.

Night of the Purple Moon was not what I was expecting it to be. 
I was amazed on how the plot came together, and how the characters were written.

Imagined waking up one day and watching a comet and knowing that space dust would cover things, but what happens next is not what you expected. You and all other kids under the puberty age are the only survivors, all adults are dead. How would you survive?

Night of the Purple Moon takes you into the lives of those that are having to survive on their own without any adult help and on a small island away from the city. They start worrying when some of the older kids start hitting puberty and the symptoms of the space germs start attacking their body. Would there ever be a cure? Until Kevin one of the pre-teens who is very intelligent listens to the radio for some answers. The CDC is working on a cure. How many from the island will survive to be cured? 

Abby, her brother Jordan, their sister Toucan and their father are waiting to watch the comet. It is said that the comet will causes colorful sunsets, sunrises and a purple moon. Abby does not really care to watch it, but her class assignment is to WATCH THE COMET. Before the comet comes everyone ends up falling asleep. When Abby and her siblings wake they find that their lives have been changed forever. Not only is there a purple moon, but all the adults have died. With the help of Kevin and his sister Emily, Abby and Jordan gather all the children from the island and start trying to survive. They learn how to milk cows, tend to chickens, gather fresh drinking water just in case they run out, and most of all start taking care of one another. 

If you enjoy a good story that will keep you guessing what is going to happen next, and like to read what I would call post apocalyptic. Then I suggest you give Night of the Purple Moon a read.

My Rating: 5 books

Friday, July 20, 2012

Freebie Friday: Dawn Gray S.P.I.R.I.T.

Jump aboard Anchor Group Publishing's Friday Freebie. Check out Dawn Gray's book S.P.I.R.I.T. It is a fabulous read for Freebie Friday's. Freebie Friday sponsored by Anchor Group
When Samantha Ricketts finds herself placed in a town half-way across the country, her only worry is how did she get there. But when her life is saved by a handsome and mysterious man, the connection they feel is almost more than she can stand. Zander Smith was only acting on his instincts and training when he moved the dark-haired woman to safety but what he got from his heroics wasn't the distressed woman he had thought he was helping but a fireball of fury that sparked a storm within himself. Together they tap into the supernatural to uncover the mysteries surrounding the strange town they were slowly growing fond of before they became part of its history.


You usually can't find that many "ghost" stories that have a great romance feeling in the book, but this book has that and I enjoyed it. VANNASMOM  |  9 reviewers made a similar statement
I couldn't put this book down, I had to know what happened next, page after page I found myself wanting more. The Mystical World of Book Reviews  |  3 reviewers made a similar statement Download your free copy: HERE!You can find Dawn Gray on Facebook, Goodreads, and Twitter.

Blood Ties To The Moon by Robin P. Waldrop


Ties To The Blood Moon

Synopsis:


Genevieve is a teenage girl who moves in with her aunt in Alaska after the death of her mother. Soon after her arrival she learns the things she was raised to believe only existed in fairytales are in fact a big part of her history. When it gets to be too much she seeks refuge in the arms of her new boyfriend, William, only to find out he's not who she thought he was either.



My Review:

Will be reading this book again! I loved it.

As soon as I started reading Ties To The Blood Moon, I did not want to put it down. At times I did find that it shared some of the same elements as Twilight with the vampire and the werewolf falling in love with the same girl but that is to be expected, also with the picnic in the meadow of flowers. But Robin made her own characters and their personality different, and unique. That this book is quite different than Twilight.

I do wish that when Genevieve first transformed into a wolf that the author would have went into detail of how she looked exactly, the color of her fur, eyes. I kind of had to think about how she would look. Then when she transformed again at the end into a "new" form there was still not any description or detail on how she looked.

Now this book has suspense, and action though out the entire book, and I LOVED that it kept you turning the pages to see what was going to happen next. I do have to say the author had me with William everything was building up to what the author put into the story. I thought I had it figured out and bam I was so wrong. This is one paranormal book that I see myself reading again especially when the second book comes out which I hope is soon. At the end the author gives us a little teaser and it just makes you want more.

Genevieve is a normal teenager that is until her mother is killed. Genevieve then has to go and live with her Aunt Bev in Alaska, where at first everything seems normal but soon after things start to become different for her. Her Aunt Bev starts acting really weird and Genevieve can sense it, then she gets news that she is something more than your average seventeen year old teenager. While finding out all sorts of new things about herself and the people that are around her she starts getting feelings for one guy and soon feelings for another surfaces. Genevieve has a destiny to fulfill, and while she is fulfilling it she has gotten stronger and more skilled in fighting. She is willing to put herself in danger rather than her friends and hates when they don't listen to her.


If you love the paranormal, suspense, love triangles, action then I really recommend you pick this ebook up. Another great perk to this book is that it is over 600 pages long. Forgot to add that the cover looks AMAZING!

My Rating: 5 books

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Mark of the Princess (The Kingdom Chronicles) By B.C. Morin


Mark of the Princess (The Kingdom Chronicles, #1)


Synopsis:


The feisty and determined faerie Princess Alannah is many things, but she never thought she would be the key to her people’s destruction.

Kidnapped for a power she does not yet possess, Alannah finds herself in the clutches of the most malevolent sorcerer of her time. Maligo. Alannah escapes her prison with help from the handsome and stalwart warrior faerie, Brennus.

Now she must cross mountains and forests fraught with rogue faeries, vicious Fae-hating trolls, dangerous shape-shifters, and more to reach the only ones that can help her control her incoming powers. The Elder Faeries.

With Brennus by her side, Alannah is determined to reach the Elder Faeries and save her people. Maligo is just as determined she never makes it that far.


My Review:


I was given this book from the author to give an honest review.

What an amazing faerie story. I have read books about faeries before but in this book I was amazed, on how B.C. Morin was able to weave the plot and make everything come together. With love triangles, adventure, fighting,good faeries, good creatures, evil faeries, evil creatures, good magic, along with evil and dark magic everything came together. B.C. Morin has a wonderful imagination that she was able to weave 5 faerie kingdoms that are all different from one another. Also the cover is done beautifully, wonderful job.

Mark of the Princess will leave you wanting more literally. The characters are very well developed that you actually fall in love with them. There is Princess Alannah of the Kingdom Meria, who wants to be free but her parents want to keep a tight leash on her. Princess Evyette who is Alannah's sister who falls in love with Tristan whose best friend is Prince Kaleb of the Kingdom Talom. There there is Brennus who Alannah meets  while captured. Last but not least is the evil faerie Maligo.

Maligo has decided to kidnap Princess Alannah who he has special plans for, which will come into play later on in the story. When Princess Alannah is kidnapped her sister Evyette, Kaleb, and Tristan go through an adventurous journey to get her back, as they are traveling Evyette gets attacked since she is targeted. Not only does Alannah's story come out so does her sister's. During all the adventures and magic being learned and Alannah finally coming into learning her powers,  Alannah  has fallen in love with Kaleb and Brennus. Who will see end up picking? Alannah is a lot stronger than she thinks, but she has to learn how to get in tune with her magic.


This book is amazing and was and absolute joy to read, I could not put it down. It is a page turner with adventure and surprises around every turn. Perfect for YA and adult alike. 


My rating: 5 books 

Monday, July 16, 2012

Embrace by Stacey Rourke Book 2 in The Gryphon Series


Embrace

Synopsis:

Whether she likes it or not, eighteen year old Celeste Garrett has come to terms with being the Chosen One. She knew having a “normal life” would be tricky, between intense training sessions and epic demonic battles, but she didn’t know at what cost it would come. That is, until a dear friend is harmed by the malicious forces hunting her. 

Now, she’d like nothing more than to retreat into a hermit lifestyle to prevent anyone else from getting hurt. But startling revelations, amazing new abilities, and mortifying moments in front of insanely hot guys won’t allow time for that. Soon, Celeste finds herself surrounded by darkness and wondering who she can trust—if anyone.



My Review:

I received this book from the author as to give an honest review.


Embrace is the second book in the Gyphon series, the first book is The Conduit which I would recommend you read first so you will not be lost.

Celeste has finally came to terms with being "The Chosen One" even though her personal life is suffering. She is taking Alec being harmed pretty hard since he came into contact with malevolent forces who were and still are hunting her. She has tried to be "normal" but it is hard especially with the training her and her siblings have to go through and fighting demons.

In the midst of trying to live a normal life her only friend Sophia is always trying to get her to go out and have fun, and meet guys. Celeste keeps trying to put it off until one day Sophia has her meet a very handsome man at their place of work. Celeste is terrified, she does not want to get close to anyone in fear of what will happen to them while demons are hunting her. She ends up talking with Caleb, and ends up having a new power come to life which embarrasses her. Little does she know that Caleb has a secret of his own and is not quite who he makes his self out to be.

While fighting demons, Celeste has learned that some demons are fighting against their will, and she is now torn between helping them and killing them. What will she do?

There are some new characters who have been introduced: The Dark Army Glee club (who insists they are there to help her), The Evil Countess who wants her dead, and a Irish man who may win Celeste's heart.
Of course then there is Alec who Celeste insists on calling him her friend even though he has a darkness about him.

Embrace is fully of action, some laughter, heartbreak.

I truly enjoyed reading Embrace and the ending has me wanting more. Where Stacey left off has me wondering who is this new spirit guide that has Celeste so freaked out.

My rating : 5 books

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Ebook giveaway today only by Marissa Farrar

For all my wonderful facebook fans, today I'm offering you a FREE copy of my novel The Dark Road, from Smashwords. Just follow the below link, add the book to your cart, and enter the code FD29U. This coupon is worth $4.99 and will expire at 8.00a.m. California time tomorrow! Grab it while you can! https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/120819


Make sure you also go to her facebook page and like her page,

https://www.facebook.com/marissa.farrar.author

Thank you Marissa for sharing your book with us. I for one can not wait to read it.

Saturday, July 14, 2012

The Conduit By Stacey Rourke


The Conduit

Synopsis:


All 18-year-old Celeste Garrett wants is to head off to college and make those fun, yet ill-advised, choices college kids are known for. And maybe to spend some time with the hot cameraman she just met. Instead, because of a pact her ancestors made in the 17th century with a mythical creature, she has to save the world.

While normal kids are slamming energy drinks and cramming for exams, Celeste will get her adrenaline rush fighting a fire breathing dragon. She wants to meet friends in the quad to exchange lecture notes, but first she must exchange blows with a shapeshifting demon on the rooftop. Life isn’t always fair for a superhero, but at least she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her brother and sister as sidekicks, they alternate between saving lives and getting on each others’ nerves. Together the trio encounters unspeakable odds, mystical forces and comes face-to-face with an image that will haunt them forever—their grandmother in a leopard print bikini.

Okay, little side note here. If a psychopathic killer asks if you want to see a trick, say no. That’s the smart thing to do. I, on the other hand, responded, “Bring it.”
-excerpt from THE CONDUIT




My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.


I could not put this book down, Stacey has a way with weaving words to make an engrossing story.  I loved how she describes  the transformation of Gabe.  He is able to transform into a lion!   Stacey has a way of  describing her characters and crafting them in such a way you can actually picture what they sound like and look like.Grams I could actually picture what she would look like.  Another character that I laughed at and loved was Grams.  When Grams is first introduced Stacey describes her wearing a zebra print muumuu and a pair of hot-pink wedge heels.  

The Conduit has a great story line, loveable characters, bad guys, and a wild, dangerous but exciting destiny that has been picked for the 3 teenagers. Everything in this book flows together and nothing miss a beat. 
Now this story starts off with three ordinary teenagers Celeste, Kendall, and Gabe who are visiting there Grams for the summer, That is when the action starts happening. Celeste finds a small statue in her Grams' garage. Grams has no idea how it got there, but soon after Celeste finds it and touches it, things start changing. 


Celeste and her siblings get thrown into a destiny that has been chosen for them. They each have their own skills; and transformation. They have to learn how to work together to stop an evil that has been in the works for years. 


  This is only book one and I can not wait to read book two in this series. 
If you enjoy paranormal stories then I recommend you give this book a read you will not be disappointed.


My rating: 5 books




Friday, July 13, 2012

My son reading by his self for the first time!

Okay I know this is where I am doing my book reviews, but I had to share this with everyone. My son who is 5 soon to be 6 just read his first book. And since he is reading a book I figured I would share on my book blog. I am one proud momma right now.

video

Rift Healer By Diane M. Haynes

Rift Healer

Synopsis:

After a minor earthquake, the enchanted forest in Bidwell, MA, is infested with monster-spewing rifts. Gisele's great nephew, the gifted Micah, and his distant cousin, Selena, arrive to assist. Together with Gisele's summer students, twins Haley and Lacey, they will try to help the magical forest. Much to the consternation of the beautiful Selena, Micah identifies Haley as The One whom he'll share his future. But after witnessing a terrifying display of Micah's Gift, Haley cools to his advances and unexpectedly discovers her own Gift-- she can heal the earth. Monsters, mayhem, and teenage angst follow the small group as they confront evil in the forest and a dangerous prediction that 'one will fall'. Will they heal the rifts in time? Can they save the unicorns? And is Haley really destined to be with Micah?






My Review:

I received this book from the author herself as to give an honest literary review. 

Rift Healer was an amazing read, I could not put it down. This book is targeted for all audiences young and adult it is such a wonderful book you will truly enjoy it yourself.

I found a part in here that made me chuckle quite a bit, "Taylor grabbed his blue plastic six-shooter. This is so stupid. We're going to get eaten and all they'll find is melted, plastic water guns." 
Now you will have to read this story to find this part and you will understand why I had to chuckle a bit. 
Rift Healer was unlike any book that I read before, it has different mythical creatures such as dragons, unicorns, fairies, tinker tinks, water sprites. I was very impressed with the way the story turned out and how everything combined together and did not miss a step. I was also amazed on how when the rift's were opened and creatures came out they weren't the "same" creatures every time, they were different, harder to fight. I thought the author did a wonderful job on that.

Rift Healer is about a group of children no more than sixteen years old. Haley and Lucy (which are twin sisters), Taylor (Lucy's boyfriend), Gisele's great nephew Micah, and Selena. When a earthquake hits they all have a dangerous, exciting, summer. Not only are they fighting to help the forest where the good mythical creatures live, they are fighting to keep other rifts from not opening in other places they only have a time frame to do this. With a summer of fighting with magic pretty much there is a romance that will blossom between two characters.  

Diane, has done a wonderful job with the characters, the mythical creatures, and with the magic. Her story line goes together perfectly and makes me want to read more. I can not wait to read more from this author, she did a terrific job.   

My rating 5 books!

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Burning Bridges by Nadege Bridges


Burning Bridges (The Bleeding Heart Trilogy, #1)


Synopsis:


Do or Die...

In a world that has been divided amongst the Hunter race and the Warrior, prisoners who have fallen prey to King Cyrus' decrees are forced into the arena to fight until death. Winner is granted mercy and privilege to see another sunrise. Death unto the weak. In an attempt to get back at everyone who has ever shut her out, seventeen year-old Princess Echo becomes another victim, dragging Ayden, her forbidden love, along in a race to freedom, to find out who she really is, and to put a world that has been swallowed by lies back together again.

When death threatens the forbidden love of an unlikely couple and they are forced to do the unthinkable, to what extent will they go to be together?



My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

Let me say the cover looks amazing! Great job. Now on to the review. This book was a really great read, and I wanted to keep reading page after page to see what was going through Echo's mind and to find out what was going to happen between her and Ayden.

Now there was one part in here that had me confused and I had to ask the author about the timeline of the story. That being said I was told that everything will become clearer in the second book which I can not wait to read.

You can not help but fall in love with Echo and Ayden. These two characters are lovable and to see their romance come alive is just wonderful. Burning Bridges has a bit of action, a forbidden love, lies, and betrayal.


Burning Bridges is about a young woman named Echo who is a princess and soon to be heir in a kingdom. She is being forced into something that she does not want, she wants to find happiness for herself. Until one day she meets Ayden and her whole world and who she is changes. Is this a relationship that can come together and last?

Though out the story I was continuously intrigued by the way the story came together. Nadege is a wonderful author. I would highly recommend this book to everyone to either read it or give it a try.

My rating 5 books!

The Author Crystal Cattabriga is having a One year anniversary Bash!

The very amazing author Crystal Cattabriga is celebrating her One year anniversary bash, please click this link and enter in you may win something. It is USA and International giveaway.

Crystal Cattabriga is the author of these books which you can find on amazon, and barnes and noble. Also you can follow her on facebook and become a fan on the site www.goodreads.com

Saving Bobby



 Which is expected to be published sometime this year
 Also expected to be published sometime this year.


Here is the link to her giveaway.

http://crystalcattabrigabooks.blogspot.com/


Have fun and Congrats on the One Year Anniversary Crystal.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Monday, July 9, 2012

Forever By Gillian Joy (Guardian #2)

Forever (Guardian, #2)

Synopsis:


Book two in the Guardian series.
Hannah’s life has never been easy, despite her strong willed determination and her extra “gifts”, it's still always been hard work keeping an entire world full of the supernatural under control, but having achieved a small semblance of control over most of the custas, Hannah was hoping to be able to slip back into her life of normalcy. Wishful thinking when you're the guardian of all supernatural. 
With all the issues she’d had to endure in her past, she'd never had to worry about the mermaids before, so why would they choose now to suddenly start haunting her dreams and her life. Then there are the fairies to contend with as well, just when she manages to get one aspect of the crudelitas under control, the others decide it’s time to start causing problems.
All Hannah wants is some quiet family time and a chance to reflect on her feelings for Gabriel but instead she's thrown back into the thick of the supernatural world, and this time it threatens to invade the quiet family life she has worked so hard to establish. There's no running away this time, she has to front the challenges head on, but forever can be a long time if you can't be with the one you love.




My review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

I honestly would give this book more than 5 stars, because it truly deserves it as far as the story line goes. The only problem I had with it was at times there were  miss spelled words, and grammar mistakes.
Amazing, I loved book 1 Guardian and then I started Forever and I was just like wow. Neither one of these books disappointed me. In Forever questions were answered, and surprises were revealed. I caught myself going WHAT no way how did I not put two and two together.  The story flows perfectly from the Guardian and it does not miss a beat.  Gillian Joy I do hope you write a third book because I truly enjoyed reading your books. The stories are amazing, everything flows together, the characters are likable. This is one fan that is truly wanting more of Hannah, Gabriel, Jesse even though he seems a bit cocky at times, Sam, Bernard and the whole rest of the gang.  I want to know what happens in the future, and what happens between Hannah and Gabriel. This is another book that I highly recommend and 5 stars does not do it justice.  

Friday, July 6, 2012

Guardian By Gillian Joy

Guardian


Synopsis:

Headstrong and determined, Hannah always knew that she would become the Guardian. She was the keeper and the protector of all supernatural beings. What she didn't expect was that it would mean she would have to endure the agonising death of her mother first hand as their supernatural connection brings her to her knees, or that it would mean that she could never be with the man she loved.
Blond haired, blue eyed Gabriel was her handsome childhood friend, but would circumstances prevent her from ever being able to explore her true feelings for him?
Jesse, the dark alluring but incorrigible vampire would give anything to be with her, but as the guardian Hannah is forbidden to fall in love with the supernatural.
With her life in turmoil over her conflicting emotions about Gabriel and Jesse and her frustration at being unable to exact revenge for her mother’s horrific death, Hannah flees her life in an attempt to start over. But can we ever really escape from ourselves? 
There is no escaping destiny no matter how hard she might try and Hannah must learn to reconcile her commitment to her family with her responsibility as the Guardian and her duty to her heart.




My Review:

I was given this book from the author to give an honest review.

Gillian Joy has amazing talent. I got into this book from the first page. This is not your typical paranormal book that deals with witches, warlocks, vampires. This concept is one I have never read before and I am glad I was given the chance to read this book.

Guardian is filled with love, action, some suspense. I found myself going "oh my so didn't see that part coming."

Guardian is about a girl name Hannah it starts off around the year 1675, and gives you a little bit of background for the story. Hannah has a secret that she wants to tell her best friend Gabriel. Hannah would be following in her mother's footsteps of being a protector and keeper of all supernatural beings also known as Crudelitas. Then something tragic happens to Hannah, and she makes it her mission in life to hunt down the supernatural being that caused her pain. I am not going to go into in more details because then I would feel as though I am giving away so much of the book.

Give this book a read because you will not be disappointed, I would honestly give this book more than 5 stars if I could because Guardian deserves it. Can not wait to start book two in this series.

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Between by Mary Ting (Crossroads Saga #2)

Between (Crossroads Saga, #2)




Synopsis:


As the alkins head back to Crossroads, Claudia leads her normal life; but not for long. Having a special soul, Claudia attracts danger, and she soon finds out who Gamma asked to watch over her. The Twelve, known as Divine Elders on Earth, are very much involved when they find out that Aliah, one of the God’s first angels, escaped from the Abyss when the gates were opened by Aden. Needing Claudia’s soul to escape the only place Aliah can reside–a place between Heaven and Earth–he sends his demons in search of all Claudia Emersons on Earth. Taking her soul will enable him to be released from Between and cross over to Crossroads, which would give him immense power. As more secrets are revealed Claudia learns about the venators—nephilim, demon hunters. Now two opposing forces must work together in order to save Claudia and humanity from the most dangerous angel ever created. But along the way, trust becomes a big issue. Will love be enough to keep Claudia and Michael together? Who will make the ultimate sacrifice? Who will betray them all?






My Review:


I received the ecopy of this book from the author to give an honest review! 

Between had me from the first page. When I finished Crossroads (the first book in the series) I could not wait to read Between. I was into this book. 

It has action, forbidden love, humor, heartache, suspense all the things that make a good story come to life. 
To me there were more details in this book than in book 1. But do not get me wrong, the first book was amazing, but this one took the icing on the cake for a great second book. 

Mary Ting, brings back the same characters as in book 1 Crossroads, and adds some new characters into the mix. You get to know a little about each character, and fall in love yourself.

In this book we the readers see the love blossom more between Michael and Claudia only to take its toll on them both, because they both know they can never truly be together. It is forbidden. Throw into the mix Austin who you can tell deeply cares for Claudia and then Trinity (new character) who still has love for Michael. The demons and fallen are still after Claudia's soul, which she can only give freely. This book has everything to make a book a great book. If I could give this book more than 5 stars I surely would.


My favorite character I would have to say is Davin every time he would say something in the book I would just have to chuckle to myself, he is such a funny guy and a sweetheart. 

I got a bit teary-eyed reading this book, I could not believe what was happening, even though I knew it had to happen. I felt so sad for both of the main characters, but I do hope there is a third book in this series. Because now I want to know what is going to happen to Claudia, Michael, Austin, Davin. Mary Ting you have me hooked. :D

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Emma Holly Contest!

Just click on the link, and enter your name in. You never know you may win. Emma Holly is a great writer, I was lucky enough to get two signed books from her. Fingers are crossed that I win another one. This is the book that you could win.  Remember just click the link below fill out your information and you are entered! Give it a try






http://www.emmaholly.com/contest.php

Monday, July 2, 2012

Crossroads by Mary Ting (Crossroads Saga series)

Crossroads (Crossroads Saga, #1)

Synopsis:


Claudia Emerson has a good friend who shares the same first name and last name. That friend unfortunately dies in a tragic accident during homecoming dance. Claudia is distraught at the loss of her friend, but is even more disturbed by her dreams, which seem to take her to another place called Crossroads. Unknown to her, Crossroads is like a second heaven, a place between heaven and earth. It is where the souls of humans in comas or near death experiences may wander. Where, Claudia meets Michael, a nephilim, a half angel, half human, whom she often meets in her dreams. It turns out that this isn’t her first visit to Crossroads, which is an enigma for no human can ever travel there until Claudia. 

Now the fallen and demons are after her, suspecting she must be special and it is up to Michael and the other nephilims to protect her. Her dream becomes a nightmare as more secrets are revealed, about who she really is, and the true identities of the people she loves most. Can Michael fight his growing feelings for Claudia and protect her as a guardian angel should?



My Review:

I received this book from the author, to give an honest review. 

I have never read a book about angels quite like this before and I absolutely feel in love with it. The plot that Mary wrote is unique and different from what I have ever read before. It is new and exciting. I really enjoyed reading about the alkins, Michael, Davin, Caleb, Vivian. 

If you enjoy reading about angels, good guys and bad, forbidden love, suspense, fighting for good and evil. Then this is a book for you. 

Crossroads is literally breath taking, and I highly recommend anyone who enjoys reading then please give this book a try.

My favorite quote that I read was "Be good to those who are alive because what good is it when they are dead?" This is what Claudia's mother says to her. And it is so true even in the real world. Claudia is a wonderful character, who seems so kind and lovable and innocent.

Crossroads is about a young teen girl named Claudia who visits a place when she dreams called The Crossroads, humans are not allowed there. But somehow Claudia is able to visit. She has been visiting for years and has never seen anyone until one day she meets Michael. Michael is known as a alkin half human half angel. Mary gives you vivid information, and details on how how the alkins were made, and the background information on God's angels. As soon as Michael and Claudia meet they don't quite know it yet, but they have started fallen for each other, though can they ever be together? That is something you will have to read. Claudia ends up have tragic things happen to her, and the fallen are looking for her. Why? Well that is something else you would have to read about. Michael is her guardian angel who will do anything to protect her. Towards the end of the book everything comes together for Claudia. I can not wait to read book 2 in this series.