Thursday, December 31, 2015

My Last Review for the year: Return to Sleepy Hollow (Book 2)by Dax Varley

25782797Title: Return to Sleepy Hollow (book 2)
Author: Dax Varley
Published: Aug. 31, 2014
Publisher: Garden Gate Press
Pages: 168
Genre: Paranormal
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Katrina has escaped her fate and is hiding in Philadelphia. But she can’t escape the legendary Headless Horseman. As before he comes to her window, beckoning her to him.

Why here?

Why her?

The truth unfolds when hope is lost and Katrina is forced to RETURN TO SLEEPY HOLLOW.

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

NetGalley Review: The Mafia Hit Man's Daughter by Linda Scarpa with Linda Rosencrance

25628919Title: The Mafia Hit Man's Daughter
Author: Linda Scarpa with Linda Rosencrance
Published: Dec. 29, 2015
Publisher: Pinnacle
Pages: 320
Genre: True Crime, Biography
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



“We were always worried. Always looking over our shoulders . . .”

Linda Scarpa had the best toys, the nicest clothes, and a close-knit family. Yet her childhood was far from idyllic. Classmates avoided her; boys wouldn’t date her. Eventually she learned why: they were afraid of her father.

A made man in the Colombo crime family, Gregory Scarpa, Sr. was a stone-cold killer nicknamed the “Grim Reaper.” Unlike most tight-lipped mobsters, Scarpa talked business—and murder—in front of his kids. But to Linda, he was also a loving, devoted father who played video games with her for hours. In riveting detail, she reveals what it was like to grow up in the violent world of the mob and to come to grips with the truth about her father and the devastation he wrought.

Monday, December 28, 2015

Review: Survival (The Guardians of Vesturon #1) by A.M. Hargrove

13077293Title: Survival (The Guardians of Vesturon #1)
Author: A.M. Hargrove
Published: Nov. 14, 2011
Pages: 276
Genre: YA, paranormal
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




"Maybe I was caught between the two worlds. I was having serious trouble distinguishing fantasy from reality."
While on a backpacking trip in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, nineteen-year-old Maddie Pearce finds her world has been thrown into a vortex and is madly spinning toward the impossible. Abducted by a mad psychopath, Maddie narrowly escapes with her life. But that is only the beginning. Her mysterious rescuer introduces her to a world that Maddie has difficulty accepting as reality. Will this strikingly gorgeous stranger be the key to her future or will she return to her mundane world, scarred from her experience? Follow Maddie as she is forced to make difficult decisions that carry her to mysterious places.

Cover Reveal: Dangerous Ties * A Ties Novel) by: J.L. Beck






Dangerous Ties (A Ties Novel) by J.L. Beck
Genre: Dark Romance
Release Date: Feb 1st 2016


Bestselling Author J.L. Beck brings you the next best thing in dark romance. Dangerous ties, a love story so raw and powerful it will set your lady-bits on fire.

"I was one of New York's most dangerous criminals. She was the good girl from down the street. I should've know what fate had planned the moment her name showed up on my kill list."

Reader Warning: Please be advised this is a dark romance. Some themes may cause triggers. 18+ Only.
***

He was bold, intoxicating, and held a darkness that pulled at my heart-strings.

I wanted him from the very first moment I saw him across the dance floor at the club.

She was quiet, but her eyes, and body said everything her words couldn't.

I didn't know who she was when I took her and made her my own.

We had already crossed a dangerous line that there was no coming back from.

We were on the run. From who I didn't know, but he told me it would all be okay. That he would do whatever he could to protect me from the people that were hunting us.

What I failed to see was that the monster had always been right within grabbing distance.

Now that I was apart of his world, his life, and hopefully his heart could I survive the carnage that was about to take place?

The ties that binded us, were also the ties that would end us.

I loved him, and now all that was left for me was death.


PREORDER LINKS:


Amazon: http://amzn.to/1SK5poU

Goodreads Link: : https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25165216-dangerous-ties

Release Day Party: https://www.facebook.com/events/512536475594300/
:

Sunday, December 27, 2015

Review: A Scrying Shame by: Donna White Glaser

25775005Title: A Scrying Shame
Author: Donna White Glaser
Published: July 7, 2015
Publisher: Kindle Press
Pages: 242
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Review: ebook provided via Kindle Scout
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Following a near death experience, twenty-five-year old Arie Stiles decides she might as well take the job nobody else wants: a crime scene clean-up technician. It’s good money, which she could use, and death doesn’t hold a lot of mystery for her.
Or so she thinks.
Arie isn’t on the job long before discovering she’s been “gifted” with a new psychic talent—the ability to scry. Whether she wants to or not, Arie can read the memories of the dead in their blood.
When she is assigned to clean the crime scene of Marissa Mason, the socialite author of the best-selling gold-diggers' bible, Arie finds herself haunted by blood visions day and night, and to her shock discovers an unexpected family connection to the victim. With her brother suffering the unwanted attention of the police as the primary suspect, can Arie face her fear of the blood visions long enough to follow the trail of clues left in the murdered woman's memories and find the real culprit?

Saturday, December 26, 2015

#PBwkendread Review: Finders Keepers (Bill Hodges Trilogy #2) by Stephen King

22453035Title: Finders Keepers (Bill Hodges Trilogy #2)
Author: Stephen King
Published: June 2, 2015
Publisher: Scribner
Pages: 431
Genre: Mystery
Review: library book
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




“Wake up, genius.” So begins King’s instantly riveting story about a vengeful reader. The genius is John Rothstein, an iconic author who created a famous character, Jimmy Gold, but who hasn’t published a book for decades. Morris Bellamy is livid, not just because Rothstein has stopped providing books, but because the nonconformist Jimmy Gold has sold out for a career in advertising. Morris kills Rothstein and empties his safe of cash, yes, but the real treasure is a trove of notebooks containing at least one more Gold novel.
Morris hides the money and the notebooks, and then he is locked away for another crime. Decades later, a boy named Pete Saubers finds the treasure, and now it is Pete and his family that Bill Hodges, Holly Gibney, and Jerome Robinson must rescue from the ever-more deranged and vengeful Morris when he’s released from prison after thirty-five years.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Review: The Last Orphans (The Last Orphans #1) by N.W. Harris

23389307Title: The Last Orphans #1
Author: N.W. Harris
Published: Oct. 9, 2014
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Pages: 263
Genre: Dystopia, Teens
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


One horrifying day will change the life of sixteen-year-old Shane Tucker and every other kid in the world.

In a span of mere hours, the entire adult population is decimated, leaving their children behind to fend for themselves and deal with the horrific aftermath of the freak occurrence. As one of the newly made elders in his small town, Shane finds himself taking on the role of caretaker for a large group of juvenile survivors. One who just happens to be Kelly Douglas—an out-of-his-league classmate—who, on any other day, would have never given Shane a second glance.

Together, they begin their quest to find out why all of the adults were slaughtered. What they find is even more horrifying than anything they could have expected—the annihilation of the adults was only the beginning. Shane and his friends are not the unlucky survivors left to inherit this new, messed-up planet. No, they are its next victims. There is an unknown power out there, and it won’t stop until every person in the world is dead.

A spine-tingling adventure that will have you gasping for breath all the way until the last page, The Last Orphans is the first book in an all-new apocalyptic series.

Review: What Lies Within by James Morris

25813179Title: What Lies Within
Author: James Morris
Published: June 2, 2015
Publisher: Kindle Press
Pages: 2019
Genre: Thriller, YA
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk




“You’re going to die”
Shelley Marano is an ordinary, unexceptional high school senior…until the day she receives a cryptic text message, and her world tilts sideways. Now she’s in real danger, although she doesn’t know who would want her dead, or why. As she starts to unravel the mystery, the truth about who she really is proves to be more frightening than she ever imagined. With the lives of her and her friends hanging in the balance, one thing is certain:
Nothing will ever be the same.

Monday, December 21, 2015

#PBwkendread Review: Salt & Stone (Fire & Flood #2) by Victoria Scott

20657437Title: Salt and Stone (Fire and Flood 2)
Author: Victoria Scott
Published: Feb. 24, 2015
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages: 320
Genre: YA
Review: library book
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk  



What would you do to save someone you love? What about risking...everything?
In Fire & Flood, Tella Holloway faced a dangerous trek through the jungle and a terrifying march across the desert, all to remain a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed for a chance at obtaining the Cure for her brother. She can't stop—and in Salt & Stone, Tella will have to face the unseen dangers of the ocean, the breathless cold of a mountain, and the twisted new rules in the race.
But what if the danger is deeper than that? How do you know who to trust when everyone's keeping secrets? What do you do when the person you've relied on most suddenly isn't there for support? How do you weigh one life against another?
The race is coming to an end, and Tella is running out of time, resources, and strength. At the beginning of the race there were 122 Contenders. As Tella and her remaining friends start the fourth and final part of the race, just forty-one are left...and only one can win.

Review: The Braid: A Short Story by Angela Yuriko Smith

26012927Title: The Braid: A Short story
Author: Angela Yuriko Smith
Publisher: DandiFluff
Published: July 31, 2015
Pages: 18
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



There is something wrong with Cambria's new babysitting job when she gets drawn into a little girl's game of pulling faces—with no one. Cambria's simple world begins to fragment. It all starts when you tie the knot.

The Braid is a satisfying short story that will resonate with readers long after the story is closed.

Review: Demons in the Big Easy by Jamie Marchant

17254942Title: Demons in the Big Easy
Author: Jamie Marchant
Published: Jan. 3, 2013
Publisher: Self
Pages: 74
Genre: Paranormal
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Adventurous in her youth, Cassandra built gateways between Domhan and its parallel realm of Earth. Now she’s too old for that kind of thing. But something is making it easier for demons to pass into Domhan. Not only that, but their behavior becomes inexplicable: whenever Cassandra banishes one, it laughs at her rather than resists, and it promises it will soon devour her essence and that of every resident of her small village. Cassandra is certain such a thing is impossible, for strong wards protect her village.

But then Cassandra’s granddaughter Aine falls through an unstable gateway. Cassandra is the only one within a hundred miles capable of creating a gateway and bringing Aine back. Despite her aching joints, Cassandra goes after her, and the gateway lands her in New Orleans. But something goes wrong with her tracking spell, which indicates Aine exists in four different places at once. As Cassandra struggles to find the true location of her granddaughter in the Big Easy, she discovers the source of the demons’ confidence. Now, with an unlikely pair of allies—her timid granddaughter and a homeless man who may or may not be crazy—she has to not only save her granddaughter but also prevent both Domhan and Earth from being overrun by demons.

Review: Challenge (Ella Bandita and the Wanderer Book 3) by Montgomery Mahaffey

24909585Title: Challenge (Ella Bandita and the Wanderer book 3)
Author: Montgomery Mahaffey
Published: May 25, 2015
Publisher: Free Flying Press
Pages: 72
Genre: Fantasy
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 







The Wanderer should have known better. Growing up with the Bard's fireside stories about the predatory seductress Ella Bandita has done nothing to prepare him for meeting her. When he crosses paths with a mysterious vagabond girl in the woods, his loneliness pulls him toward her. But the strange woman spurns his friendship. It should be easy enough to leave her behind. But the Wanderer can't pull himself away, captive to his stubborn will and the haunting dreams that linger when he wakes up every morning. Drawn in by the legendary allure of Ella Bandita, the Wanderer is caught up in a game of cat and mouse fraught with desire that is only fueled by his neighbor's disdain. Soon, the words of his grandfather's warning becomes a fading echo in his ear...always remember, follow your heart. Will the Wanderer resist in time to hear those words, or will he lose the one thing that matters to him most?

Interview with author Rebecca Jaycox


 The Other Inheritance
By Rebecca Jaycox

ISBN-10: 0990829537
Rocking Horse Publishing
Trade paper, 304 pgs.
November 14, 2014, $12.15
Also available in ebook formats

She touched the frog. Just once. It leaped into the air and hopped away, disappearing under the classroom desks. It had been awaiting its fate as a science experiment, fully dead, the stench of formaldehyde permeating the room . . . 
Seventeen-year-old Reggie has been having a tougher time than usual. As if dealing with her alcoholic mother and fighting school bullies isn’t enough, dead things keep coming back to life and this biker dude shows up in her dreams, babbling about magic and a world called the Other. 
Reggie’s life is changing, and she has no idea why. Or whether she should believe Rhys, the man in her dreams, who claims she’s in danger and that someone is coming to take her to a safer reality. 
And when Asher shows up, things really get crazy. 


                                                     


Rebecca Jaycox grew up in the tiny town of Berryman, which borders the Mark Twain National Forest and the Courtois River about 70 miles south of St. Louis. The beautiful landscape fed her imagination, and she began writing stories at age 10 and never stopped. Always seeking adventure, Rebecca moved to France after she graduated college with a journalism degree to teach English at a French high school. Bitten by the travel bug, she has recently visited Italy, Greece, Austria, Spain, and finally made it to her bucket-list destination of Istanbul last summer. Rebecca now lives in New York City with her husband, Gregory. She is the curator and program director of the YA Lit Series at the 92nd Street Y—one of New York’s premier cultural centers. She enjoys reading and writing fantasy, urban fantasy, steampunk, and science fiction. The Other Inheritance is her first novel.

www.rebeccajaycox.com
Blog URL: www.rebeccajaycox.com
Facebook URL: https://www.facebook.com/RebeccaLJaycox
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RebeccaJaycox


Interview questions:

1. Who is your favorite author?
Um, I have a lot of them! At the moment, Ilona Andrews is my favorite Urban Fantasy author, and I'm really digging Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black for YA. But I can name 10 more authors easily for you. I will restrain myself.


2. What made you start writing YA?
I started writing YA by accident to be honest. I had a story I really wanted to tell and it ended up in that category. YA is such a fascinating genre, and it's really evolved over the last 20 years.


3. What age did you start writing?
I started writing around the age of 10 I guess. I saw Star Wars and the rest was history.


4. If you could go back in time what advice would you give your younger self about writing?
I took a break from writing--like a years long break--and I would tell my younger self to keep writing. Even if it was crap, to keep putting something on the page. I would also tell my younger self to join a writing group.

5. You are stuck somewhere very cold what are three items that you must have with you?
A good book, my husband, and gourmet cheese.

Friday, December 18, 2015

#PBwkendread: Salt and Stone by Victoria Stone



Guess what it is the WEEKEND!!!! Well it is the day before the weekend but for me it is the weekend lol.
When my librarian told me to read the first one Fire and Flood I finished that sucker quickly just so I could get ready to start Salt and Stone. If you have not read Fire and Flood you HAVE to read it. The story line is amazing and where it lives off you will want to get book two so you can know what will happen next. I will probably have Salt and Stone finished by tonight if I don't have a lot of interruptions.


20657437
What would you do to save someone you love? What about risking...everything?
In Fire & Flood, Tella Holloway faced a dangerous trek through the jungle and a terrifying march across the desert, all to remain a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed for a chance at obtaining the Cure for her brother. She can't stop—and in Salt & Stone, Tella will have to face the unseen dangers of the ocean, the breathless cold of a mountain, and the twisted new rules in the race.
But what if the danger is deeper than that? How do you know who to trust when everyone's keeping secrets? What do you do when the person you've relied on most suddenly isn't there for support? How do you weigh one life against another?
The race is coming to an end, and Tella is running out of time, resources, and strength. At the beginning of the race there were 122 Contenders. As Tella and her remaining friends start the fourth and final part of the race, just forty-one are left...and only one can win.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Review: Finding Never (Tasting Never #2) by C.M. Stunich

17314424Title: Finding Never (Tasting Never #2)
Author: C.M. Stunich
Published: Feb. 1, 2013
Publisher: Sarian Royal
Pages: 208
Genre: Romance, New Adult
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Finding Never, a New Adult Novel Recommended for Ages 18 and Up
#2 in the series beginning with "Tasting Never"
(Books 1-5 are available now - Reading list included below!)
"Tell me, Never, do you still love him?"
Never Ross and Ty McCabe have come a long way – but they can't stop now. Their pasts are still there, ready to sweep over and consume them if they don't confront them. A visit to Never's family seems like the first logical step, but will it make things better or worse? And what about Noah Scott? Ty is Never's tortured other half, but can he also be the healing balm that she so desperately needs? With McCabe's past still a virtual unknown, Never is going to have to make more than one decision capable of breaking both their hearts.
"Ty has changed; I have changed, and things are not always what they seem."
READING LIST:
#1: Tasting Never
#2: Finding Never
#3: Keeping Never
OR #1-3: "Tasting, Finding, Keeping: The Story of Never"
#4: Never Can Tell
#5: Never Let Go
#6: Never Did Say (Releases July 2015)

#PBwkendread Review: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

18775247Title: Mr. Mercedes
Author: Stephen King
Published: Jan. 6, 2015
Publisher: Gallery Books
Pages: 448
Genre: Mystery Thriller
Review: Library book
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



In the frigid pre-dawn hours, in a distressed Midwestern city, hundreds of desperate unemployed folks are lined up for a spot at a job fair. Without warning, a lone driver plows through the crowd in a stolen Mercedes, running over the innocent, backing up, and charging again. Eight people are killed; fifteen are wounded. The killer escapes.
In another part of town, months later, a retired cop named Bill Hodges is still haunted by the unsolved crime. When he gets a crazed letter from someone who self-identifies as the "perk" and threatens an even more diabolical attack, Hodges wakes up from his depressed and vacant retirement, hell-bent on preventing another tragedy.
Brady Hartfield lives with his alcoholic mother in the house where he was born. He loved the feel of death under the wheels of the Mercedes, and he wants that rush again.
Only Bill Hodges, with a couple of highly unlikely allies, can apprehend the killer before he strikes again. And they have no time to lose, because Brady’s next mission, if it succeeds, will kill or maim thousands.
Mr. Mercedes is a war between good and evil, from the master of suspense whose insight into the mind of this obsessed, insane killer is chilling and unforgettable.