Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Review: The Closet (Summerset Tales #1) by Jac Wright

18043841
Love is a battlefield. Who will get out of it alive?
Harry Duncan Wood runs a hotel in the historic city of Bath with his beautiful young wife. When he falls in love with Mill House, an old greystone farmhouse on the banks of river Avon among the soaring hills of Somerset, and sets about moving his family there, the first appearances of the cracks in the marriage take him by surprise. Is his wife seeing another man? Duncan needs to get to the bottom of the affairs for his own sanity. Sometimes, however, ignorance is bliss and will also keep everybody alive.
The Closet is written in the tradition of Charles Dickens' The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy's Wessex Tales as the first in the collection of literary short fiction, but with an added element of suspense. It accompanies the first title in the author's full-length literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer, published by Soul Mate Publishing, New York.


I received this book to give an honest review.
So I started getting into the book and then got to the ending and was like WHAT! It stops there? Is there more? Talk about a cliff hanger. I literally went back a few pages re-read them and was like oh wow I didn't miss anything like I thought. 


This is a short story, but it draws you in with Harry. He is a middle age man who is married to a young woman and has a 5 year old son. When he assumes his wife is having an affair he hides in a closet (hence the name the title) But what happens when he is in the closet? I really want to get in on these tales to find out what the heck happens to Harry, his wife! Wasn't what I was really expecting and I enjoyed that.










Jac Wright is a published poet, a published author, and an electronics engineer educated at Stanford, University College London, and Cambridge who lives and works in England. Jac studied English literature from an early age of three, developing an intense love for poetry, drama, and writing in Speech & Drama classes taken every Saturday for fourteen years, and in subsequent creative writing classes taken during the university years. A published poet, Jac's first passion was for literary fiction and poetry writing as well as for the dramatic arts. You will find these influences in the poetic imagery and prose, as well as the in the dramatic scene setting and deep character creation.
These passions - for poetry, drama, literary fiction, and electronic engineering - have been combined to create the first book in the literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer. There are millions of professionals in high tech corporate environments who work in thousands of cities in the US, the UK, and the world such as engineers, technicians, technical managers, investment bankers, and corporate lawyers. High drama, power struggles, and human interest stories play out in the arena every day. Yet there are hardly any books that tell their stories; there are not many books that they can identify with. Jac feels compelled to tell their stories in The Reckless Engineer series.
Jac also writes the literary short fiction series, Summerset Tales, in which Wright explores characters struggling against their passions and social circumstances in the semi-fictional region of contemporary England called Summerset, partly the region that Thomas Hardy called Wessex. Some of the tales have an added element of suspense similar to Roald Dahl's Tales of the Unexpected. The collection is published as individual tales in the tradition of Geoffrey Chaucer's Caterbury Tales, Charles Dickens' The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy's Wessex Tales. The first tale, The Closet, accompanies the first title in the author's full-length series, The Reckless Engineer.

No comments:

Post a Comment