Thursday, September 27, 2012

Twisted by Jenny Phillips A Twisted Fairy Tale Novella Series #1)


Twisted (A Twisted Fairy Tale Novella Series #1) ebook 67 pages
                                                                              Published September 2012
                                                                              A SIN B009EU43NC

Synopsis:

Gianna’s life has not been easy. She’s merely counted down the days until she can leave Fort Miami, with all the stares and whispers behind. However, when her childhood friend Hunter returns, it forces her to face memories she’s tried to forget. But what memories are real and which ones are that of an eight year old’s imagination?

Hunter doesn’t remember anything from that horrific night. Can Gianna trust someone who seems to have forgotten her once before? Can she put the pieces of that night together before it’s too late and she loses everyone she loves, even if that means believing in something that she’s only faced in her nightmares?

Twisted is the first installment in A Twisted Fairy Tale Novella Series.



My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

Twisted was a wonderful YA read. There was a lot of mystery in this book as far as the memories of Gianna and Hunter. Along with mystery you find teenage love starting. Gianna and Hunter were best friends growing up until something happened one day out in the woods. After that indicnet Hunter's mom moved him out of The Fort. Gone for years with no contact with each other, Hunter comes back! Though out the time that Hunter was gone, Gianna kept to herself and was talked about by her classmates they believed her to be a freak.  Can they pick up their friendship where it left off? Or will they realize the feelings they have for each other are more than just friends? Gianna is starting to remember bits and pieces of what happened that day, but Hunter does not. Will they ever figure out what truly went down? And why did Hunter and Gianna's mom hide information from that night? 
There was one part in this book that I wanted to smack Hunter, when he let Bobby pick on Gianna, in front of him. :/ I was like REALLY! You like her but yet you let this guy be rude and you do not stick up for her. GRRRRRRRRRRRRR! Though later on it went into detail on why he didn't stick up for her. Which gave him some brownie points from me. :D

My question for the author is this, when will book 2 be coming out? I truly want to read it. 

The characters and the plot of Twisted was well written, and the cliffhanger at the end my oh my. That definitely gets me to want to read the next book. 


My Rating: 5 wine glasses



Purchase links:

Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Twisted-Fairy-Novella-Series-ebook/dp/B009EU43NC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1348672103&sr=8-1&keywords=Twisted+Jenny


Where to find the author:

Goodreads:
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5784961.Jenny_Phillips

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/JennyPhillipsBooks

Website:
http://jennyphillipsbooks.weebly.com/

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/FreyaJenn





Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Blog Tour with K.B Miller Coming Soon!


First let me say I am super stoked that I am going to be part of a blog tour my very first every blog tour with the lovely author K.B. Miller. Now as you all know she has written the books Haunted Moon, Compulsion, and Harvest Moon. Starting on October 5th I will be putting up my review of her book Haunted Moon. On October 11 will be another review of her book Compulsion, then on October 15 I will have a interview with K.B. Miller. Last but not least I will have a review of her book Harvest Moon on October 25.

All three books are part of the Moon Coven Series, and let me say I loved Haunted Moon which is a novella. Compulsion I just started last night and it has already sucked me in, I can not wait to read Harvest Moon and let you all know how the book is. K.B. Miller will not disappoint. :D


So please make sure you stop by on those dates and do not forget to enter the rafflecopter that will be going on! Also please make sure you stop by the other blogs that will be on the tour. Any questions please feel free to email me:  foamfamily08@yahoo.com or you can always just leave a comment below and I will get back to you.


Oct.5 review Haunted Moon
Oct.11 Review Compulsion
Oct.15 Author Interview K.B. Miller
Oct.25 Review Harvest Moon


Author Bio:

Okay, so I'm supposed to tell you about me...
Seriously, if I wrote a book about myself it would take you 10 minutes to read and you would be bored stiff after the first 2! LOL

I'm a full-time writer, wife, and mother. Which basically means there's always a surplus of pencils lost somewhere in my hair, I usually have some place to be(I'm always late), I have a bad habit of calling family and friends random character's names (from my books), I talk to myself because no one else listens to me, and I can throw together a mean dinner for 8 with only 10 minutes notice and four ingredients in the pantry, LOL.

If you can't find me on the sidelines of my sons' football games, online, cooking, cleaning, shopping, at the local coffee joint or on the phone wandering aimlessly throughout my house then I've probably hidden myself in my "bat-cave" to write.

I have a positive attitude, and absolute fun-loving approach to life. That makes it easy for the voices in my head to take over on a regular basis providing endless hours of entertainment for my pleasure, and hopefully yours.

Random facts about me:

~My favorite color is pink
~I have a Bishon Frise puppy named Cullen Edward
~My favorite music is hip-hop
~I have a severe addiction to coffee. So much so, that those in my inner circle refuse to speak to me before caffeine O'clock! True Story

Enjoy the ride.
~K.B. xoxo


Stalker links:

https://www.facebook.com/kbmillerbooks

http://kbmillerbooks.blogspot.com/

http://kbmillerbooks.weebly.com/

https://twitter.com/kbmillerbooks

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Become (Desolation #1) by Ali Cross

Become (Desolation, #1) Published by Ninjas Write Publishing
                                                                   ISBN: 978-146634965
                                                                   Cover Design by Ali Cross
                                                                    Cover Art by Fanye L.O.
Synopsis:

Sixteen-year old Desolation Black wants nothing more than to stay in Hell where it’s cold and lonely and totally predictable. Instead, she’s sent back to Earth where she must face the evil she despises and the good she always feared.

When Desi is forced to embrace her inner demon, she assumes her choice has been made—that she has no hope of being anything other than what her father, Lucifer, has created her to be. What she doesn’t count on, is finding a reason to change—something she’s never had before—a friend.



My Review:

Amazing book! It is filled with emotion, action, love, hope. And the cover looks amazing! This is not your normal YA paranormal book! 

Become is a story that deals with good and evil, satan, hell, heaven. 
Desi is the daughter of Satan all she has ever known is the coldness of hell and what it is about. Her father sends her to Earth to learn how to Become and pretty much embrace her evil side. But while there she befriends another teenage girl, she finds the guy who she remembers from long ago, and she learns that she can choose the path that she wants. Not what her father wants her to choose. Desi learns that not only is she the daughter of Satan but she is also the daughter of someone very powerful and good. She is both light and darkness. Desi fights a battle within herself between the good and evil.  But what will she choose? To do what her father wants her to do and inherit the kingdom of hell? Or help all of mankind and follow the goodness that is a part of her? 

I can not wait to read book 2 in this series to see what is going to happen next. Since Become had me on the edge of my seat and I did not want to put this book down.


My Rating: 5 Wine glasses







Where to find the author:
http://www.alicross.com/

https://www.facebook.com/authoralicross

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5188441.Ali_Cross

Where to buy the book:

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0064NRHMG/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/become-ali-cross/1107091225?ean=2940013552821

Phoenix Rising (Maggie Henning and the Realm book 1) by Lisa Morgan


Phoenix Rising (Maggie Henning & The Realm: Book 1)   Published: December 20, 2011
                                                             A SIN B006OMPPX0

Synopsis:  
Maggie has lived the last ten years with a woman who isn't her mother and carrying the label "Daughter of John Henning", a man sentenced to live out his days at Sunnyview Psychiatric Hospital after his conviction of fire bombing a church...

and killing the 8 people inside.

What Maggie learns will change her life. 
She is the last of a race of creatures known as "The Phoenix", a race of supernatural beings with the ability to wield and control fire.

And she will need that power now...

Revenants- walking, living, skeletal creatures who have waged a war against an unseen, parallel world known simply as The Realm- need Maggie's blood to bring them to a full power...a power that will give them an unbeatable edge and offer the deciding weapon in this war.

Maggie is not alone as she learns not only what she really is, but what it is her destiny to become...







My Review:


I received this book Young Adult and Teen Readers to give an honest review. 

Wow! Where do I start with this book. From the very beginning I was captured, I did not want to put this book down for nothing. 

Maggie is the last of the Phoenix, she was a regular teenager who was picked on in school because of her father. She soon learns that she has powers and there will soon be a fight for her and mankind. There is more to Maggie then meets the eye. And she learns the truth about so many things in her life, as she goes on her journey she falls in love and learns about heartache. 

I loved the character Maggie! She was just what I would expect a teenager to act like. She is courageous, lovable, and was very well thought out.

I have to say I enjoyed the character name Autumn I guess because that is my name and I have never seen it in a book. 

Then there is the fairy Seatha who was tough but funny. Both Autumn (the witch) and Seatha they do not quite understand the world of humans so in this book the way they acted you could just find yourself laughing. 

Now in comes the brothers Michel and Luc, both were great characters to fall in love with. I found myself torn between liking Michel and Luc. Michel was very genuine and didn't mind showing his feelings. Luc on the other hand was hard because of the tough things that has happened in his life. 

Now towards the end of the book there was a new character that came into play. Davis the werewolf who Maggie meets, and the stories that Davis tells are funny and Davis becomes very likable.

I love how the author wrote in about the garden where the flowers grew. It was very very touching, wish that would really happen in real life.

I really can not wait to read book 2 in this series! I want to know what is Maggie going to do? Is Luc coming back? And will there be a war? 

Phoenix Rising has everything you could ask for in a book, the paranormal, vampires, love, action, the whole good vs. evil going on. I highly recommend you go and pick yourself up a copy. :D

My Rating: 5 wine glasses though I wish I could give it more. 




Where you can find the author:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-C-Morgan-Author/322116171151749

http://maggiehenningandtherealm.weebly.com/index.html

http://thefinalphoenix.blogspot.com/

Places to buy the book:

Amazon eBook version: http://www.amazon.com/Phoenix-Rising-Maggie-Henning-ebook/dp/B008MOBHL2/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1347981951&sr=8-11&keywords=Phoenix+Rising


Barnes and Noble eBook version: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/phoenix-rising-lisa-c-morgan/1108147890?ean=2940014954877

Friday, September 21, 2012

Winner of the bookmark!!!!!!!!

And the winner of the bookmark is!



Melissa Brown!


Thank you so much for stopping by and entering into the giveaway! I will be contacting you shortly and you will have 48 hours to get back with me or I pick another winner.

Monday, September 17, 2012

Interview with the lovely author L.M. Smith

Please give an awesome welcome to the author of the book The Citizens L.M. Smith!!!

L.M. Smith has been gracious enough to do this interview and also give away a hand-crocheted bookmark! So please do not forget to enter in the rafflecopter at the end of this interview to hopefully win it.

                                                
Bio:
L.M. Smith is both an avid read and writer. Her favorite authors include Kim Harrison and Richard Adams. She began writing stories and poetry as a child and has always been fascinated by mythology and the paranormal.
A self-proclaimed 'desert rat', she lives near Las Vegas, Nevada with the love of her life, their three dogs, and two cats. She is proud to be an alumna of the University of Phoenix and enjoys horseback riding, kayaking, and taking long walks with Vladimir: her Doberman Pinscher.
While working on her next upcoming publication, her guilty pleasures include salt-and-pepper flavored sunflower seeds and cold, home-brewed coffee with Italian Sweet Cream... though never at the same time because that would be yucky.

Questions:

1. What are 3 things that will not be found on the internet about you?
I'd love to reveal juicy details here but, the honest truth is, all of the juiciest stuff probably is, in fact, already on the internet somewhere and you just have know where to look for it- leaving only the mundane to answer your question. #1: I own the complete James Herriot collection and have read them all several times. #2: I've had a never ending toothache since 2008. The dentist put a massive hole in my back molar while pulling my wisdom tooth and then said it was too extensive to repair and too important of a tooth to remove unless I could afford  a false replacement so I am simply living with the pain. #3: I like mushrooms, chicken, olives, onions, and extra cheese on my pizza.

2. What are 3 things that you need to get your morning going?
My coffee cup, coffee in the cup, Italian sweet cream in the coffee. Coffee, coffee, coffee. I am a coffee fiend!

3. Do you happen to have a favorite author?
I have 2. Richard Adams, author of Watership Down. It's about bunnies but it's not a kids tale by any means. I've read it 6 times. The other is Kim Harrison- I am addicted to her Hollows series, I can't wait for the TV show to air and I will pay just about whatever price she asks for her newest e-books when they come out because I am that addicted to them.

4. Where did you get your inspiration to write your book/books?
Bit and pieces of this and that from here and there. In StarTrek Voyager a group of people are stranded very far from home and the entire series is about them trying to get back to where they're from. I wanted to do something along these lines but I don't write SciFi, so that was one inspiration. Ever time I've read a paranormal book that focused on only one or two supernatural creatures I've wondered where an author could draw the line. If Vampires and Zombies exist why not psychics, Demons, Valkyries, empaths, and whatever else one can come up with? So I wanted a way to believably unleash the whole spectrum of creatures on the world- not in such a way that they'd always been there, but in a way that made humanity confront them undeniably and all at once because confusion and chaos are entertaining. I could go on but the truth is- everything I see, watch, read, hear, or even do sparks some kind of idea which gets tucked away in some deep caver of memories that I can then shop through later when I'm in such a mood to do so and by putting a little of this and a little of that into the pot... a plot begins to brew.

5. What is the hardest part of being a writer?
Finding the time to write! Any unpublished or newly published writer will believe that being a writer means writing- any writer that has been published for some length of time knows that the more involved you get in your own books-  the less time you have to write. As a writer there is a constant stream of self-promoting, book marketing, social networking, relationship developing, brain storming, interviewing, completion, editing, rewriting, etc. And for Indies I think it's even harder because we're doing eve more of this on our own instead of having a publisher to help. At some point a write has to just turn the world off, brew a pot, order a pizza, close the door and say - ENOUGH! Today I am going to write! Otherwise, we would all become one-hit-wonders.

6.  What is the easiest?
Writing. Oxymoronic right? Once I've actually found the TIME to write, the actual writing process is easy. Writing, at least for me, is a compulsion- I rarely sit around trying to think up a good plot or come up with the right words to make a paragraph say what I want, or figure out what's going to happen next. I firmly believe that stories exist somewhere in the universe- one might even say that they are alive all on their own somehow- and writers are merely the vessels through which they choose to expose themselves to the world. Once my fingers get to ratty-tapping on the keyboard- writing just happens all by itself and when it does start to become difficult I realize the story needs a rest and I go away to do something else and when I come back... it's easy again.

7. What made you decide to become an author?
Have you ever gotten a song stuck in your head and you couldn't get it out until you broke out your YouTube or your Mp3 player and listened to it? I never said "I want to be a writer." Stories will pop into my head and if I don't find some way to get them out they will replay themselves over and over again like little mini-movies. The worst part is that I won't get the whole story right away- I'll get a small scene that lasts maybe 30-45 seconds but it will just keep repeating until I write it down and allow it to develop into something longer. With The Citizens, for example, I just kept seeing Jazz and Beck meeting in the lobby over and over and over again and their conversation would play out repeatedly and I've even been told that my lips would move silently with it so I looked like I was talking to myself. I had to sit down and write it- I just had to. I didn't have a choice or it would have driven me insane. 

8. Tell us a bit about your book for those who have not read it yet.
The Citizens is the first book in the Jazz Nemesis series. It's about five people that wake up in a ghost town with no memory of where they are or how they got there. They quickly realize that their every move is being monitored by a complete stranger that calls himself Mayor E. and they also learn that they can't leave. They are given tasks to perform, tortured when they fail, and studied extensively when they succeed- but things take an even bigger turn for strange when they start to develop supernatural abilities and aversions. They don't know how much they can trust each other but - at the same time- they need each other if they're going to survive.

9. Why did you choose this cover for The Citizens?
The symbol on the cover is a variation of an Ouroboros, or a snake eating its own tail. The original symbol can be found in a surprising number of societies from all over the world and is indicative of the cyclical nature of life: from birth to death to rebirth, from order to chaos and back to order, from tyranny to anarchy and back again. This symbol has powerful meaning for the series as a whole but also for each book individually. At least one character in The Citizens dies and is reborn, another experiences a life that seems ordered but only through true chaos does that character begin to understand what order really is. I added the dot in the center of the Ouroboros and the line beneath it. A line with a dot over it is the Mayan symbol for the number six but fear that I cannot discuss the purpose behind this without revealing too much else about the rest of the series that is yet to come.

10. Will we see another book by you soon?
The Refugess is the second book in the Jazz Nemesis series and my goal is to release it in very early 2013.

11. Were any of your characters inspired by people in real life?
All of them were, to some degree. Jazz, as I've mentioned, is based on me. Beck, in many aspects of his personality and the little quirks that he has (like chewing on his cuticles) is based on my fiance. I have a beautiful Japanese cousin ( by marriage) name Kaori- but assure you that the name and heritage is all that I borrowed from her; she does not behave at all like the bratty adolescent in the book. Piper was named after my oldest (and favored) dog, but much of her appearance, mothering personality, and ability to go from sweet and nurturing to stern and commanding in a blink is based from my mother. Gordon, the obnoxious sales guy, is based off of a former co-worker- there I said it... he's just lucky I'm not giving out his real name. :)

12. Have you thought about writing a different genre?
Always. I've done two supernatural novels with at least three more to come. I've also done compilation of poetry and short stories. I am frequently receiving requests to write kids books and have some ideas floating around for those, but no idea where to actually begin with them. I've also considered old-school fantasy- but I suspect that magic and monsters will always invade my work no matter what it is.

Question asked by Wanda H.

1.Why did you choose the most anti-social character in the book to be an empath?
The primary reason for this is because I based Jazz on myself in many aspects. I am relatively anti-social in person but enjoy communicating with people online (much as she does) through gaming and social networking- but I am also empathic. From a very young age I've been very strongly affected, more than average, buy the emotions and feelings of others. I have sensed a friend in need after 2 years of non-communication and over a distance of more than 250 miles even though I didn't know why he was in need. (It wasn't until I called him three days later that I learned I'd had a panic attack on the exact day and at the exact time that he'd learned of his father's sudden death, and when I did call him it had been just minutes after he returned home from the funeral. I believe that being empathic is largely to blame for my introversion- as I was quite the opposite when I was a little girl. The more I aged the more the feelings of others started to affect me and the more I started to withdraw as a result. Secondly- because it just might give Jazz a chance to grow and learn something about herself as well as the world around her...maybe.

Question asked by Kim C.

1. Can I read what you got so far? lol
Sure! Once upon a time there was this voracious reader and very curious woman named Kim, who woke up in a ghost town with no memory of where she was or how she came to be there. She was completely alone but she was fed and had a roof to sleep under and a library full of books to read. One day five strangers showed up talking nonsense about ankle monitors and black bubble cameras and being turned into monsters. Kim thought perhaps she'd finally gone mad or maybe she'd fallen into one of the many books that she'd read. She was on the point of asking the strangers one too many questions when one of the women bared a set of horrible fangs, bit Kim, and drank all of her blood. Kim's body will never be found-may she rest in peace.

Fun Question time......

1. 3 things that make you happy?

  1. Coffee
  2. Puppies
  3. having my hair braided by someone else
  4. swimming
  5. good music
  6. and reading reviews of my books.
2. 3 things that make you upset or mad?

  1. Animal abuse
  2. oppression
  3. bigotry
  4. prejudice
  5. superiority complexes
3. If you were stranded on a desert island who would you want to be stranded with?
My fiance

4. What is your favorite show?
I watch very little TV and this varies depending on whatever series I happen to be catching up with on Netflix. Supernatural is my current addiction but I am also looking forward, very much, to The Hollows. 

5. What is your favorite book that you could read over and over?
Watership Down. I've read it many times already and every time I do I get something new from it. It's very deep and multi-faceted. 

6. What is your favorite thing to do in your free time?
Take naps with my fiance-but I have a sleeping disorder so this doesn't happen very often, unfortunately.

7. Favorite food?
Sushi! Specifically raw tuna.

8. Favorite drink? Alcoholic or non-alcoholic.
Coffee!

9. If you could live anywhere, where would it be?
I never want to leave the desert- I love it here. I would want to visit other places like Ireland and Tahiti frequently, but I would always want to come home to where I am now.

10. The new cool thing now that we read about are vampires and werewolves, angels and demons. Which would you pick and why?
I'm bored with both match-ups, to be honest. I love the characters themselves but the idea of pitting an epic and continual cycle of the same "good guys" versus the same "bad guys" is tiring. I like surprises and unique creatures like the Valkyries that I created in Dhampiri to go against the Vampires. Another aspect that unsettles me is the idea of an inherent dislike between species. This concept seems to border on publishing a hidden statement on prejudice. Should a vampire really inherently hate a werewolf and visa versa? Or is it possible that members of both species are naturally capable of seeing each other as equals and only become enemies when given a reason to do so-the opposite of the Edward vs. Jacob paradox, if you will. Something to consider-anyway.

Cover of The Citizens:
 Cover of The Refugees coming out sometime in 2013!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, September 15, 2012

The SIREN'S Song by Julie Moss 18 and older

The Siren's Song (An Erotic Short) Copyright 2012 by Julie Moss
                                                                                 First Published May 1, 2012
                                                                                 Published by Julie Moss
                                                                                 Cover Design by Novel Ideas
                                                                                 A SIN  B0008MT8SDC
Synopsis:

Celeste is a Siren, the spawn of Satan and only in this world to do one thing. That one thing is seduce men to kill them and send their soul to her father. She has been good at this job for thousands of years. One day a man sails into her clutches that she doesn't want to let go, she has never felt passion and desire as she does when she kisses him. Too bad he has to die.

William is a young man on a great adventure. A lovely song makes him break his course and to his men's shock he dives into the ocean to go searching for it. What he finds is a gorgeous and mysterious woman who he desires more than any lady he has ever set his eyes upon. She has a secret though, and when he finds out he will want to run or swim for his life.


My Review:


I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

This was a short erotic story that brings to life the so called myth of Siren's. The women who called men from the sea to them and killed them. In this book Celeste is the Siren who has used her beautiful singing voice to call out into the ocean to claim another victim. Instead when she calls out she meets William who is like nothing she has ever seen before. 

He finds Celeste beautiful as she does with him. And she finds she can not harvest his soul, instead she makes love to him like she has never known. 

When William sees Celeste's true form he has to make the decision to either stay with Celeste and surrender. Or go back to his ship. This is about a 30 page read very quick and yes there are sex scenes in this book so I recommend 18 and older. 

My rating: 5 wine glasses




Where to find the author:
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1037959.Julie_Moss

https://www.facebook.com/authorjuliemoss


Places to buy the book:

Amazon:

eBook version: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008MT8SDC/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img







Destined by Jenna Pizzi

Destined  Expected Publication Date: September 22, 2012 Mystic                            
                                                                         Press


Synopsis:

Lily has always been plagued by dreams; she dreams of another place and time, a place of pure beauty and light that suddenly erupts into fire and destruction. Then, there is a man with the haunting blue eyes that seem to look right through her very soul.
In one fateful afternoon Lily learns that the dreams are more real than she could’ve ever imagined. They are a link to who she really is; the Gatekeeper to the realms. Born from both light and dark, with her memories bound, she learns that it is her destiny to gather the relics of the flower of life. Lily must do this in order to close the gates before the under realm destroys them all, but there are those who will stop at nothing to keep her from fulfilling her destiny.
There are those who will try to sway her into the dark. She is torn between the love of two brothers; one, her loyal warrior, who has loved her since the beginning and the other with the enthralling blue eyes that speak to her soul. One brother fights for the light, while the other fell into the darkness. Will she choose the brother that her soul longs for, or the brother that her heart calls out to?



My Review:



I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

This is one of those books, that will have you from the very beginning. You will want to stay up all night to finish this book, and then be a bit sad when it ends.

Destined is about a girl name Lilly who never knew she was different or had a destiny in life. All she knows is that she has crazy dreams that she normally can not remember until now. All of a sudden she is thrown into a whole new world of daemons, and fighting for good against evil. While all this is going on she has the love of three guys who she does not want to hurt at all. They all three play a part in her life along with her best friend Amy. Lilly has powers that she is just finding out about and developing new ones along the way.

Between the male characters of Keith, Seth, and Samil it was really hard to pick who I liked more. Keith is very very sweet and caring. Seth is her protector and will give his life for her. Samil is her soul-mate but he is evil. The position she is in, is not a good position to be in.

Torn between the light and darkness she embarks on a journey to end the darkness with her friends. Will she be able to conquer it?

The only thing I found that was a wrote wrong was when Lilly met the fisherman Enrique, and then a page or two later called him Carlos. I had to go back and re-read a few times to see if it was a different character and it was not. 

I can not wait to read book 2 because I definitely wanted more when Destined ended.  If you enjoy reading action-packed, the paranormal, good vs. evil then please pick up this book. I don't think you would be disappointed.


My rating: 5 wine glasses




Where you can find the author:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6435490.Jenna_Pizzi

https://www.facebook.com/DestinedByJennaPizzi

Places to buy the book:

Amazon:

Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Destined-Volume-1-Jenna-Pizzi/dp/0615698255/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1347718749&sr=8-2&keywords=Destined+Jenna+Pizzi

eBook version: http://www.amazon.com/Destined-Series-ebook/dp/B0098RMUAO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347718749&sr=8-1&keywords=Destined+Jenna+Pizzi


Barnes and Noble:

eBook version: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/destined-jenna-pizzi/1112819708?ean=2940015382174

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Soul Sisters by Janiera Eldridge


Soul Sisters (Soul Sisters #1)  Published May 24, 2012 by Janiera Eldridge
                                                                    A SIN B0008WTJ8E0


Synopsis: 
Soul Sisters is an urban fantasy novel about African-American twin sisters Ani and Dana who have a rather unique secret: one sister is human while the other is a vampire. While the sisters have lived peacefully with each other for many years one fateful night will change both their lives forever. When a drunken man tries to attack Dana (the human sister) Ani (the vampire sister) protects her sister with all of her ferocious power. 

However, when the vampire’s leader Donovan finds out about the public display he calls for the sisters to be assassinated for disobedience. Ani and Dana now are in for the fight of their lives to protect each other as well as the lives of their dedicated friends who have joined them on their mission for survival. If Dana and Ani can make it through this time of uncertainty, Ani can take her new place as vampire queen. Soul Sisters is expected to be a trilogy; The book also features a multicultural cast of characters that brings a new edge of chic to the vampire world.

*will be re-released under Mystic Press this fall!



My review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

This is not your typical vampire book, to where you get bit and you turn into a vampire. Soul Sisters is about a young woman named Dana who many many years ago was in love. Her husband almost died and she was approached by the Creator of vampires. He told her he would help her husband get better but all she had to do is give her soul to him and she would become immortal. Along with being immortal she would get a soul sister. Someone who looks just like her, but is a vampire, and would protect her at all cost. 

But now her soul sister Ani, has become reckless in her hunting and now their lives may be in jeopardy. So Ani and Dana have enlisted the help of Christian the hot werewolf and Diego another vampire to take down the Creator Donovan. Will they succeed? That is something you will have to find out for yourself. If you enjoy romance, action, vampires then this is the book for you.

My Rating: 5 wine glasses




Where to find the author:
https://www.facebook.com/janiera.eldridge.1

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5319319.Janiera_Eldridge

Her websites:
http://fiercereadingvirtualbooktours.blogspot.com/

http://janieraeldridge.blogspot.com/

Places to buy the book:

Amazon:
eBook: http://www.amazon.com/Soul-Sisters-ebook/dp/B008WTJ8E0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1347561077&sr=8-2&keywords=Soul+Sisters

Paperback:http://www.amazon.com/Soul-Sisters-Janiera-Eldridge/dp/061568310X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347561077&sr=8-1&keywords=Soul+Sisters



Barnes and Noble:
Paperback: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/soul-sisters-janiera-eldridge/1111781800?ean=9780615683102



Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Please DO Feed the Animals Zoo by Tabitha Short

Please DO Feed the Animals ZOO, The    eBook 15 pages
                                                                                    Published July 17, 2012 by Smashwords
                                                                                    Copyright 2012 by Tabitha Short
                                                                                    ISBN13 9781476002613



Synopsis:

A man decides to take his teenage son to the new zoo in town. The zoo exhibits contain only the most ferocious animals and advertises visitors get to feed the animals. But there’s something the zoo goers weren’t informed of: the animals will be eating them. Because of a small glitch, the man and his son discover the sinister secret before they become the food.

My Review:


I received this book from the author to give an honest review. 

This was a very chilling short story. A dad who wants to spend some time with his son and decides to take him to the zoo. But this is not your regular type zoo, this is one that you would never want to go to if you knew what it really was.  There is blood shed in this book so reader beware but nothing too gory or at least not to me. 

The dad and son realize  that something is not as it seems with this zoo and the animals actually do eat humans. Will the father and son survive? Or will they fall victims to this zoo? You will have to read this book to find out. 

My Rating: 5 wine glasses




Where to find the author:
https://www.facebook.com/tabitha.short.7
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6447623.Tabitha_Short

Places to buy the book:

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/206023

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Please-Feed-Animals-ebook/dp/B008PDAWN4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347467784&sr=8-1&keywords=please+do+feed+the+animals+zoo

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/please-do-feed-the-animals-zoo-tabitha-short/1112317917?ean=2940044726284


The Forsaken by Estevan Vega

The Forsaken       Copyright 2012 by Estevan Vega
                                                                        First eBook Edition 2012
                                                                        Published March 13, 2012 by StoneHouse Ink
                                                                        Book design copyright 2011 Tyler Evans




Synopsis:
DON'T LET IT IN.

The first victim has no natural wounds. No prints left behind. No lacerations. But the life has been gruesomely drained from the corpse, and a broken cross is now imprinted inside the skin.

Left for dead a year ago by his former partner, reckless and medicated Detective Jude Foster now endures mindless therapy sessions in order to be given another chance at his life.When the chief of police discovers the first victim strangely killed in this sadistic fashion, Jude enters a dark world all-too-familiar. He knows he’s seen this method of murder before, but he never caught the killer.

Could this be a copycat, or is it the one that got away?

Forced to take on a new partner for the case, Jude must come to terms with the fractured memories of his past, attempt to keep his younger brother safe, and chase down a ghost killer who is collecting human souls. But time is against him. How many more victims will there be before the killer is satisfied? And will Jude Foster be able to survive this new hell or in the chaos, will he risk becoming something else entirely?


My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

Where do I even start with this book? It has everything that I truly enjoy reading in a book. Suspense, horror, murder, mystery, the paranormal and to top it off it was a detective type story.

The characters and the plot was written great! Towards the end Estevan wrote in great detail what was happening to Jude it was GREAT!
Jude Foster has demons that he is dealing with his self. When bodies start turning up it looks like his old partner who left him for dead a while back may be at the center of it all along with some help. Along the way of solving the murders that have occurred something paranormal happens to Jude and he has to stop it from taking him over.

The only thing that bothered me a bit and it was nothing major. Is the back story between Morgan and Jude. Either they could have elaborated more or it could be a story written by itself because they have a past together since they use to be partners.

If you truly enjoy a great murder, paranormal book. That is a bit chilling, give this book a read!

My Rating: 5 wine glasses




Where to find the author:
https://www.facebook.com/estevan.vega
http://www.amazon.com/Estevan-Vega/e/B004RKKALI/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1085216.Estevan_Vega

Website:
http://www.estevanvega.com/

Places to buy the book:

Amazon and Barnes and Noble:
Paperback:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Forsaken-Thriller-Estevan-Vega/dp/0615617867/ref=sr_1_cc_2?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1347459520&sr=1-2-catcorr&keywords=The+Forsaken+Paperback


http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-forsaken-estevan-vega/1109996976?ean=9780615617862


Amazon and Barnes and Noble:
eBook Version:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007KCRHJS/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-forsaken-estevan-vega/1109996976?ean=9780615617862



Monday, September 10, 2012

Music Box By: Estevan Vega


Music Box      Copyright 2012 by Estevan Vega
                                                                                  Published by StoneHouse Ink 2012
                                                                                  First eBook Edition 2012
                                                                                  Book design copyright 2012 by Damon Za

Synopsis:

Esther is getting old. No, she is old. Aging with every blink, with every breath.

After a life full of power and purpose, she is met with the harsh reality that she is now obsolete, and her fragile moments are short. On the eve of the last night in the city she has called home for years, Esther and her lover Jacob share their fears and their romance for this world over one last meal, as they wait in fearful unrest for what is coming.



My Review:

I receieved this book from the author to give an honest review:

Let me just say the cover is SWEET! It just gives me chills looking at it. :D


Very interesting short read. 
Pretty much Music Box is a bit of a creepy short story. 

Music Box seems to be about Esther who is obsessed with how she looks, and and is enraged with Rider who is going to take everything away. While she stares into a mirror and starts watching herself just deteriorate, she goes back through her memories of her and Jacob together. The love that they have felt. It seems as though over time beauty finally fades away and there is nothing you can do about it. Jacob her love on the other hand is trying to get her to accept her fate of what is to become.  

I was a bit confused at the end, but through out it all I truly enjoyed reading this story. I like Estevan Vega's writing style and can not wait to read more books by him. 


My Rating: 5 wine glasses




Where to find Estevan Vega:

https://www.facebook.com/estevan.vega

Website:
http://www.estevanvega.com/

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Estevan-Vega/e/B004RKKALI/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Places to buy his books.

Amazon 
Audible Auto Edition:

http://www.amazon.com/Music-Box-Digital-Short-Thriller/dp/B0092SVECY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347277630&sr=8-1&keywords=music+box+estevan+vega


Amazon and Barnes and Noble:
Ebook version:

http://www.amazon.com/Music-Digital-Short-Thriller-ebook/dp/B007PT0OB4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1347277630&sr=8-2&keywords=music+box+estevan+vega



http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/music-box-estevan-vega/1111487510?ean=2940014764551

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Mindbenders by Ted Krever

Mindbenders     Published May 8, 2011
                                                                    A SIN B004ZRM6J2


Synopsis: 

If you could hear the thoughts of every person for three blocks around–the regrets, rationalizations, commercial jingles, the lies that hide what they can’t bear to think—how could you ever trust anyone? And if you could make them believe anything you wanted, how could you ever trust yourself?

Max Renn is a legend of the Soviet mind control program, a genetic experiment, the product of three generations of psychics bred by the state for their power. Before his first mission, the Soviet Union collapses and he disappears.

We meet him twenty years later in the Everglades, keeping as far from people as he can get, until his best friend–his only friend–is murdered and he is forced to assemble a team of people like him to fight the international conspiracy behind the murder.

“A dead-on thriller for the decade . . . . I can’t imagine anyone reading this and not wanting more” — Thomas F. Monteleone, author of the NY Times bestseller The Blood of the Lamb and The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing a Novel

“Ted Krever has been a writer to watch, now he’s a writer to read. Do not miss MINDBENDERS.” -F. Paul Wilson


“Ted Krever is a great storyteller but more importantly, the stories he creates and writes are ones that I want to read. In this ADD era, where even e-mails are considered too long, Ted’s work commands my attention. It is definitely worthy of yours, too.” -David Leaf, biographer and award-winner writer/director/producer of such films as ‘The Night James Brown Saved Boston,’ ‘The US Vs. John Lennon’ and ‘ BEAUTIFUL DREAMER: Brian Wilson and The Story of SMiLE.’



My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

I had to give this book 4 stars only because it wouldn't let me give it 4 1/2 stars. The plot of the book was great, but I am basing my rating on how much I had to keep going back to re-read parts because I kept getting a bit confused on what exactly was going on. What exactly they were doing with their powers that they have. 

Mindbenders takes you on a journey with Greg and Max and two other characters, who are uncovering a conspiracy to get rid of hope that the world needs. They each have their own mind boggling powers, and they will use those powers to bring the others down. 
When Greg's guardian ends up dying, Max comes and sweeps Greg into the world of the Mindbenders, and Greg learns that there is more to things in life then just a regular world. Greg doesn't think he has any of the powers that the others have until Max forces him to open up that way he can help keep his self and his friends alive.
Mindbenders is full of conspiracy, thriller, the paranormal all wrapped up into one. 
I can not wait to give book two a try when it comes out. 


My Rating:  





Where to find Ted Krever at:
https://www.facebook.com/tedkrever

Website: http://tedkrever.com/blog/my-books/mindbenders/

Where to buy Mindbenders.

Amazon and Barnes and Noble:
Paperback:
http://www.amazon.com/Mindbenders-Ted-Krever/dp/061548719X/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1347106808&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=Mindbenders+paperback


http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mindbenders-ted-krever/1102341317?ean=9780615487199



Amazon ebook version:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004ZRM6J2/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img