Review: Knot of the Slain (Blood Angels Book 1) by T. C. Archer

Title: Knot of the Slain (Blood Angels book 1)
Author: T.C. Archer
Publisher: Broken Arm Publishing
Published: May 21, 2015
Pages: 332
Genre: Supernatural, suspense
Review: ebook

Parts One through Four
For Gerald Forstner, veteran detective, son of a cop, cult hunter, and divorced dad, the face of Miami changes when he must solve a series of murders eerily reminiscent of his first case as head of Miami’s Serial Killer Task Force.

When Gerry is inexplicably healed of a mortal stab wound by a beautiful blonde murder suspect, he questions his sanity and wisdom in remaining on the force. Discovery of Icelandic artifacts that document immortal priests and female assassins breaks the case wide open. The case, however, becomes personal when each murderer becomes the next victim in a chain that links directly to his son

I honestly don't know what it is but the synopsis's of books have been pulling me in, but then it turns out I am not enjoying the book as much as I hoped to.
With this story it is told in four parts each one leaving off where the one before it ended. You have detective Gerald or Gerry who becomes in charge of finding the killer or killers that have started happening. What is different with these murders is that the blood of them shows up on the body of the next victim. Sounds really weird especially when it all leads back to some books that were discovered in Icelandic? I hope I am spelling that write I want to say Iceland but I don't think they are the same thing. 
Now even though the book was good I just could not get invested with Gerry I like when I am reading about cops, detectives, even killers I get to connect to them in some way and with this one I didn't really. That is part of the reason why I was torn on my rating between a three and a four. Also there were some grammar issues not very many but silly things that could have been caught. (Yes I am far from good at grammar or spelling words out myself) There is the paranormal thrown in this story though it isn't too much the past pretty much comes into the present. 
So here is my thoughts on Parts 1-4
Part One: With this part we are introduced to the past and what occurred though it is not a lot of information it some. Then we get to the present and meet detective Gerry who is investigating some murders of past criminals. While he is investigating there is a hot blond who is appearing and he is trying to find out more information on her but she isn't who she seems. 

 Part Two: Gerry has learned that all of these killings have something to do with what was going on in Iceland. He has happened to start losing time but he doesn't know why. As he keeps investigating and getting closer to finding answers he learns that the hot blonde in part one is searching for books that people are wanting to keep quiet about.

Part Three: Now Gerry has gone into putting the genealogy from one of the books into order and he has uncovered more than he expected to. What he learns has him on edge now and more than ready to find this killer or killers before they strike again. His black outs as he learns is something to do with his genealogy and it seems to have something to do with psychic  powers of some kind. But of course he doesn't truly believe in all this. He also learns that where the books originated from has something to do with warriors, gods, vampires even though they don't truly use this word.

Part Four: So now we are in part four of the book. Gerry and his friend Dee who he has feelings for end up trying to save those who have the rest of the books that these killers want. They are on a race against time to get to them before the killers do. He learns who one of the blondes are and is surprised to learn of his background and what she has to do with him. Gerry and Dee have to hurry as the killers are going to be striking close to home no matter what precautions that Gerry has put into place.

I gave this a book being as I did finish the book and the plot line was a bit different for me.

T. C. Archer is comprised of award winning authors Evan Trevane and Shawn M. Casey. They live in the Northeast. Evan has a Ph.D. in electrical engineering, and Shawn is a small business owner. Their collaboration began on a lark with the post WWII film noir story The Pickle My Little Friend, and has evolved into nearly a dozen works, which includes their new series The Phenom League, and Daphne Du Maurier winner the romantic thriller For His Eyes Only.


Popular posts from this blog

Pre-Order Blitz and GIVEAWAY: One Summer Night by Caridad Pineiro

New Release: Secret Keeper by Jane Harris Questions and Answers

Bright Eyes by: Madison Daniel