Review: The Last Clinic by Gary Gusick



18050394In a fast-paced, suspenseful debut novel for fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, detective Darla Cavannah goes Deep South in pursuit of a merciless killer.
 
Outside the local women’s health clinic, the Reverend Jimmy Aldridge waving his protest sign is a familiar sight. But that changes early one morning when someone shoots the beloved Reverend Jimmy dead. Sheriff Shelby Mitchell knows the preacher’s murder will shock the good people of Jackson—and the pressure to find the killer is immediate and intense, which is why Shelby calls in detective Darla Cavannah. 
 
When police detective Darla moved from Philadelphia to Jackson with her husband—hometown football hero Hugh “the Glue” Cavannah—she never imagined the culture shock that awaited. Then after Hugh dies in a car crash, Darla enters a self-imposed exile in her Mississippi home, taking a leave of absence from the sheriff’s department. Now she’s called back to duty—or coerced, more like it, with Shelby slathering on his good-ole-boy charm nice and thick, like on a helping of barbecue.
 
Reluctantly partnered with a mulish Elvis impersonator, Darla keeps a cool head even as the community demands an arrest. The court of public opinion has already convicted the clinic’s doctor, Stephen Nicoletti, but Darla is just as sure he’s not guilty—even as she fights her growing attraction to him. From the genteel suburbs to a raunchy strip club, Darla follows a trail of dirty money and nasty secrets—until the day of judgment comes, and she faces down an ungodly assassin.






I received this book via NetGalley to give an honest review. 
This was a pretty cool murder mystery. You have detective Darla who has gone though something traumatic  which was the lost of her famous husband. With that in mind she has not been working big cases.  That is until she is called into a big case that deals the a Reverend and abortion clinics. 

Now being as I do not believe abortion is right I do believe it is a person's choice.  With abortion playing a big part within this story I was glad that there wasn't details being given within the book as I probably would have been crying. 
The relationship between Darla and Dr. Nicoletti seemed a bit rushed within the story. Instead of getting to know one another going on dates it was like bam let's question him, arrest him and then I will sleep with him. Unless he was a one night stand and then I could understand that. 

I enjoyed how the Reverend was not all goody two shoes. He had a dark side within him. Now Darla's partner Tommy what is there to say about him. I kind of wish Darla would have kicked him in the balls a few times. With this Elvis wannabe self, he had more ego issues than anything and was determine to catch a collar even if it mean the wrong person.

Now this book may not be for everyone, being as it does deal with abortion clinics, a doctor is wrote out more of a hero, a sketchy dealing with black virgins and old white men. But do not let that turn you away from the story as it is really good. 
Now you may think you know who the killer is but you may be wrong on your assumption. Now I had no idea until the very end and I was very surprised, but I could see why this person did what he did. 






Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Review and GIVEAWAY Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen

Interview and Giveaway with Author Teri Polen

Guest Interview with Author: Julian M. Coleman