Tuesday, January 31, 2017

NetGalley Review: Justice Ascending (The Scorpius Syndrome #3) by Rebecca Zanetti

30238145Title: Justice Ascending (The Scorpius Syndrome #3)
Author: Rebecca Zanetti
Published: Jan. 331, 2017
Pages: 400
Publisher: Kensington Books Zebra
Genre: Dystopia, Adult
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Before surviving the Scorpius bacterium, Tace Justice was a good ole Texas cowboy who served his country and loved his mama. After Scorpius, the world became dark, dangerous, and deadly—and so did he. The Vanguard medic is stronger, faster, and smarter than before, but he’s lost the line between right and wrong. His passion is absolute, and when he focuses it on one woman, there’s no turning back for either of them…
Sami Steel has been fighting to survive right alongside Tace, convincing the Vanguard soldiers she’s one of them. In truth, Sami is a former hacker turned government agent who worked at The Bunker, where scientists stored both contaminants and cures. Only she knows the location, and she’s not telling. Yet when sexual fire explodes between her and Tace, she’ll face even that hell again to save him.

Sunday, January 29, 2017

#PBwkendread Review: Stone Rider (Stone Rider #1) by David Hofmeyr

25777143Title: Stone Rider ( Stone Rider #1)
Author: David Hofmeyr
Published: July 14, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 338
Genre: Teen, YA, Action, Post-Apocalyptic
Review: Paperback

Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk  



Adam Stone wants freedom and peace. He wants a chance to escape Blackwater, the dust-bowl desert town he grew up in. Most of all, he wants the beautiful Sadie Blood.

Alongside Sadie and the dangerous outsider, Kane, Adam will ride the Blackwater Trail in a brutal race that will test them all, body and soul.

The prize? A one-way ticket to Sky-Base and unimaginable luxury.
And for a chance at this new life, Adam will risk everything . . .

Review: When Darkness Falls: The First Vampire Redemption Story by Ellen Chauvet

29585481Title: When Darkness Falls
Author: Ellen Chauvet
Published: March 17, 2016
Publisher: Relentlessly Creative Books
Pages: 291 (print)
Genre: Paranormal, action
Review: ebook provided by author

Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 







Lexie Miles, a strong-willed Southern woman with a raw vocabulary and a taste for sex, is living her dream life in Paris. She is devastated when her best friend Emma is brutally murdered by vampires. From that moment Lexie's "perfect world" begins to crumble. She discovers her entire life has been a sham and everyone she cares about has been lying to her. Angry doesn't begin to describe her reaction to the news. Plunged into a two-thousand-year-old war between good and evil, she is propelled into a world of blood, lust and dark secrets. She must embrace her birthright to fight an ancient threat to humanity. Bequeathed with the dubious gift of being the "Chosen One," Lexie meets the enigmatic Etienne Benoit. She falls hard for him and when he betrays her, she vows to get revenge. After all, she is a vampire executioner and killing vampire is what she does. If you like a good vampire romp with lots of interesting plot twists in beautiful European settings and a lead character who trash talks and enjoys dancing on the edge of erotica, tell your other books to move over and make room for When Darkness Falls.

Saturday, January 28, 2017

ARC Review: The Woman in the White Mask (Soren Chase #3) by Rob Blackwell

33800839
Title: The Woman in the White Mask (Soren Chase #3)
Author: Rob Blackwell
Published: Jan. 28, 2017
Pages: 338 
Genre: Teens, YA
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Eight years ago, Soren Chase was attacked by a vicious supernatural creature that murdered his friends and stole his memory. Now a mysterious woman in a white mask is forcing him to relive that night—as both the victim and the killer.

Her arrival couldn’t come at a worse time. Someone is raising demons and setting them loose, and only Soren can stop them. But as the supernatural assaults grow more frequent, his visions of the past start to take an alarming toll. It’s a grim race to see which might kill him first.

The Woman in the White Mask is the third novel in the highly-rated Soren Chase series, which mixes urban fantasy, action and suspense. Find out why readers have hailed it as "one of the best paranormal series I've ever read" with a unique hero who is “a kindred of Harry Dresden.”

Friday, January 27, 2017

New Release: Reaped by Gracen Miller and Tina Carreiro







WARNING: This is a work of fiction. Reaped is told through the eyes of the dark side. We understand the mythical and religious spin within this book may be hard for some to read. So if you fit that mold, please don’t be tempted to open the book. If suspending belief is something you have a hard time with when religious aspects are involved, please refrain from reading. This work of fiction is not to be taken seriously. This book was written from our creative view and intended for entertainment purposes only. The book was not written to be incendiary or inflammatory. So before you pass judgment, remember, that’s reserved for God.

God ordered her to reap him…

Forged by her father’s hand to reap at His command, Solas was God’s most skilled Reaper. Killing on command, she had never questioned His directives—until now. Too bad Loki’s heart isn’t as black as she’s been led to believe. That would make her job easy. But she cannot dismiss the goodness she senses inside him. Bewildered by her attraction to Loki, she still craves returning home, but knows the only way back into her homeland is to obey God’s order. As the lines between allies and enemies are blurred, she questions who is weaving the biggest deception… the legendary trickster god or her own father?

But she can’t bring herself to swing her blade.

From the moment she fell at his feet, Loki mistrusted Solas. His intentions were simple, to use her and send her on her way. Then he discovered she was cast out of her homeland after defying her father’s order to reap him. Intrigued by a woman that would stand against the supreme God, Loki offers her his temporary protection while nursing his skepticism. Many warriors from the heavens have been sent to kill him, but only one has come this close. She’s the perfect weapon. A threat not just to his life, but also to his family and everything he stands for. He should take her life, but he craves protecting her and the secret she harbors more.

When you send a reaper to kill a god, don’t give her a reason to rebel.

A tentative alliance between Loki and Solas is brokered, but misunderstandings strain their fragile relationship. Battles are won and lost, but can Solas escape her father’s will? Faced with hard choices, Loki will have to decide what’s important to him. Or can he pull off the ultimate trick and win their freedom?



Release Date January 26, 2017
https://amazon.com/Reaped-Wages-Sin-Book-1-ebook/dp/B01NBMR8VH/






 “I think I might hate you.”
Loki laughed. “You wish you did, but I recognize that look in your eyes. Right now you’re curious what I’ll teach you first… and if you’ll like it. I promise by the time I’m finished teaching you the ways of pleasure, I’ll have your body so trained you’ll quiver in need from a feather-light caress.”
Solas crossed her arms beneath her breasts and leveled him with an incensed glare. “Your arrogance is—I’d say amazing, but that’s inaccurate. Atrocious is more like it.”
“Can’t be arrogance if it’s true.”
She knocked his hand aside. In return, he gripped her chin tighter and forced her head back so her undivided attention landed on him. “Listen carefully. I give you one warning only because you don’t know my ways. The next time you touch me like that, I’ll punish you.”
With defiance shining from her black eyes, she leaned back, disconnecting his hold. “Nothing’s stopping me from killing you, trickster.”
Her voice might’ve been impersonal, but her gaze had his cock jerking in his pants. If she lowered her focus, no way she’d miss his erection.
“It’s Loki, and if you wanted me dead, you wouldn’t be threatening me. Not that you’re a match for me.” He waved a finger at her. “God, remember?”
“I forgot, pity the delusional angel.”
He almost laughed at her sarcasm. “Better reapers than you have tried to snuff me.”
In the next breath, she had him against the wall with her forearm to his throat. “I realize crushing your windpipe won’t harm you, but never underestimate me, Loki. I’m sent in when all others fail.”
Good to know, but he couldn’t resist prodding her. “And yet you failed, too.”
“Unwise choices.” And they were back to that again. She lowered her arm and stared up at him. “Let’s not pretend for one moment I’m here for any reason other than I chose to be.”
“Another unwise choice, Solas?”
“I’m getting good at them.”
“How human of you.”
Mutiny blazed from her stare, and she angled her chin a notch higher. Damned if that wasn’t one of the pious angel glares he’d become accustomed to throughout his life. Hers had the opposite effect on him. Instead of driving his spear into her, he wanted to drive his cock into her body.
“So you’re choosing to stay with me?” He fingered her hair, relishing the cool silkiness of the locks.
She executed a dismissive one-shoulder shrug. “I can’t return to Heaven.”
“Unless you kill me.” Not that he would stand by and allow her to gut him, but he was curious what she’d say.
The dry smile failed to touch her eyes. “There is that.”




Gracen Miller :

Gracen is a hopeless daydreamer masquerading as a "normal" person in southern society. When not writing, she's a full-time mom for her two sons and a devoted wife to her real-life hero-husband. She has an unusual relationship with her muse, Dom, but credits all her creative success to his brilliant mind. She's addicted to writing, paranormal romance novels and movies, Alabama football and coffee...addictions are not necessarily in order of priority. She's convinced coffee is nectar from the gods and when blending coffee and writing together it generates the perfect creative merger. Many of her creative worlds are spawned from coffee highs and Dom's aggressive demands. To learn more about Gracen or to leave her a comment, visit her website at www.gracen-miller.com.

https://www.facebook.com/Author-Gracen-Miller-112564408814796/




Tina Carreiro:


Tina Carreiro is a multi-published author who resides in South Florida with her family. At the young age of 15, Tina started working to help her family and became a jack-of-all-trades, working in many different areas from managing an automotive shop, to putting her computer programming degree to use. In 2010, she retired from her office job to live her dream and write. Her addiction to romance novels began at a young age when she started sneaking her mom's Gray Eagle series by Janelle Taylor, and it was then her love for writing began. Her paranormal romance series, Power of the Moon, has gained popularity amongst the fans of this genre. Tina became a co-host on Encounters Live, a paranormal radio show, in 2009. Open to all things paranormal, Tina has had her own encounters with the paranormal but still approaches the topic from a logical angle. Tina is married to her best friend and Encounters Live co-host, Matt Carreiro, and is a full-time Boy Scout/camping/PS3/Minecraft mom for her son and daughter. When not writing, Tina enjoys reading romance novels, zombie movies, restoring classic cars, camping, and coffee with caramel macchiato creamer. Poking fun at herself, and everything in between is her key to laughter and a long and healthy life.
To learn more about Tina or to leave her a comment, visit her at http://tinacarreiro.com
Blog: http://tinacarreiro.blogspot.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/TinaCarreiro
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/tincarr/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4833657.Tina_Carreiro
Street Team: https://www.facebook.com/groups/436279606430333
Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.com/e/B0057FRXL2


Sunday, January 22, 2017

Interview with Jane Alvey Harris

29856826
Title: Riven: My Myth Trilogy, Book 1
Author: Jane Alvey Harris
ISBN-10: 1944244166
ISBN-13: 978-1944244163
AISN: B01KWP8B58
Publisher: Jane Alvey Harris Publishing (July 25, 2016)
$7.99 ebook/$9.99 print
Buy Link: Amazon
www.janealveyharris.com

1. What inspired you to create Riven and the My Myth Trilogy series?

Honestly, when I began writing Riven, I was just looking for relief. I was struggling through a really dark time in my life and was doing therapy with an amazing counselor who encouraged me to write. I didn’t have a synopsis or even an outline; I was just writing scenes from my head and connecting them together. It took me a couple years to get the first draft out and even longer to realize what the story was really about.

Somewhere in the middle of undoing myself in therapy, the narrative in my writing transformed. It matured from a pretty fairytale to a hard-hitting, issue-driven documentation of a survivor’s journey to make peace with her wounded egos and achieve self-acceptance. It was dark, but it felt important. More than that, in the act of weaving my tale I realized I was laying my hands directly on the tattered pieces of a buried map leading to rich interior landscapes I’d never acknowledged or explored before, because I considered them ugly, worthless, and humiliating.

It was about this time that other people in my life began sharing their long-guarded accounts of abuse with me. I was overwhelmed by sorrow at their suffering, but also inspired by their confidence in me, which helped me understand I wasn’t alone. With the help of my therapist and my editor, who both prompted me to dig deep and tell the real story, I gained new purpose, new confidence. I learned that I was brave, that I was strong. I realized that my writing might actually help others who struggled.

2. Your main character, Emily, is a seventeen-year-old who finds herself in difficult circumstances. What is her situation in the story and how did she get there?

The story opens at the end of July, the summer before Emily has to repeat junior year of high school. Her dad’s been in prison for ten years, and her mom, a school teacher, becomes increasingly dependent on prescription pain meds. She loses her job and basically stays in bed all day, relying on Emily to parent her two younger brothers and younger sister. Still, Emily thinks she’s got things mostly under control. But as the date for her dad’s release from prison gets closer, Emily’s stress levels increase exponentially. She finds herself unable to cope with her reality and slips into a fantasy world she created as a little girl.


3. What are the main themes in Riven and how are they developed in the story?
Riven is all about hard hitting social issues, including mental illness, feminism, and rape culture, to name a few. But the main theme is one of self-acceptance. My goals were to illustrate the damage that buried guilt and shame have on the psyche and demonstrate how acknowledging personal truth is the first step in healing from trauma.


4. There are a number of fantastical elements to Riven, including the imaginary world of the First Realm. What role does fantasy play in the story, and how is important to the development of the book’s characters?
Okay, this is juicy stuff. First, like Emily, many victims of childhood abuse use fantasy to escape a reality they can’t cope with. Not only is it key in the backstory, as a plot device, and in Emily’s growth throughout the book, it also adds layers of depth which engage readers on different levels.

Fantasy keeps the readers on their toes, too. Emily is an unreliable narrator, to say the least. She questions her own sanity, and as her stress increases throughout the first half of the book, she starts to self-medicate. At times, she’s unable to distinguish between fantasy and reality. The reader experiences this fracturing along with her, catching glimpses of the past, and is sometimes plunged into the fantasy First Realm without warning. Ultimately, it’s up to each reader to decide what is really real.

Mixing fantasy elements with gritty contemporary realism also adds action, adventure, and gave me the perfect opportunity to play with some really gorgeous settings. I’m a huge fan of Guillermo Del Toro’s Pan’s Labyrinth. On one hand, fantasy is whimsical and innocent. It lightens some of the darker themes of Riven. On the other hand, juxtaposing the ethereal with horror heightens poignancy of tragedy and psychological distress.

Most importantly, it is through the world of imagination that Emily is able to envision herself as a powerful individual. She creates a Realm where she’s able to accept and forgive herself.


5. Much of Riven is based on your own real-life experiences. How does your personal story inform the novel and, more-specifically, Emily’s character?
Well, Emily basically has my personality. The book began as a love story to my three children, (Jacob, Aidan, and Claire, who you’ll meet in the book) at a time I was very vulnerable in my life. So, if the strength of the sibling relationships seems super-real, it’s because that’s really them, and Emily is really me. Lots of the dialogue I’ve taken directly from real life. While I don’t claim all of Emily’s experiences, I will say they are true, a combination of stories and experiences which have been shared with me, along with a healthy dose of my dreams and imagination.

6. Riven deals with serious issues for teens, including abandonment, drug use, cutting, and sexual abuse. How do novels like yours help survivors and supporters with awareness and solutions for these issues?
Issues like these continue to be such a huge problem, because they make people uncomfortable and because they’re difficult to talk about. It’s easy to sweep the topic of childhood sexual abuse, and the many destructive behaviors which result from it, under the rug, because it just isn’t comfortable. The vast majority of survivors never reveal their experiences because of guilt and shame. How can we heal if we hide? My hope is that telling this story will help to normalize people. Not just victims of abuse, but anyone who struggles with negative self-image.

While I wrote Riven to be as entertaining and immersive as possible, my main purpose was to shed light on darkness and ugliness that don’t have to be life sentences of suffering. There is hope. There are resources. There are networks of supporters waiting to help. My dream is that Riven and the My Myth Trilogy will spark discussion and help people heal, while calling the rest of us to action as supporters. If we educate ourselves and abolish buried guilt and shame, we can end the cycle of abuse.


7. Are you working on the next novel in the series and, if so, what can you tell us about it?
Yes, and I’m SO EXCITED! The second book in the trilogy is called Secret Keeper. While Riven deals with the nature of legitimate victimhood, Secret Keeper is all about what comes next. Self-acceptance is just the very first step in recovery; Emily still has to do all the work of telling her truth in the real world if she wants to protect her siblings. And what happens when you speak that kind of truth? How do people react? How do you stop being a victim? How do you protect yourself from repeating the cycle of abuse? The pendulum swings in the completely opposite direction from victim in Secret Keeper, though not necessarily in a healthy way. There’s a lot of bad-assery afoot. I’m having a blast writing and meeting new characters, and I know readers will love them!


Jane Alvey Harris
I have a Humanities degree from Brigham Young University with emphases in Art History, Italian Language, and Studio Art. I'm CRAZY about the visual and performing arts! I enjoy playing classical piano, painting & sketching, singing & acting, and especially writing poetry & prose.
But my real passion is PEOPLE. I love to watch and study what makes us tick as human beings. I'm definitely a dreamer, and my favorite thing to do is weave together sublime settings and stories for characters to live and learn in...myself included.
I currently live in an enchanted fairy-princess castle in Dallas, Texas, with my three often-adorable children and their three seldom-adorable cats.


Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Interview and Giveaway with Author Teri Polen

Let me welcome Author Teri Polen for an interview.

I read her book Sarah which I got from NetGalley and let me tell you it was actually a really good read.
If you click on the link you can read my review. What truly pulled me to requesting the book was the
cover.
I know, I know, you should never just get a book by its cover but you know sometimes the cover
catches your eye and you just have to read it.
I was very happy and surprised to have the author contact me. I think in all my requesting from
NetGalley I have had maybe two authors contact me.
So I jumped on the chance to interview Mrs. Polen.
Check out her interview and enter into the giveaway that she was kind enough to do.

Below is the blurb for the book with where you can purchase the book from amazon, also add it to
your TBR shelves on Goodreads.



33113495Seventeen-year-old horror fan Cain Shannon thought helping a ghost find her killers would be the supernatural adventure of a lifetime. Now, he just hopes to survive long enough to protect his family and friends from her.
A bet between friends goes horribly wrong, resulting in Sarah's death. When she returns to seek justice against those responsible, Cain agrees to help her. But when he discovers Sarah has been hijacking his body, he realizes she wants retribution instead of justice.
Terrified of what could have happened when he wasn't in control, Cain commands Sarah to leave his house - but exorcising her isn't that easy. She retaliates against her murderers in bloody, horrific ways, each death making her stronger, then sets her sights on Cain. With the help of friends, Cain fights to save himself and his loved ones and searches for a way to stop Sarah before she kills again. 

Amazon 





1. What made you write Sarah from a teenage boy's point of view? 


    I have two sons, which means I’ve been around them and their friends for years now and overheard their conversations, seen how they interact with girls and each other, etc. But I have a friend who says I’m more of a guy than a girl because of my preference in books, movies, gifts, and my reactions. Given all that, writing from a male perspective comes easier for me. Weird, but true.

2. Do you believe in ghosts?


       Although I’ve never actually seen one, I absolutely believe in them. I think there’s too much evidence out there not to believe, although I think some people are more sensitive to them than others. Makes life a little more interesting, don’t you think?


3. Can you share a bit of your writing process with us?

       I’ll get an idea in my head, but it has to marinate for a while as I figure out the details and develop characters. I wish a fully formed story would smash through the walls of my brain, but evidently my mind isn’t built that way. Sarah didn’t turn out the way I’d originally intended – sometimes the characters dictate the story, but when that happens, it feels more honest to me.


4. Do you have any rituals while writing? 

Such as maybe listening to certain music, eating chocolate, maybe having your favorite socks on?

     I usually have music playing on Spotify or Pandora – I just got an Amazon Echo Dot for Christmas and have some big plans for that when I write. Diet Coke and chocolate are usually involved, they get the blood flowing to the brain, along with a flannel shirt I stole from one of my sons. For some reason, I’m more productive when I wear it. No way he’s getting it back.


5. What else is in the works for you?

     I was 25K words into a YA sci-fi/fantasy when I was offered the contract for Sarah, so it’s been on the backburner since last summer, but I’m planning to dive back into that story in the next couple of days. I’m excited about getting reacquainted with those characters.


Fun questions:

1. What is one thing you cannot live without?

My family, of course, but also books. When I see people on planes, in waiting rooms, by the pool – any place where they’re sitting for periods of time, I’ve never understood how they couldn’t be reading. I guess they could be pondering some idea that could change the course of the world, but I need my entertainment.

2. What is your favorite book you could read over and over?

The Harry Potter series – I’ve read it through about four times and it’s what got me started reading YA as an adult.

3. Favorite genre of movie?

I generally prefer fantasy/sci-fi or horror, but my hubby doesn’t care for either, so we usually watch action/adventure and I’ll either see the fantasy and horror by myself, with my sons, or watch it on Netflix.

4. If you could be in a TV show what show would it be?

Wow – that’s a great question. I’d have to say The Walking Dead – my son and I are devout fans of the show. I’d probably never make it as a main character, but I’d love to go to Zombie University and have a dramatic, gory death on the show.

5. What would you do for a Klondike bar? 

I can pass on all the Klondike bars – except for the Reese’s. If you have one of those, I’ll whip out my Ninja stealth skills and take you down – you’ll never see me coming.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Book Blitz: #BLUR by Camria Herbert


#Blur
Cambria Hebert
(GearShark, #4)
Publication date: January 10th 2017
Genres: M/M Contemporary Romance




Nothing but a #blur…
There’s a new kid in town, and he’s hell on wheels.
From what we’ve heard, it may be because
he knows exactly what hell’s like.
Lonely.
Scorching.
Unforgiving.
You may know his brother, the NRR hotshot
(and former GearShark cover model)
Lorhaven.
It’s only natural a driver with his background and family connections
has sped his racecar into the newest, hottest division.
But that’s not all.
Arrow may be following in big bro’s tread marks,
but he doesn’t plan to stay there.
He’s swerving onto the road less traveled…
and a lot more controversial.
He’s opening up about his private struggles with sexuality
to tell a story that’s gone unheard until now.
One thing’s for sure; Arrow may have a painful past,
but his foot is heavy on the accelerator.
With speed like this, he’s bound to leave everything behind in
nothing but a #blur.
Check out the full feature article inside…











Cambria Hebert is an award winning, bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair.
Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house).
Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: The Hashtag Series, Text, Torch, and Tattoo.
Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC.

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Review: Puck by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes

32993642Title: Puck
Authors: Kim Askew and Amy Helmes
Published: Nov. 15, 2016
Publisher: Doublet Press
Pages: 330 (print)
Genre: Young Adult
Review: ebook provided by authors
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 






Life isn’t always fair, and no one knows that better than fifteen-year-old Puck. When she’s unceremoniously booted from yet another foster home, this city kid lands at DreamRoads, a rehabilitation wilderness camp for juvies. Her fellow campers include a famous pop star with a diva attitude, a geeky, “fish out of water” math whiz, and a surly gang-banger with a chip on his shoulder. The program’s steely director aims to break Puck, but she knows that every adult has a breaking point, too. Determined to defy this realm of agonizing nature hikes and soul-sucking psychobabble — even if that means manipulating four lovestruck camp counselors and the director’s dim-witted second-in-command — Puck ultimately gets much more than she bargains for in this “wondrous strange” outdoor odyssey inspired by The Bard’s most beguiling comedy.

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

NetGalley Review: Two Days Gone by Randall Silvis

32895043Title: Two Days Gone
Author: Randall Silvis
Published: Jan. 10, 2017
Publisher: Sourcebooks landmark
Pages: 400
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



The perfect family. The perfect house. The perfect life. All gone now.
What could cause a man, when all the stars of fortune are shining upon him, to suddenly snap and destroy everything he has built? This is the question that haunts Sergeant Ryan DeMarco after the wife and children of beloved college professor and bestselling author Thomas Huston are found slaughtered in their home. Huston himself has disappeared and so is immediately cast as the prime suspect.
DeMarco knows-or thinks he knows-that Huston couldn't have been capable of murdering his family. But if Huston is innocent, why is he on the run? And does the half-finished manuscript he left behind contain clues to the mystery of his family's killer?
A masterful new novel by acclaimed author Randall Silvis, Two Days Gone is a taut, suspenseful story that will break your heart as much as it will haunt your dreams.

Sunday, January 8, 2017

New Release: Loving a Wild Stranger by Kelli A. Wilkins


Title: Loving a Wild Stranger
Author: Kelli A. Wilkins
Genre: Historical romance (mail-order bride/wilderness/pioneer)
Heat Level: mild
Length: 295 pages
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Price: $2.99
Order Loving a Wild Stranger here:
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N6M551HApple: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1190943526
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loving-a-wild-stranger-kelli-a-wilkins/1125413251?ean=2940154172131
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/loving-a-wild-stranger
Scribd: https://www.scribd.com/book/335361512/Loving-a-Wild-Stranger
Page Foundry: http://www.inktera.com/store/title/51d0c248-fe8d-4a14-b1db-b524786870f4




A woman running from her past… straight into the arms of an untamed man

In a moment of desperation, Kathleen Stanton flees her pampered life in Kingston, New York and ends up stranded in a small town in the Michigan Territory. Out of money and forced to rely on her instincts, she impersonates a handsome stranger’s mail-order bride.

Committed to her deception, Kathleen calls herself Michelle and starts her new life with Luther in an isolated cabin in the wilderness. Luther can’t believe his luck when his beautiful bride arrives, but something doesn’t feel right about his new wife. Michelle has terrifying nightmares involving a man named Roger and is reluctant to talk about where she came from.

Luther’s friend, Redfeather visits and tries to convince Luther to send Michelle back east. Distrusting Michelle, he warns Luther that his bride is not what she seems. But Luther is in love with Michelle, and he is harboring a secret of his own—one that might force Michelle to reject him when she learns the truth.

Michelle falls in love with Luther and adapts to her new way of life. Together, they face off against brutal townspeople and overcome harsh living conditions. When they finally give in to their desires and agree to become a proper man and wife, a dark figure from Michelle’s past resurfaces and threatens to destroy everything.

The idea for this book started with a simple premise: a woman on the run impersonates a mountain man’s mail-order bride and lives in his cabin in the woods. From there, I thought about the characters and how they would interact, learn to live with each other, and naturally, fall in love.

But before I started writing, I went to the library and did a lot of research. First, I had to decide on the time period. When and where I set my story would determine all the necessary details that bring the characters to life—and also influence the plot.

Once the time period was finalized, I needed to learn about mail-order brides, fur trapping and trading, Native Americans, and get an overall feel for what life was like back then. As I wrote the book, I incorporated my research as background information. This gives the story a rich historical feel without going overboard with details that might bog down the book or bore readers.

I enjoyed creating the characters and all the conflicts that take place between them. Michelle and Luther are very different people—sort of like a city mouse and a country mouse—and I played on their differences in lifestyles, clothing, expectations, etc. throughout the book. When Luther’s friend Redfeather arrives, Michelle realizes how far she is out of her comfort zone and begins to see her situation (and Luther) in a new light.

As Luther and Michelle get to know each other (and fight for each other) they realize they have a lot more in common than they once thought. They both had to fend for themselves to survive in a rough world, with little or no family support. This brings them closer together and makes their love stronger.

I enjoyed writing this book, and I hope readers will fall in love with the characters the way I did.

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Cover Reveal: Doppelganger by Danielle Bannister









































Julie Green was NOT having a midlife crisis.
Her move across the country from sunny LA to the unsuspecting town of Bucksville, New Hampshire, was NOT about her being up to her eyeballs in fake people and even faker tits. It was NOT about hating her job as a temp and most definitely did NOT have anything to do with her ex-boyfriend or his wife getting pregnant with kid number three.
No, this move was going to be her chance for a ‘do over.’ A quiet life in a quiet town.
Or, at least, that was the plan.

A case of mistaken identity thrusts her into the public eye, tossing her into in a world of flashbulbs and shadows. Not the ideal situation to meet her potential Mr. Right, but her newest temporary gig was unlike any she'd ever held. The chance of a lifetime… Will it get to be too much, forcing her to cut and run--or will she find out that love stories aren't just for the silver screen?






Pre-order links:

Doppelganger (Pre-order/Releasing Feb. 7)
Amazon: http://amzn.to/2hXJCCb
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/2iLJx1BOther formats coming soon



Danielle Bannister

Danielle Bannister lives with her two children in Midcoast Maine along with her precious coffee pot and peppermint-mocha creamer. She holds a BA in Theatre from the University of Southern Maine and her Masters degree in Literary Education from the University of Orono. She has written: a collection of short stories called: SHORT SHORTS, The Twin Flames Trilogy: PULLED, PULLED BACK, and PULLED BACK AGAIN, THE ABC'S OF DEE and ENIGMA. She is also a contributing writer to the website, Venus Scribe. In addition, her work can also be found in the following anthologies: 2012 Goose River Anthology, 2012 Writeous Anthology, 2013 Maine Writes: Maine National Writing Project Anthology; and, 2013 The Stroke of Midnight: A Supernatural New Year's Anthology.
You can visit her website at:
http://daniellebannister.wordpress.com/
or
You can also join her newsletter at:
http://eepurl.com/bNvK7D