Friday, December 30, 2016

Soon to be released: The Gracious Wife by RaeBeth McGee-Buda



Title: The Gracious Wife
Author: RaeBeth McGee-Buda
Genre: Christian Living
Publish Date: Feb. 5, 2017






Marriage can be surreal, unpredictable, and enticing all at the same time. We find and fall in love with our best friend, and all of our dreams seem to be coming true. We've heard of the princess being rescued by her prince and they ride off into the sunset to live happily ever after. Unfortunately, this isn't how marriage is in real life, especially when you're trying to be what God has called you to be. Marriage is two self-centered individuals coming together to live as one.
Given all the foes and dips that may come with marriage, this book gives the basic understanding of marriage the way God intended and not as the way fairy tales has made it out to be. Its meant to help wives be more self-sacrificial toward their husband by acting in grace, love, and forgiveness. In this journey with our best friends, we can work toward being more humbling and giving. It takes more than love alone for a great marriage. The basis of a great marriage starts with a strong spiritual foundation, a strong friendship which grew into a strong romance, along with tons of work, sacrifices, and submission by both partners to make it last.
This book provides Rae-Beth's opinion with communication, getting through the tough times, fair fighting, and keeping God the center of the marriage. Dive in and see marriage from one wife's perspective.


Tell us a bit more about your new book, The Gracious Wife...



The purpose for my writing this book is directed at all women in all walks of life. My goal is to help those who are looking forward to getting married one day, those who are engaged, and those who are married. As I wrote this book, I included so very personal details about the darker side of my marriage in hopes of giving someone else the opportunity to learn from my mistakes. I feel that we are so focused on what society thinks is a great marriage over what God wants for our marriage. In the past, I was so focused on doing things my way and pointing out where my husband was going wrong; while I did this, I forgot to focus on what God had planned for me as a wife. The transparency and honesty within the pages of this book is to show those who are struggling what I overcame and that it's possible for them to overcome them too.
God wants and desires for us to be the gracious wife he intended. I pray that each person who reads The Gracious Wife can relate to several areas within the book and see their marriage in a different light by the end of their reading. I encourage all women to read this book, even if their looking to strengthen their joyful marriage. We all know that marriage doesn't come with a manual, but I think this book will make a great engagement gift to a Christian bride to be, a Christian wife who wants to better herself for God and her spouse, and for the struggling wife. There are a lot of Bible references that are there to help guide and direct the reader toward the ways that God intended. I believe this book will be great to refer back to often throughout marriage to help keep us on our intended path.

So, join me in being your husbands crown as you journey with me into being a gracious wife.


The Gracious Wife

(Taken from Chapter one)


Most little girls dream about their wedding day. They want the perfect dress with the perfect pair of shoes for the big walk down the perfectly decorated aisle where their prince charming is waiting to sweep them off their feet and run away to paradise. However, this is where the dream usually comes to a screeching halt; at least for me, it did.

Growing up, I was a very imaginative little girl. I made a castle out of blankets, cars out of boxes, a field into a battlefield, and two rooms in the same house into a neighborhood. But thinking about it, I never went on to dream of how my life would be once I was married. Let's face it, most Disney movies stop once the princess married her prince. (Until years later when the second movie comes out for the second generation and those that saw them aren't interested in fairytales anymore.)

I was married on August 11, 2012, to my prince charming who loved me for the previous eight years. When I walked down the aisle to become Mrs. Buda, it never crossed my mind on what kind of wife I wanted to be for this man I was forever uniting within the eyes of God. It's a little sad to say, but I started thinking about these three years after I was married, and after a handful of problematic situations had occurred, which almost ended my marriage, what I actually wanted for my marriage. Shouldn't we be thinking of the values of a wife/husband before we say I do? I think so.


Review: The Rules of Restraint by David Wilson

33144945Title: The Rules of Restraint
Author: David Wilson
Published: December 19, 2016
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Pages: 270
Genre: Mystery, thriller, suspense
Review: ebook provided
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



If we fight monsters, do we too become monsters…?

Donald Munro has something of a problem on his hands.

Just three months after taking over as governor of Greenbank – a unique therapeutic community prison, holding some of Britain’s most dangerous and notorious killers – the place is descending into chaos.

An escape, then a suicide, followed by a string of murders in the prison has left in its wake fear and confusion among staff and prisoners alike.

Dr Kate Crowther, the prison’s principal psychologist is called on – despite Munro’s initial cynicism – to shed some light on the case and create a profile of the killer.

In the meantime, Detective Inspector Nick Knight is brought in to work with her on his investigation.

The escapee, Bobby Lomas, dubbed ‘Varsity Blue’ for his string of killing young female students is considered to be at the heart of the case and Dr Crowther’s close relationship with him has not gone unnoticed.

As the death toll rises, Munro becomes increasingly anxious about Lomas’ whereabouts. His daughter has just started university and he hasn’t heard from her in days…

Review: A Mother Scorned by Michele Bardsley

26539937Title: A Mother Scorned
Author: Michele Bardsley
Published: June 1, 2005
Publisher: Hard Shell Word Factory
Pages: 17
Review: ebook from instafreebie
Genre: Short story
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 











Never underestimate the power of a mother's love ... or the rage of a mother scorned.

This psychological tale of a mother's love won 72nd Writer's Digest Writing Competition, Royal Palm Literary Award for Best Published Short Story, and it was nominated for the Derringer Awards.


Review: Set in the Woods by Lacey Crowe

31421781Title: Set In the Woods
Author: Lacey Crowe
Published: Aug. 9, 2016
Publisher: TWB Press
Pages: 75
Genre: Murder, Mystery, Fiction
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Jordan, a seventeen-year-old dropout struggling to make ends meet, accepts an offer to act in an independent horror film. He finds himself stranded at the set, an abandoned house tucked deep in the woods, with a mentally deranged director.

Monday, December 26, 2016

Review: Midnight Crossroad (Midnight, Texas #1) by Charlaine Harris

18689531Title: Midnight Crossroad (Midnight, Texas #1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Published: May 6, 2014
Publisher: Ace
Pages: 320
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Review: library ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 





Welcome to Midnight, Texas, a town with many boarded-up windows and few full-time inhabitants, located at the crossing of Witch Light Road and Davy Road. It’s a pretty standard dried-up western town.
There’s a pawnshop (someone lives in the basement and is seen only at night). There’s a diner (people who are just passing through tend not to linger). And there’s new resident Manfred Bernardo, who thinks he’s found the perfect place to work in private (and who has secrets of his own).
Stop at the one traffic light in town, and everything looks normal. Stay awhile, and learn the truth...

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Review: Eternal Night (The Fates of Betrayal Book 1) by Alayna Ravenwood

31827224Title: Eternal Night (The Fates of Betrayal Book 1)
Author: Alayna Ravenwood
Published: Sept. 2, 2016
Pages: 282
Genre: Teens, YA, Urban Fantasy
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



A dark secret lies in her past. A magical world exists just out of reach. A hidden destiny awaits her.
After a tragic murder and year of lost memories, Anna finds her world shrouded in mystery. Only the elusive Blake seems to have any answers, but pursuing his knowledge takes Anna down a dangerous path. As she begins to unlock pieces of the puzzle, she gets closer and closer to wanting someone she can’t have while unlocking a dormant power she isn’t sure she can control.
Nightfall Academy is only the beginning of a world of deceit, lust, and vengeance. Learning you are part of an ancient race of mages and falling for a dark prince are nothing compared to what Anna's future holds. If she can handle the power in her blood, she may reunite a lost realm with its past.

And our world could get caught in the crossfire.

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Review: Happiness is a Commodity by The Behrg

33153901Title: Happiness is a Commodity
Author: The Behrg
Publisher: Pricks Like Thorn Media
Published: Nov. 28, 2016
Pages: 108
Genre:  Adult, Dark, Sci-fi
Review: Ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


In the future, Happiness can no longer be achieved through natural means, but must be purchased from the government for brief 20-minute increments.
And the price is going up.
One man documents his experience as he uncovers a conspiracy by the governing elite. Those who are ALWAYS happy. But he will soon discover that the cost of real Happiness may be far worse than living perpetually in the dark.
Told through blog-post entries, this non-traditional novella explores a world where darkness and misery are the norm. An allegory for living with depression, this story will open your eyes to the millions lost in darkness around you, and may prepare you for a future that is all too likely to come.

Review: Ayahuasca by Jonathan Huls

31835046Title: Ayahuasca
Author: Jonathan Huls
Published: Sept. 1, 2016
Pages: 256
Genre: Murder, Horror, Adult
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Best friends since childhood, Damien and Paxton are going on a college graduation trip of a lifetime to the jungles of Peru. Their adventures along the way will culminate in a night of consuming the mind-altering drug ayahuasca – the most potent DMT based hallucinogen known to man. Will the experience expand their consciousness and change them into the men society beckons? Or will the young men’s shadowy backgrounds turn the trip so dark that it will consume them and everyone around them?

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Review: Marked by Stuart Park, Jorge Wiles (Illustrator), Clare Robertson (Illustrator)

31356817Title: Marked
Author: Stuart Park
Illustrator: Jorge Wiles, Clare Robertson
Publisher: Sinister Horror Company
Pages: 94
Genre: Dark Urban Fantasy
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy  Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Venus and her sister planet concludes their 3,000 year cycle. Stargazers amass to witness this once-in-a-lifetime event, but not Mark, his life is about to change.
Mark's chance encounter with the cold but intangibly-carnal Kiko sets him plummeting into free-fall. Kim, his emphatic but emotionally-charged wife moonlights with a shadowy organisation whose intentions are far from transparent. She needs to blame someone for the disappearance of their daughter twenty years ago. No solace is offered by her egocentric therapist who's engrossed in his own agenda.
Plagued by visions, Mark struggles to maintain his grip on reality and descends into a vividly-violent web of darkness. As Mark's world spirals beyond his control, it's quite possible this cycle will not end smoothly.

Monday, December 19, 2016

Review: The Shack by William P. Young

5977942Title: The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Published: June 20, 2008
Publisher: Windblown Media
Pages: 272
Genre: Christian
Review: ebook from library
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Mackenzie Allen Philips' youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later in the midst of his Great Sadness, Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend. Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on a wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare. What he finds there will change Mack's world forever. In a world where religion seems to grow increasingly irrelevant "The Shack" wrestles with the timeless question, "Where is God in a world so filled with unspeakable pain?" The answers Mack gets will astound you and perhaps transform you as much as it did him. You'll want everyone you know to read this book!

Friday, December 16, 2016

Review: Sink Veins of Fire by Perrin Briar

Sink: Veins of Fire by [Briar, Perrin]Title: Sink: Veins of Fire
Author: Perrin Briar
Published: Dec. 15, 2016
Pages: 210
Genre: YA, Time Travel
Review: ARC provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


A sinkhole is a natural phenomenon. It can happen anywhere, anytime. It drinks lakes dry, consumes jungles, and even demolishes entire mountains. You may have seen one in your street. But these things aren’t lost. They’ve simply been moved. Things are forgotten on the surface all the time. Beneath the crust, they’re always remembered.
A monster terrorizes a medieval town. The townspeople are being murdered. Dead bodies rise from hell. One member of town is responsible for it all. But who?
SINK. A forgotten world. A lost world. But not for long.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY: A Dark Journey into the Light by Josef

Displaying A Dark Journey into the light Blog Tour Banner.jpg






Title: a dark Journey into the Light
Author: Josef
Series: Standalone
Genre: Autobiography
Publisher: Self – Published
Release Date: Sept 17 2016
Edition/Formats: eBook



A dark Journey into the light is the true story of a man who, for sixty years, led a double life.
Josef is lost in a secret world of sexual gratification, a true-life Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, unable to halt the “roller coaster of conflicting emotional extremes that never stopped long enough for me to get off.”
“I gave myself to that sexual playground completely, and loved every minute of it when it was happening. It was only afterwards that spikes of shame, guilt, and self-¬loathing would be driven deep into my heart.”
He traces the beginnings of his obsession to his childhood, where his natural innocent curiosity and need for exploration were at odds with his Catholic upbringing and the view of his extremely repressed mother, both of whom regarded the human body as ‘dirty’ and ‘shameful’.
For sixty years, Josef lived a secret double life. The only people who knew about this other life were the professional mistresses, trannies, and prostitutes with whom he indulged every conceivable sexual fantasy. No one in his ‘other’ life had any idea of who he really was or the things he did.
Yet his secret life claimed a terrible toll. The failure of his first marriage. The loss of his son. The loss of his beloved second wife.
Only after extensive therapy was he finally able to see and feel the light of compassion, and allow the healing energy of forgiveness to begin taking away the pain.
In his journey, Josef explores an astonishing variety of topics. In addition to sexual addiction and the hidden world of BDSM, he delves into the burden of guilt of the Catholic Church, fear, political correctness, non-¬judgment, love and loss, philosophy, the soul, spiritual awakening, and healing.
This is the journey of an ordinary man lost in an extraordinary secret, dark world, who ultimately finds his way out of the tangled mess through the power of love and forgiveness.


Review: Z-Minus VI by Perrin Briar

30453691Title: Z-Minus 6
Author: Perrin Briar
Published: June 8, 2016
Pages: 175
Genre: Zombies
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk








Once infected, the virus shuts down organs, kills nerve impulses and even reprograms the way we think. The virus becomes us.

But the process takes eight hours.

If you only had eight hours left to live, what would you do?

The ice under Antarctica tells a fascinating story: the Earth's history, revealing its secrets layer by layer. But there is one secret it doesn't yet know, and the researchers at Palmer Station are about to discover it for themselves...

Monday, December 12, 2016

Spotlight: The ABC's of Dee by Danielle Bannister


The ABC’s of Dee

The ABC's of Dee


It always starts out so innocent. A drink, a laugh, I bet.
For 40-year-old Dee Harper, her hum-drum life is about to become… educated. When Dee’s wealthy friend, Gail, makes her a ridiculous bet, she never dreams she’ll actually go through with it. After all, dating 26 men in one year, from A-Z, is ludicrous. Right? Then Gail offers her $50,000 if she succeeds. Now that is an offer Dee can’t refuse.
From Adam the cocky limo driver to Kevin the klepto, Dee learns the hard way what sort of guy she doesn’t want and which ones are way out of her league.
Filled to the brim with snark and sarcasm about the joys of dating ‘later in life,’ The ABC’s of Dee reminds us that even though life sometimes sucks, there is always someone we can find to laugh with.


It’s ten minutes to seven and my underwear has already climbed up my ass more times than people have climbed Everest. I would love to blame Victoria’s Secret for selling me faulty ‘3 for $25.00 panties,’ but let’s be honest, I’m the one trying to cram my 40-year-old fanny into underwear meant for people who don’t eat food. They just looked so good on the stark white, half-butt mannequin that I thought they would totally cover the square footage of my backside. I was grossly mistaken.




Danielle Bannister lives with her two children in Midcoast Maine. She holds a BA in Theatre from the University of Southern Maine and her Masters degree in Literary Education from the University of Orono. She has written the new adult thriller, Enigma, The Twin Flame Trilogy: Pulled, Pulled Back, and Pulled Back Again, as well as the Snarky Romantic Comedy: The ABC’s of Dee. She has a collection of short stories called: SHORT SHORTS. In addition, her work can also be found in the following anthologies: 2012 Goose River Anthology, 2012 Writeous Anthology, 2013 Maine Writes: Maine National Writing Project Anthology; and, 2013 The Stroke of Midnight: A Supernatural New Year's Anthology. She is also a contributing writer to the website Venus Scribe.


http://daniellebannister.wordpress.com/ or find her on Facebook at
https://www.facebook.com/BannisterBooks or Twitter @dbannisterbooks
You can sign up for her newsletter at
http://eepurl.com/bNvK7D











Sunday, December 11, 2016

Review: Inferno (The Gryphon Series Book 6) by Stacey Rourke

33244516Title: Inferno (The Gryphon Series book 6)
Author: Stacey Rourke
Published: Dec. 5, 2016
Pages: 64
Genre: YA, Teen
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



With the death of a hero, a dark force has risen. A hellhound is loose on the Rhodes Campus, building its pack with a bloody body count. Any hope for salvation rests in the fiery hands of dashing Irishman, Caleb, with his power over the elements. Fighting to save a dear friend from the internal monster consuming him, Caleb finds the love of his life a target for the vicious attacks. How far will he go to save Celeste from the destiny ravenous to claim her?

Review: Z-Minus V (Z-Minus #5) by Perrin Briar

30181187Title: Z-Minus 5
Author: Perrin Briar
Published: May 11, 2016
Pages: 187
Genre: Zombies
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Once infected, the virus shuts down organs, kills nerve impulses and even reprograms the way we think. The virus becomes us.

But the process takes eight hours.

If you only had eight hours left to live, what would you do?

Archie is a state-of-the-art computer system. He can sequence a genome within eight hours. He can upload a virus’s make-up into the cloud for research centers all over the world. By the time a dangerous virus arrives, we will already be inoculated against it. Archie will make pandemics obsolete.

Unfortunately for us, he was developed too late.