Tuesday, August 30, 2016

NetGalley Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti

28179783Title: Shadow Falling (Scorpius Syndrome #2)
Author: Rebecca Zanetti
Published: Aug. 30, 2012
Published: Zebra
Pages: 400
Genre: Post-Apocalyptic, Romance
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Before the Scorpius Syndrome tore through North America and nearly wiped out the population, Vivienne Kennedy was the FBI’s best profiler. The bacteria got her anyway. But she survived. She recovered. And when she woke up from a drug-nightmare of captivity, her skills as a hunter of men had gone from merely brilliant to full-on uncanny. Her mysterious rescuer wants her to put them to the test. But no matter how tempting he is, with his angel’s eyes and devil’s tongue, Vinnie knows she shouldn’t trust him.
If the FBI were still around they would rate Raze Shadow as one of the bad guys. His military training can’t wipe out his association with the Mercenaries, the most feared gang in a thousand miles. His loyalties are compromised. He won’t even tell Vinnie his real name. But there’s no FBI in the new America of fear and firepower, only instinct and risk. And the way his arms wrap around her tells its own story. Whatever else Raze is concealing, he can’t hide his desire . . .

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Kindle Scout Review: Legion Lost by K.C. Finn

29438500Title: Legion Lost 
Author: K.C. Finn
Published: March 22, 2016
Publisher: Kindle Press
Pages: 204
Genre: Fantasy
Review: ebook provided by Kindle Scout
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk





One Underground girl escapes from a soldiers’ raid. Lost and above ground for the very first time, she has only one option to secure her survival: the Legion—a government organization for teenagers with no place left to run. Leave your identity at the gate, and join a life of military service until you reach adulthood. It sounds ideal, but the Underground girl knows that the System won’t stop looking for its female runaway. So, she tells a lie about her gender.
And it will change her forever.
Posing as Raja, a boy-soldier, the Underground girl is thrown into Legion life at its full, brutal speed. Here, she meets Senior Commander Briggs, whose savage authority reigns over the teenage soldiers. Amongst them are a band of oddballs known as the South Tower Rejects, led by Stirling, a tall, savvy stranger with bright copper hair and eyes that shine like oceans. There’s something hiding behind his cocky smile, and Raja wants to know what it is.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

#PBwkendread Review: A Firefighter's Flame by D. Hart

21943342Title: A Firefighter's Flame
Author: Dani Hart
Published: March 7, 2014
Pages: 297
Genre: Romance, New Adult
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


Real Life can be a b*tch and living with bipolar disorder only made it harder. Add in a firefighter, a rock star, a crazy best friend, and all my bad choices and you have a recipe for disaster. But it was my life and my disaster and all my stupid choices made me who I am and nothing can be more beautiful than the truth.
Women's Fiction
WARNING: This is not your every day perfect love story wrapped in a pretty bow. It's raw, real, beautiful, and heartbreaking. It touches on issues of depression, bipolar, and an epic love story that everyone hopes to have, and might even have, but forgets in the chaos of mundane every day life. This is a REAL love story based on actual events of a man who loved a woman too deeply and a woman who loved a man the only way she could.

If you dig into the deepest parts of your soul, what would you find? Happiness, pain, love, regret, peace, sorrow? Now imagine experiencing all those feelings at once and then nothing at all. These were the average days in the life of Lennox Ashford.

Lennox walked a fine line between truth and deception, love and lust, and most of all, pain and happiness. A line had been drawn between highs and lows, testing her stability on a daily basis. She lived in between the grays of right and wrong, not knowing which way to sway. Strength was supposed to come from within, but being broken exposed her weaknesses instead.

She grew up believing in love and believing in Dean. He protected her when she was weak, picked her up when she fell, and fought for her when she couldn't. They lived for each other, and eventually, for their children.

High school, college, marriage, children, and many rocky days had taken a toll on their marriage, deepening Lennox's depression and screaming for a way out. She needed something. She needed a change. Fate intervened and the change she got was not what she expected nor wanted.

A tragic moment will test her already wavering strength and leave a permanent scar on her conscience. Follow her journey of rediscovering love and searching for her own fairy-tale ending

Monday, August 22, 2016

Review: Zombie High Chronicles 1 by Amy Miles

29345177Title: Zombie High Chronicles #1
Author: Amy Miles
Published: June 19, 2016
Pages: 170
Genre: Teens, Zombies
Review: ebook won in a giveaway
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




My name is Roan Sterling.
I am seventeen years old.
I am not infected.

Three months ago my world went to hell and never looked back. I knew long before the others that we were all officially screwed. Growing up as an army brat had taught me a few things. Like when the military enacted martial law and forced you to leave your home, a normal day would be anything but.

Life in the Safe Zone sucked. The soldiers could poke us like lab rats, load us up on buses bound for school and pretend like everything was normal, but I knew fear when I saw it and the soldiers manning the gates were gripping their guns just a little too hard for comfort. This place used to be a typical “last place on earth anything would ever happen” slice of suburbia. Until they happened.

Dead Heads. Stiffs. Lame Brains. We had a lot of names for them to replace dad, sister or son. Something flipped a switch in their brains and the lights went out, but I suspected that the blackout was only temporary. I’d seen things I wasn’t supposed to. The Dead Heads were starting to notice us for the first time.

Life at Zombie High was about to get a lot bloodier.

Book Reviews and so much more

Wow it has been a busy weekend. I didn't read anything as far as paperbacks go but I did read on my kindle of course. We have finished up school shopping and getting birthday items ready for this upcoming weekend it is like I have had no time to sit and breath.

So within the next few hours hopefully I will have some reviews up and posted before the kids come home from school. Right now I am in the blah mood only because my youngest minion started Pre-k and we all know how that goes for us moms and some of the dads.

Next weekend I am sure I won't be reading any paperbacks as I will be celebrating my daughter's 4th birthday and we will be busy doing arts and crafts with her friends.

The upcoming reviews will be of


  1. Zombie High Chronicles 1 by Amy Miles
  2. A Firefighter's Flame by D. Hart (Paperback)
  3. Cold, Cold Heart by Karin Slaughter 

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Review: Doll of Mine: a Dia de los Muertos Story by Lila Felix

23269372Title: Doll of Mine: A Dia do los Muertos Story
Author: Lila Felix
Published: Oct. 1, 2014
Publisher: Rebel Writer Productions
Pages: 26
Genre: Short Story, Teens, YA
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



*a horror short story*
In spite of her mother’s protests, Alma has decided to visit the Island of the Dolls on the day before El Dia de Los Muertos. She is bound and determined to go, sure that it is just an island that rumor has deemed haunted.
When she gets there, it is impossible to ignore the doll that seems to call to her.
But there are rules when you take a doll from the island.
Rules that can never be broken—unless you are willing to pay the price.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

#PBwkendread: A Firefighter's Flame by Dani Hart




So this weekend's read is going to a book I won called A Firefighter's Flame by Dani Hart. I am about 79 pages in and so far it is pretty good. 
The blurb I have on the back of the paperback I own is a whole lot different than the blurb I will post below. I can say though I am wondering what Lennox is going to do to find her own fairy tale ending. 


Real Life can be a b*tch and living with bipolar disorder only made it harder. Add in a firefighter, a rock star, a crazy best friend, and all my bad choices and you have a recipe for disaster. But it was my life and my disaster and all my stupid choices made me who I am and nothing can be more beautiful than the truth.
Women's Fiction
WARNING: This is not your every day perfect love story wrapped in a pretty bow. It's raw, real, beautiful, and heartbreaking. It touches on issues of depression, bipolar, and an epic love story that everyone hopes to have, and might even have, but forgets in the chaos of mundane every day life. This is a REAL love story based on actual events of a man who loved a woman too deeply and a woman who loved a man the only way she could.

If you dig into the deepest parts of your soul, what would you find? Happiness, pain, love, regret, peace, sorrow? Now imagine experiencing all those feelings at once and then nothing at all. These were the average days in the life of Lennox Ashford.

Lennox walked a fine line between truth and deception, love and lust, and most of all, pain and happiness. A line had been drawn between highs and lows, testing her stability on a daily basis. She lived in between the grays of right and wrong, not knowing which way to sway. Strength was supposed to come from within, but being broken exposed her weaknesses instead.

She grew up believing in love and believing in Dean. He protected her when she was weak, picked her up when she fell, and fought for her when she couldn't. They lived for each other, and eventually, for their children.

High school, college, marriage, children, and many rocky days had taken a toll on their marriage, deepening Lennox's depression and screaming for a way out. She needed something. She needed a change. Fate intervened and the change she got was not what she expected nor wanted.

A tragic moment will test her already wavering strength and leave a permanent scar on her conscience. Follow her journey of rediscovering love and searching for her own fairy-tale ending

Review: Splintered by Kelly Miller

28515770Title: Splintered
Author: Kelly Miller
Published: Jan. 26, 2016
Publisher: Kindle Press
Pages: 344
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Life turns from barely tolerable to complete hell when Maddy Eastin’s impulsive plan to win back the attention of her absentee father backfires. Word of her scheme spreads through her high school, but when mockery escalates to cyberbullying, Maddy and her failed stunt become headline news. But the worst is yet to come…
A disturbed man is fighting the overwhelming urge to surrender to his true nature—a moral code molded by a sadistic father who taught him that a girl needs proper training to become the perfect subservient woman. As he watches Maddy on the evening news, his already fractured psyche completely splinters. She’s the girl he’s been waiting for.
When Maddy disappears, she’s labeled a runaway even though her mother believes it was foul play. Will the detectives investigating Maddy’s disappearance find her before it’s too late? Or has she already fallen prey to the vicious stranger hunting her?

Review: The Charm by Jojo Debrazza

25290527Title: The Charm
Author: Jojo Debrazza
Published: March 24, 2015
Pages: 79
Genre: Teen, Sci-fi
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Extraordinary powers come with a price

Fifteen year old Luca has the charm, a gift he inherited from his mum. Charmers can control minds, but they abide by a code—to only use the power for good, and only with the person’s permission. Luca knows breaking the code is wrong, and his mum would kill him if he tried!
But when a rogue charmer uses the power for criminal means, the Restorative government jumps in. Luca’s mum is imprisoned and the Register for Charmers is announced. The media creates a frenzy of fear and suspicion against charmers.
Believing the family is in peril, and wishing to keep Luca’s gift a secret, Luca’s dad takes them to stay with a friend in the country. Here, Luca meets Fee, a computer genius who can hack into anything. Fee introduces Luca to an underground rebellion group of internet hackers who have their own issues with the Restoratives and their own way of protesting. Fearful of how the Restoratives are treating his mum in prison and concerned about their motives for creating the Register of Charmers, Luca must make an impossible choice—break the rules and use his gift or stand by and watch as the power is abused.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Cover Reveal: The Gracious Wife Being Her Husband's Crown by Raebeth McGee-Buda

Welcome and come celebrate with me as I release the cover of my next book in honor of my anniversary. Please share and help share the news of the cover reveal.  Thank you!!!
Genre: Christian Living
Pages: Approx 100
Release Date: 2016
Description:


Marriage can be surreal, unpredictable, and enticing all at the same time. We find and fall in love with our best friend, and all of our dreams seem to be coming true. We've heard of the princess being rescued by her prince and they ride off into the sunset to live happily ever after. Unfortunately, this isn't how marriage is in real life, especially when you're trying to be what God has called you to be. Marriage is two self-centered individuals coming together to live as one.

Given all the foes and dips that may come with marriage, this book gives the basic understanding of marriage the way God intended and not as the way fairy tales has made it out to be. It's meant to help wives be more self-sacrificial toward their husband by acting in grace, love, and forgiveness. In this journey with our best friends, we can work toward being more humbling and giving. It takes more than love alone for a great marriage. The basis of a great marriage starts with a strong spiritual foundation, a strong friendship which grew into a strong romance, along with tons of work, sacrifices, and submission by both partners to make it last.

This book provides Rae-Beth's opinion with communication, getting through the tough times, fair fighting, and keeping God the center of the marriage. Dive in and see marriage from one wife's perspective.
Release Information will be provided at a later date.

Monday, August 8, 2016

Spotlight: Confessions of a Vampire's Lover by Kelli A. Wilkins

An Inside Look at… Confessions of a Vampire’s Lover
By Kelli A. Wilkins
Hi everyone,
Not all romances are the same, and not all romance authors are the same. Although I write in several romance genres (contemporary, gay, historical, fantasy), I also like to write horror stories. Many people think that’s an odd combination, but I like to say that one half of my brain writes the horror, and the other half writes the romance. So naturally, it was only a matter of time before I combined the two and started writing paranormal romances.
My latest contemporary paranormal, Confessions of a Vampire’s Lover, is a different type of romance. For starters, the novella is told in the first person from the hero’s point of view. The story also makes use of a setting where you don’t normally find vampires—the beach! 
I got the idea for the story while sitting on a nearly deserted beach at the end of the summer season. (I’m not a beach person, but I was there with my husband, a surfer.) As I sat there watching the few people milling around, I wondered: “What if a vampire went to the beach? And what if she fell in love with a surfer?”
I liked the idea of contrasting typical sun worshipping beachgoers and surfers with a darkness-loving elusive vampire. Besides, what could be more mismatched than a die-hard surfer falling in love with a nocturnal blood-drinker?
I started toying with ideas and knew that although the book is about a vampire, I wanted to keep the central focus on Brian and Anya’s relationship and not on the ‘bloodier’ aspects of vampirism (show her feeding, etc.) There’s a fine line when blending horror and romance into paranormal romance. Too much gore or a “too terrifying” creature can snap the readers (and the characters) out of the romance and into a full-on horror story. 
When I wrote the book I made sure that the love scenes were highly sensual and almost surreal. Aside from being a vampire, Anya is a woman with needs, and she makes sure Brian satisfies them. I don’t remember how I was inspired to have the story told by Brian, but it worked. Readers and reviewers like the first-person aspect—it pulls you into a story that would seem unbelievable.
Several people have asked me if it’s hard to write horror and romance. Not really. I enjoy it. Writing horror allows me to change up my writing style, use different settings, and create characters you wouldn’t find in a romance. My horror stories are more psychological/spooky/creepy than gory, and I like to explore darker plots and not always give the characters a happy ending (as I do in my romances).






















Here’s the summary and an excerpt from Confessions of a Vampire’s Lover:


The moment Brian spotted Anya sitting on the moonlit beach, he was hooked. Beautiful, smart, and sexy, Anya was the girl of his dreams. She didn’t mind that he spent the hot summer days riding the ocean waves, because once the sun set, he belonged to her—all night long!

Everything is perfect between them—until Brian discovers Anya’s shocking secret. Can Brian give up the sun, sand, and surf to be with the woman he loves?

Read Brian’s first-hand account of their unusual love story in… Confessions of a Vampire’s Lover.





Anya draped her arms around my neck and pulled me close, as if she were hungry for my touch. Her wet lips met mine, and a shock coursed through my body. Anya’s lips were soft and supple, but ice cold. It was the strangest kiss I’d ever experienced, and it stirred something primal in me.

Anya kissed me deeper and twisted her tongue around mine. The world seemed to spin, and once again I felt myself falling under her spell. I was hers, willing to do whatever she wanted. After a moment, she released me.

“Wait for me on the beach. I’ll let you take me any way you want,” she whispered, then dove back into the water.

I made my way to shore as quietly as possible and flopped onto the sand. I closed my eyes and tried to think rationally. What was Anya doing out there? Nobody could see in the ocean at night or safely swim with sharks after dark. Maybe Anya was a mermaid. I chuckled at my own stupidity. Mermaids weren’t cold, they couldn’t vanish into thin air, and they didn’t hide from the sun. That was a vamp—

“Look what I found.”

I opened my eyes. Anya stood over me, holding something shiny in her hand. The gold ring gleamed in the moonlight. I took it from her and studied it. The stone was dark, almost blood red. I handed it back to her and she slipped it on her ring finger.

“You really should let me explore. There are a lot of interesting things down there,” she said.

I scowled. “How did you find that in the water? It’s pitch black.”

“Don’t ask, Brian.” Anya straddled my hips and kissed me. She bent close, offering me her breast. I drew it into my mouth and sucked eagerly. To my surprise, she felt flushed and warm, and tasted salty, like the ocean.

Anya gasped and arched her head back. “Make love to me, Brian. I want to feel alive,” she said as she unzipped my jeans….


Order your copy of Confessions of a Vampire’s Lover here:


* * *
If you’re looking for a summer romance, I hope you’ll check out Confessions of a Vampire’s Lover. If vampire love stories aren’t your thing, visit my Amazon author page or website to catch up on all of my romances in other genres.

Happy Reading,
Kelli



Kelli A. Wilkins is an award-winning author who has published more than 95 short stories, 19 romance novels, and 5 non-fiction books. Her romances span many genres and heat levels.

In 2016 Kelli began re-releasing her romances previously published by Amber Quill Press. Visit her website and blog for a full title list, book summaries, and other information as it becomes available. Look for her Medallion Press historical western romance, Lies, Love & Redemption, coming in September.

Her writing book, You Can Write—Really! A Beginner’s Guide to Writing Fiction is a fun and informative non-fiction guide based on her 15 years of experience as a writer. It’s filled with writing exercises and helpful tips all authors can use.
If you like to be scared, check out Kelli’s horror ebooks: Dead Til Dawn and Kropsy’s Curse.
Kelli posts on her Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKelliWilkins and Twitter: www.Twitter.com/KWilkinsauthor. She also writes a weekly blog: http://kelliwilkinsauthor.blogspot.com/.

Visit her website, www.KelliWilkins.com to learn more about all of her writings, read book excerpts, reviews, and more. Readers can sign up for her newsletter here: http://eepurl.com/HVQqb.


Here are a few links to find Kelli & her writings on the web
Website: www.KelliWilkins.com
Blog: http://kelliwilkinsauthor.blogspot.com/
Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/kelliwilkins
Newsletter sign-up: http://eepurl.com/HVQqb
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKelliWilkins
Twitter: www.Twitter.com/KWilkinsauthor
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1123678.Kelli_A_Wilkins
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/KWilkinsAuthor/
Medallion Press: http://medallionpress.com/author/kelli-wilkins/







Review: Invidious Betrayal by Shea Swain

26085484Title: Invidious Betrayal
Author: Shea Swain
Published: Aug. 28, 2015
Publisher: Self
Genre: Adult
Pages: 331
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


When Aria Cole turned eighteen, she wanted nothing more than to trade childish balloons and sugary confetti cake for Dirty Martinis and dancing all night. Determined to shed her Perfect Princess image and surround herself with guys who didn’t know she was the daughter of an overly protective small town Sheriff, Aria decided a fun-filled night in the big city was the answer.

Being assaulted and marked for death was not what Aria had envisioned.

At twenty-one, former child prodigy Ian Howl finally agreed to work for his uncle at Howl Industries. Independently wealthy, he needed a change from his idle playboy lifestyle and wanted a challenge. To celebrate his new position, a lavish party was thrown in his honor.

However, Ian’s version of fun didn’t include being drugged and mixed up in a murder plot.

A chance meeting had brought Aria and Ian together but what they endured that evening linked them forever. Ian wanted answers and revenge. Aria wanted to forget that awful night. But forgetting is not an option when you know too much. Hunted and terrified, Aria must rely on and trust a stranger with her life. Haunted by guilt, Ian’s primary concern was Aria’s safety and if he had to unleash hell to achieve it, then so be it. Neither of them could have anticipated the events that brought them together but once their mutual passion and power is realized…many lives are forever changed.


This is a Standalone Book.
Book contains scenes of graphic violence. Reader discretion is advised.

#PBwkendread Review: The Loners (Quarantine #1) by Lex Thomas

16030631Title: The Loners (Quarantine #1)
Author: Lex Thomas
Publisher: Egmont USA
Published: June 11, 2013
Pages: 432
Genre: YA
Review: Paperback from library
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


It was just another ordinary day at McKinley High—until a massive explosion devastated the school. When loner David Thorpe tried to help his English teacher to safety, the teacher convulsed and died right in front of him. And that was just the beginning.
A year later, McKinley has descended into chaos. All the students are infected with a virus that makes them deadly to adults. The school is under military quarantine. The teachers are gone. Violent gangs have formed based on high school social cliques. Without a gang, you’re as good as dead. And David has no gang. It’s just him and his little brother, Will, against the whole school.

#PBwkendread Review: The Loners (Quarantine #1) by Lex Thomas

16030631Title: The Loners (Quarantine #1)
Author: Lex Thomas
Publisher: Egmont USA
Published: June 11, 2013
Pages: 432
Genre: YA
Review: Paperback from library
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


It was just another ordinary day at McKinley High—until a massive explosion devastated the school. When loner David Thorpe tried to help his English teacher to safety, the teacher convulsed and died right in front of him. And that was just the beginning.
A year later, McKinley has descended into chaos. All the students are infected with a virus that makes them deadly to adults. The school is under military quarantine. The teachers are gone. Violent gangs have formed based on high school social cliques. Without a gang, you’re as good as dead. And David has no gang. It’s just him and his little brother, Will, against the whole school.

#PBwkendread: The Loners (Quarantine #1) by Lex Thomas


So I totally forgot to post up my #PBwkendread
I found this beauty at the library and thought it might be a good one. 
The title is what really pulled me in so I am hoping that it is as good as it seems to look.

16030631

It was just another ordinary day at McKinley High—until a massive explosion devastated the school. When loner David Thorpe tried to help his English teacher to safety, the teacher convulsed and died right in front of him. And that was just the beginning.
A year later, McKinley has descended into chaos. All the students are infected with a virus that makes them deadly to adults. The school is under military quarantine. The teachers are gone. Violent gangs have formed based on high school social cliques. Without a gang, you’re as good as dead. And David has no gang. It’s just him and his little brother, Will, against the whole school.

Monday, August 1, 2016

Review: With One Word by Olivia Blake

28023601Title: With One Word
Author: Olivia Blake
Published: Nov. 19, 2015
Publisher: Self
Pages: 310
Genre: Romance
Review: Ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 






Have you ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn't have?
Ever since my dad walked out eight years ago, my life has been Hell. My mother is an alcoholic whose "boyfriends" enjoy using me as a punching bag. Everything nice I've ever owned has ended up in the pawn shop so Mom could buy booze and cigarettes. Thanks to her reputation every guy I've ever gone out with has only been interested in one thing, so I've never had a real boyfriend. The only reason I didn't skip town the moment I turned eighteen is my little sister, Willow. She needs me, and I won't leave her behind. Now my best friend has moved across the country to go to college and I've got no one at all - except Grant. Grant is my knight in shining armor. He's the only man who has ever treated me like a person instead of trash, and he's always been there when I needed him. And now I'm afraid I'm falling in love with him. There's just one little problem.
Grant is my best friend's dad.
When my wife and son died in a plane crash nine years ago, Holly was the one who dragged my daughter and then me back to the world of the living. Her sweet, outgoing personality won us both over, and the girls have been inseparable ever since. It kills me to see what she’s had to endure since her father abandoned their family and her mother went to pieces, but Holly refuses to give up. Every single day she continues to struggle, both to keep going herself and to hold her little sister’s head above water. She’s the bravest person I’ve ever met. Yet sometime when I wasn’t paying attention, the girl grew up into a woman. I know she’s my daughter’s best friend and only half my age. She trusts me. I'm supposed to keep her safe. But while I’m fighting it as hard as I can, it doesn’t seem to matter.
I can't help wanting what I can never have.
Warning:This novel contains strong themes of physical, emotional, and sexual abuse (though *not* between the main characters). If these topics and situations disturb you, this book is probably not for you.

Review: A Yellow Winged Stranger by Imran Usman

25425374Title: A Yellow Winged Stranger
Author:  Imran Usman
Published: March 15, 2015
Publisher: Leadstart Publishing Pvt. Ltd
Pages: 162
Genre: Mystery
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


In a recent murder, a man is indicted. His Modus Operandi or Method of Operation is the signature of an infamous notorious serial killer named 'The Black Smith', known for inflicting grave torturing prior to putting his victims to death. The Black Smith's killing spree spanned over a period of 20 years. Due to the varied victimology, it made it utterly impossible for the Law Enforcements, including the Federal Investigating Unit to profile him until very recently; 83 victims had his insignia. During the early years, when he started, he was referred to as 'the copy cat', copying the MO of a serial killer, ' Full Moon Butcher ' of the 80s, to the very exact detail – who went dormant almost suddenly.The indicted man is shifted to a high security prison, where he unusually comes across a series of writings on the cell wall. These writings contain unusual depictions about an undiscovered life, of a supposed 'Yellow Winged Stranger', the Master of the Ordinary; an ex-prisoner trapped in the compulsion of his own making. And he has a message for the convict.

#PBwkendread Review: The Treatment (The Program #2) by Suzanne Young

22546087

Title: The Treatment (The Program #2)
Author: Suzanne Young
Published: March 24, 2015
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Pages: 344
Genre: Teen, YA
Review: Paperback from library
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk





Can Sloane and James survive the lies and secrets surrounding them, or will The Program claim them in the end? Find out in this sequel to The Program, which Publishers Weekly called “chilling and suspenseful.”
How do you stop an epidemic?
Sloane and James are on the run after barely surviving the suicide epidemic and The Program. But they’re not out of danger. Huge pieces of their memories are still missing, and although Sloane and James have found their way back to each other, The Program isn’t ready to let them go.
Escaping with a group of troubled rebels, Sloane and James will have to figure out who they can trust, and how to take down The Program. But for as far as they’ve come, there’s still a lot Sloane and James can’t remember. The key to unlocking their past lies with the Treatment—a pill that can bring back forgotten memories, but at a high cost. And there’s only one dose.
Ultimately when the stakes are at their highest, can Sloane and James survive the many lies and secrets surrounding them, or will The Program claim them in the end?