Tuesday, May 31, 2016

CD Review: The Modern Romantic by Laura Sullivan



I received this CD to give an honest review.

I am not sure how to write this review, that is meant in a good way. I put this CD in my car while driving around and I could just feel all my stress just melt away. I embraced the music to where the only thing I could hear was the sound of the piano and string instruments. 
I really liked each song and I wonder how the author comes up with the title of each one as there are now words just beautiful music that is played. 
This is meant to be romantic music and I am sure it is but for me it feels as though it is something that I can play in the background very quietly and just let it wash me over after a long day with my feet propped up and a glass of wine. 
I plan on playing this CD when my husband comes home after a very long and hard day and see what he thinks about it, if it does anything for him. 
If you have not heard any of this musician's music before I recommend you give her music a try and see how it makes you feel. You can even listen to the samples to get a small taste of what each song is like. 

Buy Link: Amazon 





Monday, May 30, 2016

Blog Tour and Review: Rite of Redemption by Sarah Negovetich

30166592Title: Rite of Redemption (Acceptance book 3)
Author: Sarah Negovetich
Date to be published June 6, 2016
Pages: 249
Review: ARC copy from the author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Rebecca escaped the PIT, found a family among the Freeman...and watched too many loved ones die. All she wants is the Cardinal to leave her in peace, but he's made it clear that's never going to happen.
When the Cardinal attacks other Freeman villages, she finally understands that no one is safe from his wrath. As the only one who's stood up to the evil that is the Cardinal, it's up to her to convince the others that they can't hide forever. It's time to fight.
The Machine predicted Rebecca would become the Cardinal's enemy. It may have gotten that one right.

Saturday, May 28, 2016

#PBwkendread Review: Surrounded by Sharks by Michael Northrop

18751744Title: Surrounded by Sharks
Author: Michael Northrop
Published: May 27, 2014
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages:208
Genre: Middle Grade, Adventure
Review: Paperback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Dragged out to sea with nothing but a piece of trash to keep him afloat, Davey is certain things can't get any worse...and then he spots a shark.

He couldn't sleep. That's how it all started.
When Davey wakes, just as the sun is rising, he can't wait to slip out of the crammed hotel room he's sharing with his family. Leave it to his parents and kid brother to waste an entire day of their vacation sleeping in! Davey heads for the beach, book and glasses in hand, not bothering to leave a note. As the sparkling ocean entices him, he decides he will just test the water. Never mind that "No Swimming" sign. But when the waves pull him farther and farther out to sea, Davey finds himself surrounded not only by water, but something else--something circling below the surface.

Friday, May 27, 2016

#PBwkendread: Surrounded by Sharks by Michael Northrop


This weekend read is Surrounded by Sharks by Michael Northrop. I actually bought this book at my son's school book fair. What really got was the title and the cover.  I am not sure I would be okay with being in an ocean knowing there is a chance sharks are going to eat me lol. I am hoping that it is really good but I guess we will see. 
#PBwkendread

Dragged out to sea with nothing but a piece of trash to keep him afloat, Davey is certain things can't get any worse...and then he spots a shark.

He couldn't sleep. That's how it all started.
When Davey wakes, just as the sun is rising, he can't wait to slip out of the crammed hotel room he's sharing with his family. Leave it to his parents and kid brother to waste an entire day of their vacation sleeping in! Davey heads for the beach, book and glasses in hand, not bothering to leave a note. As the sparkling ocean entices him, he decides he will just test the water. Never mind that "No Swimming" sign. But when the waves pull him farther and farther out to sea, Davey finds himself surrounded not only by water, but something else--something circling below the surface.

#PBwkendread Review: Awake by Melanie Surani

25492880Title: Awake
Author Melanie Surani
Published: April 30, 2015
Publisher: Booktrope Publishing
Pages: 224
Review: Paperback won
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




In author Melanie Surani’s edgy thriller novel, opera singer Joshua Gray wakes in an eerie art museum exhibit. He comes to believe he’s been kidnapped and abandoned. And he isn’t the only one…

As Josh and four others struggle to piece together their new reality, they discover the museum’s main building has been razed and the place is boarded with no obvious exit. Who left them in the museum and why? How can they escape? The only link that binds them together is a mysterious woman named Blair, who they each encountered before blacking out. Josh unexpectedly finds himself drawn to one of the other captives, a long-time fan named Sophia. Their attraction plunges the group into a dark pool of suspicion. When allegiances shift and pieces connect, the strangers are forced to reassess their situation. Is the real danger inside or outside of the museum?

Suspenseful, romantic and filled with drama, Awake will keep you up all night.

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Cover Reveal: My Lady, My Spy by Sheridan Jeane

My Lady My Spy Reveal Banner








My Lady My Spy Cover

Secrets and Seductions #4

Publication Date: June 21, 2016

Genres: Adult, Historical Romance

He's a spy----











Certain truths aren’t his to share… London, 1854 ~ Frederick Woolsy is Queen Victoria’s finest spy. His mission at the Russian Embassy’s annual ball is one of the most critical ones of his life, but his careful plans end in disaster. The book he was assigned to secure has been stolen and now England and Russia are on the brink of war. Even worse, the love of his life has caught him in another lie (he’s a spy, certain lies are expected). However, in this case, it might mean he’ll lose her forever. She’s a lady who demands honesty– above all else The nights Lady Josephine Harrington spent with Frederick in her bed were glorious… enough to tempt her to consider abandoning her independence as a wealthy widow to spend her life with him. Tonight, he canceled their plans to attend the Russian Embassy’s ball, saying he would be otherwise engaged. Now he’s shown up at the event with his brother. She’s not sure what he’s up to, but she’s going to find out…if she doesn’t eviscerate him first. Secrets and lies… He lives in a world of shadows. She values truth and integrity. If they want to find a future together, something has to change. Fast.

3D My Lady My Spy Cover

EXCERPT - MY LADY, MY SPY
Josephine finally escaped the crowded ballroom and entered the foyer. She looked around, but found no sign of Frederick or his brother. They’d both disappeared. Movement above her on the balcony caught her attention. Was that Frederick? When he spotted her, he ducked out of sight, but she’d seen him. Of that she was certain. Why had he gone up there? Was he merely curious about the building’s renovations? She dismissed the idea. There was more than mere curiosity driving his actions. She moved toward the staircase, intending to follow him, but a large footman stepped in front of her, blocking the way. “Upstairs area is restricted,” the man said in a thick Russian accent. “No guests allowed.” Josephine glanced at the balcony again, but couldn’t spot Frederick. She knew better than to mention his flouting of the rules to the footman. Frederick must have evaded him by taking an alternate route upstairs. She acquiesced and stepped away, glancing around the grand foyer. She spotted a door on the far side of the room leading toward the embassy offices. It wasn’t guarded. Perhaps she’d find another staircase back there. A children’s choir began singing. The other guests around her moved. As a group passed between her and the man guarding the staircase, Josephine slipped through a side door and found herself in a corridor lined with embassy offices. There should be another, less opulent staircase nearby. The office doors were all closed, but about halfway down the hallway she noticed one standing slightly ajar. She hurried closer to open it and when she discovered a servants’ staircase, she grinned. Frederick must have taken this route. Josephine lifted the hem of her skirt and crept up the stairs. Her night around would end in disaster if she ran into one of the embassy’s servants. Those Russian footmen looked intimidating. She paused when she reached the landing. The door leading to the corridor was closed, but she heard someone just outside. She paused as she tried to identify the odd shuffling sound that seemed to be moving away from her. Cautiously, she edged open the door and peeked into the hallway. A man was sliding a cloth along the floor with his shoe, wiping up what appeared to be water. Not just any man. Frederick. She pushed open the door and stepped through. At the sound, he spun to face her. His jaw dropped as his piercing blue eyes widened in surprise.“Josephine? What in blazes are you doing up here?” “You canceled our plans for tonight. Imagine my surprise when you strolled through the ballroom.” She gave him a cold smile. “I thought I’d give you an opportunity to explain yourself before I set the dogs on you, so to speak.”
3D My Lady My Spy Cover

Also in the Secrets and Seduction series...Buy (#FREE with #KindleUnlimited): Amazon


It Takes a Spy... by Sheridan Jeane Secrets and Seduction, #1 Publication Date: November 1, 2014 Genres: Historical, Romance
Synopsis: In 1851, Cecilia Paring has serious reservations about marrying her fiancé, Devin Montlake. Gone is the boy who could capture her heart with a word or a glance and in his place is a man who has made it clear that to be a proper barrister's wife, the exciting and impulsive Cecilia must change as well. Although Devin Montlake loves his orderly life as a barrister, he's determined to follow his roadmap to achieve his goal of becoming a judge. His biggest obstacle seems to be convincing his headstrong fiancée to fulfill her social obligations with a modicum of propriety. But when the jewelry collection belonging to Cecilia's family is stolen the night before it is to be auctioned off and Devin is framed for the crime, he discovers that following his much-loved rules won't solve this particular problem. He'll need the inventiveness of his irrepressible fiancée to catch the thief.
 goodreads-badge-add-38px
Lady Catherine's Secret Book #2

Buy (#FREE with #KindleUnlimited): Amazon
Lady Catherine's Secret by Sheridan Jeane Secrets and Seduction #2 Publication Date: December 1, 2014 Genres: Historical, Romance
Synopsis: London, 1853
Despite Lady Catherine's love of fencing, she needs to stop pretending to be a boy and fraternizing with men…but not until after the fencing tournament! Her mother plans to marry her off by the end of the season, so this will be her last chance to enjoy her freedom. When she impulsively puts her reputation at risk to save the life of a dashing competitor, all seems lost when he sees through her disguise, but he vows never to reveal her secret. Thank goodness for gentlemanly honor! Daniel, Marquess of Huntley, wants to overcome the rumors of his father's madness so that he can be embraced by London society. His plan is to marry the most proper woman who will have him, and then raise stable, respectable children. He certainly isn't interested in some hoyden with a penchant for masquerading as a boy and flaunting society's rules. In fact, he'd prefer to keep his distance. When an obsessed suitor discovers Catherine's secret and threatens blackmail, the only path out of social ruin is marriage. But what kind of protection does matrimony provide when a vengeful suitor is plotting the ultimate revenge?
goodreads-badge-add-38px
Once Upon a Spy Cover

Buy: (#FREE with #KindleUnlimited) Amazon
Once Upon a Spy by Sheridan Jeane Secrets and Seduction #3 Publication Date: November 17, 2015 Genres: Adult, Historical, Romance, Suspense
Synopsis: London, 1854 ~ Robert, Earl of Wentworth, isn’t a spy, and he never wants to be one, but when his brother is injured and needs his help stealing an important book from the Russian embassy, he can’t refuse. Antonia has lost everything. If she wants her life back, she needs that book. The problem is, Lord Wentworth just stole it from the Russian Ambassador. The reluctant spy and the daring thief find themselves at cross-purposes. Who will win in this dangerous game of nations— especially when their hearts are at stake as well? Note: Although this is the third book in the series, it can be read as a standalone novel. For those who have read the first two books, you'll rediscover characters from both of them.
  goodreads-badge-add-38px



Sheridan Jeane
Sheridan Jeane writes exciting and emotion-packed historical romances set in the Victorian Era that confront issues of trust and conformity. With the advent of the industrial age, life was changing. Many people tried to hold on to the old ways of life while others embraced the new opportunities open to them. Join Sheridan as she explores the clash between the old and the new. Sheridan has always loved books, history, and stories about amazing people who blaze new trails. Despite naming their daughter Sheridan because they thought it might someday look great on the cover of a book, Sheridan's parents urged her in a more practical direction for college. Sheridan earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science with a minor in English.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter | Amazon Author Profile

GIVEAWAY

My Lady My Spy CR Giveaway Graphic










IndieSageBlogger

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

ARC/NetGalley Review: The Pretender (Soren Chase Series Book 2) by Rob Blackwell

Title: The Pretender (Soren Chase Series book 2)
Author: Rob Blackwell
Published: May 24, 2016
Pages: (Print) 317
Genre: Paranormal
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




A young girl slaughters her entire family in a quiet suburban neighborhood. The police say she snapped, but Soren Chase knows the truth. Having dedicated his life to hunting down the creature that murdered his best friend and left him framed for the crime eight years ago, Soren expertly recognizes the villain’s hallmarks in the young girl’s rampage: a pretender—a supernatural creature that can steal the identity and memories of its targets—has struck again.
Recently shattered by the realization that the monster he hunted for so long is far closer than he ever imagined, Soren needs to find a way to put the pieces back together if he wants to protect his remaining loved ones. To face this new threat, Soren must learn to cope with the past, forge an unlikely alliance, and battle an ancient foe with a sinister agenda that could kill millions.

Monday, May 23, 2016

Spotlight: A Secret Match by Kelli A. Wilkins

Spotlight on… A Secret Match
By Kelli A. Wilkins
Hi everyone,
Today I’m sharing an inside look at the making of my gay romance, A Secret Match.
It’s a sizzling contemporary novel set in the world of professional wrestling.

Before we get started, let me answer the question lots of folks may be asking: “Why
do you write gay romances? You’re not a man or gay.” I generally respond with: “Why shouldn’t I? I wrote a vampire romance, and I’ve never been a vampire.”

But seriously, I’m a writer. And as a writer, I write whatever story comes to me, whether it’s a contemporary, historical, paranormal, or gay romance. My romances are about people who meet, fall in love, and overcome obstacles to be with each other. This basic philosophy applies whether the characters are same-sex, different sex, or space alien and earth girl. Love is love and romance is romance. I’m not married to one specific genre or heat level. I go where the story and the characters take me.

So, how did A Secret Match come about? I’ve been a wrestling fan my whole life and A Secret Match is a follow-up (of sorts) to my other wrestling romance, A Deceptive Match. That book is about a straight couple (Vin and Danni) and Everett (the main character from A Secret Match) is a secondary character (and Vin’s best friend). 

I loved writing for Ev— he’s one of those characters who tries to run away with the book. I always thought that “one day” I’ll give him a story of his own, but I didn’t have a clue as to what the plot would be. I put thoughts of him aside and wrote other books. Then, one morning as I was driving to work, he popped into my head with a four-line book summary. Within an hour, I had the whole story in my head and I started writing the outline. 

A big part of the storyline centers around Everett dealing (or rather, not dealing) with his sexuality and his (un)willingness to be open about who he really is. Ev’s longtime partner, Josh, is tired of being kept in his “walk-in closet” and wants Ev to come out (at least to his friends and family) but Everett is concerned about losing his job. Will fans accept a gay wrestler? How will his boss react? Part of him wants to keep everything just as it is because that’s safe. But another part of him longs to stop hiding the truth. 

When I wrote the book, I focused on Ev’s anguish over being caught between two worlds: his job (where his wrestling persona is a horny womanizer) and his secret, private life with Josh. Everett can’t balance the two and worries about what the other wrestlers would think of him coming out.

As Ev tells Vin (while discussing the issue of gay athletes in sports): “… a gay baseball player doesn’t have the type of physical contact with other guys like we do. There are all sorts of issues—changing in the locker room, showering together… Can you imagine some of the things that would go through the guys’ heads when I tried to put a hold on them? You think they wouldn’t freak out when I touched them if they knew?”

Vin’s reply: “You won’t know if you never take the risk.”

And risk Ev does. After he comes out (twice, in fact—I loved writing those scenes!), he discovers a different side to himself, embraces who he is, and even faces down intolerant fans and homophobic coworkers. 

I enjoyed showing Everett on his journey of self-acceptance. He’s a bit of a cocky wise-ass, and he’s definitely a fun character to write for. I was glad to give Ev and Josh the happy-ever-after ending they rightly deserve (and some hot love scenes!), because no matter what, love is love, and that’s all that matters.

I hope you’ll check it out. It’s a fun blend of drama, humor, romance, and action that M/M romance fans will love. The summary and a tame excerpt are below.

Happy Reading!
Kelli



Everett Kinkade is a world-famous professional wrestler and the sexy heartthrob of millions of adoring female fans. But Ev has a secret he doesn’t dare share with anyone. He’s gay.

After years of being Ev’s secret lover, Josh is tired of hiding in the shadows and wants Ev to openly acknowledge their relationship. Coming out is the last thing Ev wants and fears it will ruin his career.

One night in a moment of truth, Everett outs himself on live TV. There’s no going back, and his announcement sparks a firestorm of problems—both personally and professionally. He’s forced to come to grips with who he really is while facing down a manipulative boss and a tag-team out to destroy him.

Torn between living a lie and losing the man he loves, Ev has risked everything… can he find a balance between his career and his heart?
Order your copy of A SECRET MATCH here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FERW65A

Don’t miss the book that introduced readers to Ev and Vin, 
A Deceptive Match.
Order your copy here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01F18X3XQ

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Guest Post: Mannah Pierce




Title: Cast Adrift
Author: Mannah Pierce
Published: May 8, 2015
Publisher: Clink Street Publishing
Buy Links for Cast Adrift and Foothold  
Link to author's page:
www.mannahpierce.com










I would like to thank Autumn for inviting me to post on her site. I have written an ‘omake’ – a short scene that is not included my novel Cast Adrift or its sequel Foothold but which features one the characters.

Tart by Mannah Pierce

Ean was helping Granny Mary make apple tarts. These days that meant Granny Mary sat in her rocking chair and issued instructions that Ean no longer needed. Ean was fine with that. It was difficult for Granny Mary since her eyesight been had become blurred by cataracts and her hands had been twisted by arthritis. The least he could do was be her eyes and hands to make the apple tarts that everyone at Madame Lucy’s so enjoyed.

He wished he could do more; get rid of her cataracts and buy her painkillers that worked better than willow bark tea. Neither was going to happen. On Nova Tremaine only the wealthy had access to operations and apothecaries. Granny Mary would become less and less mobile, less and less useful, until she was carried off by some infection or decided that her life was no longer worth living and overdosed on laudanum. Then she would be buried in the small orchard with Ean’s mother and all the others going back to Madame Lucy herself.

Ean hoped Granny Mary didn’t go senile, like Granny Una had. He did not think he could bear that. Granny Mary had always been so sharp. It had been Granny Mary who had insisted that his birth be registered and that he go to school, even though that had meant paying the registrar and finding the five pennies a day for the teacher.

At fourteen, Ean now knew that registering his birth had been critical. Babies like him, born out of wedlock, were never registered by the mother. They vanished. The luckiest babies were claimed by childless couples and passed off as their own children. Next best was being left at the orphanage. Then there were the men who bought children, even newborns; Ean shuddered to think what happened to those babies. Perhaps the women who hid their pregnancies, smothered their babies and buried them were better mothers than the ones who allowed their babies to be sold.

Ean knew that the couple who lived in the blue house over the hill had wanted him. He wished he didn’t, but once you knew something like that you couldn’t forget it. His mother had told him when she had taken too much laudanum. According to her, she had kept him because she had loved him too much to give him up.

The couple who lived in the blue house had three children. One was older than Ean and two younger. Once Ean’s mother had said what she had, Ean understood why none of the three looked in any way alike and why no one ever mentioned it.

He could have been one of those three. One, the boy, had gone onto the Lyceum. There was talk of him going further, of him going to University.

If his mother had given Ean to the couple in the blue house, Ean could have studied to be a teacher instead of being told that it was pointless him taking the entrance test for the Lyceum because bastards were excluded.

Ean chopped the apples, threw the chunks into the bowl of salted water and made himself listen to Amelia, Kate and Ann, who got up earlier than the other whores. On mornings like this, when Else, the cook, was at the market, they liked sitting in the kitchen with the grannies.

Usually Ean went to the market with Else to carry the bags. Today Else had told him to stay home. Ean had no idea why.

Amelia was talking about The Spacer, so it was well worth listening. They had never had a spacer as a john. Ean had never even heard of another spacer leaving the spacer quarter of the city. He had walked in the day before and politely asked if he could be with one of the ‘ladies’ for the afternoon. Madame Jan had given him the album but he hadn’t really looked at it. Instead he had said he wanted someone experienced, who was kind and willing to listen. Madame Jan had picked Amelia.

According to Amelia, The Spacer had taken a bus out of the city because he had wanted to combine visiting a ‘courtesan’ with walking where there were trees and grass. Ean tried to ignore all the details; Amelia liked talking about sex and had no inhibitions, which made her popular with the johns. In between, Ean learnt that The Spacer’s name was Vic and that he had been kind.

Ean had managed to get a glimpse of Vic the Spacer as he had left. He was the tallest man Ean had ever seen and broad across the shoulders, even for his height. He had walked really smoothly, in a weird way it had looked like he was dancing rather than walking.

“He said he would tell his crewmates about us and one of them might visit,” Amelia finished. She looked over at Ean, who had finished preparing the apples and was working on the crumb for the pastry. “Did you hear that, Ean?”

“I heard,” Ean confirmed. “I hope anyone who visits is as nice as Spacer Vic.”

Read Cast Adrift to learn more about Ean. Visit www.mannahpierce.com to learn more about my imaginary world of the far future where spacers trade between the stars.









Mannah Pierce has been building her imaginary interstellar world of the far future story by story for four decades. At the age of fifty she decided to try sharing it with readers online and then, five years later, spurred by the diagnosis of a life-limiting illness, she wrote and had published Cast Adrift, her first fiction book.



In the everyday world, Mannah Pierce was a scientist and teacher but now works for a charity. She has been married for over thirty years and, predictably, likes cats.



Read more about her journey as an author: http://www.mannahpierce.com/blog.html.


Review: Don't Say a Word (Stranger Series #3) by Jennifer Jaynes

26850073Title: Don't Say A Word (Stranger Series #3)
Author: Jennifer Jaynes
Published: May 3, 2016
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Pages: 258
Genre: Thriller, New Adult
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Death has always stalked single mother Allie Callahan. For the first time in her life, she has found a fragile sort of happiness living a quiet, peaceful existence in East Texas with her young son, Sammy, and her adoptive mother.
Still, Allie fears she may be susceptible to the same mental illness that destroyed her serial-killer mother and brother. She's haunted by the idea that she could become incapable of caring for Sammy.
When twelve-year-old twins Zoe and Carrie arrive on her doorstep late one night, their parents slain in a vicious double homicide, Allie’s strength and sanity are put to the test. What did the twins see on the night of their parents’ horrific murder? They are too frightened to say.
Soon faced with a series of menacing phone calls, a rising body count, and the pressure of keeping the girls and her own son safe, Allie fears she'll lose her mind—and her one shot at happiness—once and for all.

Review: Forever Road by Catie Rhodes

28665136Title: Forever Road
Author: Catie Rhodes
Published: April 2, 2013
Publisher: Long Roads and Dark Ends
Pages: 396
Genre: Ghost, Mystery
Review: ebook which is free on Amazon right now
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Peri Jean Mace’s knack for seeing ghosts made growing up in her rural East Texas hometown a living hell. Now an adult with her own business, she thinks she’s finally got things under control.

But the murder of Peri Jean’s trailer trash cousin, Rae, forces Peri Jean to face long buried issues. She owes her cousin a favor from beyond the grave and must solve her murder. The more Peri Jean pokes around, the more she realizes everyone in Gaslight City has something to hide.

Uncovering the wrong secret will send Peri Jean straight into the arms of a killer.

Saturday, May 21, 2016

#PBwkendread: Awake by Melanie Surani


So the book I picked was Awake by Melanie Surani I actually won this book in a giveaway. I haven't heard about this author but I can honestly say I read the back of the book where it tells you what the author is about and I literally fell over laughing. Because it says "When she isn’t cutting hair, Melanie is thinking about ways to kill people (for mystery novels)."  This is my kind of author. :) 
What are you reading this weekend?



25492880In author Melanie Surani’s edgy thriller novel, opera singer Joshua Gray wakes in an eerie art museum exhibit. He comes to believe he’s been kidnapped and abandoned. And he isn’t the only one…

As Josh and four others struggle to piece together their new reality, they discover the museum’s main building has been razed and the place is boarded with no obvious exit. Who left them in the museum and why? How can they escape? The only link that binds them together is a mysterious woman named Blair, who they each encountered before blacking out. Josh unexpectedly finds himself drawn to one of the other captives, a long-time fan named Sophia. Their attraction plunges the group into a dark pool of suspicion. When allegiances shift and pieces connect, the strangers are forced to reassess their situation. Is the real danger inside or outside of the museum?

Suspenseful, romantic and filled with drama, Awake will keep you up all night.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

ARC Review: Stealing Light by Julie Cassar

27386698Title: Stealing Light
Author: Julie Cassar
Published: May 18, 2016
Genre: Paranormal
Review: ARC ecopy provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


"Tonight, everything could change. I wasn’t ready to let go of anyone just yet."

If you could change what you know is coming, would you? Cecelia Walker discovers an amazing ability deep within herself that gives her the power to change the future. When mysterious outsiders enter her life, she begins to question everything and everyone she once knew.

Years earlier, CeeCee’s life changed forever the day her parents were killed in a horrific car accident. Suddenly extraordinary people and bizarre events began to seep into her very small world. Surviving for years on her addiction to coffee and running, life suddenly deals her a game-changing wildcard and all bets are off. Her magnificent Gift of Light awakens a tremendous dark power wanting to steal what is hers.

Will Cecelia be able to change what she’s seen and set a new course? Has she met her otherworldly match against evil and found her true soul mate? Or, is nothing as it seems as the power of darkness threatens to consume her and those she loves.

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

NetGalley Review: Nirvana (Nirvana #1) by J.R. Stewart

26164334Title: Nirvana
Author: J.R. Stewart
Published: Nov. 10, 2015
Publisher: Blue Moon Publishers
Pages: 201
Genre: Sci-Fi, YA
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



When the real world is emptied of all that you love, how can you keep yourself from dependence on the virtual?
Animal activist and punk rock star Larissa Kenders lives in a dystopian world where the real and the virtual intermingle. After the disappearance of her soulmate, Andrew, Kenders finds solace by escaping to Nirvana, a virtual world controlled by Hexagon. In Nirvana, anyone’s deepest desires may be realized - even visits with Andrew.
Although Kenders knows that this version of Andrew is virtual, when he asks for her assistance revealing Hexagon’s dark secret, she cannot help but comply. Soon after, Kenders and her closest allies find themselves in a battle with Hexagon, the very institution they have been taught to trust. After uncovering much more than she expected, Kenders’ biggest challenge is determining what is real – and what is virtual.
Nirvana is a fast-paced, page-turning young adult novel combining elements of science fiction, mystery, and romance. Part of a trilogy, this book introduces readers to a young woman who refuses to give up on the man she loves, even if it means taking on an entire government to do so.