Thursday, March 31, 2016

#PBwkendread review: Women in Red by Jordan E. Rosenfeld

25840536Title: Women in Ref
Author: Jordan Rosenfeld
Published: June 29, 2015
Publisher: Booktrope
Pages: 290
Review: paperback won
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Dead-broke single mother Stella Russo, daughter of a world-class prima ballerina, has nearly given up on her own professional aspirations—much less true love—when a dazzling impromptu stunt by a mysterious troupe reminds her just how empowering performing onstage can be. Convincing herself that a dependable gig with such a company just might be the ticket to a better life for her musical-prodigy daughter and now-invalid mother, Stella takes a giant jeté of faith and joins up. But when she lands in the clutches of an enigmatic and demanding impresario bent on making her his star at any cost, has she risked too much? As Stella untwists the troupe’s troubling secrets, she becomes entangled in turns she could never imagine—and is forced to face her own past as well. Women in Red draws readers into the dark, dangerous, and dramatically sexy underworld of the dance—but also into the longing of every living, breathing being for a family of one’s own.

NetGalley review: No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

26039032Title: No One Knows
Author: J.T. Ellison
Published: March 22, 2016
Publisher: Gallery Books
Pages: 384
Genre: Mystery
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train andThe Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.
The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?
In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

Spreading Some Love Indie Blog Hop 2016




So this is my first time ever to be part of a blog hop. I have entered into them but never once joined in on the fun to spread the word. Below are a few indie authors that I have either had the pleasure of reading their work or I have heard of their book/s and so I want to share it with you. I also asked if some authors would like me to showcase their work and they agreed. So I hope below you find a new author or maybe a favorite author and you can pick up their work. Just click on the links either Amazon or Goodreads and you will be taken to the book. 
A Huge Thank you goes out to b00k r3vi3ws for hosting this blog hop.





Tuesday, March 29, 2016

#PBwkendread: Women in Red by Jordan Rosenfeld
















25840536
Dead-broke single mother Stella Russo, daughter of a world-class prima ballerina, has nearly given up on her own professional aspirations—much less true love—when a dazzling impromptu stunt by a mysterious troupe reminds her just how empowering performing onstage can be. Convincing herself that a dependable gig with such a company just might be the ticket to a better life for her musical-prodigy daughter and now-invalid mother, Stella takes a giant jeté of faith and joins up. But when she lands in the clutches of an enigmatic and demanding impresario bent on making her his star at any cost, has she risked too much? As Stella untwists the troupe’s troubling secrets, she becomes entangled in turns she could never imagine—and is forced to face her own past as well. Women in Red draws readers into the dark, dangerous, and dramatically sexy underworld of the dance—but also into the longing of every living, breathing being for a family of one’s own.

Weekly Round-up Deja Revu






Déjà Revu is a weekly review round-up that is open to all book review blogs.





'
$15 Gift Card - Ends: March 31, 2016
Ebook Meddling with Murder - Ends: April 3, 2016





Action/Adventure


Just Like Me by Nancy J. Cavanaugh - Shy @ vs. The Writer
General

Blackbird Fly by Erin Entrada Kelly - Sofia @ Platypire Reviews

 
Contemporary
Dead Girl by Tessa Marie - Lenoreo @Celebrity Readers
Fantasy
Satyr Wars by Becca Bates - Felita @ LilacReviews
General
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon - J. Hooligan @ Platypire Reviews Lemons by J. Andersen - J. Hooligan @ Platypire Reviews
Horror
Can You Keep A Secret by R.L. Stine - Alisha @ The Bohemian Housewife
Romance
Back of Beyond by Neeny Boucher - Sofia @ Platypire Reviews Get Lucky by Ali Dean, Kristen Kehoe, Cassie Mae, Tessa Marie, Kelly Oram and Ginger Scott - Lenoreo @Celebrity Readers Crazy, Stupid, Fauxmance by Shellee Roberts - Lenoreo @Celebrity Readers



Contemporary
Confess by Colleen Hoover - J. Hooligan @ Platypire Reviews
Romance
All Broke Down by Cora Carmack - Sofia @ Platypire Reviews One To Take by Tia Louise - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings


Horror
Attrition of the Gods by P.G. Burns - Bob @ Platypire Reviews
Mystery
Without Trace by Simon Booker - Autumn @Fallen Over Book Reviews
Paranormal
Squirrel Bait by Chip Davis - Alisha @ The Bohemian Housewife

Romance
All They Ever Wanted by Tracy Solheim - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings Jackson's Trust by Violet Duke - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings Love So Unexpected by Marquita Valentine - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings Table for Two by Jeannette Winters - Shy @ vs. The Writer
Suspense/Thriller
CrossOver by Paul Proffet - Bob @ Platypire Reviews End Time by Daniel Greene - Bob @ Platypire Reviews Apostle by Lacey Crowe - Autumn @Fallen Over Book Reviews
Woman's Fiction
Porn Money and Wannabe Mummy by Laura Barnard - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings The Friends We Keep by Susan Mallery - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings



Romance

Him by Sarina Bowen and Ella Kennedy - Curly Carla@CelebrityReaders Black Widow by Lauren Runow - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings Quick and Dirty Box Set by Clare James - Empress DJ @ Books and Bindings

Deceptive Outlaw by Dawn White

28331692Title: Deceptive Outlaw
Author: Dawn White
Publisher: Raven's Seduction Press
Published: Oct. 23, 2015
Pages: 428
Genre: Romance/MC
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Rebecca is a beautiful ATF agent, sent undercover to bring down an outlaw biker gang. Unfortunately for her, Gavin makes it almost impossible to think about anything but his dreamy body. Rebecca solves the case, and accidentally falls in love with the Outlaw biker president of the Sinister Sons Syndicate, and goes on another scary adventure. Will Rebecca survive the new mission, or will this be her last? Rebecca takes another dangerous mission, this time in California. Rebecca becomes reckless and the outcome won't leave her unscathed. Will Rebecca's bad boy biker Gavin be reunited, or will she be alone forever?

Monday, March 28, 2016

Blog Tour: False Start The Mavericks Series by Julianna Marley






Cover Designer: Shanoff Formats
Genre: Contemporary Sports Romance
Release Day: March 22, 2016
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk  
 



Alivia Monaghan had it all: a successful business, happy children, and her husband Jax Monaghan, the love of her life. Until the day Jax made a choice that altered their lives and crushed Alivia harder than a quarterback sack.
Football hero Jax Monaghan hadn’t had it easy in life. Despite his thriving football career he always destroyed everything beautiful he’s ever had. That was until he met his wife, Alivia, who had taught him what love and family was all about. But when he watches his wife fall apart due to his decisions, he’s reminded just what he is capable of – and he makes what he thinks is the ultimate sacrifice. Walking away.
When Jax returns home in order to be closer to his children, he can’t help but want to be closer with Alivia again as well. But the brutal reality of his choices keep knocking him back to the starting line. As the past threatens them further apart, Jax and Alivia are forced to line up together and play for the same team. Had their entire marriage been a trick play? Or was it simply just a false start into their happily ever after?


Julianna Marley is fairly certain that she was born on the wrong side of the Mason-Dixon line. She’s in constant search of warmth, sunshine and water. When not writing about all the places she yearns to be, she can be found enjoying obnoxious amounts of coffee and getting bossed around by a four year-old. Julianna loves romance, humor and football.


Connect with the Author:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Julianna-Marley-Author-1042475619116134/?fref=ts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/julianna_marley
GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14833785.Julianna_Marley



Sunday, March 27, 2016

NetGalley Review: Without Trace: An edge of your seat psychological thriller (A Morgan Vine Thriller) by Simon Booker

28789805Title: Without Trace
Author: Simon Booker
Publisher: Bonnier Publishing
Published: Jan. 28, 2016
Pages: 320
Genre: Murder, mystery
Review: ebook provided by publisher and NetGalley
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




For four long years, journalist Morgan Vine has campaigned for the release of her childhood sweetheart Danny Kilcannon - convicted, on dubious evidence, of murdering his 14 year-old stepdaughter.
When a key witness recants, Danny is released from prison. With nowhere else to go, he relies on single mum Morgan and her teenage daughter, Lissa.
But then Lissa goes missing.
With her own child now at risk, Morgan must re-think all she knows about her old flame - 'the one that got away'. As the media storm around the mysterious disappearance intensifies and shocking revelations emerge, she is forced to confront the ultimate question: who can we trust...?
Introducing Morgan Vine, Without Trace is Simon Booker's debut thriller.

Review: Apostle by Lacey Crowe

24663435
Title: Apostle
Author: Lacey Crowe
Published: Oct. 31, 2014
Publisher: Solstice Publishing
Pages: 406
Genre: Serial killers, adult
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk





Benji is plagued with an insatiable need to kill. By artistically displaying the corpses of his victims, he relishes in the belief he is immortalizing them while he feeds his inner monster. But the life of a serial killer is a lonely one, and sixteen-year-old drifter Beth has sparked in him a desire to fulfill the role of pernicious mentor. Benji teaches Beth to harness the thrill of human fear, to dominate, and to kill. As their partnership grows into a profound friendship, spanning three years, Beth begins to desire a deeper connection with the inept sociopath. The fantasy of romance seemingly one-sided, heartbroken Beth goes rogue. Set in Ontario in the early 1970s, when feminists, hippies and environmentalists swarmed; when peace was at the forefront and trust in a fellow stranger was normal, Beth has no idea how much danger she is in.

Forced into a karmic situation, the story becomes one of consequence, repentance and self-realization.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Release Day Blitz: Lie To Me by Gracen Miller







Lie to Me by Gracen Miller

NA Dystopian Romance










In the 23rd century, war has ravaged the planet.
A biological weapon has decimated the population, and those who remain have been driven to desperate measures to survive. Over the course of a century, evolution delivers an answer — the Xeno gene, which provides its bearers with immunity to disease. All adolescent girls are tested for the X-gene, and carriers are obligated to bear children for the good of the human race.

The promise of salvation comes at a terrible price.

Stone Emmerson, heir to a position of supreme power, is surprised to learn his best friend Kella is an X-gene carrier. He’s quick to claim her as his own, but as a mere servant, Kella can’t help but doubt his motives. Before he can offer the protection of his name, she escapes his household. Mourning her loss, Stone becomes a black sheep among his peers by focusing on the welfare of his people.


While survival and freedom hang in the balance…

Starting over under an assumed name, Kella is a founding member of the X-Diplomats, a radical group dedicated to stopping enforced X-gene testing and promoting equal rights for commoners. Years pass before she crosses paths with Stone again. As the web of deceit that has come between them unravels, their love begins to grow. But can Stone turn a blind eye to Kella’s violent revolution and see the justice of her cause? Or will their differences prove too great to overcome?

What price would you pay to break the chains of oppression?

Buy Links:

http://www.amazon.com/Lie-Me-Gracen-Miller-ebook/dp/B01CYITYN4



Gracen is a hopeless daydreamer masquerading as a “normal” person in southern society. When not writing, she’s a full-time basketball/football/guitar mom for her two sons and a devoted wife to her real-life hero-husband. She’s addicted to writing, paranormal romance novels, movies, Alabama football and coffee…addictions are not necessarily in order of priority. She’s convinced coffee is nectar from the gods and blending coffee and writing together generates the perfect creative merger. Many of her creative worlds are spawned from coffee highs. To learn more about Gracen and her writing or to leave her a comment, visit her at the following sites:

www.gracen-miller.com


https://www.facebook.com/Author-Gracen-Miller-112564408814796/timeline

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Blog Tour: Dangerous Therapy by Rhonda Brewer



Dangerous Therapy
by Rhonda Brewer
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Suspense




Officer John O’Connor is giving up on life after a terrible accident. His family are at their wits end when he refuses any kind of therapy. The only thing keeping him sane is his dreams of a beautiful woman he pulled in for a traffic violation months before.

Physical Therapist Stephanie Kelly is healing from a broken heart. When she is hired by Nightingale’s personal care and physical therapy, she’s ecstatic but she's shocked when her boss asks her to take on a new patient. Shocked because the patient is her boss's nephew and he’s not exactly keen on therapy. He’s also the cop who's been heating up her dreams.

As Stephanie helps John get back on his feet, they grow closer, but someone is out to hurt Stephanie, or worse. After multiple attempts on her life, John’s family tries to figure out who’s after the woman he loves and stop them before it’s too late.
10 Fun facts!

  1. I’m an only child but always wished I had lots of brothers and sisters. It’s why I enjoy writing stories about siblings.
  2. The character of Nanny Betty is loosely based on my own late grandmother. She was a fire cracker but she was from a different part of the province.
  3. My great grandfather worked with Guglielmo Marconi when he sent the first transatlantic message from Signal Hill in St. John’s, Newfoundland on December 12,1901. He was hired because he was so tall and was better to hold the kites.

  1. I’ve had most of the books in this series written for about 5 years but never had the courage to try to publish them until now.
  2. I spent almost 30 years of my life on and off with cadets both as a cadet and then as an officer teaching kids from 9 to 13.
  3. I learned to play the piano when I was in elementary school and took lessons up until high school but hated them because I was taught by a catholic nun who liked to rap fingers with a ruler.
  4. Hopedale is actually a fictional town but it is like many small towns in Newfoundland. Everyone knows everyone else and the communities are close knit.
  5. My husband and I are caretakers for his 48-year-old sister who has William Syndrome. It’s a developmental disability much like downs syndrome in that all the people have the same features.
  6. I have been with my husband since I was 17. I literally married the boy next door.
  7. Newfoundland has no crickets, porcupines, skunks, snakes or deer. We do, however, have a whole lot of moose…over 100,000. They were introduced over 100 years ago


I was born and raised in St. John’s, Newfoundland. I’ve been with my husband for over thirty years and we have two children.
I'm also a writer. Someone who loves to tell stories of love, suspense, heartache and of course happily ever after. For most of my life, I've written those stories for myself. A type of therapy, I suppose. I love the characters I create. They become part of who I am because there's part of me in them.
Media Links
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rhondabrewerauthor/?ref=aymt_homepage_panelTwitter: https://twitter.com/rhondabrewer67Author web page: http://rhondabrewerauthor.wix.com/home





Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Cover Reveal: The Dating Game by Lavinia Urban







The Dating Game by Lavinia Urban

Coming this April.


Preoder links: Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01D549FGWAmazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01D549FGW
The Dating Game is the first book in a brand new series.
This series is a New Adult RomCom, and it is definitely NOT for children.






As a best-selling author Rita Davies has the world at her feet, but there is one thing missing.
All Rita wants is a man and she is determined to go to great lengths to find one. Even if that includes auctioning herself off at a charity fundraiser.
The only single one in her group, Rita is desperate for a plus one so she can Netflix and chill with because her tubs of ice cream just aren’t doing it for her no more.
Rita is quirky, flirty and, at times, downright dirty.
Follow Rita on her dating journey then decide which path she should take.




Excerpt






Do you want to know a secret?

As a reader you will be given a choice. To find out more then pick up the book and tell Lavinia your thoughts. J