Sunday, February 28, 2016

Review: Either Side of Midnight (The Midnight Saga #1) by Tori de Clare

18716835Title: Either Side of Midnight
Author: Tori de Clare
Publisher: Self
Published: Jan. 25, 2014
Pages: 363
Genre:  Mystery
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon. Amazon.uk 


WHAT IF THE BEST DAY OF YOUR LIFE TURNED INTO YOUR WORST NIGHTMARE?
When nineteen-year-old Naomi Stone is snatched from her husband at knifepoint on the night of their wedding and taken to a deserted cemetery, she knows her life is finished. Drugged and disorientated, she loses consciousness as she lies in an open grave with a gun to her head. But the following day, she mysteriously awakes to find herself unharmed and secured to a bed. She's in a beautiful bedroom in a secluded cottage in open countryside. Only one person knows she’s there – the man in the balaclava who’s holding her, feeding her, revealing nothing. Naomi senses the unfolding of a plan. She should be on honeymoon in the Caribbean. Instead, she’s trapped with an emotionless psycho with no hope of escape . . . And his voice is chillingly familiar.
Who is he? What does he want? What's happened to her husband? Where is she? Will anyone find her before it's too late?

#PBwekendread Review: Hell's Phoenix (The Road to Hell #2) by Gracen Miller

15896611Title: Hell's Phoenix (The Road to Hell #2)
Author: Gracen Miller
Published: June 1, 2012
Publisher: Decadent Publishing Company
Pages: 368
Genre: Paranormal
Review: Paperback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


****First book in the series, Pandora's Box, is a MUST read or you will be terribly confused!!!!****
Hell’s become more than just a playground for the wicked…
Going to Hell was supposed to save Madison, but knowing she’s dead because of his failure leaves Nix with only one thing to live for. Revenge. With Micah’s help he learns to use his Messianic power. Anything for Mads has become his mantra, even if it means killing innocents to gather the power he needs to succeed. A tsunami he unleashes on a Gulf Coast city is stopped with magical interference, and Nix is more than surprised to feel Madison in the opposing magic. Can he and Micah set a trap to lure her out?
Pandora’s Box…once you open it, there’s no turning back!
Madison has done the unthinkable, opened Pandora’s Box to save Nix from Hell. And failed. She’s willing to risk her own life to rescue Nix, but she worries about the welfare of her accomplice in the mission and leaving her son behind. Following up on a lead, she’s ambushed by Nix and Micah. Shocked and hurt to discover Nix has become a willing participant of Hell, she’s more certain than ever she won’t escape the demonic fate her husband outlined for her. While in Hell, she discovers denying the emergence of her succubus is futile, which means getting Nix out of Hell after embracing her inner demon just became a very real dilemma…

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY: Duck by MariaLisa deMora




Reuben Nelms has worked hard all his life. First to escape the West Texas town where he grew up, then to negate the legacy of his family. One of his worst regrets was failing to protect a young woman from evil dealt by his blood brother. For years afterwards, he watched and protected her from the shadows, most comfortable in that faceless role.

Now known by his road name, Duck feels he’s finally found redemption in watching that woman blossom and grow, sheltered by her association with his brothers by choice, the Rebel Wayfarers motorcycle club. Things were settled, predictable, until a desperate call from home sets him scrambling and he is back front and center, home again in West Texas, finding himself confronted daily with reminders of his horrific family heritage.

Treading alongside the remembered fear and regret surrounding him walks a temptation, Brenda Calloway, the hometown woman he left behind. The efficient business manager of the cattle company he inherited from his father, his childhood friend is now a widow. More beautiful than ever, she’s a single parent with a secret, unaware of the power she still wields over Reuben’s heart.

Will their second chance love be able to take root and grow in the dry deserts of West Texas? Can Duck put aside the man he’s become, sloughing off the brotherhood and leaving that behind to become Reuben again, or will he be able to pick up the pieces of his teenage love and still continue his life in Chicago as a member of the Rebel Wayfarers MC?

“Everyone has three lives: a public life, a private life, and a secret life.” – Gabriel Garcia Marquez


Add to Goodreads

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Spotlight: Dark Devotion by Lauren Dawes








Title: Dark Devotion
Author: Lauren Dawes
Series: Dark Series #3
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Momentum (Pan Macmillan)
Release Date: Feb 25 2016
Edition/Formats: eBook

The time of Odin is over. The Aesir gods now live among the humans in their bustling modern cities. Their brutal dominion over the other gods and their eradication of the entire dark elf race may have ended, but their actions have not been forgotten.
Beneath Rhys's skin lies a legendary and feared beast. Rhys is tormented by his daily struggle to contain the ruthless, cold-blooded creature sharing his body. But when his best friend Galen disappears, Rhys's careful restraint and self-control are finally broken. Fueled with a desire to find Galen, Rhys strikes an unlikely alliance with the only god who knows the truth about his dark past.
Taer has found her revenge, yet she's still not happy. There's something missing from her life, but still she fights what her heart is telling her. It's only when the incredibly infuriating and dangerously sexy Aubrey goes missing that she can admit her true feelings for him. Taer's racing against time to rescue Aubrey, but when will she finally allow him into her heart?
Featuring myth's original antagonist, Loki, Dark Devotion is perfect for fans of Gina Showalter and Patricia Briggs.
Book Links


Taer was up in Raven, the nightclub on the second floor of the Eye. Bryn had asked her to work a few hours up there before coming back downstairs later on in the evening. Working the bar beside her was a guy called Dex who was shamelessly flirting with her. He had piercings through his nose and eyebrow, two through his lip, and countless others in his ears. He also had his septum pierced. Taer had watched the women flock to him, all blatantly leaning over the bar just to make their breasts spill out of their low-cut dresses and tops.
She shook her head at the stupidity of the female species and got busy making the next drink order. As she worked, she thought about the other night. Going to see Aubrey hadn’t been a good idea, but she’d had to tell him, face-to-face, what had happened with her and Darrion. Aubrey was the one who had trained her to fight. It was because of him that she had survived.
And it was because of him that she felt her resolve not to get involved with him lessen every time she saw him. She’d been so very close to giving in when he came to stand behind her in his kitchen, but she was afraid. Once Aubrey had gotten what he wanted from her, he would simply disappear.
Stop thinking about him,” she chastised quietly under her breath. A familiar scent filled her nostrils and she looked up. Her eyes found Aubrey even through the crowd and the near darkness. It had been less than forty-eight hours since she’d last seen him, but her heart stuttered and her stomach clenched. Shaking her head, she refocused on the customer in front of her.
That’ll be twenty-five,” she said.
The guy slapped a fifty on the bar and smiled. “Keep it.”
She returned the gesture only because she’d learned that if she smiled more, she got bigger tips. “Thanks.” She dragged the bill toward her, her breath catching when Aubrey approached the bar.
Winter Fox,” he said with a wry smile.
Taer’s eyes drifted down his body. Damn, he looked good. He was in a black suit and shirt with a dark gray tie at his throat. Her whole body gave a little shudder and she sucked in a sharp breath. If this was how she reacted without any physical contact, she could only imagine how good it would be when she allowed him to touch her intimately.
Aubrey,” she said. “What are you doing here?”
He glanced from her to the customer she was serving, then back at her. For a moment there, it seemed as if jealousy had flared in his eyes. “I came looking for you,” he replied smoothly.
You found me,” she said.
From the corner of her eye, Taer could see Dex watching them. After telling his customer to wait a minute, Dex approached Taer and wrapped his arm around her waist. “Is everything all right, Tay?” he asked.
A small growl came from Aubrey.
Pulling Dex’s arm away, Taer said, “Fine.”
Dex shrugged off the snub casually. “Who is this guy?” He jerked his chin in Aubrey's direction.
I’m the only man allowed to touch her like that,” Aubrey hissed, his pale eyes darkening with rage.
Oh, fuck. She had to diffuse the situation, and quickly. “He’s my boyfriend, Dex,” Taer blurted out. Seeing the smug smile on Aubrey’s lips, she pulled on her apron strings, wadded up the fabric and stowed it under the bar. “I need a minute.”
Shooting Aubrey a look, she walked to the end of the bar and stepped out from behind it. She watched the light elf saunter in her direction, a definite swagger in his step.
Boyfriend, huh? Soon-to-be lover would have been a more accurate description.”
Taer brushed off his comment with a huff. “Dex wasn’t going to leave any other way.” Crossing her arms over her chest, she said, “What are you really doing here, Aubrey?”
He studied her, seemingly drinking in every one of her features. “Where can I get you alone?”
She bit her bottom lip then sucked it into her mouth. “I’m working.”
Take a break.” Aubrey placed both hands on her waist and dragged her body into his hips. Their faces were mere inches away and for a few seconds, Taer actually let him hold her that way. Those few seconds were enough for him to show her just how much he wanted her. Taer looked down at their bodies closely pressed together. Gods, she wanted him too. All this time, she’d been telling herself it wasn’t true, but she’d been lying.
And just like that, her resolve crumbled.


Born in South Africa and raised in Sydney, Lauren Dawes is an urban fantasy/paranormal romance writer and the author of the Dark Series.
In 2009, she quit her full-time job teaching English as a Second Language to finally begin writing "that book", letting her over-active imagination pour out onto the digital pages, much to everyone's horror. The catch phrase "I didn't know you had such a dark imagination" only fueled her to write more, where her love for Norse mythology and gods finally got the spotlight.
She currently lives with her husband and daughter in whatever city they happen to be posted to, and her cat, Oscar, who has inspired more than one character quirk or scene in her books.
To find out more, visit www.authorlaurendawes.com




Author Links
Other Works by Lauren
The Dark Series
Half Blood Series

Half Cast ~ Coming Soon

Monday, February 22, 2016

Cover Reveal: Forgiving Nancy by Muriel Garcia












Book - Forgiving Nancy, book five in the last hangman MC Series

Author - Muriel Garcia

Photographer - Eric Battershell

Model - Robert Simmons

Cover Reveal - 22nd February

Release Date - March 22
Hosted by Hooked on books  & Cherry0Blossom Promotions


One man.

One woman.

A past full of lies.

***
That girl, that special girl. The clich├ęd ‘One Who Got Away’ except she didn’t get away. She was stolen from me.

We started off as neighbours but quickly turned into something more. In what felt like a blink of an eye, I found myself in love and then boom. She was gone.

After that, my life went down a dark and lonely trail. I joined the club my parents ran from and kept my heart shut off from everyone, never entertaining the thought of a relationship. If I couldn’t have her, I didn’t want anyone.

I’ve been in love and have been loved but all too soon it was stolen from me. More accurately, I was stolen from it and my life hasn’t been the same since.

To an outsider, I had it all: money, nice house, friends, anything a seventeen-year-old could want, but inside I was dying. I hated my life with my parents until him and I hate the life I’m forced to live now but I just can’t bring myself to end it. Not if there is a possibility that he is out there and that one day I might have the chance to see him again.

What happens when Nancy and Bennett are reunited once again?
Will Nancy’s past ruin the still present chemistry between them or is it already too late?

Will Bennett be able to see past her secret and find a way to forgive Nancy?

The Last Hangman MC Series





Saving Ayden (Last Hangman MC #1)           




Ayden and Anthony have been best friends forever. They did everything together and grew up around The Last Hangman MC. They've stuck together through the good and the bad, realizing that what they feel for each other is so much more than friendship. They confess their feelings and start dating but their happiness is short lived. 


Ayden's life is changed in an instant...One minute she thinks everything is perfect, that she found her happily ever after and the next minute her whole world comes crashing down, forcing her to leave New Orleans. 

She starts a new life in New York but realize it's not enough. She needs to go back to her roots, even if it means going back where the MC is. 


Anthony let Ayden leave six years ago. 

He's always regretted it and seeing her again confirms how much he wants her and needs her in his life. 
He'll do all he can to have Ayden back and get the truth about why she took off years ago. 

What happens when her past catches up with her and starts messing with her life again? 

Will she give into the fear of what took place that night might occur again? Or will she trust Anthony and let him help her get through it? 

What happens when she finds out who is behind all the bad things she went through in the past? Will she be strong enough to handle the truth? Or will it destroy her beyond repair? 


***This book contains adult material intended for mature readers only***





(New price 99$/£)



Teaching Aleck (Last Hangman MC #2)

                                          



Aleck Sanford had everything growing up, absolutely everything, except for the one thing he and his sister desired the most: the love of their parents. After many years of emotional neglect, Aleck only understood the love between siblings, his parents certainly didn’t love them or even each other. 



How do you pick yourself up when everything around you falls apart? When the only person to love you has to leave?




Review: Nights Embrace (Others of Seattle #1) by Brandy L. Rivers

21848497Title:  Nights Embrace (Others of Seattle #1)
Author: Brandy L. Rivers
Published: March 30, 2014
Publisher: Self
Pages: 343
Genre: Paranormal
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



18+

It all started with a song.

Roxana Nights was late to another gig, thanks to her first love, and drummer. It’s been years since she left Jordan, but he won’t let her go. Then she hears a voice that pulls her under a spell and changes her whole world.

Trevor Malone just moved to Seattle with his band. Music is his only passion, until he lays eyes on Roxana. He’s never felt anything as strong as the pull to her. Now he needs to find a way to introduce her to his world.

There’s only one problem. A rival clan won’t rest until they’ve taken Trevor’s down. Unwilling to let old grudges die, they target Roxy. Trevor will do anything to keep her safe.

Roxy learns that the world she writes is closer to reality than she ever imagined, and that not all monsters are evil, though some are ruthless.

Will love stay strong when the past comes out? Can they survive the centuries old vendetta?

ARC Review: A Painful Truth (An Affair With Murder #2) by Brian Spangler

29236671Title: A Painful Truth (An Affair With Murder #2)
Author: Brian Spangler
Date to be published: March 29, 2016
Publisher: Kindle Press
Pages:410
Genre: Murder, Mystery
Review: ebook provided by author

Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


A Painful Truth -- A New Crime Thriller
Book 2 of the series: An Affair With Murder
Murder.
I'm obsessed.

But I'm not dangerous, not like other murderers. You see, I only kill those who won't be missed--I know it's an odd sense of justice, but it works for me. I'm a mother, a homemaker, and a serial killer, just not necessarily in that order. No lies, it's tough juggling my serial killer ways and my homelife. But life is good. Scratch that. Life is great. I'm living the best of both worlds.

When I'm not looking after my family, I'm lurking, watching and researching deep web links that turn me on to new cases and help me choose my next target. But I was playing in a dangerous world. And I chose not to see the dangers waiting for me. Yet I wasn't alone and should have been more careful. Someone was watching me.

In book two of the technothriller series, An Affair with Murder, Amy and her partner are successful killers for hire, passionately righting the wrongs of the past through vigilante justice. The Darknet is where Amy finds her targets, where she hunts to feed her serial killer desires, but it's not long before the hunter becomes the hunted and Amy must kill to stay alive in this thrilling sequel to book one, Killing Katie.

Release Day: Beautiful Masterpiece by Gen Ryan



  $1.99 SALE LIMITED TIME ONLY  


Title: Beautiful Masterpiece
Author: Gen Ryan
Series: Thin Red Lines/ Book 1
Genre: Romantic Suspense, Thriller, Crime
Designer: Claire Smith
Release Date: February 20th
Unconditional love and unredeemable souls, not everyone can be saved.

Madison Harper is no stranger to monsters. 

After surviving an unimaginable childhood, she fights her past every day and dreams of working for the FBI to protect the innocent from monsters like her own father. Her plans are clear: finish her PhD, then join the next class of trainees. 

Her father’s escape fast forwards her plans. 

The two agents assigned to protect and instruct Madison offer her so much more than she ever expected. They teach her about love and pain, trust and loss. But not everyone can or should be saved. 

Will Madison avoid being her father’s last Beautiful Masterpiece?
Amazon USUKCAAU 
iTunesNookKobo

Friday, February 19, 2016

#PBwkendread Review: Ten Plagues by Mary Nealy

10082024Title: Ten Plagues
Author: Mary Nealy
Published: Oct. 1, 2011
Publisher: Barbour Books
Pages: 352
Review: paperback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Join the breakneck chase through Chicago for a murderous maniac. As the victims begin piling up, detective Keren Collins’s spiritual discernment is on high alert. Will she capture the killer before another body floats to the surface? Ex-cop, now mission pastor Paul Morris has seen his share of tragedy, but nothing prepared him to be a murderer’s messenger boy. Will his old ruthless cop personality take over, leading him to the brink of self-destruction? Can Keren and Paul catch the killer before the corpse count reaches a perfect ten?

#PBwkendread Hell's Phoenix by Gracen Miller

video


This weekend read is Hell's Phoenix by Gracen Miller. This is book two in her Road to Hell Series and I have to say the first book was amazing. I just hope I remember what happened in book one as the last time I read it was in 2012. So we shall see. 


15896611
****First book in the series, Pandora's Box, is a MUST read or you will be terribly confused!!!!****
Hell’s become more than just a playground for the wicked…
Going to Hell was supposed to save Madison, but knowing she’s dead because of his failure leaves Nix with only one thing to live for. Revenge. With Micah’s help he learns to use his Messianic power. Anything for Mads has become his mantra, even if it means killing innocents to gather the power he needs to succeed. A tsunami he unleashes on a Gulf Coast city is stopped with magical interference, and Nix is more than surprised to feel Madison in the opposing magic. Can he and Micah set a trap to lure her out?
Pandora’s Box…once you open it, there’s no turning back!
Madison has done the unthinkable, opened Pandora’s Box to save Nix from Hell. And failed. She’s willing to risk her own life to rescue Nix, but she worries about the welfare of her accomplice in the mission and leaving her son behind. Following up on a lead, she’s ambushed by Nix and Micah. Shocked and hurt to discover Nix has become a willing participant of Hell, she’s more certain than ever she won’t escape the demonic fate her husband outlined for her. While in Hell, she discovers denying the emergence of her succubus is futile, which means getting Nix out of Hell after embracing her inner demon just became a very real dilemma…

#PBwkendread

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Book Spotlight: Debt by Rachel Dunning


99c Pre-Order Sale
Over 400 Pages
Standalone Novel
New-Adult Romance / Sports Romance
DEBT
By Rachel Dunning
Expected Release Date:
March 2016

The Debt Collector
I pay my debts, and I expect others to.

I was raised in the slums of London, I knew nothing of privilege. My father was murdered when I was seventeen. Morty figured my father's passing meant I would automatically take on dad's debts. I refused.

And I paid for that refusal.

So did my sister.

So now I fight. All I know how to do is fight. The best cash is in the states, so that's where I am now. A big fish called Vito came along offering me a "favor" when I arrived.
Another debt.
I paid for that one too.

I knew Kyla Hensley would be trouble when I met her. But I wanted her. I could see through the falsehood of her wannabe-slutty clothes and her sexy legs. So I chased her.

Besides, trouble is my middle name.
Kyla Hensley

I was brought up in privilege, but I lacked everything else. My father is a business tycoon who buys and sells and doesn't care who gets rolled over in the process.

I never knew my mother, and all I have of her is a photo with a note scrawled on the back in French saying "I'm sorry." The only Female Figure I had growing up is my dad's wife who is a bleach blond with seven boob jobs. We never bonded.
I drink. I party. I meet guys.
But I wasn't always like that.

I've had a string of lovers in the last few years, the worst and most recent of which was Vince Somerset. My best friend Vera was dating a guy called Rory Cansoom who is the opposite of Vince in so many ways, and yet so the same.

She and I hit the road for the summer, getting away from the two college psychos and just trying to have some fun.

But there's a funny thing about trouble, the more you run from it, the more it finds you.

Which is when I met the Debt Collector.

It was only supposed to be sex. He made that clear. I made that clear.

That's all it was supposed to be.
I never expected to fall in love. I never expected to fall so deeply, madly, uncomfortably in love with a man who is wrong, so wrong for me.

And yet...so unbelievably right.
Content Warning

Not intended for readers under the age of seventeen.

Links:

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01A02LNLC
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01A02LNLC
Amazon Canada: http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01A02LNLC
Amazon Australia: http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B01A02LNLC
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/debt/id1071559413?mt=11
Nook / B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/debt-rachel-dunning/1123196983?ean=2940152548570
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/603988


~Kyla~

“Tell me for real,” I say. “Tell me what I didn’t guess about you.”
Logan doesn’t answer, and already I’m regretting the question. I know something hurt him, but who am I to ask him about it so soon? I’m breaking my rule, I want to know him, I want to know everything about him.
He shifts his arm so that my head is no longer resting on it, leans forward.
I did overstep it, but I don’t care. Maybe this is the last time I’ll ever see him again, and I want to get everything I can out of it, not only the sex I’ll demand later.
He looks down at his feet, then at me.
He inhales a deep breath, and then he says something to me that will forever change the way I think about the world. He tells me a story that puts my own life in perspective, and makes me question what I’ve held dear, and what’s really important in life.
He tells me about how he lost his father. And his mother.
And why he fights.
And why he continues to fight. And what he really sees when he’s in that cage, the hate, the fury, the pain.
By the end of it all, my world is shattered, the floor is shaking, I have no stability.
By the end of it, I know one thing, and I know it to my core, my very fiber. And I don’t care if it’s too soon, I believe in intuition, I believe in it more now than ever.
The thing I know is this:
I love this man. I love him irrevocably. I love him more than I’ve ever loved anyone.
And I know I will lose him.
I know it. More intuition.
But I love his very soul.



Rachel Dunning hit the scene in August 2013 and is the author of the highly praised Naive Mistakes Series, Truthful Lies Trilogy, Johnny Series and the paranormal romance series, Mind Games.
A prolific writer, she sticks to stories where Alpha Males aren’t pricks and where women have guts.
She’s lived on two different continents, speaks three different languages, and met the love of her life on the internet. In other words, romance is in her blood.

Get Rachel’s Newsletter

Sign up for Rachel’s Newsletter and never miss a release or a special.
You can sign up here:
http://www.rdunning.com/p/non-spammy-news.html