Sunday, November 29, 2015

Weekend read!!




So I sat here though out the week thinking of books and what not and I know I do a post called PaperbackFriday but I don't always finish the book on Friday when I start it. It may take me until Sunday or even Monday to finish the book so I am going to change up the #PaperbackFriday to #PBwkendread I think that will work so much better for me though I tried to find something shorter to use lol.  If you care to join in on what you are reading for the weekend just use the hashtag PBwkendread and you can use the hashtag anywhere twitter, facebook, your blog. So what are you reading this weekend?


This weekend I am reading

13383122

Too many deaths, too many terrifying visions and sleepless nights have taken their toll on Lucy Dennison. She wonders if she can trust anyone or anything anymore - even her own mind. Lucy knows there must be something, somewhere that can tell her why she was chosen to receive the terrible visions, why she feels the sinister presence all around her. As Lucy searches desperately for answers, she knows time is running out. Too many people have disappeared - or worse - and the constant feeling of being surrounded by something truly evil grows stronger each night. Can Lucy defeat the evil in time?

I am about 100 pages in and I am not digging it too much maybe something will happen to where we can get some answers as to what is going on.





Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Review: ZIA, The Teenage Zombie & The Undead Diaries by Angela Scott

23487677Title: ZIA: The Teenage Zombie and The UnDead Diaries
Author: Angela Scott
Publishing Oct. 6, 2015
Publisher: Black Pines Press
Pages: 251
Genre: Zombies, Teens, YA
Review: ebook provided by Story Cartel
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Zia would give anything to be a typical teenager... again. Heck, she’d settle for being a vampire or smelly werewolf, but a member of the walking dead? The lowliest of all the monsters? No way! Nothing is worse than being a skin-sloughing, limb-losing, maggot-housing, brain-craving undead girl. Nothing.
It wouldn’t be so bad if humans didn’t insist on “Living Impaireds” wearing bands to keep their insatiable appetites in check. And if LIs want to coexist with humans, then rules must be followed, no matter how ludicrous they might seem. Why do undead teenagers have to go to high school anyway?
Zia does her best to blend in and go unnoticed, but when a new group of LIs are bused in from another school and she finds herself part of a growing horde, all bets are off.
Besides, rules are meant to be broken—especially when an unbeating heart is pulled in two different directions.

#PBwkendread Review: In the End (In the After #2) by Demitria Lunetta

18140842Title: In The End
Author: Demitria Lunetta
Published: June 24, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 432
Genre: Teens, Sci-fi
Review: Hardback from library
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 





She thought it was the end of the world... But it was only the beginning of the end.
It's been three months since Amy escaped New Hope. Since she's seen Baby, or Kay, or Rice. And she's been surviving on her own, like she did before she was "rescued" and taken to what she thought was a safe haven. Then, in the midst of foraging for supplies, her former fellow Guardian's voice rings out in her earpiece. And in a desperate tone, Kay utters the four words Any had hoped she would never hear:
Dr. Reynolds has Baby.
Now it's a race against time, for Baby is in imminent danger, her life threatened by the malevolent doctor who had helped start the end of the world. In order to save Baby, Amy will have to make her way to Fort Black, a former prison-turned-survivor colony. There she will need to find Ken—Kay's brother—for he holds the key to Baby's survival.
But before she can do any of this, she'll have to endure the darkest places—and people—of the prison. And one small slip-up could not only cost Baby and Amy their lives, but threaten the survival of he people in the After.
Demitria Lunetta has created an utterly compelling conclusion to the story she set forth in In the After. Readers of the Hunger Games trilogy will not be able to pit down this book, which is gripping from beginning to end.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

#PBwkendread Review: The Day Zombies Ruined My Perfectly Boring Life (Boring Life Series #1) by Jen Naumann


13581496Title: The Day Zombies Ruined My Perfectly Boring Life
Author: Jen Naumann
Published: June 10, 2012
Publisher: At or With Me Publishing
Pages: 369
Genre: Zombies/Teen/YA
Review: Paperback won
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Emma Ferdig has heard the term “life sucks, then you die”, but she never knew she was supposed to take it quite so literally.
It’s senior year. Emma should be looking forward to escaping her mundane small town, and going on to college—finally. Her biggest worries should be the fact that she’s feeling something more for her life-long best friend Finn, and how she’s going to make things happen between them. But all her plans for a less-sucky future go out the window with the discovery of a seriously creepy woman in her backyard.
As it turns out, zombies are real.
In the first book of the Boring Life Series, Emma’s life is turned upside down as she’s forced to leave everything behind, running off with Finn and a group of extremely odd misfits that include Finn’s jackhole brother Cash, and his unorthodox girlfriend Marley. In an instantaneous journey across the Midwest, they’ll learn horrifying secrets, trust the wrong people, and make deadly mistakes. As they do all then can to try and survive the impending apocalypse, Emma will realize that maybe her painfully boring life hadn’t been such a bad thing, after all.

Monday, November 23, 2015

Cover Reveal: Back of Beyond by Neeny Boucher

neenyCoverBannerGold










neenyCover


Title: Back of Beyond
Author: Neeny Boucher
Tentative Release Date: February 2016
Cover Reveal Date: November 23rd, 2015



Dina Martin and Nicholas Riley are total opposites. She’s the good girl with the perfect grades and he’s the bad boy with the reputation. Growing up together with close family ties, they have been at war as long as they can remember. When the unthinkable happens, neither of them wants it. Set in a small town at the turn of the millennium, this story is about family and friendship, the love of music and how sometimes who you don’t want, is exactly who you need.

backOfBeyondTeasers




12243989_10206655741866061_553587726_n12243989_10206655742786084_740728724_n







Sunday, November 22, 2015

Blog Tour Review: Bad Things by Willow Cross

24148191Title: Bad Things 
Author: Willow Cross
Published: December 18, 2014
Publisher: Self
Pages: 73
Genre: Horror, Paranormal, ghost stories
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Creepy crawlies, dark shadows, hideous monsters secreted under your bed... Bad Things is a collection of paranormal stories that will make your skin crawl and heart race. Do you sleep with the light on? Maybe you should...

They come at night
When the moon grows dark
To steal your treasures
And weaken your heart

An empty bed
Is all that remains
If the Bad Things decide
To visit again

Mommies take care
Watch your young as they slumber
For babies and children
The Bad Things do hunger

Check closets and attics
And under all beds
If the Bad Things come calling
You’ll wish you were dead.

Friday, November 20, 2015

Review: Hanover House (Hanover House Chronicles 0.5) by Brenda Novak

25394138Title: Hanover House
Author: Brenda Novak
Published: Sept. 1, 2015
Publisher: Brenda Novak
Pages: 198
Genre: Suspense, Thriller
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 





Hanover House
The Hanover House Chronicles
Prequel novella to my new Hanover House Chronicles (digital only).
Welcome to Hanover House….
Psychiatrist Evelyn Talbot has dedicated her life to solving the mysteries of the psychopathic mind. Why do psychopaths act as they do? How do they come to be? Why don’t they feel any remorse for the suffering they cause? And are there better ways of spotting and stopping them?
After having been kidnapped, tortured and left for dead when she was just a teenager—by her high school boyfriend—she’s determined to understand how someone she trusted so much could turn on her. So she’s established a revolutionary new medical health center in the remote town of Hilltop, Alaska, where she studies the worst of the worst.
But not everyone in Hilltop is excited to have Hanover House and its many serial killers in the area. Alaskan State Trooper, Sergeant Amarok, is one of them. And yet he can’t help feeling bad about what Evelyn has been through. He’s even attracted to her. Which is partly why he worries.
He knows what could happen if only one little thing goes wrong…

Review: Love's River: Laura Sullivan

Love s River: Relaxing Music for Sleep, Calming Music, Soothing Music, Background Music, Dinner Music, New Age Music, Spa Music, Yoga Music, Relaxing Piano Music, Meditation Music

I received this product to give an honest review.

What can I say about this music that probably hasn't been said before? I am really impressed with the songs on the track. They are just perfect to listen to whenever, they just make you seem to forget everything around you while you just focus on the music and listen to the instruments being played. I can honestly say I have always loved how a piano has been played and always wished I had learned it. She author has done a remarkable job with the sound of the piano along with other musical instruments to where they go together just right. To me this music feels as though it has a story to be told through the music with no words being spoken, I once again wish I had just one favorite track number but I don't. Though I have to say Holding Heaven was the one song that called out to me. I can not pinpoint exactly what it is about the song but it just has me sit back and just calmly breath and let everything go.
If you haven't listened to this artist I highly suggest you listen to the samples first and let that determine if you buy the CD or not which you can purchase on Amazon.

Review: Pianoscapes for the Trails of North America: Laura Sullivan

Pianoscapes for the Trails of North America: With Johann Pachelbel Canon in D Piano, Relaxing Music, Spa Music, Background Music, New Age Music, Calming Music, Wedding Songs, Canon Pachelbel

I received this product to give an honest review.

So the author contacted me and asked me if I would like to review her work. I jumped on bored pretty quickly this type of music just really calls to me. It is something I can listen to whenever and it makes me feel mellow and calm. It is something that I can have playing in the background when I am writing reviews, reading, cooking just whatever I happen to be doing. It is also great to listen in the car and at bedtime.

Pianoscapes For The Trails of North America is a mixture of the musical instruments guitar, piano, and string instruments. It all goes together wonderful as soon as one song ends you are swept away with another song that is just as beautiful and fulfilling. I wish I could tell you that track number 3 or track 7 was my favorite but it isn't true all of them are my favorite to listen to. I am really glad to have learned about this Grammy Winning Artist because she has a new fan and one that will be looking at her other cds to purchase. 


You can purchase this CD on Amazon 

Review: Tegen Justice (Tegens Book 2) by Inge-Lise Goss

27256292Title: Tegen Justice (Book 2)
Author: Inge-Lise Goss
Published: Oct. 15, 2015
Pages: 377
Genre: Paranormal, Mystery
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



After embracing her new Tegen existence, Sara Jones is determined to destroy her ex-lover’s organized crime empire, one link at a time. Along with her newly acquired skills of spider-climbing agility, self-healing powers, and the ability to eject poisonous needles came the haunting need to consume blood and flesh tainted by Tegen deadly spiders.

Armed with her skills and using the alias Sally Jablon, Sara has tracked some nefarious associates of her ex-lover to Baton Rouge. But before she can fully execute her plan to wipe out that criminal element, she is faced with her former lover, an out of control Tegen, and the repercussions of disobeying Tegen rules. Death and mayhem ensue as Sara tries to outrun and outsmart an enemy she knows all too well.

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

#PBwkenderad Review: The Unseen Volume 1 by Richie Cusick

13383074Title: The Unseen Volume 1 ( It Begins and Rest In Peace)
Author: Richie Tankersley Cusick
Published: Aug. 16, 2012
Publisher: Speak
Pages: 576
Genre: Teens, YA, Mystery
Review: Library Book
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



This book is a combination of Part I (It Begins) and Part II (Rest In Peace), the first two books of The Unseen series. It's available only at Walmart.
Out walking alone one rainy night, Lucy becomes convinced that someone - or something - is following her. Spooked, she ducks into a cemetery to try and lose her stalker. Panicking in the darkness, she slips and stumbles into an open grave - only to discover she is not alone in there. She manages to escape, but soon begins having terrifying visions and dreams - and she still can't shake the feeling of an unseen presence, always watching, waiting... Who was the girl in the grave? And what did she do to Lucy?

Review: Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek

23351890Title: Escape From Witchwood Hollow
Author: Jordan Elizabeth
Published: Oct. 29, 2014
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Pages: 200
Genre: Fantasy, Teens, YA
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Everyone in Arnn - a small farming town with more legends than residents - knows the story of Witchwood Hollow: if you venture into the whispering forest, the witch will trap your soul among the shadowed trees.
After losing her parents in a horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers, fifteen-year-old Honoria and her older brother escape New York City to Arnn. In the lure of that perpetual darkness, Honoria finds hope, when she should be afraid.
Perhaps the witch can reunite her with her lost parents. Awakening the witch, however, brings more than salvation from mourning, for Honoria discovers a past of missing children and broken promises.
To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.
How deep into Witchwood Hollow does Honoria dare venture?

Monday, November 16, 2015

Release Day Blitz and GIVEAWAY: Dark Shadows by Toni Vallan






Title: Dark Shadows
Author: Toni Vallan
Published: Nov. 16, 2015
Publisher: Infinite Ink Books
Pages: 218
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 

 


My name’s Ella Raimi. Until last week, my life was pretty normal for a sixteen-year-old. Until I spent that awful night trapped in the janitor's closet in utter darkness. Until the dreams began — suffocating, panic-filled dreams. My best friend Kyla stays with me, but the dreams still continue. And I wake each morning with cuts & burns on my skin. I don’t recall inflicting them. And then there is the blood on my hands and my sheets when I wake up. I’m afraid of myself. I'm afraid I am a killer.
Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway
About Toni Vallan
Toni Vallan is the author of two contemporary titles in the contemporary suspense series DESPERATION, and her ongoing Thriller line. Toni loves the dark side of the soul, and studied to become a neuropsychologist. A career path taken over by her first love - writing.
Toni lives in the land of the Hobbits, and secretly wants a Hobbit house, although her husband and two daughters may not agree.
 

Sunday, November 15, 2015

Review: Blood Memory: Season Two - A Zombie Apocalypse Series (Episode One) by Perrin Briar

26225837Title: Blood Memory Season Two Episode One
Author: Perrin Briar
Published: Sept. 2, 2015
Pages: 101
Genre: Zombies
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




The first novella in the second season of a new zombie pentalogy.

Once bitten, the virus spreads throughout the human body. It shuts down organs, kills nerve impulses and even reprograms the way we think. The virus becomes us. There seems to be no hope.

The survivors embark on their journey to the Indian Ocean. In the episode, they make their way around the coast of France, Spain, and the Strait of Gibraltar. But the journey is not as easy as they imagine.

Review: Solidify (Woodland Creek) by Alexia Purdy

27414992Title: Solidify (Woodland Creek)
Author: Alexia Purdy
Published: Nov. 15, 2015
Publisher: Lyrical Lit. Publishing  
Pages: 167
Genre: Paranormal
Review: ARC provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Woodland Creek Series.
30 Authors. 30 Shifter Stories.
http://woodlandcreekseries.com/

This is a standalone paranormal shifter romance.

Being a hero is overrated.

Malachi Arend is a brazen loner who wants nothing more than to get the hell out of the small town of Woodland Creek. As he’s leaving, he stumbles across a nurse named Phoebe Reynolds, a newly minted Caladrius shifter who takes the shape of a snow-white bird. She ignites something unexpected inside him, thwarting his attempt to leave.

When a vengeful spirit begins attacking the townspeople, Malachi and Phoebe are drawn into the fray. Phoebe’s transformation could be tied to the attacks, but whoever is responsible might also be seeking to finish what they started, and all of Woodland Creek may pay the price.

Malachi never wanted to be a hero, but it seems he doesn't have a choice.