Friday, October 30, 2015

#PaperbackFriday Read: Sex and Violence by Carrie Mesrobian


I am backkkkkkkkkkk, and on point with this week's paperback/weekend read. The book is called Sex and Violence by Carrie Mesrobian. The title is what pulled me in on this one and I read a few sentences on the synopsis to see what it was about and it sounds like it could be something good. Has a title ever called to you to give it a read?


17339214
AT FIRST YOU DON'T SEE THE CONNECTION.
Sex has always come without consequences for seventeen-year-old Evan Carter. He has a strategy--knows the profile of The Girl Who Would Say Yes. In each new town, each new school, he can count on plenty of action before he and his father move again. Getting down is never a problem. Until he hooks up with the wrong girl and finds himself in the wrong place at very much the wrong time.
AND THEN YOU CAN'T SEE ANYTHING ELSE.
After an assault that leaves Evan bleeding and broken, his father takes him to the family cabin in rural Pearl Lake, Minnesota, so Evan's body can heal. But what about his mind?
HOW DO YOU GO ON, WHEN YOU CAN'T THINK OF ONE WITHOUT THE OTHER?
Nothing seems natural to Evan anymore. Nothing seems safe. The fear--and the guilt--are inescapable. He can't sort out how he feels about anyone, least of all himself. Evan's really never known another person well, and Pearl Lake is the kind of place where people know everything about each other--where there might be other reasons to talk to a girl. It's annoying as hell. It might also be Evan's best shot to untangle sex and violence.





Tuesday, October 27, 2015

#PaperbackFriday Review: Execution (Escape From Furnace #5) by Alexander Gordon Smith

16059524Title:  Execution (Escape From Furnace #5)
Author: Alexander Gordon Smith
Publisher: Square Fish
Published: June 25, 2013
Pages: 336
Genre: Teens/ Fantasy
Review: paperback from library
Buy Links: amazon, amazon.uk


Alex Sawyer has escaped his underground nightmare to discover the whole world has become a prison, and Alfred Furnace is its master. Monsters rule the streets, leaving nothing but murder in their wake. Those who do not die become slaves to Furnace’s reign of cruelty. Alex is a monster too. He is the only one who can stop Furnace but in doing so he could destroy everything. Is he the executed or the executioner? Who will die? All Alex knows is that one way or another, it all ends now.

Monday, October 26, 2015

Review and Guest Post Dead 'Til Dawn by Kelli A. Wilkins




26867530
Title: Dead 'Til Dawn
Author: Kelli A. Wilkins
Published: Sept. 19, 2015
Publisher: Self
Pages: 39
Genre: Ghost story
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: AmazonAmazon.uk



Dead ‘Til Dawn

Disturbing the dead doesn’t prove you’re brave – it proves you’re stupid.

After touring Gettysburg battlefield, Jessica, Tim, and Steve decide to sneak out to the Devil’s Den for some late-night fun. Jessica’s friend Kathy objects, and warns them about trespassing where they’re not wanted.

Undaunted by ghost stories and fueled by his own arrogance, Tim races toward the Devil’s Den. When the group drives through mysterious battlefield fog, they find themselves surrounded by Civil War soldiers looking for a little fun of their own.

Kathy leaves the others to fend for themselves and flees to Little Round Top. Although she’s rescued by a kindhearted Union solider named Charlie, she refuses to believe that what she’s experiencing is real. As the nighttime battle rages on, Charlie introduces Kathy to other weary soldiers, and she quickly realizes she’s trapped in the land of the dead until dawn.

Spend a night in the land of the dead in this 8,200-word ghost story set on the Gettysburg battlefield.




I received this book to give an honest review.

Now I have to say this was a good ghost story. Gave me the chills a bit and makes me not want to visit anywhere where a battle has taken place after dark. This is a short but fully packed story that you feel full-filled. There is some cussing but nothing to major so I would suggest this book for teens to read if you are okay with the language. If not then for sure YA and above. It does make you wonder if there are ghosts out there from battles long ago who can not move and still live the battle every day. The author did a great job with descriptions and the characters. I hope the author keeps up with the ghost stories because she does a great job with them.





Writing Horror Fiction - Just in time for Halloween!
By Author Kelli A. Wilkins



Hi everyone,
My name is Kelli Wilkins and I divide my time between writing horror and romance. Yes, I know, it’s an unusual combination, but I go with it. I like to say that one half of my brain writes the horror and the other half writes the romance.
When it comes to horror, I’m always asked a lot of questions: How does a person write a horror story? What makes a great one? How can you make a convincing story about a monster if monsters aren’t real?
First, it’s important to realize that horror can take many forms — gore-filled splatter-punk with buckets of blood… mysterious, cursed people living in isolated Gothic castles (or even tropical islands!)… psychological unsettling horror that makes you feel uneasy… or your ordinary “classic monsters” such as vampires, ghosts, zombies, and werewolves.
My horror stories tend to be based in psychological terrors rather than blood and gore. They’re set in a wide range of seasons and settings, and my characters run the gamut from small children to mentally fragile suburban housewives.
Each kind of horror story has its fans, probably because different people are scared of different things (heights, monkeys, bridges, etc.). But whatever type of horror story you write (or read) there are a few universal elements that should go into any horror tale.
Horror readers want to be scared (or at least made to feel nervous), so start scaring people on page one. Use a clever hook, details, and setting to pull readers in. Start with a pool of blood on the floor or give us all the details of your haunted house. Let readers experience what it feels like to be chased across a field by a werewolf.

An important element in writing horror is to invent a believable “horror” universe where monsters, vampires, and other paranormal elements are possible — and conflict with the characters you’ve created.
There are several TV shows that excel at this paranormal world-building. Supernatural, Grimm, Sleepy Hollow, and Constantine all exist in a place and time where vampires, demons, shapeshifters, and other “monsters” cross over into the “real” world. What makes these shows work? The characters.
In Supernatural, the Winchesters were raised believing that paranormal creatures were more than legends — they’re real, no question. In Grimm and Sleepy Hollow, the characters were slowly introduced into a paranormal world that challenged their beliefs, but then they were drawn in 100%. And viewers were, too.
That’s what every horror writer has to do — make the reader believe in the element of horror (whether it’s a nightmare-invading serial killer, a 60 foot fanged sea-creature, or a ghost) and take the reader on a journey with the main characters. The situations in the story need to be plausible and told in a way that grips the reader, even if the premise seems a bit far-fetched (at first).
In horror, you can write almost anything and get away with it. Play on childhood fears and things people hate (or are afraid of). Here’s a short list: clowns, creepy dolls, being buried alive, stuffed moose heads, basements, closets, the dark… While you’re writing, keep the tension and suspense constant. Enhance anticipation and fear in layers. Your novel or short story needs twists and turns to keep the reader engaged and wondering, “What happens next?” Be sure to end scenes (and/or chapters) with a cliffhanger or other danger.


As with any story, the author has to establish a believable setting. Whether your tale takes place in a gritty, post-apocalyptic city or a foggy rural graveyard, you need to give your readers a concrete foundation of where the story is taking place. Readers want to feel as if they are there, experiencing the events along with the main characters. Use lots of details (sights, smells, sounds) and props to make your descriptions come alive. My story, Kropsy’s Curse makes great use of setting. What’s better than a horror story set in a graveyard on Halloween?
Remember that all characters (even the monsters) need to have a purpose. Why are your zombies in Wegmans? Readers want to know why (and how) the events in your story are happening. Your job as a writer is to get readers to suspend their (dis)belief and buy into your story. This is done by giving characters a goal and following it up with in-depth characterization and details. You don’t have to go into a lengthy explanation, just give your readers a reason, have your characters believe it, and move on. In my story, The Man in Apt. 3-A, the main character really didn’t believe a vampire lived upstairs…until he met him.
And try to avoid clichés like the plague! Masked killers hunting campers in the woods, serial-killing cannibal families, miserable Goth vampires in period costume, and mindless zombie attacks have all been done to… well, death. And please don’t mix monsters. Only include one primary menace/monster in your story. Don’t have vampires, werewolves, zombies, and demons attacking a cursed town during a full moon on Halloween. It’s overkill — and not in a good way.


When writing horror, don’t be afraid to break patterns, make your characters different, or have them go against stereotype. Give readers something unexpected, turn a cliché on its ear, or use a different point of view — it’ll make your work stand out. Why not set your werewolf story in Hawaii? My paranormal romance, Confessions of a Vampire’s Lover, takes place at the beach.
We all know that October is “horror month” because of Halloween, but there are plenty of spooky things going on the rest of the year. Loyal readers and writers of horror fiction know that a good horror story is just as scary on a warm June day as it is at midnight on Halloween. Remember, JAWS took place in the summer, and a haunted house can be terrifying on a rainy March afternoon…
Remember, when writing horror, the only limit is your imagination!
 Happy Haunting, Kelli


I enjoy hearing from readers and other authors. So feel free to drop me a line with questions or comments. You can catch up on all of my writings and follow me on social media here:
Website: www.KelliWilkins.com
Blog: http://kelliwilkinsauthor.blogspot.com/
Newsletter sign-up: http://eepurl.com/HVQqb
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKelliWilkins
Twitter: www.Twitter.com/@KWilkinsauthor
Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/kelliwilkins
Amber Quill Press Author page: http://www.amberquill.com/store/m/149-Kelli-A-Wilkins.aspx
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1123678.Kelli_A_Wilkins
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/KWilkinsAuthor/


Kelli A. Wilkins is an award-winning romance and horror author who has published more than 95 short stories, 19 romance novels, and 5 non-fiction books.
Her short horror fiction has appeared in several anthologies. In autumn 2015 she released two horror ebooks, Kropsy’s Curse and Dead Til Dawn. In 2014, her horror fiction appeared in Moon Shadows, Wrapped in White, and Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine.
You Can Write—Really! A Beginner’s Guide to Writing Fiction was released in February 2015. This fun and informative non-fiction guide is based on her 15 years of experience as a writer, and is available exclusively on Amazon.


Kelli published three romances in 2014: Dangerous Indenture (a spicy historical/mystery), Wilderness Bride (a tender historical/Western/adventure), and A Secret Match (a gay contemporary set in the world of professional wrestling). Her romances span many genres and heat levels.

Interview and Review of Kropsy's Curse by Kelli A. Wilkins

26215630Title: Kropsy's Curse
Author: Kelli A. Wilkins
Published: Aug. 26, 2015
Publisher: Self
Pages: 9
Genre: Ghost story
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 





Late one Halloween night, two young boys venture into a secluded graveyard in the hopes of conjuring up a spirit. Although Kyle is skeptical and would rather be home eating candy and watching horror movies, he reluctantly goes along with Jerry’s plan. He doesn’t believe Ouija boards work—until this one starts spelling out a message…

This Halloween-themed 1500-word short story is a cautionary tale about playing with a Ouija board in a graveyard.
It's only $.99 on Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Kropsys-Curse-K...
Here’s a mini-excerpt:
“Where is it?” Kyle whispered.
“Over there.” Jerry swung his orange plastic flashlight to the left. “Why are you whispering? It’s just a graveyard. Ain’t no body here,” he joked, then laughed. “Come on.” Jerry hoisted his black backpack over his shoulder. “Hurry up. It’s almost midnight.”
Kyle’s sneakers slipped on the dewy grass as he followed Jerry down the last hill in the cemetery. He paused and glanced around. The moon appeared as a slit in the night sky. Dark clouds floated out of its way, and a sliver of pale yellow mixed with the blue-black night. Something made a noise off to his right, and he jumped. Maybe they should go home. This didn’t seem like fun anymore.


I received this book to give an honest review.

Wow short and perfect. You have two boys who on a Halloween night want to conjure up the ghost of Kropsy using a Ouija board, will the ghost visit them or is it something that is a dud? It is short and to the point and I would recommend this for teens to read. The characters are well developed in such a few pages that the author did a great with it. The description of the cemetery and the fear you could get from Kyle was spot on. 
I know not to mess with a Ouija board but do you? 







Interview with… Horror and Romance Author Kelli A. Wilkins


Today, author Kelli A. Wilkins answers a few of my questions!   
What is one of your earliest childhood memories?
One of the first memories I have is of watching TV. I remember being scared by the TV movie Gargoyles, and watching professional wrestling. Of course now when I watch Gargoyles, I’m amused by the camp factor and wonder how I ever could have been scared.
 What is one thing that you can live without?
 
I can certainly live without a Smartphone! I don’t have one, or a tablet, or most “must-have” technology. 
Have you ever had a nightmare and were able to remember it?

Yes! I’ve had several awful nightmares over the years and I remember them because they wake me up out of a sound sleep. They’re very vivid and almost like watching a movie. I haven’t written any horror stories about them, yet.
 Favorite genre of movie?

Most people can probably guess this — I’m drawn to horror/suspense/mystery movies. My absolute favorite subgenre of horror is 1970s movies and my favorite films are: Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Amityville Horror, Race with the Devil, Bad Ronald, Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark, Children Shouldn’t Play with Dead Things, and The Other — along with animal revenge films like Frogs, Squirm, Kingdom of the Spiders, and Empire of the Ants. Although I write horror and romance, I never watch romantic comedies or “relationship” movies.
 How old were you when you first started writing?

I’ve been writing forever. I started writing odd little stories in elementary school (mostly about alien abductions and ghosts), then took a lot of writing and literature classes in high school and college. I never tried to get any of my stories published until after college.
 Where do your ideas come from in your stories?

My ideas come from everywhere. I have a very vivid imagination and I like to explore old/abandoned places, haunted locations, and historical sites. (They’re a great place to find ideas.) I’m also a people watcher and I tend to ask myself “what if…” a lot. (What if that person in line at the store is really a serial killer out hunting for a new victim?) Usually I’ll get a kernel of an idea and combine two or three other ideas with it to get a story. My ebook, Dead Til Dawn, was inspired by a trip to Gettysburg and a strange nighttime encounter with battlefield fog.
 Do you like clowns?

Heck no! And dolls are next on the list of – nope. No thanks! I know someone who collects clown drawings, paintings, and figurines. I shrieked when I saw a clown doll hanging off the back of the door (and no, it wasn’t Halloween). I told him, “Nobody is ever going to want to stay here with these clowns all over.” Twisty the Clown was the best “worst” clown ever. I do feel sorry for all the nice, happy clowns out there who just want to entertain kids, juggle, and join the circus, because they have to fight the “creepy clown” stigma. They probably need a support group!



Thanks for letting me share my thoughts with everyone. I enjoy hearing from readers and other authors. So feel free to drop me a line with questions or comments. You can catch up on all of my writings and follow me on social media here:
Website: www.KelliWilkins.com
Blog: http://kelliwilkinsauthor.blogspot.com/
Newsletter sign-up: http://eepurl.com/HVQqb
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKelliWilkins
Twitter: www.Twitter.com/@KWilkinsauthor
Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/kelliwilkins
Amber Quill Press Author page: http://www.amberquill.com/store/m/149-Kelli-A-Wilkins.aspx
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1123678.Kelli_A_Wilkins
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/KWilkinsAuthor/

Happy Haunting,
Kelli



Kelli A. Wilkins is an award-winning romance and horror author who has published more than 95 short stories, 19 romance novels, and 5 non-fiction books.
Her short horror fiction has appeared in several anthologies. In autumn 2015 she released two horror ebooks, Kropsy’s Curse and Dead Til Dawn. In 2014, her horror fiction appeared in Moon Shadows, Wrapped in White, and Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine.
You Can Write—Really! A Beginner’s Guide to Writing Fiction was released in February 2015. This fun and informative non-fiction guide is based on her 15 years of experience as a writer, and is available exclusively on Amazon.


Kelli published three romances in 2014: Dangerous Indenture (a spicy historical/mystery), Wilderness Bride (a tender historical/Western/adventure), and A Secret Match (a gay contemporary set in the world of professional wrestling). Her romances span many genres and heat levels.





Review: A Little Protection by Victoria Howard

11451450Title: A Little Protection
Author: Victoria Howard
Publisher: Vanilla Heart Publishing
Published: Sept. 26, 2012
Pages: 31
Genre: Romance, short story
Review: ebook provided by author to give an honest review
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


A Romantic Suspense Short Story from Victoria Howard.
Handsome Matt Hemmings meets scientist Alexa McAllistair at a conference on nuclear energy in Rome…and against his professional judgment, he is smitten. The vulnerable – and beautiful - scientist arouses his protective instincts, and the desire to kiss her senseless. And it's more than evident that she feels the same way about him.

Blog Tour Review: Perfect Combination: Seven Key Ingredients to Happily Living & Loving Together by Jamillah Lamb, David Lamb

13829452Title: Perfect Combination: Seven Key Ingredients to Happily Living & Loving Together
Author: Jamillah Lamb and David Lamb
Publisher: Between The Lines Production Inc.
Published: Feb. 1, 2012
Pages: 182
Genre: Marriage/Love and Romance
Review: Paperback provided by author as part of blog tour
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Perfect Combination: Seven Key Ingredients to Happily Living & Loving Together Finally a relationship book that deals with real life and real love. Written by a couple who have found (and worked at!) a true and lasting love, Perfect Combination teaches the 7 key ingredients to live and love together, all while keeping it 100% honest. This book is like sitting down at the kitchen table and having that couple you admire tell you everything: the good, the not-so-good, and what you need to know to triumph in love while still remaining true to who you are. In Perfect Combination, Jamillah and David take you behind the scenes of a relationship put to the test: working side by side 24/7; the day-to-day financial worries that can stress any pair; and a painful, but ultimately happy journey to having their first child. Each chapter in the book tells real life stories in a unique conversational style, with Jamillah and David playing off each other with honesty, harmony and a healthy dose of humor. Each section ends with a key 'ingredient' that sums up what any couple can learn to transform their own relationships. It is also packed with practical tips for "cooking up" love and romance. If you think this book is about some "perfect couple" that never have a fight or haven't overcome serious struggles, you're in for a surprise. Being a "perfect combination" doesn't mean never having a conflict... it means working together to answer the questions: What is Love? What is Romance? What is Marriage? Jamillah & David have: Each suffered with past relationship-sabotaging behaviors they found hard to let go Battled themselves and each other about what was important in their past Struggled to figure out that mutual appreciation is more important than gender roles Helped each other through hurting times on the way to becoming a family Learned you've got to let yourself learn love lessons, even when you don't like the lesson If you've read relationship books in the past, and thought, "that sounds great, but how do you actually do that?" then Perfect Combination is for written for you. This book goes deeper than typical relationship books, romance novels, and romance movies. Men, you'll recognize yourselves in David's struggle to drop his suspicious nature and eventually sacrificing his fear of vulnerability by choosing love above all. You'll smile to yourself when you read David admitting sometimes he expects Jamillah to read his mind and know what he wants. Women, you'll see yourself in Jamillah's painfully honest struggle to realize that she could let herself be cared about and cared for without it being a sign of weakness. You'll cheer her courage as she leaves a comfortable corporate job to help them both live out a dream. And you'll discover many more powerful stories and lessons when you read Perfect Combination. Jamillah and David are the creative force behind the successful off-Broadway play, Platanos Y Collard Greens, currently in its 9th year running. Now they bring you their secrets on how any couple can strengthen their love and create a harmony of work, friendship and respect

Sunday, October 25, 2015

Review: Abducted: Reconnaissance Team (Texas Rangers: Special Ops #1) by T.C. Archer

26038966Title: Abducted: Reconnaissance Team (Texas Rangers: Special Ops #1)
Author: T.C. Archer
Published: Oct. 12, 2015
Publisher: Broken Arm Publishing
Pages: 360
Genre: Romance
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


She came for the fashion show. He came to catch a killer.

The El Paso fashion gala was slated to be the hottest event of the year and a must do if Liz Monahan, the creative brains behind Nina Bruce Designs, was to vault the company to the big time. Circumstances put Liz at the party in one of her own creations, escorted by a young, handsome model hired to show her off to the well-known and well-established. But Liz didn’t count on her date being an undercover Texas Ranger who is investigating a human trafficking ring. She also didn’t count on being kidnapped and trafficked herself.

When Texas Ranger Ben Hunter slips away from Liz Monahan at the gala and begins his investigation, he couldn’t be more surprised to arrive in Juarez, Mexico to find her held captive by infamous human trafficker Carlos Sanchez. In order to save her, Ben must commit murder. Hers.

Guest Interview: Author Paulina Woods

Title: Stone Guardian (Witches Amulet Book one)
Author: Paulina Woods
Published: Nov. 16, 2014
Pages: 148
Genre: Paranormal & Urban
Buy Links: Createspace (Print), Amazon, Amazon.uk, Amazon.au, B&N


Element - Fire (Healer/Destroyer)
Royal House - Purple
Milcah was born to rule. Stolen soon after birth, her magic was locked and she was forced to live a normal life, with no knowledge of her heritage.
Raised by a detached parent, she learned to depend on herself and her best friend, Mary, for support. While on a road trip across country she’s forced to find shelter in an abandoned town called Beacon.
She finds her destiny and learns about her past which will lead to the salvation or damnation of the world, and a mate who can give her everything her heart desires. Can she let go of her insecurities and accept her mate’s love?

Friday, October 23, 2015

Book Tour and Review: Blood Red by Wendy Corsi Staub






Title: Blood Red
Author: Wendy Corsi Staub
Release Date: September 29, 2015
Publisher: William Morrow
Genre: Thriller/Suspense
Format: Ebook/Paperback/Audible
add-to-goodreads-button3


 From New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub comes the first in a terrifying new series set in a small town with a sinister secret

The razor's gleaming blade slices effortlessly through skin and tendon, and he relishes the final anguished moments of his prey. There's only one thing he prizes more: their long, silken strands of red hair. But these women are merely stand-ins . . . a prelude to his ultimate victim.

Nestled in New York's Hudson Valley, Mundy's Landing is famous for its picturesque setting—and for a century-old string of gruesome unsolved murders. Rowan returned to her hometown years ago, fleeing a momentary mistake that could have destroyed her family. Life is good here. Peaceful. Until an anonymous gift brings Rowan's fears to life again.

The town's violent history was just the beginning. Soon everyone in Mundy's Landing will know that the past cannot be forgotten or forgiven—not until every sin has been paid for, in blood.  


ORDER INFORMATION
Blood Red is available for order at  
amazonBN

Thursday, October 22, 2015

#PBwkendread Review: Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins

7260188Title: Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Published: Aug. 24, 2010
Pages: 392
Genre: Teen/YA/ Post-Apocalyptic
Review: hardback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk




My name is Katniss Everdeen.
Why am I not dead?
I should be dead.
Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss's family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.
It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans--except Katniss.
The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss's willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels' Mockingjay--no matter what the personal cost.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Chapter post: Sonar The Cyclone by B. Truly





Title: Sonar the Cyclone
Author: B Truly
Series: The Sonar Series (2)
Genre: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance, SciFi
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: July 3 2015
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print



Is your destiny determined by what the future has foretold? Or is fate deemed in the hands of what you behold?
The Royal 4 are now back on their home territory of Nazari, determined to get things back to normal. Syira’s forbidden love is being held captive. She is hell-bent on fighting for him despite the immense obstacles. She must find a way to convince her race that Kadeem is not dangerous. Their threat lies from deeper within.
Shiray has accepted her past and is moving forward with her life, but it comes back to haunt her tenfold. That all changes when she stumbles across the truth. Now, she must pick up the pieces of her shattered life.
They are in the calm but know when they approach the dirty side of the Cyclone storm, terrible things will unravel. The future is revealed and they get a glimpse of Fate’s course. Time is not on their side. They must attempt to change their destiny or their world will be doomed.
Book Links

AmazonBarnes and Noble
Smashwords

Saturday, October 17, 2015

NetGalley Review: The Fall by James Preller

21936978Title: The Fall
Author: James Preller
Published: Sept. 22, 2015
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Publishing Group Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 208
Genre: Teens/middle grade
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk




Through his journal a boy deals with the death of a classmate, who committed suicide as a result of bullying.
The summer before school starts, Sam's friend and classmate Morgan Mallen kills herself. Morgan had been bullied. Maybe she kissed the wrong boy. Or said the wrong thing. What about that selfie that made the rounds? Morgan was this, and Morgan was that. But who really knows what happened?
As Sam explores the events leading up to the tragedy, he must face a difficult and life-changing question: Why did he keep his friendship with Morgan a secret? And could he have done something—anything—to prevent her final actions?
As he did in Bystander, James Preller takes an issue that faces every student and school in the country, and makes it personal, accessible, and real.

ARC review: Mourning Inamorata (Revenants in Purgatory Book 3) by Nicki Scalise

27015741Title: Mourning Inamorata (Book 3)
Author: Nicki Scalise
Publisher: Self
Published: Oct. 16, 2015
Pages: 206
Genre: Paranormal
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Drake Covington is a broken man. A moment of weakness has cost him the woman he loves. Without Olivia, his afterlife loses all meaning. That is until, months after their breakup, she leaves him a mysterious message foretelling danger on the horizon.
The Silence is a realm of despair. Katarina Everette, Drake's ex-lover and Olivia's mortal enemy, was supposed to be locked away there forever, but now she's free and hell bent on revenge. Knowing that nobody he cares about will be safe from her wrath, Drake finds new purpose to his meaningless existence. Using their history against her, he'll take Katarina down from the inside.
But she has other plans in mind — plans that force Drake to come face to face with an evil that terrifies him. Can he walk the razor's edge, pretending to carry out Katarina's scheme without losing himself? Or will he have to succumb to the darkness in order to protect those he holds most dear?