Wednesday, September 30, 2015

#FrightFall Read-A-Thon

OMG can YOU believe it? The Frightfall Read-A-Thon is coming up like no joke on Monday! That means my oldest will be in school, my youngest will want to play doctor. I have a feeling she knows my blood pressure has been high lol. I will be able to read while I wait for Doc McAbbi to give me a shot. :(


Seasons of Reading

So any way this is a yearly event that Season of Reading  does every year. The only requirement is that you HAVE to read at least ONE scary book. Which you all know that is right up my alley. I am not sure how many books I am going to read this week as it goes from October 5-11. A week worth of reading not too bad, just have to sit and make my list of what I will be reading. So I will come back and re-do this post once I have the books down that I want to get busy on reading. So please feel free to join us, we will be using the hashtag #FrightFall


So sign on up and have fun. I am only going to read three books. Normally I can read more but I have a feeling that Slow Burn will take me longer since it is 600+ pages so I think that one I will be on for days. *This has changed a whole lot lol. I may be reading more than just three so be on the look out. As what I read I will post it here and use the hashtag*









25756324
Old Farmer's Road

After moving to Minneapolis Cecilia is befriended by Isaac and Elsie, siblings who have kept a dark secret hidden about their past for countless years. As her body is taken over by a demonic force, she finds herself an Impa, a rare and supernatural creature who lives off the flesh and essence of her victims to stay alive.
With the bloated bodies of missing teens beginning to resurface, the voice of the ratchet Old Farmer’s voice inside her head begs for “Just One More.”
Consumed in the macabre environment, the urge to feed takes control over not only her body but her soul. Soon Cecilia comes to a realization that giving the voice exactly what It wants will never be enough.





26607074
Slice Girls
From tales of revenge and spurned lovers to vengeful ghosts and blood-thirsty misandrists. This unique collection of tales explores the violent potential of women. Turning old tropes on their heads we have male victims and female killers. This anthology of Feminazi Splatter Goth will uncover the darkness of the “fairer sex” and prove the age old maxim that – the female of the species is more deadly than the male. Short stories of horror and torture from indie authors around the globe including Jef Rouner, Carmilla Voiez and Timothy Black. 15 stories and 1 poem of murder and mayhem.





23162703


Slow Burn Books 1-3
Survive the infection! Survive the Infected!

Book 1

A new flu strain has been spreading across Africa, Europe, and Asia. Disturbing news footage is flooding the cable news channels. People are worried and frightened.


But Zed Zane is oblivious. He needs to borrow rent money from his parents. He gets up Sunday morning, drinks enough tequila to stifle his pride and heads to his mom’s house for a lunch of begging, again.

But something is wrong. There’s blood in the foyer. His mother’s corpse is on the living room floor. Zed’s stepdad, Dan is wild with crazy-eyed violence and attacks Zed when he comes into the house. They struggle into the kitchen. Dan’s yellow teeth tear at Zed’s arm but he grabs a knife and stabs Dan, thirty-seven times, or so the police later say.

With infection burning in his blood, Zed is arrested for murder but the world is falling apart and he soon finds himself back on the street, fighting for his life among the infected who would kill him and the normal people, who fear him.

Book 2

Slow Burn: Infected picks up the story of Zed, Murphy, and Jerome where Slow Burn: Zero Day ended.

All three have been infected but have not succumbed to the most pernicious symptoms of the virus. Nevertheless, their band of fearful survivors, have ostracized them.

Back on the street, with weapons to defend themselves but little food in their packs, they embark on a search for Murphy’s family while following a rumor of safe haven in the form of a doomsday bunker in east Austin.

But the world is more hazardous than they know. They expect violence from the voracious infected but they have harsh lessons to learn about the uninfected. And humans to support the infrastructure of modern civilization, they find that danger comes in many forms.

Book 3
Zed is saying goodbye to one friend and pressing forward with two new ones, Mandi, whom Zed and Murphy rescued from the bunker, is immune to the virus, and Russell, also a slow burn, but lower-functioning, childlike and docile.

After seeing the carnage at the dormitory, a raging, vengeful Zed wants only to kill Mark, his nemesis and the former leader of the ROTC squad. Since Mark has disappeared, Zed unleashes his fury on untold numbers of infected in his path as he makes his way back to the hospital, in an attempt to rescue Steph, a nurse whom he befriended while seeking help for the feverish Murphy shortly after the prison riot. But the brave medical staff, holed up on the tenth floor of the hospital, and running out of provisions, has decided to take matters in hand by exposing themselves to the virus, and shooting those who “turn.” Zed is determined not to face another loss, but time is running out.

My Progress

Slow Burn Box Set 1-3 Goodreads  Finished 10/6/2015
Old Farmer's Road Goodreads Finished 10/6/2015
Slice Girls Goodreads Finished 10/7/2015

#bannedbooks week

So I just learned it is banned books week. How could anyone ban a book? That is just plain crazy, and I honestly think they should be throat chopped. I volunteer to throat chop people for banning books. :) Unless they are totally inappropriate and should not be around.

Any who I figured I would look around online and see what books have been banned or challenged that I have read. I am a rebel at heart when it comes to books such a bad influence to the little children.
I looked on Wikipedia for a list of books that are challenged. There is also some that are banned by the government that I found via Wikipedia so I will be adding those into this post.

Review: Blood Memory: The Complete Season One (Books 1-5) by Perrin Briar

22676703Title: Blood Memory (The Complete Season One)
Author: Perrin Briar
Published: July 1, 2014
Publisher: Briar Patch Publishing
Pages: 558
Genre: Zombies, YA
Review: ebook
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Haven's crew found Jordan Grant half-dead floating at sea. With a six-year hole in his memory, he remembers nothing of the Incident or the Lurchers who have claimed the land as their own. He joins the crew in their daily struggle to survive in a harsh new world where every meal is live or die.
But when a shipwreck forces them from the safety of the sea, the crew soon discover their pursuers aren’t the only monsters out to get them. As Jordan confronts the horror of his past he unlocks a secret that threatens to destroy not only him but the future of the entire human race.

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Cover Reveal: Ghost by Nicole James






Ghost has been living his life under one rule...never fall in love, never get too close, never get tied down to just one woman. Focusing solely on his club, he is able to remain unattached and free.... until a girl from his past is dropped in his lap. She was a line he swore he’d never cross. And now, in order to obtain an alliance his club needs, he’s forced to use her in ways he’d never imagined.
She needs his protection, and she’s the one woman he can’t refuse.
When Ghost finds himself unable to keep his distance from her, will he be able to push his feelings aside and use her as a pawn for the attainment of his club’s goals?  Or will he put the club and their lives at risk to follow his heart?
When lies and secrets come between them, can they overcome everything to find their own piece of heaven?



Nicole James grew up in the suburbs of Chicago. As a child, she wrote her first book, Charlie the Firefly, at the age of eight. Her mother knew long before she did that she would someday become an author. Growing up, she spent many happy weekends and summers in Michigan at a cabin on a lake. Winters, she loved to ski. As an adult, Nicole has traveled all over the West and South. She has lived in Illinois, Arizona, Georgia and Alabama. She has a love of motorcycles, writing, reading and the beach. Her favorite city is New Orleans. She loves music of all kinds, but especially the blues. She has two wonderful sisters, two fabulous kids, one awesome son-in-law, and an adorable granddaughter

Review: The Lost Girl By: R.L. Stine

25658759Title: The Lost Girl
Author: R.L. Stine
Published: Sep. 29, 2015
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin 
Pages:272
Genre: Teens/YA
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher


Generations of children and teens have grown up on R.L. Stine's bestselling and hugely popular horror series, Fear Street andGoosebumps. Now, the Fear Street series is back with a chilling new installment, packed with pure nightmare fodder that will scare Stine's avid fan base of teen readers and adults. New student Lizzy Palmer is the talk of Shadyside High. Michael and his girlfriend Pepper befriend her, but the closer they get to her, the stranger she seems… and the more attractive she is to Michael. He invites her to join him on a snowmobile race that ends in a tragic accident. Soon, Michael's friends start being murdered, and Pepper becomes convinced that Lizzy is behind the killings. But to her total shock, she and Michael are drawn into a tragic story of an unthinkable betrayal committed over 60 years ago. Frightening and tense in the way that only this master of horror can deliver, The Lost Girl is another terrifying Fear Street novel by the king of juvenile horror.

Monday, September 28, 2015

Review: Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins

6148028Title: Catching Fire (Book 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Published: Sept. 1, 2009
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages: 405
Genre: YA/Post-Apocalyptic
Review: Hardback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Sparks are igniting.
Flames are spreading.
And the Capitol wants revenge.

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol - a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.
Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she's afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she's not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol's cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can't prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.
In Catching Fire, the second novel in the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen, testing her more than ever before...and surprising readers at every turn.

Release Day Blitz: Letting Go by B.A. Wolfe

Title: Letting Go (Keaton #1.5)
 Author: B.A. Wolfe
 Genre: New Adult
 Release Date: September 28th, 2015
 Cover Design: Perfect Pear Creative Cover


Jason Bradley is a simple, country guy thrust into a life most wouldn't consider normal. He’s dealt with his share of heartbreak and pain, and now he keeps his secrets close to his heart to avoid getting hurt again. Living the only way he knows how. Until Cassandra Pierce crashes into his world. After a life-changing moment he never anticipated, he realizes that loving her is only the beginning. A whirlwind of days… Beautiful moments… Then it all comes tumbling down, and Jason learns that the hardest part of living…of loving…is letting go. This is Jason's story. **Letting Go is a Full Length Companion Novel to the Keaton Series and is told in Jason's (Jase) POV

  


Please note- Letting Go will be releasing at a special price of only .99 Cents for two days only!!




B.A. Wolfe is a girl with a passion for reading and writing, and lives in the good old state of Colorado with her husband (her biggest cheerleader), and her two crazy min pin fur babies. These days, her life is anything but calm, and there isn't one thing she'd want to change. B.A. spends all her free time either furiously typing stories on her laptop or happily reading through her endless TBR on her Kindle. Her list of favorites would be long enough to fill a book, but most would likely fall under the romance category. She is a sucker for a good love story that makes her cry, and an amazing book boyfriend who will melt her heart.

Author Links- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorbawolfe/
 Website: http://www.authorbawolfe.com/ B.A.’s Wolfe Pack: https://www.facebook.com/groups/222618881245078/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BAWolfe3
 Instagram: https://instagram.com/author.bawolfe/ Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7133885.B_A_Wolfe

 The Keaton Series Away (Book #1)- FREE FOR A LIMITED TIME
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1g7vBeR
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1hBy3ZM
iBooks- http://apple.co/1WbQbuU
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1PZhFQl
 Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1LhND70
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1UEzbuT

 Stay (Book #2)- 
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1XGXcpi
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1y8Qla3
 Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Fw8Qbd
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1NZoxQe
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1UEzbuT









 $25.00 Amazon Gift Card a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Black Blood (Black Bloods #1) by John Hennessy

25890912Title: Black Blood
Author: John Hennessy
Published: July 10, 2015
Publisher: Innovation Today
Pages: 366
Genre: New Adult/Sci-Fi
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk


Vampires, werewolves, witches, magic—no one in the Sanctuary, home of the survivors of the nuclear apocalypse, believes in such imaginary creations, including Aberdeen Dareday. That is until the day Abby wakes up with black veins bulging under her skin. The day she learns everything she’s been told about the world is a lie. Forced to flee humanity’s last refuge because of her abnormality, and the corpses left in its unexplainable wake, she finds herself on the run in an entirely new world. A world in which darkness reigns, full of supernatural creatures bent on her execution.

When all seems lost and facing certain death, Abby is saved by Ash, a quiet yet striking young man who shares her black blood, and her mysterious powers. After Ash reveals a clue regarding an old witch, they head north to her home in Montana, determined to beat the piling odds and obtain the answers they seek. Now hunted by everyone from vengeful humans, to the alluring vampire Prince of Texas, to the Lord Alpha of the largest werewolf pack ever to exist, Abby must discover what is so special about her black blood if she hopes to live and fight another day, but time stands against them as their enemies close in for the kill.
Black Blood is a spellbinding cross-genre mutation unlike anything you’ve ever read, weaving paranormal fantasy in a post-apocalyptic world.

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Summer Blog Hop: Doing It For Love by Cassie Mae








Title: Doing It for Love
Author: Cassie Mae
Publisher: Random House Loveswept
Pages: 282
Genre: NA Romantic Comedy
Buy Link: Amazon













Cassie Mae’s charming, sexy new novel, perfect for fans of Emma Chase, puts a steamy twist on modern love as one bride-to-be tries to put the spark back in the bedroom—by any means necessary.
Elizabeth Fanning’s life looks pretty perfect, judging by the diamond ring on her finger. Her fiancĂ©, Landon, is sweet, handsome, and hilarious. The trouble is, before they’ve even tied the knot, their sex life has gone from mind-blowing to “meh”—and Liz isn’t ready to be part of an old married couple. After a cathartic call to her best friend, Liz comes up with a brilliant idea. She and Landon may never be able to re-create the magic of their first time, but how amazing would their wedding night be if everything below the neck was off-limits until then?

Liz thinks it’ll bring them closer together. Landon’s convinced she’ll cave first. So they raise the stakes: Whoever lasts longer gets to pick their honeymoon destination. With her heart set on the Bahamas and Landon fighting for snowbound Utah, Liz simply has to win. But pretty soon, her body is screaming for attention, and Landon’s never seemed so far away. Has Liz’s experiment backfired? Losing their little competition would be frustrating—but the one thing she can’t afford to lose is him.

#PaperbackFriday Read: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins




Yes I know this post is on a Sunday and is suppose to be on a Friday hence #PaperbackFriday or #PBF which ever hashtag you want to use. Well my public library was closed on Friday so I wasn't able to go in and get book three in the Escape From Furnace series so I figured I would just read book two in the AMAZING Hunger Games series.



6148028


Sparks are igniting.
Flames are spreading.
And the Capitol wants revenge.

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol - a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.
Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she's afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she's not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol's cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can't prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.
In Catching Fire, the second novel in the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen, testing her more than ever before...and surprising readers at every turn.



I hope it is as just as awesome as book one was.

Character Interview with Dante from: The Dancer by Ursula Sinclari





Title: The Dancer
Author: Ursula Sinclair
Series: The Ballerina Series (#3)
Genre: New Adult/Contemporary Romance/Multicultural Romance
Publisher:  Isisindc Publishing, LLC
Release Date: Aug 1, 2015
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook



“Let me in.”
Dante
It’s not easy being a male dancer in a world where women dominate. Ballet. Yeah, I’m a ballet dancer, but I prefer male professional dancer. Still, I am at the top of my profession. Choreographers clamor to create dance pieces for me, and women just clamor for me period. See, being straight in a female dominated profession has its perks. But even though I don’t hurt for companionship, I still get up in the middle of the night reaching for something, someone, who is not the person lying next to me. Because I always wake up feeling empty inside…until. She played for me.

Kali
It’s not easy being a female in a male dominated profession. Most people can’t name five female guitarist, bass or lead, but I bet they can name five male guitar players. Still, I am at the top of my profession. I’ve proven to the world that music ability isn’t driven by gender. It hadn’t always been that way, but now I am in constant demand. My time is no longer my own. As for a relationship with a significant other? I stay away from other musicians I perform with or might perform with, like the plague. Not good to mix business with pleasure. Still, I’m only human and I wake up in the middle of the night reaching for something that’s just not there. Then one day he danced for me, and suddenly, I was no longer empty inside.

Violence. Due to the content of this work recommended for 18+ only.
This is the third book in The Ballerina Series but can be read as a standalone.



Dante
My fingers curled into the twisted sheets. I’d been suffocating from sheer terror. I took deep breaths before opening my eyes. It had been a long time since I’d had that vivid a dream. Years in fact, usually my dreams were about feelings of abandonment, loneliness, not quite so dark. So real. These weren’t dreams, but memories. Real nightmares from my past. Now I’ve had them two nights in a row. What the fuck!
Thank God, I didn’t let Christy come home with me tonight. I shouldn’t have let her stay with me last night, but I’d been so damn lonely lately. I tried to make it clear to her there was nothing more between us, other than two people scratching an itch. I didn’t give a shit that she sometimes screwed other cast members, we weren’t dating. Still, I scared the shit out of her when I woke her up in the middle of the night screaming. When she asked what was wrong, I lied of course, and told her just a nightmare, and I couldn’t even remember what it was about. Not hardly. She and I shared the physical, not the emotional.
These nightmares came from a place deep inside of me. Something I shared with no one.
I thought I conquered this fear a long time ago. That and the psychiatrist bills said I had. In truth, I’d conquered it on my own, this memory of the haunted woods and a lost little boy. Well, partially on my own, I had a little help from my dad and a friend who gave me the tools to deal with it. I am a man now, and I had overcome this. I’d done it by learning all about the outdoors. So, I thought I had put this particular terror behind me. Fuck!










Title: The Ballerina & The Fighter
Author: Ursula Sinclair
Series: The Ballerina Series (#1)
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance/ Multicultural Romance
Publisher:  Isisindc Publishing, LLC
Release Date: June 30 2013
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook
Blurb/Synopsis:
I travel through life dancing.
All I ever wanted to do was dance, as did my best friend. We'd made so many plans together, but one night an explosion changed it all. Only one of us survived, and I promised myself I'd succeed for us both. And I did, until an accident almost ruined my career, but Maze came back into my life when I needed him most. He pulled me out of the depths of my despair. But could I save him now?
I travel through life fighting.
It had always been Ivy; from the first moment I saw her leaping through the air like she had wings to lift her from the ground. But she was my dream, something I wanted more than anything else in my life. I promised myself I would stay away from her. Violence followed me everywhere and I tried to keep her far away from it. She was my point of illumination in the dark tumultuous world I lived in. But I could not stay away from her. Not when I knew she needed me. As much as I needed her. But could she accept me as I am?
Book Links

Amazon Free Download (Currently)


18866047Title: Maze
Author: Ursula Sinclair
Series: The Ballerina Series (#2)
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance/ Multicultural Romance
Publisher:  Isisindc Publishing, LLC
Release Date: Dec 26 2013
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook

Maze
There are times in life when you have to make decisions that others will neither understand nor forgive. When that happens, then you make damn sure they never find out.
But no matter what, you will do anything to protect those you love. Even if it means you forfeit your soul.
Ivy
He’s keeping something from me. And I’m not sure I want to know because it will forever change us.




Character Interview with Dante



Thank you Fallen Over Book Reviews for having me here today.
 My name is Dante Hammond and I am a professional dancer. Note, that’s not ballerina. Yes, I dance ballet, and do it damn well, that is the style, but a ballerina I’m not. Those are what females are called. I also dance different styles too. So please make sure you get it right when you write this piece. Male professional dancer. No not stripper. Although I’ve been known to do that too. *winks*
I’ve been dancing for as long as I can remember it is a passion, has to be otherwise why else would I put my body and myself through that kind of torture. Those fucking lifts are NOT easy, but you practice them enough times, you damn well learn to make them look like that way.

My mother used to be a dancer. She says I was dancing in her stomach before I was even born so it just made sense. Besides, I really do love what I do.
I’m in a profession where chicks rule, but I don’t mind. In fact, doesn’t hurt me at all being a male featured dancer in a female dominated profession. Let’s just say the woman love it and I love em right back. That is until I met Kali. She stopped me in my tracks. Now I dance only for her.



The Dancer
By Ursula Sinclair
Violence. Due to the content of this work recommended for 18+ only.
This is the third book in The Ballerina Series but can be read as a stand alone.

The first book in the series, The Ballerina & The Fighter is now Free for a limited time.
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1JXjEAH
B&N: http://bit.ly/1fSIxWc
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1OGLgNS
Itunes: http://apple.co/1IwlGaT








Ursula Sinclair is the alter ego for LaVerne Thompson, an award winning, best-selling, multi-published author, an avid reader and a writer of contemporary, fantasy, and sci/fi sensual romances. She writes romantic suspense and new adult romance under the Ursula.



She is currently working on several projects. Both of her daughters are now away at college. However, she and her husband don’t like the term empty nester. She’s added a cat to the household to keep the dog of the house company. Hopefully, writing will keep her sane. Visit her website at http://lavernethompson.com to read excerpts of her books.



Author Links

Facebook Group
Goodreads
Twitter
Website ~ Ursula
Website ~ LaVerne




Thursday, September 24, 2015

Review: The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins

2767052Title: The Hunger Games
Author: Suzanne Collins
Published: Sept. 14, 2008
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages: 374
Genre: YA/ Post-Apocalyptic, Teen
Review: Paperback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The 'tributes' are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.
When 16-year-old Katniss's young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12's female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives. , she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.