Sunday, November 30, 2014

Review: Dark Screams: Volume One: Various authors Edited by Brian James Freeman and Richard Chizmar

23165163
Stephen King, Kelley Armstrong, Bill Pronzini, Simon Clark, and Ramsey Campbell are the first contributors to a mind-bending new series of short-story collections that push the boundaries of horror and dark suspense to the bleeding edge. From Brian James Freeman and Richard Chizmar of the acclaimed Cemetery Dance Publications, Dark Screams: Volume Onereaches across genres to take readers beyond the precipice of mortal toil and into the glimmering void of irreality and beyond.
WEEDS by Stephen King
When a meteorite lands on his property, Jordy Verrill envisions an easy payday. Unfortunately for Jordy, this is no ordinary rock—and the uncompromising force inside has found its first target.
THE PRICE YOU PAY by Kelley Armstrong
Never pay more than you owe. Sounds like easy advice to follow. But for Kara and her childhood friend Ingrid, some debts can never be repaid . . . especially those tendered in blood.
MAGIC EYES by Bill Pronzini
Edward James Tolliver has found a weary sort of asylum among the insane. He knows he’s not one of them—but how can he tell anyone about the invaders without sounding that way?
MURDER IN CHAINS by Simon Clark
Imagine awaking to find yourself in an underground vault, chained by the neck to a murderous lunatic, a grunting goliath who seems more animal than man. What would you do to save yourself?
THE WATCHED by Ramsey Campbell
Little Jimmy gets a glimpse of the cold truth when he finds out that it’s not always what you see that can get you into trouble; it’s who knows what you see.

Friday, November 28, 2014

Review: Time of Death: Asylum (Time of Death Book #2) by Shana Festa

22711078
Surviving the journey is just the beginning.

The last two months have brought nothing but death and destruction for Emma Rossi. She survived the initial zombie outbreak with her husband, Jake, and their dog, Daphne, but the cost was steep: Sanibel has fallen.
In a world where the only constant is change, the group is pushed to their limits before reaching the gates of Asylum, a coastal stronghold in Sarasota, Florida.

Once again, Emma must navigate an apocalyptic wasteland filled with relentless hordes of the undead and other menacing horrors that threaten her survival.

Only thing is certain. No one is safe from what lurks on either side of Asylum's gates. Asylum may offer more than just safety.

Sanity will be tested; and many won't live to tell the tale.

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Review: Army of the Dead (Zombie Attack #2) by Devan Sagliani

22368381
Xander MacNamara’s adventure continues when he is placed in charge of a civilian colony outside Barstow. He and his young wife, Felicity Jane, are forced to deal with the daily grind of reconstruction, the constant menace of zombies, and an equally hungry cannibal tribe known as the Alphas.
Things heat up fast when Sonya, a mysterious stranger sent by a secretive benefactor, frees him from enemy captors. Once again, Xander and Felicity find themselves fleeing for their lives from a never-ending series of new threats as well as old ones. A hidden enemy within the military is hell bent on creating a secret weapon: genetically engineered super zombies! Friends and soldiers are pitted against each other, as one side races to spread the cure while the other battles to gain ultimate control over the fate of mankind.
‘Zombie Attack! Army of the Dead’ is filled with pulse-pounding undead action from the very first chapter until the bitter sweet end. Child celebrities, reality television stars, nightmarish zombie clowns, bikers, ninjas, warlords, and more -- this book has it all! The story takes off like a bullet and doesn't slow down until the last sentence. You won't be able to put it down!

Review: Zombie Attack! Rise of the Horde (Zombie Attack #1) by Devan Sagliani

21760281
When 16 year old Xander's older brother Moto left him at Vandenberg Airforce Base he only had one request - don't leave no matter what. But there was no way he could have known that one day zombies would gather into groups big enough to knock down walls and take out entire buildings full of people. That was before the rise of the horde!

Now Xander is on the run, fleeing south to Port Hueneme to locate his brother with nothing but his martial arts training and the katana blade left to him. Along the way he'll have to fight for his life against other survivors, neo-Nazi's, outlaw bikers, gang bangers, cannibals, cult members, and a seemingly endless sea of flesh hungry zombies.

But Xander is far from alone. Traveling with him are Benji, a 12 year old comic book geek, and Felicity Jane, a childhood celebrity with wild mood swings. Will they make it together in one piece to the safe zone or will they become the next meal for a hungry horde of wild zombies?

Zombie Attack! Rise of the Horde is filled with pulse pounding undead action from the very first chapter up until the bitter sweet end. From rock stars and celebrities to false prophets and miracle workers, this book has it all! The story takes off like a bullet and doesn't slow down until the last sentence. You won't be able to put it down!

Monday, November 24, 2014

Review: Slip by Leslie Portu

19476573
YA Fiction As Vivien Allen begins her junior year of high school, her expectations are flat. While the status quote has always been a source of comfort, she can't silence the small voice inside of her that yearns for something out of the ordinary. When her crotchety old French teacher is replaced by Christophe, an attractive young newcomer, she senses the possibility for change, and a strange, indefinable relationship begins. But, luck, it appears, has arrived in pairs, and Vivien soon finds herself the object of attention of Declan Mieres, the star senior lacrosse player. As her intimacy with both grows, so, too, does her unease. It becomes increasingly difficult to keep her two worlds separate. When at last they collide, the repercussions are far worse than she ever imagined.

Saturday, November 22, 2014

Product Review: Magnetic Screen Door by iGotTech




We received this product via Tomoson and the company iGotTech. 

I have been wanting to get one of these for the longest time. Not only do they look cool, but I figured it would be perfect for my household since both of my kids like to run in and out of the house constantly. 
Now I was very picky on where I wanted to put it. I figured I would try my front door as that is the door that we all use, but it didn't look like it would work unless I put it on the outside of the house where the rain and winds would get to it. 
Instead I put it on my door frame leading into my laundry room and my back door. And it seems to work perfectly. My two year old has already tried it out and likes going in and out.
Now I can keep the backdoor open while we are outside and I don't have to worry about the bugs especially flies coming into the rest of the house.

It took no more than 5 minutes to install and was super easy. The only tool you need is a pair of scissors and that is so you can cut the Velcro. We also used four of the tacks that came with it to help keep it in place a bit more securely. 
The magnetic that holds it down the middle stays together and there are no gaps. I am very impressed with the product and the way it is put together.

The Magnetic Screen Door was easy to install and both me and my husband worked together to make sure it went on correctly.
I do believe we will be buying more of these just to use through out the house and possibly give them as gifts. 





Pictures: Now some of them are dark but I could not get the right lighting on my phone.



My husband using a tack to hold it place.

My two year old helping daddy out. 

Her giving it a try.


My husband measuring it to make sure it fits.



The finish product.


Thank you iGotTech


 Below is a 7 second video of my daughter using the Magnetic Screen Door.




I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Review: Call Me Cat (Call Me Cat Trilogy #1) by Karpov Kinrade

20873239
"Make me forget about everything except you."

Catelyn Travis is a good girl who gets good grades in law school, doesn’t date and never gets into trouble.

But when a run of bad luck threatens to destroy everything she's worked for, she's forced to become Cat, phone sex goddess who fulfills the fantasies of her clients night after night.

When she meets Ashton Davenport the Third, bad boy biker billionaire, she knows to stay away. But when he calls her alter ego, Cat, she has no choice but to fall for the sexy stranger.

Now her life is spiraling out of control as she struggles to keep her two identities separate, but there's one person who knows her secret.

And he'll stop at nothing to destroy her, just like he destroyed her parents.

Threatened at every turn, her life crumbling around her, Catelyn must decide who she can trust, because the wrong choice could end her life.

Contains mature content.

Friday, November 21, 2014

Review: At the End of the Line by Kathryn Longino

22020067
A wrong number, and a cry of desperation at the end of the line, sparks a long distance friendship between two women who’ve never met. Through fourteen years of trouble and heartache from a stagnant domestic life, the struggle for civil rights, and the stigma of interracial relationships, a bond forms between the two that changes both of their lives forever.

It’s 1958, a time when women and Negroes are deemed second-class and are being second-guessed, from there arises the perfect storm for change, and the perfect time for an unlikely friendship.

Beatrice “Beanie” Peterson, forced to marry at fifteen and live with two sister wives, six children, and an abusive husband twenty years her senior, is looking for a way out.

Adeline “Liddie” Garrison, friend of Jack Kennedy, wife of a prominent Boston business man, and resident of Beacon Hill has already found her way in.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Release Day: Bulletproof by Melissa Pearl

bulletproofbanner



 
Bulletproof by Melissa Pearl
Release Day Blitz
November 20, 2014
Bullettproof_Pearl_High (1)
Morgan Pritchett doesn't need anyone. Strong-willed and confident, she's the master of organizing and looking after everyone around her. In her mind, she's bulletproof. But she has one weakness – men. She can't seem to live without them, yet is unable to find her perfect match. After yet another break up, Morgan promises her sister and best friend that she'll write off men for the rest of the year. But then she meets Sean Tate.
Sean Tate has worked hard to become a Hollywood actor, scoring minor roles and slowly making a name for himself as an action sidekick. After a chance encounter with the stunning Morgan Pritchett, he decides to take a risk and put his dancing skills to the test by signing on for the lead role in Superstar, a TV musical. He never thought he'd reconnect with the girl who urged him to ignore his manager and be honest with himself, but when Morgan shows up on the set as a production assistant, he realizes he's found his ultimate weakness — her. Their passion for dance and music will bring them together, but will their relationship be able to withstand the forces determined to pull them apart? As Morgan comes face to face with her demons and Sean decides just how much he's willing to risk for love, these two lovers discover something... they're not as bulletproof as they thought.

BUY IT AT:
~*~ABOUT MELISSA PEARL~*~
Melissa
Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan... not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. "Best. Year. Ever!!" She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books. Recently she signed with Evatopia Press and her first Evatopia book was released in February 2014 - True Colors, The Masks Series #1. She is very excited to be trying out new things this year while continuing to publish under her own name as well. She has six books releasing in 2014 and is excited about writing each and every one of them.
"I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love."
RAFFLECOPTER LINK:

Review: Erin the Fire Goddess Ripples by Lavinia Urban

23491648
The village of Galladale is in mourning.

There is a killer on the loose and they have one thing on their mind…..revenge.

Erin dives to the depths of the lake to the Merpeople’s realm where she is shown an entrance to the Rock. But is Erin ready to discover what is really inside? And will the killer be caught before they strike again?

Review: Erin the Fire Goddess: Changes (Erin the Fire Goddess #4) by Lavinia Urban

21528524
Could a simple 'I love you' really break a spell?
Dr Hammersmith is angry and Erin and Sean have to try and escape.
Can Erin deal with the Betrayal and Torment Sean put her through?
Kate thinks she sees Helen and is confused. She thought she'd killed her years ago.
Now Kate knows she's innocent. Will Charlotte believe her? Will she be able to prove it?
Is Sean really back to normal? Is he truly completely free from the spell that bound him or has he changed?
Jo is convinced she has found someone with a new power but can she convince his mother?
Everything is changing fast. Can Erin and her friends cope?

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Blog Tour: The Dreamer of Downing Street by Roberta L. Smith







Title: The Dreamer of Downing Street
Author: Roberta L. Smith

Series: The Mickey McCoy Series (Prequel)
Genre: Paranormal/Mystery/Romance/Historical
Publisher: Self Published

Release Date: Aug 23 2014
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print

Blurb/Synopsis:

In 1944 Denver, twenty-six year-old Franklin Powell is doing what he does best, helping clients with his psychic gift. Then his brother causes the past to come crashing into the present and a memory Frank has kept buried since the age of six surfaces. Now his life is in an uproar. He must prove that what he remembers is true or his mother may spend the rest of her life in prison. But even if he succeeds, it appears there is a powerful someone behind the scenes who could care less if she is innocent. Why? Because of a seething hatred for Frank. To make matters worse, the woman he loves needs his help with a serious problem of her own—a problem that could get him killed. Frank can’t let that stop him. He dives right in and while his psychic gift doesn’t seem to be doing him any favors, it’s a good thing that a couple of newly-acquired ghosts appear to be on his side.
Book Links

Book Blitz: Bound by His Desire by Nicole Flockton





Title: Bound By His Desire (Bound Series, #2)
Author: Nicole Flockton
Release Date: October 22, 2014
Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis:
From Nicole Flockton, author of Bound by her Ring – the last thing he wants is an emotional attachment to his new assistant, but it might be the only thing he truly needs.

Nick Rhodes has been burned before, so when he hires a new assistant, he has one rule: no emotional attachments. On either side. Pamela Bishop is everything he needs in a professional colleague, and comes with an ironclad guarantee – she absolutely will not fall in love with him.

Pamela Bishop has only one goal in her new job: getting on top of the mountain of debts incurred through her mother’s medical expenses. Jeopardising this chance by falling in love with her arrogant, if handsome, employer is the last thing she would ever do.

But as the lure and romance of New York City surrounds them, and Pamela and Nick find themselves spending more and more time together, they can no longer ignore the attraction flaring between them.

Nick has always lived by his own rules – can he learn to break them in time to grab this one chance at happiness?

Buy Links:
KOBOARe






About the Author:

On her very first school report her teacher said ‘Nicole likes to tell her own stories’.
It wasn’t until after the birth of her first child and after having fun on a romance community forum that she finally decided to take the plunge and write a book.
Nicole writes sexy contemporary romances, seducing you one kiss at a time as you turn the pages. She enjoys taking two characters and creating unique situations for them.
Apart from writing Nicole is busy looking after her very own hero – her wonderfully supportive husband, and two fabulous kids. She also enjoys watching sports and, of course, reading.

Stalk Links:


Monday, November 17, 2014

Release Day Blitz: Flirting on Ice by Veronica Forand and Susan Scott Shelley










Flirting on Ice
by Veronica Forand & Susan Scott Shelley
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Release Date: November 17, 2014



Mr. Perfect has found his kind of trouble…

Professional hockey player Zac Elliott is in top form. He’s having the best season of his career, the local fans can’t get enough of him, and he’s in the middle of the most successful contract negotiations of his career. When the sexy little spark between Zac and the team owner’s daughter blazes to life, no matter how forbidden, he can’t resist.

Philanthropist Heather Ryan can’t keep her hands off of Zac. If her father finds out, it could end Zac’s career and ruin her reputation. What they share is deeply passionate and intensely private...until the press exposes their illicit relationship.

Now the fans have viciously turned against Heather, Zac’s game is faltering, and even his team has deserted him. The only way out of the penalty box is for Zac to play hockey like life— and love—depends on it...





Veronica Forand is an attorney and an award-winning writer of romantic suspense.

She’s lived in Boston, London, Paris, Geneva, and Washington, DC and currently resides near Philadelphia. An avid traveler, she loves to roam across continents with her husband and kids in pursuit of skiing, scuba diving, and finding the perfect piece of chocolate.

Veronica is represented by Michelle Grajkowski of 3 Seas Literary Agency.



Susan Scott Shelley is an award-winning author of contemporary romance and romantic suspense.

She currently resides outside Philadelphia with her very own Superhero and spends her days writing about tough heroes, smart heroines, and love being the strongest magic there is.

In addition to writing romances, she is also a professional voiceover artist. Her favorite things include running, sports, hard rock and old Hollywood movies.

Susan is represented by Michelle Grajkowski of 3 Seas Literary Agency.