Tuesday, September 30, 2014

SALE: City of the Dead by Lucian Barnes


Series: Desolace Series
Book in series: Book 4
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Author: Lucian Barnes
Cover Artist: Katie Cowan
Editor: Melissa Ringsted of There For You Editing Services

SYNOPSIS:

Upon their return from the post-apocalyptic realm of future Earth, Edward and the remaining members of his group destroy the portal to keep a never-ending flood of zombies from wreaking havoc on Desolace. They are reunited with their ghostly friend, Amber, but have no weapons or supplies and are forced to return to the town of Loknar to seek help. After enlisting the aid of the town guard, and their new friend, Jasper, Edward leads the group toward his home town, the city of Elysia. When they arrive, Edward is saddened to see his once great city has been decimated. The lone surviving elder speaks to Edward of an incursion by the forces of darkness, which seems bent on completely destroying the largest city upon Desolace. Sending Edward and his faithful followers on a mission to the south, they soon discover a small town, seemingly forgotten and uninhabited for a very long time. Was it the work of the Black Knight and his minions which has left the city streets littered with corpses? If so, will they be able to stop his madness before it consumes Elysia and everything Edward holds dear to his heart?


Grab City of the Dead now for only .99¢ through Sept. 30, 2014


Author Bio:

Lucian began his writing career late in 2010, but has spent most of his life writing stories. He is a fantasy/horror novelist that enjoys weaving aspects of the paranormal into each story. Lucian's first published works were released in 2012. His last book, the fifth in the Desolace Series, Cemetery Hill, will have a portion of its sales donated to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. His next novel, a futuristic horror titled EL-204, is scheduled to release in October 2014. Lucian lives in Pueblo, Colorado.

For more about Lucian Barnes and the Desolace series:

http://lucianbarnes.wix.com/author
http://www.facebook.com/lucianbarnesauthor
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Desolace/292242934166864
http://www.facebook.com/groups/224805344323163/
http://booktropoloussocial.com/index.php?do=/profile-2884/

also on Twitter @LucianBarnes



Monday, September 29, 2014

BOOK BLITZ: A Little Like Fate by Cheyanne Young




IFB is hosting the promo event for Cheyanne Young's A Little Like Fate: Box Set Release. Check out the teasers below and enter the international giveaway!

23112467
Release date: October 1st 2014
Publisher: 336Love
Order: Amazon
SYNOPSIS VIA GOODREADS:
A New Adult Clean Romance told in 3 novellas.
Part 1
Robin Carter made a promise to her grandfather on his deathbed: to stop killing herself climbing up the corporate ladder and to follow her heart- wherever it may lead. Her plan is to quit her life and hit the road in the middle of the night. When her knocked up teenage niece begs to come along, the pair find themselves stranded in the middle-of-nowhere Texas. Too much alcohol and one redneck festival later, she’s starting to regret everything until she trips over a handsome cowboy named Tyler. Whether it’s the alcohol or his sexy southern voice that sways her, she doesn’t know. But she’s going to find out.


Part 2

Robin and her niece Miranda have decided to stay in the tiny but friendly town of Salt Gap, Texas while they figure out what to do with their lives. With only a picture to go by, Robin goes on a scavenger hunt through town trying to discover the link between her late grandfather and coincidence that brought her to the same place.

She’s still afraid of relationships, so when the hot cowboy Tyler starts to get a little too friendly, she’s more than happy to spot all the red flags she can find to help her avoid liking him. Like the waitress Elizabeth and her weirdly close relationship with Tyler. But as Miranda is quick to point out, they’re on a journey guided by fate and that can only mean one thing – if she’s meant to find love in Salt Gap, it will happen with or without her permission.

Part 3

With Tyler’s help, Robin discovers the secrets of her Grandfather’s past and learns what it means to be a part of the community at Salt Gap. Miranda’s baby is due soon and with the holidays around the corner, Robin and her niece are forced to confront the people and the drama they left behind when they moved.
When everything starts to fall apart, the guys in their new life help pick up the pieces of their old one and put everything back in place.



 


Cheyanne Young
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Cheyanne is a native Texan with a fear of cold weather and a coffee addiction that probably needs an intervention. She loves books, sarcasm, nail polish and paid holidays. She lives near the beach with her family, one spoiled rotten puppy and a cat who is most likely plotting to take over the world.

She also writes under the pen name Amy Sparling.


WEBSITE | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM



~EXCERPT~

My cell phone rings at an ungodly hour in the morning. I roll over on my air mattress and grab the phone off the floor, yanking it from the charger. It’s a phone number I don’t recognize. Oh, and it’s six in the evening. Not such an ungodly hour after all. 

“Hello?” I ask, not knowing what to expect. 

“Hey there.” It’s way better than anything I could have expected. It’s Tyler. 

“Hey. My rent check’s not late, is it?” I say it in jest, but in reality I’m not even sure what day it is. Every day blurs into the next one when you’re jobless. Although I’m pretty sure we’ve only been here a week. 

“I didn’t call for business.” His voice has a playful tone to it that sends a shiver down my spine. I roll over in bed and close my eyes. 

“Then why did you call?” 

“You want to get a drink tonight? Pop-a-Top?” 

“What is Pop-a-Top?” I ask. I try to sound like I don’t care what it is or what he’s asking, but I can hardly breathe without hyperventilating. Is he asking me out? There’s no way he’s asking me out. 

“It’s the only bar in town that’s decent enough to take a woman. I know I could use a drink and since you don’t know anyone in town, I thought maybe you could come along.” 

“Ah, okay,” I say with my eyes still closed. I’m trying to picture Tyler’s chiseled tan face but all I see is the back of my eyelids. It’s definitely not a date offer, though. Just a feeling-sorry-for-the-new-girl kind of thing. I sit up in bed and rub my eyes in an effort to wake up. I’m not a charity case. “No, thanks. I’m good.” 

The other end of the phone is silent for a few seconds. My mouth opens, but I feel kind of stupid asking if he’s still there, so I don’t say anything. With the terrible reception in this town, maybe he isn’t there anymore. 

He clears this throat. “Well…okay then.” 

I swallow and try not to think about how his voice sounded a like a mixture between bitter and disappointed. It doesn’t matter what he thinks. It’s not like I’m trying to impress him. I smile so it shows in my voice when I say, “Thanks anyway. I’m not much of a drinker.” 

“You don’t have to drink. You could come just for the scenic view.” 

“There’s scenic views in Salt Gap?” I ask. It sounds sarcastic but I’m being serious. 

He laughs. “Okay maybe that was a lie. Does seeing Big Large’s butt crack when he bends over to play pool count?” 

I know he’s just being friendly and it would probably help me to get out of the house, but I’m not dressed and I don’t know anyone besides Tyler. As much as the hairs on the back of my neck are tingling with the idea of going out with him tonight, I grip the phone tightly to my ear and say, “Thanks for the offer, seriously, but I can’t tonight.” 

“I’d like to know what’s so important that you can’t skip re-watching episodes of The Big Bang Theory to come have some fun on the town.” 

I roll my eyes and glance around my messy bedroom. “Wouldn’t you like to know.” 

Tyler’s voice turns coy. “I’m about to find out.” 

A bright beam of light appears in my bedroom window, scanning like a set of spotlights across my entire room as a car turns onto my street. No—I realize with a cold shock of terror—not onto my street, but into my driveway. I shoot out of bed and grab the first shirt I find, an old Texas A&M T-shirt that’s entirely too big, and throw it on over my sports bra. 

I take one look at my hair in the mirror above my dresser and realize there’s no reason to bother trying to rake my fingers through it—I’ve got one bad case of bed hair.



~GIVEAWAY~





Sunday, September 28, 2014

Review: Still Hunt by Diane M Haynes


In Still Hunt, the third installment of the 'Forest Magic' series, nineteen-year-old Micah Fuller is called to the home of his elderly Great Aunt Gisele in Bidwell, MA to learn her craft-communicating with the dead-unaware that she is about to pass into the spirit world herself. As expected, she leaves the bulk of her estate, including the Enchanted Forest to Micah, but the Will is contested by his cousin, Trey. A dangerous type of scavenger hunt in which Micah and his team are pitted against Trey's team will determine who inherits the Forest with its extremely powerful and valuable Crystal Cave. Can Micah win the Still Hunt and preserve the Enchanted Forest, or will Trey win and sell its valuable resources to the highest bidder? Will Haley stay with Micah, or will she succumb to Trey's Gift of Suggestion?

Friday, September 26, 2014

Review: Thirty Scary Tales by Rayne Hall

18308072
Thirty creepy, atmospheric horror stories by Rayne Hall.
These stories are 'quiet' horror, not overly violent and gory, although there are some graphic moments.

Please note: these stories have been previously published in magazines, e-zines and anthologies as well as in the Six Scary Tales collections.
British English.

Book Spotlight and GIVEAWAY: Fading Light by Angela Dennis

 photo Fading-Light-Banner.png







 photo Fading-Light.jpg
Title:  Fading Light
Series:  Shadow Born #2
Author:    Angela Dennis
Published:  September 23rd, 2014
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Word Count:  72,000
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Content Warning:  Sexual Material and Violence
Recommended Age:  18+
Synopsis:
Everyone has a breaking point.
Her hundred-year penance lifted, Shadow Bearer Brenna Baudouin returns to the Earthly plane with her partner, Gray Warlow, to keep the peace between humans and supernatural creatures—and to prevent another apocalyptic war from happening.
The attraction between them is nearing a critical point, but their checkered history has left Brenna unable to trust either her heart or her instincts.
It’s chaotic business as usual until humans begin turning to statues of dust. There is no explanation, no sign of magical foul play or a biological toxin. The humans are convinced it’s the work of a deviant supernatural faction, twisting the knife in the already tense relationship between their species. Brenna and Gray agree—the deaths have a former comrade-turned-rogue stamped all over them.
In a race against time, they enlist the help of both friend and foe to save the human race and stop the impending civil war. Along the way, they are forced to come to terms with their past and decide, once and for all, whether they will come together or fall apart.
Warning: Contains a heroine who knows her weapons but not her own heart, an outbreak of supernatural proportions, copious bloodletting, and a race to save an endangered species—humans. All tied up in a tight bow of sexual tension.
Excerpt:
Darkness embraced Brenna like a thick wool blanket. It wrapped around her, blocking the dim lamplight as she walked toward the seedy bar. Glass residue from the riots crunched beneath her leather boots. Mixed with snow, the bits of broken beer bottles and smashed windows glittered like an army of broken icicles. She breathed deeply, inhaling the cool night air. It smelled of sour beer and clove cigarettes and left a bitter taste on her tongue.
Shadows embraced the sides of the stone structure that housed the Dirty Ruby, one of the few multi-species bars in Denver proper. They stalked across the snow and mixed with the night to merge into a black mass. From its midst stepped a man. Well over six feet, he moved with grace in contrast to his size. The moonlight played across his face, highlighting his chiseled features.
Brenna’s pulse quickened and she took an involuntary step forward. Self-conscious, she ran a hand through her copper curls, freeing them from the careless bun. The thick strands streamed down her back like fire as she moved, her breath coming in quick harsh bursts. She slipped off her black leather duster and draped it across her arm. Without it the tight black corset left her taut belly and back exposed, but she didn’t feel the cold. She never did around Gray.
“Four demons. Thirty humans. Keep the casualties to a minimum.” Brenna brushed past him, tossing him her coat. “I’ll bring them out. You send them back to hell.”
“Hell?” Gray grinned. His teeth gleamed in the moonlight. “You speak human now?”
She shrugged. “When in Rome.”
Her back to him, she turned toward the freshly white-washed door. But before she could move, he had her shoulder in a vise grip. His fingers twined in the hair at the base of her skull. His breath hot against her cheek. “I know your other partners let you boss them around.” He turned her to face him. “I’m not them.”
He stepped forward, forcing her back. They moved in an awkward dance until her ass hit the stone wall. Trapped, she stared at him, wary. A shadow fell across his face hiding all but his piercing violet eyes.
“We enter together. Once they’re dead, we leave.” He stepped back, loosening his hold.
“The humans—”
“Won’t remember a thing.” He crushed his lips to hers even as he slid the duster across her shoulders. “And I’m not your coat rack.” Releasing her, he stepped back.
Brenna rubbed the back of her hand against her bruised lips. Gray would be the death of her.
If she didn’t kill him first.
  
 photo Angela-Dennis.jpg
About the Author:
Angela Dennis lives outside Cincinnati, Ohio with her husband, son and a sheltie with a hero complex. When she is not at her computer crafting stories, she can be found feeding her coffee addiction, playing peek-a-boo, or teaching her son about the great adventures found only in books.
Giveaway Details:
There is a tour wide giveaway. Prizes include the following:
  • $25 Amazon Gift Card & eBook copy of Fading Light (1 winner)
Giveaway is International.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 photo JGBSBanner.gif

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Blog Tour: E-Day by D.T. Dyllin

edaytour

e-day_frontcover_dtdyllinfinal 
Title: E-Day 
Author: D.T. Dyllin 
Series: M-Day #2 
Genre: Dystopian Romance 
Publisher: Tik Tok Press 
Cover artist: Lindsay Tiry 
Release Date: August 10, 2014

Synopsis: 
M-Day was the dawn of a brand new harsher world. A world where old lives could be left behind and secrets buried for good. At least that’s exactly what Tammie Miles had planned. But even with her new identity as Evo, she discovers that your past is never far. When a man from her old life tracks her down, will she risk everything to keep her secrets? Or will she finally learn that maybe even she can love the right man?




*May Contain Spoilers*


I received this book to give an honest review. Can I give this book more than a 5 rating lol.
You ever just read a book straight through and there was no putting it down? This was me with E-Day! The way D.T. draws you into a world of disaster and has you wondering what the hell is going to happen next is amazing. I love how I can read any of her work and just fall in love with the story being told.


E-Day is book two in the world of the infected and uninfected men. The infected men are like super-soliders who have an appetite for sex. But it is not your run of the mill wham-bam thank you ma'am, oh hell to the naw. It is more you are mine and mine only I will bite you and then track you down! I know scary right? You do not have to read book one to understand what is going on but I would recommend that you do so you can get a feel of the characters. With E-Day this is mostly all about Evo, if you read my review of M-Day (book one) you would know that I wanted to read more about Evo she is this bad ass chick that is a straight bitch but she is a lovable and loyal those that she lets into her inner circle. Max one of Evo's sisters from another mother plays a big part in E-Day as well, but Max has changed and it all has to do with the virus that has affected the men.
I have theory that goes with the virus on how it affects men and women but I am gonna to keep that to myself!
Everyone has a past before M-Day came along most of the survivors try not to think of the past but what happens day to day. Unfortunately Evo's past comes to haunt her. She ends up finding her ex-husband and of course battling the I-Men that intend on keeping him. This one was a bit more disturbing to read for me as I never once thought about I-Men being gay! So it totally threw me off my rocker, but it was awesome twist in the plot line.
D.T. has a way with giving each character their own personality along with a damn good story line that has you flipping the pages just to turn around and go damn didn't see that coming at all. The questions I had coming in my head were the same questions Evo started thinking and I do wonder if there are more "humans" out there and if not where are the bodies?
With Evo getting reunited with her ex which now wants to be named X, there is a supernatural change that occurs and I want to know more about the virus and how far will it change people. The action is just intense and I love it along with the lovey dovey that happens!

The Author
D.T. Dyllin is a Bestselling Romance Author who writes in both New Adult and Adult genres. She is a member of the RWA (Romance Writers of America) and also her local chapter, the MCRW (Music City Romance Writers).

 D.T. was born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. (Black & Gold for life, baby!) She now lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband and two spoiled GSDs.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Review: Fae - The Wild Hunt (Riven Wyrde Saga #1) by Graham Austin-King

22791503
Faeries... The fae... The stuff of bedtime stories and fables.

But sometimes the faerie tales are true. Sometimes they are a warning...

For a hundred generations the fae have been locked away from the world, in the cold, the Outside. They have faded out of sight and mind, into myth and folklore. But now the barriers are weakening and they push against the tattered remnants of the wyrde as they seek a way to return.

As a new religion spreads across the world, sweeping the old ways and beliefs away before it, a warlike people look across the frozen ocean towards the shores of Anlan, hungry for new lands. War is coming, even as the wyrde of the Droos is fading.

As the fae begin to force their way through the shreds of the wyrde, will mankind be able to accept the truth concealed in the tales of children in time to prepare for the Wild Hunt?

Monday, September 22, 2014

Review: Spectrum by Alan Jacobson


20977834
New York City: home to world-renowned museums, theater, restaurants, iconic sports franchises. Central Park. Wall Street. And an infamous serial killer who's terrorized the Big Apple for decades.The year is 1995 and the NYPD has just graduated a promising new patrol officer named Karen Vail. The rookie's first day on the job is anything but easy when she finds herself at the crime scene of a young woman murdered in an unusual manner. Vail is unsure of what she's looking at or what it means--but it's a case that will weigh on her mind for nearly twenty years.As the years pass, Vail's career takes unexpected twists and turns--as does the case that's come to be known as Hades. Now a skilled FBI profiler, will Vail be in a better position to catch the killer? Or will Hades prove to be Karen Vail's hell on earth?The character who has captivated readers worldwide--and who won the praise of literary giants Michael Connelly, James Patterson, and Nelson DeMille--returns in a story that captures the experiences that shaped the revered profiler and made her the top cop she is today.

Blog Tour: Beast part 4 by Ella James



 





 
If you read Beast part three, and you should have, since these are serials, I don't think I need to entice you to one-click this novella. Beast and Annabelle are f*cked - and you know they're f*ckING, too. Grab your guns and a few extra pairs of panties! We're on the lam, and it's sexier than ever.
Purchase on Amazon:
 
 
Haven't started reading the Beast series yet?  All of them are now available!




Beast Part 1: Free on Amazon
Beast Part 1: Free on iBooks
Beast Part 1: Free on B&N
FROM HOLLYWOOD ROYALTY...
At twenty-one years old, third-generation movie star Cal Hammond was on top of the world. He had more money than God and more women than any man could need. But when a night of debauchery ends in tragedy, he forfeits a life of luxury for a ten-year prison sentence at La Rosa, California’s most violent prison.
TO BRUTAL BEAST.
Eight years later, a ruthless, cunning man runs La Rosa from the inside. He is known simply as Beast. All the wardens fear him. All the gangs obey him. He speaks to no one but his inner council. What he says is law.
ONLY SHE CAN SAVE HIM.
Annabelle Mitchell’s stepfather is the warden at La Rosa. He deals as dirty as his trustees, and after years of smooth relations with Beast and the gangs he runs, Holt lands on the powerful prisoner’s hit list. That very afternoon, Annabelle pays a surprise visit to La Rosa, hoping to use her new counseling license at a place she thinks she could make a difference. When Beast sees her, he releases the warden and grabs the nameless girl who played a starring role in the worst night of his life. The price for the warden’s error is not death. It’s his precious Belle.
Beast Part 2: Purchase on Amazon
Beast Part 2: Purchase on iBooks
Beast Part 2: Purchase on B&N
Continue the dark, erotic journey of Annabelle, the warden's daughter, and the man she's pined for since high school. No longer Cal Hammond, actor, Beast is a brutal man who runs La Rosa Prison's gangs from behind a shroud of secrecy and lies. Can Annabelle's love save him from his tainted past, or will his deceit ruin both of them?
Beast Part 3: Purchase on Amazon
Beast Part 3: Purchase on iBooks
Beast Part 3: Purchase on B&N
Return to La Rosa Prison as Annabelle tries to save Beast from his grizzly fate. Her tongue and hands are doing most of the saving.
Okay, not really.
There's suspense and a healthy dose of smut, too. You know that's how you like it...
 
About Ella James
Ella James is a Colorado author who writes teen and adult romance. She is happily married to a man who knows how to wield a red pen, and together they are raising a feisty two-year-old who will probably grow up believing everyone’s parents go to war over the placement of a comma.
Ella’s books have been listed on numerous Amazon bestseller lists, including the Movers & Shakers list and the Amazon Top 100; two were listed among Amazon’s Top 100 Young Adult Ebooks of 2012.
To find out more about Ella’s projects and get dates on upcoming releases, find her on Facebook at facebook.com/ellajamesauthorpage and follow her blog, www.ellajamesbooks.com. Questions or comments? Tweet her at author_ellaj or e-mail her at ella_f_james@ymail.com.
Website       Facebook      Twitter    Amazon Author Page

Friday, September 19, 2014

Cover Reveal: Skateboard Zombies by Ace Antonio Hall



ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Ace Antonio Hall is an actor, former music producer, and ‘retired’ educator with accolades as a Director of Education for the Sylvan Learning Center and nearly fifteen years experience as an award-winning NYC English teacher. He has a BFA degree with a concentration in screenwriting and has published poetry, short stories and fiction in magazines, anthologies, newspapers and novels.
Inspired by his father, Chris Acemandese Hall, who penned the lyrics to the Miles Davis jazz classic, “So What”, sung by Eddie Jefferson, and his sister, Carol Lynn Brown, who guest starred in the 1970’s film, “Velvet Smooth”, Ace spawned his creativity into developing the beloved but flawed teen character, Sylva Slasher.
Ace was the Vice President of the Greater Los Angeles Writers Society (2009-2011), and continues to head the Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror (ScHoFan) Critique Group as Co-Director of critique groups within the society. He is also a member of LASFS and the International Thriller Writers.
On April 14, 2013, Montag Press published his YA zombie novel Confessions of Sylva Slasher. His next release, Skateboard Xombies, is coming out later this year, and he has already begun working on Skateboard Xamurai for the third installment in his Sylva Slasher series.
Looking for some zombie gear? Check out Ace’s Zombie Pop Store!


EXCERPT
HoloBleet – @sylvaslasher. Entry 526: I heard this song on my mother’s Visual iPod I bought her last Christmas. Here are the lyrics to the song which literally blew my mind: “The lunatic is on the grass … The lunatic is in the hall … And if your head explodes with dark forebodings too, I’ll see you on the dark side of the moon … And if the cloud bursts, thunder in your ear, you shout and no one seems to hear …” –Pink Floyd, Brain Damage
601 ReBleets, 11,493 Followers

DON’T THINK, FEEL
I stared into Jun Lee’s delightful violet eyes. His spirit wavered around me in a twisted battle of angst and charm. He was bald, except for a lone purplish-blue ponytail that nearly touched the Travertine-tiled floor. His smile broadened as helifted the thoughts from my head the way a cat burglar lifts a priceless diamond from the confines of a highly secured jewel display. He was a mind-dweller, a seer of thoughts, just like his father.
I gazed toward his flawless face, yet trembled like a statue that had been bumped by a reckless quake. I was frozen, declared inanimate from the moment his warm hand brushed against my neck, and his strong fingers grasped the back of my head, pulling my lips within a whispered breath of his own.
The mind-dweller’s audience salivated with anticipation. I, who had raised hundreds of the dead from the grave, and stared death in the face more times than I can count, sat in a blend of awe and terror of this beautiful vampire.
I fought to keep my mind, struggled to hide my thoughts. Yet, every fiber of my being burned with an intensity that mirrored the sweltering heat of the reddened night air outside of his parlor. I fought his intrusion the way an eagle’s feather argued with a strong breeze. It was futile. My memories opened to him like prey into a dragon’s mouth.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: Skateboard Xombies: Search for the Crystal Coffin

Series: A Sylva Slasher Novel #2

Author: Ace Antonio Hall

To Be Published: December 2nd, 2014

Word Count: 80,000

Genre: YA Horror

Synopsis:
Sylva Slasher is about to drop out of high school … again. Thanks to another zombie outbreak that made her ditch graduation the first time. And that’s just for starters. Ever since the initial undead invasion, she’s been suffering from an anxiety disorder called PTSD–the same that soldiers returning from war get–but she’s only a teenager and her battles fighting the walking dead is more than traumatizing.

Now, Sylva is facing the most powerful zombies she’s faced yet: deadheads with telekinetic power. Help for Earth seems hopeless and a clan of vampire monks help Sylva, her skateboard-fanatic friends and her family escape to their home on an alternate world. Somehow, the telekinetic zombies find the same portal to that world and the only way to stop that world from total annihilation is to help a devious sorceress find her lost daughter’s soul; hidden in a secret crystal coffin.



GIVEAWAY
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Review: Unbreakable Kami Garcia

12371862
Supernatural meets The Da Vinci Code in this action-packed paranormal thriller, the first book in a new series from New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia.

I never believed in ghosts. Until one tried to kill me.
When Kennedy Waters finds her mother dead, her world begins to unravel. She doesn’t know that paranormal forces in a much darker world are the ones pulling the strings. Not until identical twins Jared and Lukas Lockhart break into Kennedy’s room and destroy a dangerous spirit sent to kill her. The brothers reveal that her mother was part of an ancient secret society responsible for protecting the world from a vengeful demon — a society whose five members were all murdered on the same night.
Now Kennedy has to take her mother’s place in the Legion if she wants to uncover the truth and stay alive. Along with new Legion members Priest and Alara, the teens race to find the only weapon that might be able to destroy the demon — battling the deadly spirits he controls every step of the way.
Suspense, romance, and the paranormal meet in this chilling urban fantasy, the first book in a new series from Kami Garcia, bestselling coauthor of the Beautiful Creatures novels.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY: Ash To Steele by Karen-Anne Stewart

Title: Ash to Steele
Author: Karen-Anne StewartPublisher: Karen-Anne StewartPages: 342Genre: New Adult RomanceFormat: Paperback/Kindle
Purchase at AMAZON
Emma

Who I am and all I believe is marred with just one glance into angry, steel blue eyes. He seems to control my air, my ability to breathe. He makes me crave everything I know is a sin. Pure becomes tainted and lines are blurred. It's my fault; I'm the one who isn't strong enough. I've been damaged...broken. Breck's words haunt me...'There's a consequence for every choice you make.'
Breck

I've had so many women I can't even remember over half of their names, but none of them are mine; I make damn sure of that. I take what I desire and never look back. I don't need or want anyone, ever...not until I met Emma. Those eyes bore into what's left of my soul and her touch sears me, weakens me. I want to hate her for that. She is my ruin...my sweetest hell.

Monday, September 15, 2014

Review: Exiled: Kenly's Story (A Talented Novel) by Sophie Davis

22324971
Kenly Baker is alone. TOXIC has been defeated. Her friends from the McDonough School for the Talented are scattered to the wind. Even Kenly’s only living family member cannot hide the scared teenager from those who wish to contain her. Because Kenly is one of the Created.
For her, it’s a future worse than death.
She travels across the Atlantic Ocean, to the slums of London. There, Kenly finds tentative acceptance among a group of outcasts. They have spent their enire lives dodging shadows, barely staying alive. Kenly thought she knew what horrors haunt the night, but her new companions reveal predators far more alarming than anything she’s ever faced. Suddenly, she is brutally aware of the dark side of humanity.
Kenly’s biggest concern was the UNITED trackers, who round up and capture the Created. But there are adversaries in this new world who are far more terrifying. And unfortunately for Kenly, now their sites are set on the Created.

Review: History of Fire (A Dark Faerie Tale #5) (A Dark Faerie Tale #5) by Alexia Purdy

18048957
No one knows the secrets he keeps.

No one knows of the worlds that exist right alongside ours.

Benton is human, but he walks the line between two worlds: the mundane and the supernatural; the commonplace and the extraordinary. As a rare Fire Elemental Warlock, he finds himself in trouble more often than he cares to admit. It doesn’t help that his sister is a Faery Queen of the Summer Seelie Court.

This is Benton’s story as he makes his way between the mortal world and a world where magic reigns. Do you dare follow? Do you dare see what lurks just beyond the edge of perception?

Can be read as a stand alone novel.

Books in this world:
Evangeline
Ever Shade
Ever Fire
Ever Winter
The Cursed
Ever Wrath

Blog Tour: Broken Souls by Laurie Olerich

Tour-LO



Broken Souls by Laurie Olerich Series: Primani, #4 Publication Date: September 5, 2014 Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
brokensouls-new
synopsis


Stalked by evil… Psychic Rori Austin’s life is over. She just doesn’t know it yet. Plagued by recurring nightmares and terrifying fugues, she’s hanging on by a thread. When she blacks out and wakes up in 1969, she knows she’s out of control. Broke and alone in the city that never sleeps, she’s desperate to find someone who can hold back the darkness in her mind. When gorgeous Declan shows up out of nowhere, she’s thrilled until he starts asking questions she has no intention of answering.



Haunted by guilt… Primani Declan Manning is a ruthless killer and a renowned healer. Demons fear him. Humans love him. Life is good. The last thing he needs is a human woman. After saving Rori’s life, he walks away but can’t forget the fear in her exotic eyes. They haunt him, dredging up memories better left buried deep. Intrigued by her secrets, he uncovers the horrifying truth. She’s been marked for Hell, and her time is up. He’ll risk his own immortality to save her soul…if they can find the demon in time.
excerpt

HEY, YOU’RE AWAKE.” Moving slowly so he wouldn’t scare her, Dec leaned into her field of vision from a chair next to the bed.
His little mystery woman had been out for hours. Just now easing awake, she was disoriented and groggy. Intending to comfort her, he wrapped his fingers around her cold hand. Flinching like he’d shocked her, she jerked her hand away with a gasp.
Sorry, sweetheart.”
Oops. He needed to dial it back some. Their saol did that to people if they didn’t rein it in before contact. She scooted against the headboard, eyes wide with fear and confusion. As they darted around the room, he got a good look at them. Cognac? No. Bourbon. Definitely bourbon. Her eyes were the shade of top shelf Kentucky bourbon. Tilted up at the corners, heavily lashed, with thick black rings around her pupils, they were stunning. Cheetah eyes. Beautiful and hypnotic. Exotic. He couldn’t look away. For the first time ever, he was speechless.
His eyes drifted over the rest of her face, taking in the pallor and dark circles. She frowned, shielding herself with the sheet as if it would protect her. Nothing could protect her from him. He could do anything he wanted. But he wouldn’t. He didn’t have it in him. Her vulnerability called to the warrior in him. He sensed her emotions as easily as he read her expression. She was scared, confused, and desperately trying to remember how she’d gotten here. He should say something… anything. He had a pretty speech all planned out until she opened her eyes and destroyed his ability to think.


Rori watched the man’s eyes linger on her face and tried to force her own expression to stay blank. Who was he? Where was she? When? Her mind raced in a mad scramble for information. This was not good. She wasn’t where she was supposed to be. How did she get here? This hadn’t happened before. She always woke up where she fell asleep. Glancing around the room, she searched for a clock or a calendar… anything with a date on it.


badge-addtogoodreads




about author

laurieolerichHi! I’m Laurie Olerich and writing is my passion. I love to create guilty pleasures full of exciting locations, rollercoaster action, strong, quirky heroines, and steaming hot heroes who’ll raise the temperature in any room you’re in! Paranormal romance? Check! Urban fantasy? Check! Romantic suspense? Check! My Primani series combines the best of the three. When I’m not plotting, writing, or fantasizing about my next hero, I’m planning parties, traveling, and spending lazy nights with my son, my Dal pals, and my friends. If you’d like to get to know me better and keep up with my works in progress, look me up on the Internet. I’d love to hear from you! Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Goodreads ~ Email giveaway