Monday, June 30, 2014

Cover Reveal: Olympus Confidential by Robert B. Warren

Dragonfairy Press is pleased to present the cover for Olympus Confidential, book two in the Plato Jones series. Be sure to add this series to your TBR list!


Title: Olympus Confidential
Author: Robert B. Warren
Series: Plato Jones #2
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Dragonfairy Press
Expected Publication Date: November 6, 2014
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18481939-olympus-confidential
Synopsis:

When a band of super-powered humans stirs up trouble in New Olympia, Zeus knows just who to call.

Wisecracking private investigator Plato Jones is used to cleaning up the gods' messes. But this might be his most dangerous case yet, placing him deep behind enemy lines, in Tartarus Maximum Security Penitentiary. After infiltrating the enemy's organization, Plato inches closer to the truth. But he learns a hard lesson along the way: to defeat a villain, he might have to become one himself.


About the Author:



A fan of thrillers, fantasy, and science fiction, Robert B. Warren has been writing stories ever since he could hold a pencil. In 2009, he received a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and creative writing from the University of Alabama—Roll Tide! He currently lives in the south.


Sunday, June 29, 2014

Review, Excerpt and GIVEAWAY! Secrets by Dawn Kirby





Title: Secrets
Author: Dawn Kirby
Series: Serenity Series (#1)
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Twisted Core Press L.L.C
Release Date: April 2013
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:

Leah has locked away secrets her entire life; secrets from her friends, secrets from her mother. To Leah they were simply quirks. Little things she couldn't explain...phenomenal senses, light sensitivity, the ability to read people using their unique scents.
The darkest secret of all was hidden inside Leah. A secret her mother, Mia was determined to keep silent. Trusting an old friend with her daughter's safety, Mia kept Leah's secret well-guarded. A vow made long ago never to let the monster that took Leah's father step foot in their daughter's life again.
In a fit of revenge fueled by years of jealousy, Mia's secret is revealed, throwing Leah's life into a free fall. A trail of blood and bodies soon follow Leah wherever she goes.
Leah is suddenly thrust into a world she never knew existed; A world as fascinating as it is deadly. Beings foreign to her step in to protect her. As Raine takes his place beside her, he is forced to face a few secrets of his own.
Will they uncover the secrets that bind them? Will they succumb to the devil himself?

Friday, June 27, 2014

Review: Fat Chance (The Kingsley Series, #1) by Brandi Kennedy

17281759
Meet Cassaundra Keaton, an adult orphan raised in the foster system. She's overweight and struggling to survive in a world that makes her feel like she can never fit in. Follow her journey as she learns to trust and love herself, and watch her grow as she finds love. But will an issue from her past rise up to ruin her new life?

Review: Rhapsody in Paris by Ju Ephraime

22588251
This couldn’t be happening to her. A fall on the track where she runs every day, a chance meeting with the most handsome stranger she’s ever seen, and Franchesca LaCasse, an accomplished biochemist, usually able to handle any situation, finds herself hungering for the stranger’s touch, as he gently caresses her face to determine the extent of her injury. With each touch of his hand, he draws her like a moth to flame.
“Look at you,” he whispered, his accent thick and gravelly, the thickest she’d ever heard it.
Damon Dumont comes to an abrupt stop to avoid running over the woman lying in his path on the track; he can’t just walk away. She is not moving. He turns her over to check for a pulse and is not prepared for the unusual beauty of the woman. Everything about her fascinates him, her gorgeous eyes, and the pièce de résistance, her beautiful head of hair—flaming red, his weakness. He calls for the paramedics, and when they arrive decides to accompany her to the hospital. In this moment of near crisis, a spark has been struck and neither can escape the sensual fire that threatens to consume them as they surrender to passion’s embrace.

Review: Rare Earth by Colin P. Smith

22295728
This is an expose' of the global industry which kills animals for their horns, ivory and other body parts. It is a shocking revelation of mans greed, ignorance and callous disregard for defenseless animals and fellow human beings. It explores the industrial scale of the trade in animal parts, from the top men down to the poachers on the ground. It reveals how the poached items are secretly moved from one country to another. It also discusses how ineffectual current methods are at preventing this vile trade and reveals novel ways by which mans revolting obsession for these materials could be stopped for ever, through the use of applied science and innovation. Warning; Some readers may find parts of the book to be upsetting as it graphically illustrates the cruel methods used by poachers to harvest ivory. Sadly, the reality is far worse than described in these pages.

Spotlight: Ivy By: Dahlia Donovan

Widowed photographer Ivy Langdon avoids people in general after her husband’s death. She ventures out days before Christmas for last minute gifts and stumbles into the middle of a terrorist attack in London. Will her luck ever change?

Steven Samuels and his partner Gareth Richardson are called in with their company, Blackbird Security Firm, to rescue the hostages. They never expected to find their perfect mate while saving the world. The more the two wolves learn about Ivy, the more that they want to make her theirs.

Love is never simple or straight-forward and life is often stranger than fiction.

Ivy finds herself drawn into a strange world of shifters and human traffickers.

Can love’s true bite find her before trouble does?


Ivy

Dahlia Donovan


Purchase Links

Excerpt #1

With Christmas right around the corner, Ivy reluctantly ventured out to pick up presents for her family and friends.  She would have preferred to stay in her flat to watch re-runs of the Vicar of Dibley.  She had been half-way through the holiday’s specials.
Squeezing between a group gathered outside Harvey Nichols, Ivy made her way into the store and rode the escalator to the second floor.  She tuned out the couple in front of her who were arguing about what to purchase for their son.  She tried to map out her shopping plans in her mind, hoping to save time and get her away from the happy shoppers as quickly as bloody possible. 
As she stepped off the escalator, an explosion on the first floor rocked the entire building to its foundation.  The lights overhead flickered several times as ceiling tiles fell and shattered on the ground in front of her.  Ivy ducked her head quickly to avoid the dust and debris in the air.
Gunfire followed the explosion and sent everyone into a mass of swirling panic.  A passing stranger in the fray knocked Ivy to the floor.  Crawling through the swarming chaos to hide behind a nearby perfume counter, she noticed a cabinet large enough for her to squeeze her petite frame inside. She dove in and slid the door shut.
The shouts and screams seemed to continue forever, though her watch told her it had been ten minutes at most.  Ivy turned her phone on silent and sent a quick text to a friend who had been in Alec’s unit.  She didn’t dare place a call, but someone had to let the authorities know there were survivors in the store.
For now.
After several tense moments of waiting, Ivy pulled her phone back out to frantically check the news.  It was impossible to know how long the cabinet would remain safe though moving didn’t seem like that good of an idea either.  Her friend texted a response to say the police were on their way, and she should do her best to avoid detection.
Avoid detection.
Very bloody helpful.
She already knew that much. Alec had been a military man.  They’d known each other long before University.  He proposed during their second year there. Over four happy years of marriage. He had made sure to teach her the basics of self-defence and security awareness.  Not for the first time in two years, Ivy missed him so much her heart ached.
Ivy sat in the cramped cupboard for close to an hour when she realised that she desperately needed the loo.  Bugger. She couldn’t risk it, could she? The restrooms were directly across from where she was hiding. 
Another ten minutes passed.
It was time to try to either run for the loo or piss herself. Deciding she didn’t relish sitting in her own urine (not very pleasant), she cautiously eased the door open and waited for any signs of the armed men.  She didn’t know if the silence was comforting or terrifying.
Keeping low to the ground, Ivy crawled along the floor.  It brought back memories of watching her husband when he had been training young recruits.  She could hear his deep voice in her head describing the best and quietest way to low-crawl.  She made it into the loo without being seen.
She finished her business as her mother liked to call it.  The difficult decision now was whether to stay in the toilets or make her way back to the little cubbyhole.  She glanced around the room with an assessing eye.  If the terrorist bastards decided to come inside, there was nowhere to hide effectively from them.
Back to the cupboard.
Definitely.
Retracing her route across the floor seemed somehow more daunting as Ivy started to make her move.  She was halfway to her cupboard when a strong hand grabbed the back of her coat and lifted her off the ground.  His other hand clamped around her mouth to muffle the scream she’d been about to utter.  He dragged her backwards into what appeared to be a staff locker room.
Bugger.
Oh, bloody hell.
The second he had her backed into the staff room, Ivy went from passive captive to violently struggling to escape.  She had no intention of going without some sort of a fight.  His hands pinned her arms to her side and crushed her back against his body. 
She closed her eyes and waited for the knife or gunshot she knew was bound to come;  the irony of dying two days before Christmas was not lost on her.  She tried desperately not to fidget.  She realized after a moment that she hadn’t actually felt a weapon at any point. In fact, the hands holding her while firm were also very gentle. 
Taking a deep breath to calm herself, Ivy was surprised at how good the man smelled; he reminded her of dark chocolate and something exotically spicy.  She told her mind and body to behave themselves.   She would not lust over a perfect stranger who was probably about to murder her.
Why the hell hasn’t he done something yet?

Teasers 



Excerpt #2

If insomnia intended to plague her, Ivy might as well get something useful out of it.  She grabbed her camera bag and tripod.  There was enough moonlight to allow her to easily walk one of the well-trodden paths from the cottage down to one of the nearby lakes.
Setting her tripod up in a clearing, Ivy started to play around with angles and lighting.  The water shimmered perfectly under the moon.  She thought if she did give into Dane’s pressure to have an exhibition, it would be filled with images of Wales.  She made another adjustment and took a few more shots.
Her mum had been right about needing to get out of her flat. Not just out of the flat, she had to take more trips out of London.  Her photography blossomed when it involved less concrete civilisation and more wild nature.  Before Alec had died, she travelled at least one week out of a month.  She hadn’t been anywhere since he passed away.
Ivy somehow didn’t find herself all that surprised when a cranky white wolf ran up to her after thirty minutes or so.  He growled at her and nudged the back of her knee with his nose.  He became more insistent when she ignored him.
“Stop that.” Ivy flicked him on the top of the head. “It’s the middle of Wales, not a war zone.  The greatest danger I have at the moment is being knocked over by you or possibly being run over by a rampaging sheep.”
Gareth snarled at her.  She had a feeling it might be the wolf version of a sarcastic snort.  She raised an eyebrow at him and went back to her camera.  He growled at her again, but she refused to pay any attention to him.
“I’m not arguing with…” Ivy lunged forward to grab her tripod when his tail bumped against it. “Oh, go lick yourself, and stop being so bloody growly.”
“Gareth.”
Ivy glanced over her shoulder to find her other suitor in his two-legged form. “If you’re going to growl at me too, you can bugger off and take your furry friend with you.”

About the Author

Dahlia is a bit of a hermit.  She’s happiest with a large mug of coffee or tea (two sugars and drop or two of milk) and a good book.  She lives for comfortable jeans and over-sized sweaters.  Ivy is her first novel and it started life as an attempt to complete National Novel Writing Month.  
Find Dahlia online athttp://dahliadonovan.wordpress.com/




Thursday, June 26, 2014

Blog Tour: Enoch The Traveler by Lady Soliloque





Title: Tempestas Viator
Author: Lady Soliloque
Series: Enoch The Traveler
Genre: Science Fiction/Christian
Publisher: World Castle
Release Date: Jan 2014
Edition/Formats Available In: Audio/eBook/Print
Blurb/Synopsis:
Tempestas Viator
And Enoch walked with God: and he was not; for God took him.” Genesis 5:29
Enoch, The great Enoch, born into a world as a stranger, taken out of time to the Caelestis Concilium where he learned all the secrets of creation: the parallel dimensions, parallel worlds, and multitude of universes which make up the multiverse along with all of the races and beings that exist within them. An immortal existence surrounded by the Angelus and a millennia of knowledge, all that ever was and all that ever could be, distanced him from the humanity he was born with and he traveled through creation without purpose or empathy. Ultimately, his loss of humanity and inability to empathize caused a disastrous string of events in various universes and forced the Angelus to put him on trial for his involvement and imprison him.
Tempestas Viator is the story of Enoch the Traveler, and of how he finds Violette, who changes the Caelestis Concilium’s ruling and leads him on a journey through the worlds and dimensions of the Multiverse to rediscover that which he has lost.

Book Links






Lady S is a genuine and bonifide Southern Lady. She is an author who also excels in video editing, audio production, public speaking, and hosting terrific themed convention dances. She adores guesting at and participating in SciFi conventions and she will be the first to tell you that above everything else she is a Geek and a Fan and all Geekie Fans need to have fun!
The international release of her new Science Fiction series, Enoch the Traveler, was celebrated in 3 countries with a live streamed international release party on January 11th and followed up with a smashingly successful Barnes & Noble’s signing event the following weekend. The audio dramatization of Tempestas Viator, the first book in the series, is set to premiere February 22nd and includes an international cast along with well-loved BBC Doctor Who/Torchwood actor Gareth David Lloyd as the narrator.
The excitement surrounding Lady Soliloque’s new series is palpable as it comes with a full line of exclusive costuming and merchandise from AbbyShot Clothiers, gadgets and reproductions from Warfire Forge, a full original composed score and theme, a licensed RPG to be released this summer, and a full promotional tour.
As an author Lady Soliloque has years of published credentials including short stories and the popular original novels, The Oubliette 1 & 2 and Immortalis Venatio, but her fan base exploded when she wrote the four book Doctor Who novel set, Tempus Temporis. The Doctor Who novels were so successful that she turned them into an audio drama in the style of Big Finish, complete with a worldwide cast and full 3D sound effects. Two seasons, 13 episodes, behind the scenes tidbits, and over a million downloads later, Tempus Temporis was nominated and received several awards, most recently an honorable mention from the Geekie Awards.
In her spare time, Lady S creates and edits Fan Videos which she posts on her YouTube channel and shares with several fan pages and websites. Her award winning videos have also increased her fan base immensely, clocking over a million channel views.
Lady Soliloque is currently scheduling the Enoch promotional tour along with Gareth David Lloyd, who is co-guesting with her, and her amazing team of cast and crew.

Author Links




Blog Tour Excerpt and GIVEAWAY: The Traveler by Melissa Delport





Title: The Traveler
Author: Melissa Delport
Series: The Traveler Series #1
Genre: SciFi Romance
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: March 3 2014
Edition/Formats Available In: eBook
Blurb/Synopsis:
Seven years ago, Rachel gave her heart to a dark, intense stranger, who left her broken and alone.
Every day since then Rachel has thought about Dex, her memories refusing to be silenced.
Now, Dex is back, but this time he is not alone. He has brought a formidable army – their sole purpose to conquer. Fate will bring Rachel and Dex back together, but on opposing sides of a war that threatens to obliterate her world.
Pitted against the power of the elements, Rachel and her friends must survive tsunamis, earthquakes, tornadoes and fire, all the while being hunted by a powerful enemy who will stop at nothing to pillage her planet.
Fleeing for her life amidst the chaos of a raging, burning city, Rachel realizes man’s only chance of survival lies in the hands of the very person who betrayed her all those years ago.
Earth is destined to fall, but Rachel is determined to save mankind, no matter the sacrifice.

Book Links



Wife and mother of 3, Melissa Delport is the author of The Legacy Series, Rainfall & The Traveler. She graduated from the University of South Africa with a Bachelor’s Degree in English in 2000. She currently lives with her husband and three children in Hillcrest, South Africa, and is hard at work on the final book in The Legacy Trilogy.

Her first novel, The Legacy, self-published in 2013, is the first in The Legacy Trilogy, and is followed by the sequel The Legion. The main-stream publisher, Tracey McDonald Publishers, is re-releasing The Legacy and The Legion in July 2014. Book 3 of the trilogy, The Legend, is due out in 2015. Melissa has also written an independent novel entitled Rainfall, a psychological romance, and a science-fiction, action-adventure called The Traveler.

An avid reader herself, Melissa finally decided to stop “watching from the sidelines” and to do what is her passion.

“I was driving home from work when inspiration struck, and a storyline started unravelling in my head. For a few days, it was all I could think about and eventually I realized that the only way to get it out of my head, was to put it all down on paper. I started writing, and that was that.”


Author Links


Excerpt 

“She’s one of them,” she counters. “She needs to die.”
“And she will.” His voice is so cold that I cringe.
“What are you waiting for?”
“Why did you abandon your post?” He changes the subject, sounding furious, and she looks almost sheepish, although she gives a haughty toss of her black mane.
“I’m bored.”
Reluctantly I tear my gaze away. This is my chance to get out of here. I can’t hang around to eavesdrop on their conversation. Without the bridge there is only one way to get back to the others quickly. I scramble over the concrete debris and, without hesitating, I plunge into the unusually icy water. The weight of the heavy jacket pulls me down, but I throw one arm in front of the other, hauling myself across the lake, the cries of the others encouraging me to keep going. After a few exhausting minutes I feel my strength waning - my numb, tired body resisting all my efforts - but the sudden frenzied screams from above rouse me from my weary numbness. Looking upward, my relief that I am over halfway across is quickly replaced by fear. The brown-haired young man who we picked up on the street near Times Square is leaning out over the side of what remains of the bridge above me, his finger pointing northeast in the direction I have just come from. Jason, beside him, is gesturing wildly, “Swim!” he roars and in a panic I turn to look.
Dex is positioned at the edge of the lake, crouched down on his haunches, his glowing eyes fixed on me, his expression unreadable. The woman is standing just a short way behind him, her jet-black hair blowing in the high wind. Dex has one hand outstretched, palm facing downward, resting on the water and under his bare touch the water is turning to ice. Spreading from his fingertips, moving much faster than I am swimming, the frozen mass moves swiftly toward me. I can feel it as well as see it, a pressure, building in the water and growing in intensity with every passing second. I come to the terrifying conclusion that I’m going to die, trapped in a cold, frozen grave. I turn and double my efforts, each stroke a grueling victory. My arms are so heavy they feel leaden and the cold biting into my skin is agony. Peter has already made his way to the water's edge and I can see the others, having warned me, sprinting back across what remains of the bridge. I almost weep with relief when I finally feel the cold, wet earth beneath my hands and I scrabble desperately, trying to pull myself forward. Peter plunges into the water lifting his feet as high as possible as he races toward me. Grabbing the back of my jacket he hoists me to my feet and we turn and shuffle toward the others, who are still yelling, urging us to hurry. Risking another glance over my shoulder I see that the ice is upon us and I give a scream of warning. Peter doesn’t turn around but he suddenly shoves me forward and I fall into Jason’s waiting arms, safe on the hard ground. Peter gives a bellow of pain and we turn to see his legs trapped from just below the knee in the ice.
We leap forward and, as I step onto the lake’s frozen solid surface, I glance across to where Dex is still crouched. He is watching me but he stands quickly and turns to the woman who is yelling beside him, her hands indicating that she is clearly unhappy that we are still alive. Dex is replying, but there is no way to know what it is that he’s saying.
“We have to get out of here!” I whisper urgently as Jason and I tug futilely at Peter's arms trying to pull him from the ice.
“It's frozen solid,” Peter gasps through gritted teeth. “You need to find something to break it.” I glance around and my gaze falls on a large boulder lying on the ground nearby. I lift it and drop it heavily beside Peter’s body but the ice barely chips. I give a howl of frustration. I can hear that Dex is raising his own voice now and I turn to check on them. Voka is standing at the water's edge, her arm raised, pointing straight at us. Dex falls silent but I can sense that he is still staring directly at me, his green eyes burning into my face.
We have all turned to watch; even Peter has stopped struggling and is looking over his shoulder, his eyes wide. A ball of fire blossoms in Voka’s hands as though out of thin air and blazes brightly, casting a flickering light over their black clothing. I grab Peter’s arm and start pulling with even more urgency but he yanks it out of my grasp and takes me by the shoulders, dropping his head and forcing me to look him in the eye. Over his shoulder I can still see the light blazing, growing bigger by the second.

“Run,” is all Peter says, before releasing me and shoving me toward the edge of the lake back towards the park. I cannot leave him; he saved my life coming into the water, and I half-turn back but Jason grabs my jacket and pulls me away. Kate is already making her way into the trees assisted by the newcomer and I stumble blindly along with Jason. Just before we reach the safety of the tree-line I hear it. It is a whooshing, hissing sound and I turn, just in time to see the fire-ball streaking across the surface of the lake. Peter looks up at me, a sad smile in his kind eyes and then it hits him, engulfing him in an inferno of flames. I feel the bile rise in my throat as the blaze suddenly goes out. There is nothing left of Peter but ash.     


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Review: Flare by Paul Grzegorzek

20846555
Malcolm King is a journalist living in trendy Hove on the south coast of England. His days are taken up with video meetings and research on the internet while he writes articles for magazines around the world.

When a solar flare of unprecedented magnitude hits the Earth, effectively hurling us back to the stone age in a matter of hours, Malc is thrust into a terrifying new world as he travels the length of the country to find his young daughter.

Society, a fragile construct at best, shatters as the survivors fight each other for food and water, neighbour killing neighbour as fires rage through the cities, destroying much of what's left.

Faced with difficult choices at every turn, Malc draws his strength from those around him; Emily, a tough, no-nonsense soldier with a soft spot for lost causes and Jerry, a disgraced astrophysicist who may be the only person left who understands what's happening with the sun.

With their help, he must struggle to answer the ultimate question.

What won't he do to get his daughter back?

Monday, June 23, 2014

Review: The Cost of Crude by Inge-Lise Goss

22094600
Gwynn Reznick's life is shattered when her best friend and co-worker at Wilton Oil & Gas Company dies in a car crash. She doubts it was an accident. Her suspicion is confirmed when a private investigator, Ruben Dordi, shows up at her door. His team has discovered a trail of unusual deaths and disappearances among Wilton employees. To make matters worse, Gwynn is under constant surveillance by those responsible for her friend's death. But that doesn't deter her from getting involved in the investigation. Danger lurks in every corner of the Wilton Tower. One false move could turn a risky situation into a death trap. As the investigation team digs deeper, they begin to unravel a sinister plot that threatens a catastrophic pipeline disaster. Will they solve the crime before it is too late?

Sunday, June 22, 2014

Cover Reveal: A Perfect Love by Becca Lee

Designed by: LM Creations

A Perfect Love (Perfect #2)

“When the odds are stacked against you,
you don’t run and hide.
You step up and give life the middle finger.”

Jo is confident her life is about to spiral out of control and change irrevocably. What she doesn’t expect is just how far her world will tilt. Floundering and confused, she discovers life and love isn't always knee deep in hearts and flowers. Sometimes, life’s middle finger is pointed firmly in the air.

Liam never expected perfect, but from the moment he said "I do", he knew he had it. What he doesn’t expect, is life throwing crapballs the size of Ayres Rock at him! Sometimes, life’s aim is a little too accurate.

When Mother Nature steps in and throws their world into disarray, Liam and Jo need to decide just how far they’re willing to go to find their perfect love. 

Saturday, June 21, 2014

Review: The One (Species Intervention #6609 Book 6) J.K. Accinni

21770198
Almost a hundred years pass. The Earth is ready for habitation. But it is a far different Earth from the one last seen so long ago. New plants and forms of wildlife from different worlds populate the planet, as chosen by the Womb.
The survivors, as expected, have not aged a day since the bombs dropped. New alliances have been made; relationships that should have led to the birth of children flourish unhappily without babies. The original wildlife is still with them, along with their generations of offspring. Every human now realizes their role is to support the animals.

And what of poor six-year-old Suzy as she is mourned and forgotten by her grandfather and sister?

Scotty is hailed as The One to restore domination by the humans, even as they all fail to understand how. Struggles ensue as the survivors discover the perils of the new and amazing life delivered to the planet by the Womb. They fight to eke out a role in the new ecosystem that has put them at the bottom of the food chain.

As the survivors begin to develop a new civilization for themselves above ground; the new natural order thrusts women into positions of power. Will the softer of the species spell success for what is left of the human race? Or are the mistakes of the past doomed to be repeated?

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY: The Soul of the Sun by Genevieve Crownson


Title: The Soul of the Sun
Genre: Paranormal/Young Adult
Author: Genevieve Crownson
Publisher: Genevieve Crownson
Pages: 348
Format: Paperback; Kindle

Purchase at AMAZON

“The hands of time turn on the face of the sun. Only you can move them. If the Watcher controls the hands of the clock he can go anywhere, past or future-- and destroy our planet.” 

Since the days of ancient
Greece, the Argos dynasty has kept a secret, a mystery passed down through their descendants from generation to generation, in the hopes that the forces of good can stop the evil destruction of planet Earth. 

Margaret Ingall is harboring that secret. Time is running out for the descendants of the
Argos. They know a great healer and time traveler will be born of their blood. But the only person that knows whom they will call “the soul of the sun” is Margaret’s sister, Abigail. Before she can reveal the healer’s identity, disaster strikes… 

Evil stalks them, watching and waiting to find out which member of her family has the ultimate power. Is it Margaret’s own child? Or her beloved granddaughter? Or even herself? Their only clue is a powerful protective amulet that will lead them all in a cat-and-mouse game to discover secrets as ancient as time.
 

If the Watcher discovers the truth before they do, all will be lost.
 

Fate, time and love weave together in their struggle to fulfill their destiny. Will Margaret’s fears sabotage her family’s protection? Can the healer accept her gifts in time? And once the soul of the sun is finally revealed, will it be too late?
 

Her power is incredible. The sacrifices required of her are immense.
 

Will it be enough to stop the Watcher?
 

Excerpt:

The rain fell in sheets around me, it was gloomy and depressing, but I didn’t feel a drop. I was completely encased in light; I was a moving, breathing, flaming yellow orb that no one could penetrate. I watched in amazement as my broken leg instantly healed and the torn pajama fabric cinched itself back together. My jaw pain ceased. I closed my hands over the amulet, now humming with intensity. In a split second, I was vibrating with the same power. The wind picked up and the sky loomed black. The moon lay dark behind an inky sky and somehow strange chanting words flowed out of me. Lava hot and fraught with meaning, they rose to a fever pitch. Every word was a part of me, part of my being. Words from another time, Tanga’s time, slipped from my lips as though it were my native tongue. It was the inscription on the amulet, of that much I was sure.

I stretched my glowing hands out to Thomas.

I call on you Lady Isis.

Protect Me.

For I am the one, the Soul of the Sun.

I plead with you and your son Horus to give refuge.

Patroness of Nature and Magic bring all my power and your power together to glorify
what is right and true in this world.

Honor your name and those we safeguard from harm. Let time be taken from no man.

Amen.”

He was laughing at me.

“You stupid little twit, did you honestly think that would work? You think that I can’t take what’s mine?”

As he spoke, I chanted the same words, repeating them over and over. I saw fear cross his face just for a moment when he realized I was using the amulet’s power. A brilliant beam of light continued to radiate from my core. It was strange, the light now shone gold instead of blue. It must have changed when it sealed together. I continued to watch and to my astonishment, he became transparent and, with a puff of smoke, evaporated into the heavens. I could hear his heart-rending screams echoing through the ocean’s storm. Drained completely of energy, I crumpled, exhausted, onto the sand.

About the Author:

Genevieve Crownson graduated from the College of Charleston with a Bachelors of Science degree. A love of writing led her to pen her debut novel, The Soul of the Sun. This is book one in her highly anticipated trilogy, The Argos Dynasty. She currently lives in beautiful Charleston, SC with her family and beloved four-legged friends.

You can find her at www.genevievecrownson.com.

Connect & Socialize!


Genevieve Crownson is giving away 2 $25 Amazon Gift Cards!

  • By entering the giveaway, you are confirming you are at least 18 years old.
  • Two winners will be chosen via Rafflecopter to receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card.
  • This giveaway begins April 7 and ends June 27.
  • Winner will be contacted via email on Monday, June 30.
  • Winner has 48 hours to reply.
Good luck everyone!

ENTER TO WIN!

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Review: Benton: A Zombie Novel (Benton #1) by Jolie du Pre

20550352
Zombies have killed everyone in the Benton household--all except twenty-something Jennifer. She's escaped her bedroom, but what now? Waterbank, Illinois is overrun. Where can she go?
A chance encounter with seven other young survivors points her toward Texas. A charismatic, handsome young man named Mark says he can lead them all to his family's ranch. He's sure they'll be safe there. Jennifer wants to trust him, with her life and possibly her heart.
There's no place else to go, there's no way to escape the zombies but through, and there's no telling if Jennifer and Mark will live long enough to act on the emotion building between them.

Review: The Closet (Summerset Tales #1) by Jac Wright

18043841
Love is a battlefield. Who will get out of it alive?
Harry Duncan Wood runs a hotel in the historic city of Bath with his beautiful young wife. When he falls in love with Mill House, an old greystone farmhouse on the banks of river Avon among the soaring hills of Somerset, and sets about moving his family there, the first appearances of the cracks in the marriage take him by surprise. Is his wife seeing another man? Duncan needs to get to the bottom of the affairs for his own sanity. Sometimes, however, ignorance is bliss and will also keep everybody alive.
The Closet is written in the tradition of Charles Dickens' The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy's Wessex Tales as the first in the collection of literary short fiction, but with an added element of suspense. It accompanies the first title in the author's full-length literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer, published by Soul Mate Publishing, New York.

Book Tour and GIVEAWAY: Whole Latte Love by Rachelle Ayala

Investment banking intern Carina Chen doesn’t need any distractions - especially the sexy, guitar-playing barista she rooms with for the summer.
Free spirit Dylan Jewell appreciates the delightful universe of women who vie for his attention. His goal in life is to do good, make happy coffee, and help the homeless.
When Carina moves in, she insists on rules of conduct to quell her instant attraction to Dylan. But when her boss asks her to turn Dylan into a businessman, she can’t think of a reason not to take advantage of his hospitality.
Their chemistry is white hot, but Dylan refuses to play Carina’s game, unable to understand how he can fall in love with a woman who puts profits in front of people. When Carina realizes Dylan isn’t budging, she risks all to gain a single night with him. Will her gambit backfire or will Dylan discover Carina’s true heart before she runs away with his?
Set in Berkeley, California, Whole Latte Love is an opposites-attract romance mixing bluesy rock music, hot, steamy love scenes, and financial shenanigans.

Review: The Body In the Woods by April Henry

18490532
In this new series told from multiple perspectives, teen members of a search and rescue team discover a dead body in the woods.
Alexis, Nick, and Ruby have very different backgrounds: Alexis has spent her life covering for her mom’s mental illness, Nick’s bravado hides his fear of not being good enough, and Ruby just wants to pursue her eccentric interests in a world that doesn’t understand her. When the three teens join Portland County Sheriff’s Search and Rescue, they are teamed up to search for a autistic man lost in the woods. What they find instead is a dead body. In a friendship that will be forged in danger, fear, and courage, the three team up to find the girl’s killer—before he can strike one of their own.
This first book in April Henry’s Point Last Seen YA mystery series is full of riveting suspense, putting readers in the middle of harrowing rescues and crime scene investigations.

Monday, June 16, 2014

Review: The Reckless Engineer by Jac Wright

20436304
Coming soon . . .
Love is a battlefield.
The aftershocks of an affair reverberate out to those in the lives of the lovers, who will NOT take it lying down.
Jack Connor's lives an idyllic life by the Portsmouth seaside married to Caitlin McAllen, a stunning billionaire heiress, and working at his two jobs as the Head of Radar Engineering of Marine Electronics and as the Director of Engineering of McAllen BlackGold, his powerful father-in-law Douglas McAllen's extreme engineering company in Oil & Gas. He loves his two sons from his first marriage and is amicably divorced from his beautiful first wife Marianne Connor. Their delicately balanced lives are shattered when sexy Michelle Williams, with whom Jack is having a secret affair and who is pregnant with his child, is found dead and Jack is arrested on suspicion for the murder.
Jeremy Stone brings London's top defence attorney, John Stavers, to handle his best friend's defence.
Who is the bald man with the tattoo of a skull seen entering the victim's house? Who is "KC" who Caitlin makes secret calls to from a untraceable mobile? Has powerful Douglas McAllen already killed his daughter's first partner and is he capable of killing again? Is Caitlin's brother Ronnie McAllen's power struggle with Jack for the control of McAllen Industries so intense that he is prepared to kill and frame his brother-in-law? Is the divorce from Jack's first wife as amicable on her part as they believe it to be? Are his sons prepared to kill for their vast inheritance? Who are the ghosts from Caitlin's past in Aberdeen, Scotland haunting the marriage? What is the involvement of Jack's manager at Marine Electronics?

The cast of characters is made even more colorful by the supporting entourage: the big Scott and his gang, Hosé and Heineken, who carry out Douglas McAllen’s “troubleshooting;” McAllens' bumbling solicitors McKinley and Magnus Laird; Caitlin McAllen’s handymen, Cossack and Levent; and Jeremy’s sidekick, the gay black actor working in the London West End.

While Jack is charged and his murder trial proceeds in the Crown Court under barrister John Stavers’ expert care, Jeremy runs a race against time to find the real killer and save his friend's life, if he is in fact innocent, in a tense saga of love, desire, power, and ambition.

Spotlight and GIVEAWAY: Much Ado About Mother by Celia Bonaduce

 photo Much-Ado-About-Mother-Banner.jpg

 photo Much-Ado-About-Mother.jpg
Title:   Much Ado About Mother
Series:  A Venice Beach Romance
Author:  Celia Bonaduce
Published:  May 29th, 2014
Publisher:  eKensington
Word Count:  approx. 70,000
Genre:  Romance, Women’s Fiction
Synopsis:
Look out, Venice Beach–the Wolf women are all together again. But when 70-year-old Virginia arrives with her teacup Chihuahua and unshakeable confidence, she senses trouble. Erinn is keeping secrets–like being broke and out of work–and Suzanna is paying too much attention to the wrong man–a Latino dance instructor who nearly broke her heart once before. Virginia’s ready for the third act of her life, and she intends to make it rousing and romantic. Now she just has to convince her daughters to throw out their old scripts. If life has taught Virginia anything, it’s this: there’s more than one way to a “happily ever after”…

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Spotlight and GIVEAWAY: Deceitful Truths by Maggie Thom

 photo Deceitful-Truths-Banner.jpg







 photo Deceitful-Truths.jpg
Title: Deceitful Truths
Series: The Caspian Wine Series # 2   
Author:  Maggie Thom
Published: March 2014
Publisher:  Quadessence Solutions
Word Count: 105,000
Genre:  Suspense Thriller
Content Warning:  Non-graphic sex and abuse
Synopsis:
He created a legacy that no one could imagine…
Tarin has lost a week of her life. She doesn’t know what happened but not long after she returns to work she is suspended from her job. Confused and pregnant, she quits and agrees to marry Stephen, only to be thrown into a whole new nightmare. Desperate, she grabs her son and moves across the country to get away from her abusive husband and to avoid her unforgiving father. Thrilled at getting the job at Knights Associates, where she’ll help them solve cyber crimes but also be able to use their connections and resources to find her own answers. Who stole a week of her life? And will they return to steal the secret she is now protecting?
Graham and his partner Guy, can’t keep up with the demand. They are being flooded with requests at Knights Associates, where they offer a combined service of private investigator and that of solving cyber crimes. It appears that someone wants to get their attention as not only have they been hacked but Guy’s family business, Caspian Winery, seems to be under attack as well. Hiring an assistant seems to be the answer but when Graham discovers she’s been accessing their high-security accounts, he realizes the cause of their predicament might be closer then he thought. Is there new assistant behind the problems they’re having? If she’s so innocent why does someone want to abduct her?
Tarin and Graham discover that although they don’t trust each other, they are forced to work together to solve several seemingly unrelated crimes that may lead to one disastrous conclusion. Can they figure it all out before Tarin’s nightmare plays out? An eighty year old woman pays with her life? Or before Tarin learns a truth that may seal her fate and be the one secret that will keep her and Graham apart as neither one of them may be able to forgive or forget…
(Caspian Wine Series, Book Two – Standalone but is a Sequel/Companion Novel to Captured Lies)

Monday, June 9, 2014

Review: Perverse by Larry Rodness

17227210
19 year old Emylene Stipe, a 2nd generation Goth, is shaken to the core when her make-believe world turns out to be real.

Review: Blood of Kaos by J.D. Miller

17341347
In one night, Etain is torn from a world of childish innocence to be plunged into a realm of deadly chaos. Forced to run for her life, she stumbles into the realm of the Alamir, human warriors infused with powerful magic who defend the delicate balance between good and evil. But not even the Alamir can protect her from the Bok’Na’Ra pursuer that murdered her family.
Lord Darknight and Midir, raised as brothers, are the light and the dark of a single soul, split apart by ancient priests when but a child. Midir has known of Etain’s existence most of her life and has conspired to possess the power she holds, power that will give him reign over the evil Bok’Na’Ra, nemesis of the Alamir. Lord Darknight, Dar to those closest to him, unaware of her existence, rescues the young woman after a violent clan battle which proves to be a pivotal moment in both their lives. His charge as a Krymerian mandates he protect and train her in the ways of a warrior however soon realizes their connection runs much deeper than teacher to student.
Old friends reunite and unexpected alliances are forged as Midir’s thirst for power escalates. It will take the courage of an Alamir, combined with the strength of a Krymerian, to battle the dark brother’s rising influence over the Bok’Na’Ra while, at the same time, will test a passionate bond too powerful to ignore.

Spotlight and GIVEAWAY: Briksanna's Sacrifice by Sabrina Rawson

 photo Briksannas-Sacrifice-Banner-1.jpg
 photo Briksannas-Sacrifice-1.jpg
Title:  Briksanna’s Sacrifice
Series:  Four Realms # 1
Author:   Sabrina Rawson
Published:  April 22nd, 2014
Word Count:   147,000
Genre:  NA Urban Fantasy Romance
Content Warning:  Sexual Content
Recommended Age:  16+
Synopsis:
Princess Briksanna has always known The Prophesy would catch up to her no matter how far she ran. Spending two thousand years hiding in the Earth Realm haunted by memories of heartache and pain in constant fear of capture by Lord Drakkoon, she finds herself unsure if she has the courage to be the person everyone needs her to be in order to stay one step ahead in a chase for her survival and of those she loves. So, when she discovers experiencing the feeling to freely love, she is pulled into a quest that will not only test the boundaries of her heart, but the life of her unborn son for the sake of saving the universe from total destruction.
Nathanial knows who he is on the Earth Realm and what kind of man he is for Princess Briksanna. But, what kind of man will she need him to be in order to fulfill The Prophesy she has spent the last two thousand years eluding? Tragedy has everyone travelling from the Earth Realm to the Second Realm of Skaldanna pushing his comfort zone knowing he has no knowledge of court expectations, but together with Briksanna and their family he believes he can succeed where all others have failed in dissolving the reign of Lord Drakkoon.
Can Briksanna and Nathanial find the undisputable faith in themselves to accomplish what needs to be done despite the sacrifices made to save their friends and family while establishing peace within the Second Realm?
Excerpt:
Grabbing her hand before she could step into the shower, he said “There is nothing plain about you. I am both humbled and honored that you have chosen me to share your love, no don’t look away, that’s right, I said love. Bri, I will not turn away from this thing we have to go through. I love you more than I want to breathe. I may have doubts now and then, but in the end I will always do the right thing. Now get in there and wash up. The sooner you do that the sooner we can eat.” Eyes glistening listening to his declaration of love for her, she felt another crack in the armor she had built around her soul. “I love you. I have wanted to say that for a long time. I did not know how or if you felt the same way. I was afraid to tell you before, but am no longer.” Sounding more confident she pleaded with her eyes for him to believe her. “Thank you for being here with me. I do not know what I would have done if you were not here with me. Truly, I do love you.” Not hesitating when he spoke next, “I love you forever” Appearing as if it was the hardest thing in the world to do, he closed his eyes, kissed her lightly on the forehead then turned around and walked right out the bathroom, closing the door, allowing her the privacy of a warm shower.
 photo Sabrina-Rawson.jpg
About the Author:
Although Sabrina has been physically writing for two years the ideas that conceived her first novel have been percolating in her mind for many years. In many ways she found life experiences influencing her story although written in fantasy format.
Nelson Mandela’s words inspired her: “There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.”
No truer words could have been said. After her first cancer battle four years ago, she was in the frame of mind of surviving, trying to get back to her swing of things. Problem was she couldn’t get past the feeling of disconnect. She realized she was no longer the same person pre-cancer and relapsed by the end of her first year since her initial diagnosis. She exited that experience exhausted and has had multiple tumors pop up ever since the initial year. Her health was a mental and physical challenge, but the hard part was realizing she had left her passion in the operating room back in 2010. Cancer did not take her passion away, she put it away along with her drive and ambition. Her creative muse happily skipped outside her consciousness with the rest of them. She  had to discover herself from scratch and it was a challenge she learned to work with and continues to this day. One thing she found uplifting was creating stories on paper and it didn’t take long for her to turn to her computer to bring the lives of her creation to fruition. Today she is four years post her first surgery and even if she had to do it again in a few months, it wouldn’t matter. She refuses to settle for a life less than what she can create for herself.
Sabrina lives in Sonoma County, heart of the wine country of California, enjoying life in the rural land happily married to a wonderful supportive husband. You can always find her reading a book, cooking a meal for her multitude of children or playing with her dog, Taylor.
Giveaway Details:
There is a tour wide giveaway. Prizes include the following:
  • Signed print copy of Briksanna's Sacrifice & tote bag
Giveaway is US only.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
JGBS Banner photo cropped-header2.png

Saturday, June 7, 2014

Release Blitz: Just Friends? By K E Osborn




Just Friends? by K E Osborn is now available for purchase for $2.99 at Amazon. For Amazon and kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KR8L1BM A talented young singer and actress, Australian born Katerina Barrett, decides to follow her dreams and move to the United States of America to attend AMDA College in Los Angeles, to further her music and acting career. On her orientation day a cocky, self absorbed and arrogant Will Sanders, catches her attention. Immediately she’s drawn and she knows she should stay away from him and concentrate on her career – but, life is never that easy. The chemistry is undeniable and Kat doesn’t want to let her guard down. When she gives herself to Will, she’s left hurt when he confesses that he doesn’t do the 'relationship thing'. Through a turn of fortunate events they are both chosen to play the lead roles in an up and coming new indie movie, the Nightwalker Series. Their relationship blossoms as does their fame, turning their world upside down and leaving them asking, are we ‘just friends’? Please note: these books are for mature audiences 18+. They contain explicit language and sexual content.