Thursday, August 23, 2012

Character Interview with Celeste from The Gryphon Series by Stacy Rourke.


Character Interview with Celeste Garrett of The Gryphon Series

This is my first ever character interview and rafflecopter giveaway so please bear with me. Hope you enjoy the covers of the book that I will be sharing and good luck to the one special person that will win both book 1 and book 2  that the lovely Author Stacey Rourke donated they are ebooks. But you can read them with the kindle app anywhere. Phone, computer, kindle. 

If you have not read her books I highly suggest you go and get them they are awesome and I have done reviews for both of them which you can find here on my blog. 

Places to purchase Book 1 The Conduit and Book 2 Embrace:

The Conduit:
Paperback Amazon and Barnes and Noble:
http://www.amazon.com/The-Conduit-Gryphon-Series-Volume/dp/0985266325/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1345485723&sr=8-3&keywords=The+Conduit
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-conduit-stacey-rourke/1111905901?ean=9780985266363

Kindle and Nook:
http://www.amazon.com/The-Conduit-Gryphon-Series-ebook/dp/B007H7UMR0/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1345485723&sr=8-5&keywords=The+Conduit
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-conduit-stacey-rourke/1107395872?ean=2940044687929

Embrace Book 2:

Paperback Amazon and Barnes and Noble:
http://www.amazon.com/Embrace-A-Gryphon-Series-Novel/dp/0985266341/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1345485841&sr=8-7&keywords=Embrace
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/embrace-stacey-rourke/1109594784?ean=9780985538507

Kindle and Nook:
http://www.amazon.com/Embrace-The-Gryphon-Series-ebook/dp/B0080GLL5Y/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1345485866&sr=8-10&keywords=Embrace
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/embrace-gryphon-series-book-2-stacey-rourke/1112134874?ean=2940044697713

The old cover of The Conduit:


The New cover of The Conduit:







Character Interview of Celeste Garrett star of The Gryphon Series interviewed by Stacey Rourke, author of the series.


Stacey- Celeste, thanks so much for being with us today!

Celeste- Uh, I only exist in your head. You know that right? So, its kind of a "where you go, I go" situation.

Stacey- (talking behind her hand) I get that, okay. But would you just please play along?

Celeste- Whatever, Boss Lady. Thanks for having me and congrats on your public display of schizophrenia.

Stacey- You're mouthy. You know that?

Celeste- I am what you made me.

(Stacey scowls, Celeste gives her a big grin.)

Stacey- Let's move on, shall we?

Celeste- Sure, this is fun!

Stacey- So, in book one of The Gryphon Series, The Conduit, you found out that because of a pact your ancestors made you're the fabled Chosen One. How has your life changed since then?

Celeste- Well... I was going to go to college and be an art teacher. Now I have an army of demons chasing me and trying to kill me on a pretty much daily bases. So..uh..things have been better. Wait a sec, that was all YOUR doing! You made me the Chosen One! Why you....

Stacey- Next Question?

(Celeste huffs.)

Stacey- Are you going to pout for the rest of the interview? I've done nice things for you, too! What about Caleb, we meet him in book 2, Embrace. He's all kinds of fun eye candy! I made him just for you!

Celeste- He is pretty amazing. You cooked him up in your head?

Stacey- Yep! The face and hair of Ian Somerhalder, abs of Joe Manganiello, body of Alex Pettyfer and Irish accent of Gerard Butler. Nice, huh?

Celeste- Very! And I thank you for letting me play with your Frankenstein-esque creation, however I think you may be watching too much TV.

Stacey- Well, this isn't about me, is it?

Celeste- Easy, don't get all huffy. I have a question for you. (leaning in) So in book three do Caleb and I....(wiggles eyebrows suggestively)

Stacey- Celeste! First of all, if you aren't mature enough to say what the act is you're not ready to do it!
Secondly, your Grams could be reading this!

Celeste- I know she is. Who do you think told me to do the eyebrow thing?

Stacey- Oh for crying out loud. Moving on. 

Celeste- That wasn't a yes or no.

Stacey- I guess you'll just have to wait and see like everyone else. So, we also meet Rowan in book 2, the golden haired bad boy pirate. Let's talk a little bit about him. 

Celeste- Oh, you mean the hot demon that can control my mind with a simple touch and makes me lose complete control of my inhibitions? Yeah, he is a hoot.Thanks a bunch for that. That'll make fidelity with Caleb super easy. 

Stacey- Oh don't worry, you won't have to juggle both of them  for very long. 

Celeste- What?! Why? Is someone going somewhere?!

Stacey- Well, that's about all the time we have for today....

Celeste- No it's not! I live in your head and will not let you sleep until you answer me!

Stacey- To our readers, please pick up a copy of The Conduit and Embrace by me, Stacey Rourke, and look for Sacrifice coming this fall wherever fine books are sold.

Celeste- Writers block will look like nothing compared to the sit in I'm staging until you answer me! Not one creative thought will leak out! Don't act like you can't hear me!

Stacey- Also catch a special Gryphon Series short in the Paranormal Days Gone Awry Anthology releasing this Halloween by Anchor Group Publishing.

Celeste- Ever gotten your butt kicked by a figment of your imagination? 'Cause your itching for it, Rourke.

Stacey- Thank you to our guest, Celeste, for her time and thank you all for joining us. Happy reading! 

Celeste- You. Me. Parking lot. Now. 

Thank you again Stacey and Celeste for the wonderful interview! Below is the rafflecopter that I am hoping you all will enter into!

Please make sure you LEAVE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS IF YOU DO NOT JOIN MY BLOG. You can leave your email address in the comments or by emailing me saying I entered into the giveaway. My email address is foamfamily08@yahoo.com 
That way if you win I know how to contact you. Thank you



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Leap Day by Mozart

Leap Day

                                                                               Kindle Edition
                                                                                Published on July 7, 2012 by Twin Wicks Publishing
                                                                               A SIN: B008IJ9E7U

Synopsis:

7 short stories from the world of the weird and unusual.

Every four years we have to add another day to the calendar to make up for the time that we skip over while we carry on with our normal lives. So what happens on that abnormal day when the rules change and tab is a cash only sale?
Join us for a day while irony replaces currency and sanity takes a joyride through town. Have a smoke with the residents of the hospital and after dinner take a drive through the desert and a flight across the polar ice caps. Then wrap it all up with a cup of tea on a luxury ship. It won't last long and you won't have to do it again for a while. Just don’t expect it to be normal.

My Review:

I received this book from the author for an honest review.

Each story was unique in its own way. I think the first story really freaked me out because I did not see the ending to be that outcome. Really freaky! 

The stories range from scary to bizarre and were a great read. If you have time on your hands and want a quick and unique read give this book a chance. You may enjoy it.  The good thing about this book was you could put it down at anytime and pick it right back up. 

My Rating:
 5 wine glasses!



'Til Death Do Us Part (an adult retelling of The Little Mermaid) by Dianna Hardy

'Til Death Do Us Part (an adult retelling of The Little Mermaid)      Copyright 2011 Dianna Hardy
                                                                     Published by Satin Smoke Press, via smashwords Nov. 2011
                                                                         A SIN B006C0XZGS
                                                                         Cover Images Shutterstock.com
                                                                         Cover Design by Dianna Hardy

This story was inspired by the story, Den Lille Havfrue, by Hans Christian Anderson, published in 1837.

Synopsis:
 The day you get married, is supposed to be the happiest day of your life. Dreams are made of such things. But I forgot. I could blame the witch if I wanted to - in fact I did, for quite a while after - but the fault can only lie with me. Being with him made me so happy - so very, very happy - that I chose to forget. I chose amnesia. If I had had any foresight into how my flippant choice would ruin him, I would have saved him the heartbreak. I would have forfeited my knowing him, my own selfishness, lived forever in the pain of unfulfillment, if it meant he could be spared....

When you love someone so much that your heart aches without them in your life, would you give up everything you've ever known to be with them? Would you give up your identity?

This is exactly what Aria did. But her sacrifice comes at a great cost, with startling consequences. With no memory of her previous life, she's forgotten what she really is, and who she's left behind: a jealous, possessive God, who's finally found her, and will stop at nothing to keep her heart from ever straying again.

In this dark and erotically passionate retelling of The Little Mermaid, can a love founded on humanity, stand the passing of time, an angry sea-God, and even death itself?

(Novelette: over 10,000 words)


My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

This book was a short 34 pages for me, but I could feel the love that the Aria felt through out the whole book. 
'Til Death Do Us Part takes start where Aria is marrying the person she feels is her prince Simon. She made a deal with a sea-witch to be human, but of course we all know what happens when you make those kinds of deals.. There is always something shady. In this case the guy that Aria fell in love with was not suppose to fall in love with her.
 After they say their I Do's a thunderstorm hits and Aria finds herself taken to the ocean with Poseidon her husband from the sea.  She deals with the heartache of not being able to be with Simon. Aria finds herself more human like than mermaid like and no matter what she will not be broken. She wants to feel love, warmth like the humans not be the one without feelings.

This is not your regular Disney story with singing in the background, this is a whole another remake of that and it shows that you have to make sacrifices to those that you love even if you are the one that will be hurt by the choice. But if true love prevails than love will find its way back to you. 

My rating: 5 wine glasses.




Monday, August 20, 2012

Author Interview with Paulette Mahurin

Author Interview with Paulette Mahurin:
This is my very first interview with the wonderful Paulette Mahurin! Thank you so very very much for being my first author!
The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

Bio: Paulette Mahurin is a Nurse Practitioner, specializing in women's health, in Ojai, California where she lives with her husband, Terry and their two rescue dogs Max and Bella (from a kill shelter). When she's not involved in writing she's doing another one of her passions, rescuing animals. The profits from her book are going to the first no-kill animal shelter in Ventura County, California.   


Where you can buy her book at:

Paperback:

Kindle:

Genre: Historical

Find Paulette Mahurin on Facebook:





With Charlotte Laws.


Book signing in Santa Paula, Ca.

Questions for the author:

1. What are three things that will not be found on the internet about you?
  • I love my job, being of service to the women of the community where I live.
  • I have a poor confront about going to kill shelters and seeing the animals behind bars.
  • I do not liking flying.  
2. What are three things that you need to get your morning going?
  • The sunrise. I do not like getting up when it's still dark out.
  • A cup of something with caffeine in it, whether it is coffee or green tea.
  • Cold water on my face 
3. Do you happen to have a favorite author?
    No there are too many. I love to read and there are so many great books, great authors out there,                 
    different genres, that captivate, that excite, that makes me want to pick up another book, to many good   
    stories, and talented writers writing about them.
4. Where did you get your inspiration to write your book?
     I was in writing class when the writing teacher brought in a stack of photos. We were suppose to pick one and write a ten minute mystery about it. I saw this photo of two women standing really close together long dresses that went from their neck to their ankles (circa turn of the twentieth century), they looked stiff and uncomfortable, like they were hiding something. I made them lesbians on the frontier afraid of being found out. That was the seed for the story. The actual inspiration came later, while doing research and I (actually my husband discovered) that Oscar Wilde had been imprisoned for having sex with another male in 1895. Britain had just changed their laws to make it illegal, a criminal offense, with a penalty of imprisonment of two years in a hard labor prison. Two years of laying on a wooden board, eating watery porridge, walking on a treat mill six hours a day, was torturous for me to conceive of. It keep me motivated and inspired to write this story, and keep the light on the injustice of Wilde's imprisonment, through the metaphor of the lesbian couple being persecuted.

5.  Tell us a bit about your book for those who have not read it yet.
      In the late 1800's Britain changed it's laws to make homosexual sex a criminal act. The story starts with this news going out over telegraph wires around the world. When the news hits a small Nevada ranching town it throws the town into chaos, and in particular a lesbian couple fearful that all the homophobia generated from the Wilde news would cause others to now be suspicious of them. This is a chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended consequences and how love and friendship heal. 

These next few questions are being asked by others. 

By: Terry M.-

1. What was the inspiration behind the story and how is it related to today's issues?
     The basic fundamental inspiration was my desire for tolerance, for people to be accepted for who they are and if their actions aren't hurting anyone then don't hurt them with intolerable words and/or actions. I tried to write to level the playing field of  bigotry, to hopefully help another, see a human being as just that, another human being, just like me, no different really except by our actions, but inside there are similar bundles of emotions, feelings, attitudes, that make up the human condition. I am no better or worse than anyone else except by the judgement that I am.

2.  What's with the cover photo and why did you choose it?
      The photo is my husband's grandfather, grandmother, grandaunt. It seemed to fit with the story line of the two women and a man that enters their life, plus it was from around that time period.

3.   The story is about a lesbian couple fearing that they will be found out, but what is the message you      
       wanted to get across?
     Lesbians are human, and deserve human rights. Can we view differences and agree to disagree without putting someone down? Can we really truly dig deep and inspect our own judgments and then ask ourselves what would we do, who would we be, in a similar situation. It is my hope that the reader takes away from this the true meaning  of there by the Grace... 

By: Wanda H.-

1. Will we see another book by you soon?
     I've got one in progress based on a true story of a couple that meets in an oncologists office and fall in love. They both have cancer.

By: Lynsee S.-

1.  Were any of your characters inspired by people in real life?
      I have a friend who is in the closet and chooses not to come out, not out of non-partial weighing of facts but because she was brutally molested and is fearful. I thought of her when I originally saw that photo of the two women. When I wrote, she was never far from my heart. She is still in the closet and I will honor that and be loyal to her no matter her decision. 

Thank you all for your wonderful questions! 

6.  What is the hardest part of being a writer?
      Some say the feedback along the way can be brutal, someone reads it and says it should never be written and it stops you dead in your tracks, you give too much weight to what others think, until it starts to take form, really shape up into something defensible, and then you start to get some good feedback that diffuses the response you felt about your writing baby not being good enough. You sit and write, and I spent six years in this process, and it feels like giving birth, its your creation, your child, you want it protected, not kicked in the teeth. After a while, it's all taken in stride, you take the good with the bad and start to objectify that it is just another opinion. 

7.  What is the easiest?
     Reading a good review, seeing that someone liked it, and that it made a difference, got someone thinking in a new say, stretched one's self perception of their value system. No question, that's by far the easiest thing of the whole process and the most rewarding, that writing touched someone. 

8.  What made you become a writer?
      As far back as I can remember, I've loved to write. When I was ten I wrote silly little short stories and I was in college a couple of these silly stories won awards. That encouraged me to write. I've started to finished a couple of murder mysteries, a love story, but never put them in book form. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap was the first that I saw through because I got ill and that illness afforded me the time I needed to write, which is really what I've wanted to do since I've been 10 years old.  

9.   Have you thought about writing a different genre?
      This is the first time I've written historical Fiction so yes, in fact it's what I usually write. I really liked writing historical Fiction cause it made me stretch my brain, I learned a lot, and that aspect was fascinating. There is another famous historical story I'm also very interested in writing about and may revisit this genre then. 

Fun questions:

1. Three things that make you happy.
  • My dogs
  • A great conversation with my husband 
  • Sitting in nature when the world is still and peaceful. 
2. Three things that make you upset or mad.
  • Animal Abuse
  • Child Abuse
  • Human Abuse
3. If you were stranded on a desert island who would you want to be stranded with?
     Someone who can cook, turn me on, and get me out of there! He'd look like Brad Pitt.

4. What is your favorite show?
     No specific favorite, usually like a good movie if it's on but do not like commercials so I go with Netflix.

5. What is your favorite book that you could read over and over again?
     The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz.

6. What is your favorite thing to do in your free time?
     Hang with family and friends and be spontaneous

7.  Favorite foods?
     Salads, good ones with salmon, fish, Greek cheese, and lots of different veggies.

8.  Favorite drink? Alcoholic or Non-alcoholic. 
     Coffee  

9.  If you could live anywhere, where would it be? 
     Hawaii because of the weather and beauty.

10.  The new cool thing now that we read about is vampires and werewolves, angels and demons. Which would you pick and why?
        Vampires and Werewolves: I've liked those reads more. Maybe because I love dogs so much and wolves....



From the author to me:  
" Great questions and it's been a lot of fun hanging with you and doing this. Hope this brings lots of new viewers to your blog." 




Saturday, August 18, 2012

Reign of Blood by Alexia Purdy

Reign of Blood (Reign of Blood, #1)
                                                                                            Copyrighted April 2012 Alexia Purdy
                                                                                            Cover Design by Stephanie Mooney
                                                                                             Edited by Michael K. Rose
                                                                                             A SIN B007YLP9YK


Synopsis:
"Never tease anything that wants to eat you. My name is April Tate and my blood is the new gold. Vampires and hybrids have overrun my world, once vibrant with life, but now a graveyard of death shrouded in shadows. I fight to survive; I fight for my mother and brother. The journey is full of turns that I am quite unprepared for. And I'm just hoping to make it to the next Vegas sunrise..."

In a post-apocalyptic world, a viral epidemic has wiped out most of the earth’s population, leaving behind few humans but untold numbers of mutated vampires. April is a seventeen-year-old girl who lives in the remains of Las Vegas one year after the outbreak. She has become a ferocious vampire killer and after her family is abducted, she goes searching for them. What she finds is a new breed of vampire, unlike any she has seen before. Unsure of whom she can trust, she discovers that her view of the world is not as black and white as she once thought, and she's willing to bend the rules to rescue her family. But in trying to save them, she may only succeed in bringing her fragile world crashing down around her.



My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

Reign of Blood was a really great book to read, but I have to give it 4 1/2 stars. Why you may ask? Well, even though the story line was good, I felt as though it was lacking in some parts.

Reign of Blood is about a young girl, her mother and her brother who are the "only" humans left in Vegas after a outbreak hits and turns people into vampires. Now I was really intrigued by this since I love anything to do with vampires. April, her mother Helen and her younger brother Jeremy live in Vegas in a home buried in the side of a mountain.
They go out every day to find food, and to also kill vampires. They are trying to survive as best as they can in a world that no longer exists.
 Now to me the coolest thing that the author did in this book is actually use the word feral to describe some of the vampires that were around. I have not heard of this word in a book before, I have only heard it in a video game. So that impressed me.

I liked the way April did not mind going into danger to kill the feral vampires and wanted to avenge her family being taken.
Also something new which I do not think I have read before, but I might have was the relationship with the vampires that were not feral or wild. If you were mated to someone, you could leave that mate for another one. I always read that if you were mated to a vamp. you were mated forever or for life. But this time that was a new twist to me.

Now I honestly wish the author would have described a bit more as to how the outbreak occurred, was it only in Vegas or was it around the world, was it airborne? I would have also liked to have known if they ever found a cure to the outbreak and why exactly April and her family were immune. I felt as though she could have elaborated a bit more but didn't want to, that is unless she is going to come out with another book about it. I would have also liked to have known did April tell Rye about Seraphin? When April had her mom did she ever get better or stay the way she was.

Even though this was a great story I just wish there was more to it. I had a lot of unanswered questions.

My rating: 4 1/2 wine glasses.







Where to find the author Alexia Purdy:

https://www.facebook.com/alexia.purdy

Where to buy Reign of Blood:

Amazon and Barnes and Noble:
Paperback
http://www.amazon.com/Reign-Blood-Alexia-Purdy/dp/061563978X/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1345814690&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=Reign+of+Blood+Paperback

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/reign-of-blood-alexia-purdy/1110475909?ean=9780615639789


Kindle and Nook Version:
http://www.amazon.com/Reign-of-Blood-ebook/dp/B007YLP9YK/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1345814708&sr=1-1&keywords=Reign+of+Blood+Kindle

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/reign-of-blood-alexia-purdy/1110475909?ean=9780615639789

Friday, August 17, 2012

Unbound by Cat Miller Book 1 in The Forbidden Bond Series

Unbound (The Forbidden Bond, #1)
                                                                                 Published September 25, 2011
                                                                                 Copyrighted: Cat Miller 2012
                                                                                 A Sin: B005PQTCZI

Synopsis: 
Betrayal, passion, family secrets, murder, and vampires...

What else would one expect during their freshman year of college?

After her birth, Danielle Vaughn, and her mother were ushered out of town in a surreptitious attempt to save her life; vampire prejudice can be deadly.

Like any normal nineteen year old, her biggest worry in life was blending in and working hard to keep her grades up. Her departure from a small town in search of a higher education causes a domino effect; she quickly finds herself maneuvering through a maze of enemies and lovers who are all hell bent on capturing her at any cost.

Danielle’s life is turned upside down by the return of her father and the society of vampires that shattered her human mother’s life. She must find a way to survive in the new world she is thrust into by a power hungry rogue on the hunt for gifted vampire youth. The hierarchy of the vampire nation is rocked by the existence of a demi-vamp who has challenged their narrow-minded views of the human race. 



My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.


WOW, AMAZING! Where do I start. Unbound had me from the beginning, and left me wanting more. The ending has me wanting to jump into book 2 right away. I think I honestly may go with withdrawals, I really want to know what is going to happen next. If you enjoy, romance, suspense, action, vampires then you should really go and pick up this book.

Unbound has you feeling exactly what the characters are going through. You will learn to love and hate Chase, Dani (Danielle), Cayden and a whole lot of other characters.
You will follow through the journey of Dani and her learning that she is not just a human but also a vampire. Also her mom Tessa has been hiding this secret from her for 19 years. Why? Well that you will have to read the book to find out. When Dani leaves for college not only does she leave behind her boyfriend Lucas (which he just made me want to smack him a couple of times through out the beginning of the story) her life ends up turning upside down. She meets other vampires and ends up torn between two of them. All the while she is wondering why men are just flocking around her and claim their feelings for her. But when she finds out the truth her life becomes in danger. Can she escape the danger? Can she pick the guy she wants to be with? Will her heart be broken? All these questions are answered in Unbound and will have you turning the pages to find out what happens next. It is a book you can not and will not want to put down. You will be wanting more, or at least I did. 

There was one part in the book that made me just tired of hearing this character. Vince is his name, he kept talking in third person and after a couple of pages of reading it, I was hoping this character died off or learned not to TALK IN THIRD PERSON! I am very glad he was not in the whole story, because that would have made me put the book down no matter how good of a story, characters, and plot was. 

One of the characters that I loved how Cat Miller wrote him out to be, was JR not only was he a child but he was so sweet. JR does not play a big part in this story so that is why I wrote a bit about him. He is the little kid you just want to hang around with and play video games with. You want to give him hugs and kisses. He was wrote in as such a lovable and kindhearted sweetheart.

My rating: 5 books!

Places to buy Unbound by Cat Miller

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/153128

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Unbound-Forbidden-Bond-Series-ebook/dp/B005PQTCZI/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1345208900&sr=8-2&keywords=Unbound+Cat+Miller

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unbound-cat-miller/1105949808?ean=2940013416970

You can follow Cat Miller here:
https://www.facebook.com/catmillerbooks

https://twitter.com/CatMillerAuthor


Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Blood Awakening by Wenona Hulsey Novella


Blood Awakening








Published by Wenona Husley July 7th 2011
Copyrighted by Wenona Hulsey 2011
ISBN13 9781452433783

Synopsis:
Nicole, a small town Alabama girl, and her best friend Kat take a weekend trip to Panama City, Florida. Kat looking to have a good time and Nicole hoping to escape the pain of losing her mother for a little while. Little did Nicole know, the escape would awaken a ancient power that is hidden in her blood. A power that evil wants for its own and will do whatever it takes to have it.

This short story is a look into best friends', Nicole and Kat, life before a centuries old grudge and Nicole's emerging powers rips them apart. A power that Nicole wants no part of as it brings her to her knees and forces her to walk away from her small town life and everyone she loves.



My review:

I won this book in a contest!

This is a short novella perfect for YA to read. And the prequel to Burden of Blood. There was no rush to the story and it flowed greatly together. Nicole and Kat are best friends who are going on a weekend stay in Panama City. While there they meet some guys and have a good time partying. 

There is a love romance, friendship, paranormal activities that will get you into the story.

You will definitely  want to read this book before you read Burden of Blood so you can get the back story of the characters.

My rating: 5 books


You can see her author page on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Wenona-Hulsey/e/B005BYI2U0/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

And you can buy Blood Awakening on Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Blood-Awakening-Burden-Series-ebook/dp/B005BQY68A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1345082339&sr=8-1&keywords=Blood+Awakening

Bulletproof by Jeff LaFerney Book 3 in the Clay and Tanner Series

 Bulletproof                                                                                      
                                                                                    World Castle Publishing April 25, 2012
                                                                                    Copyright by Jeff LaFerney 2012
                                                                                     ISBN 9781938243318
                                                                                     Cover: Karen Fuller
                                                                                     Editor: Beth Price


Synopsis: 
After a devastating injury to his father, Clay Thomas is abandoned by two of the people closest to him while being pursued by the local police chief for crimes he didn't commit. He is determined to find the culprit of a series of local robberies while fulfilling a promise to a ghost to solve his eleven-year-old murder. Clay and his son, Tanner, incorporate their unique mind-control abilities to solve the crimes, restoring broken relationships in the process. Bulletproof is the third exciting installment in the Clay and Tanner Thomas mystery/suspense series.


My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

First let me say this is the third book in the Clay and Tanner series. The first book is Loving the Rain, and the second book Skeleton Key. If you have read the two previous books and enjoyed them you know Jeff's writing style. It is unique his books have no explict language too them, no graphic scenes. 

Bulletproof has another mystery for us to figure out. Clay and Tanner can not get away from the mysteries that seem to find them. When Clay's father is injured and Clay is the prime suspect he must work on proving he is innocent with the help of his son and friends. New characters are introduced along with characters from the previous books. While Clay is figuring out the mysteries his love life takes a wild turn and he has to deal with that also. The relationship between Clay and Tanner is an amazing father/son relationship which Jeff describes perfectly in his writing. Of course there is the humor that will keep you laughing, and the mystery going on that will keep you guessing as you try to figure out who-dun-it. 

Jeff brings back the character Jasper, which if you have read my previous reviews you will know I love this little guy. (He does not like to be referred to as a midget) When Jasper is brought in on this book * NOW THIS IS A SPOILER* he is sprayed by a skunk and just the way that everything is described just had me giggling and re-reading it over just for the laugh. I do hope there is another book in this series, because I want to see what exactly is going to happen between Clay and Erika. 

If you like to read a good heart-warming story, with suspense, mystery, paranormal powers, love, family, friendship. Then I suggest you go out and get this book. I do not think you would be disappointed. 

My favorite quotes: 
" He'll never give us more than we can bear."
"When God begins a work in us, He'll carry it on to completion." 
"Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear."
Those 3 quotes that are the ones that stood out to me, because they are so true. I use the first quote a lot when myself or someone I know is going through a hard time. I know that God will never give us more than we can bear, he knows how much we can take. 

My rating 5 books

Places to buy the book:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bulletproof-jeff-laferney/1110358041?ean=9781938243301

http://www.amazon.com/Bulletproof-Clay-Tanner-Thomas-ebook/dp/B007WTJGCA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1345039760&sr=8-2&keywords=bulletproof+jeff+laferney

You can also find Jeff LaFerney on goodreads:
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4121665.Jeff_LaFerney


Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Best books is having a giveaway!


Best Books: 3000 likes giveaway on her page!




Want a chance to win the following?


  • Defiance (Defiance #1) by C.J. Redwine
  • Earth Girl by Janet Edwards
  • Personalized cup




Make sure you visit the link below to a great blog, and enter in. Good luck to you all.


http://bestbooks1.blogspot.com/2012/08/3000-likes-giveaway.html?showComment=1344889516129#c4790540016226529938

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Loving the Rain by Jeff LaFerney Book 1

Loving the Rain

Synopsis: 
Mind powers are to be kept unused and secret. At least that's what Clay Thomas believes until a determined rival from his past enters his life, seeking revenge. When Clay discovers that his athletic son has his own mind powers, they set out together to undo consequences from Clay's past and to put an end to Jack Harding's plans. As his enemy closes in and Clay and Tanner's powers grow, Clay is forced to choose between protecting his secrets and protecting those he loves most. Loving the Rain is a suspenseful story about an exceptional man forced to face the choices of his past and the extraordinary love and forgiveness that finally offer him peace from a lifetime of secrecy

My Review:
I received this book from the author to give an honest review.

Loving the Rain is the first book in Clay and Tanner series. Filled with sports, mind bending powers, mystery and a father/son relationship this is a great book to get into. There is no graphic parts no explicit language, just a good ol' book.


What would you do if you had the power to read people's minds or get people to do what you wanted them to do? What would happen if you were married and you didn't want that person to feel guilt. Would you be able to tell the person you love of the power you had for over 20 years? 

All these questions are answered in this book. Clay has been living with his secret for years and has never had anyone to talk to about it. That is until he starts noticing certain things going on with his son, who by the way is an amazing sports player. 

Now while Clay has been keeping this secret, from everyone he soon learns the consequence of keeping this secret from his love one. His wife knows Clay is hiding something but what she doesn't know and it ends up pushing her into the arms of someone else.

Clay of course can tell something is bothering his wife, but while dealing with what is going on with him he has a tendency to ignore all what is going on around him, which really started to bother me. I wanted to shake Clay and say HEY WAKE UP! 
Tanner his son is starting point in basketball and of course this makes a parent so upset because it brings up memories of what happened to him when he was in school playing sports. He has a grudge against Clay, and he will stop at nothing to humiliate Clay in any way possible. 

Janie Clay's wife finds herself feeling as though she is losing her husband and her marriage and goes into the arms of a man name John. Now mind you there is a whole twist with this guy because I so did not see this part coming in the book. I was going oh wow no way! 


The title of this book is great for it. Because Janie loves the rain always has and for some reason Clay and Tanner do not. Towards the end which was a surprising twist it all makes sense. 

My rating: 5 books


Giveaway being held on bookspark's blog.

2  more days to enter into the giveaway! Give it a try you may win!





http://book-spark.blogspot.com/2012/08/summer-giveaway-hop-2012.html

Saturday, August 11, 2012

Reflection of Secrets by Reyna Hawk Book 2

Reflection of Secrets


Synopsis:

Janie had high hopes of getting her life on the right path and freedom from the Petrilo Crime Family, but more tragedies and startling revelations send her plans right out the window. Janie's past trouble and sadness lurk back from the shadows. The beautiful life Janie has come to love takes a turn leading her right back to where she started in the clutches of the Petrilos. Will Janie survive another go around with the organized crime family?



My Review:

I received this book from the author herself to give an honest review.

I was sucked into this book right from the beginning. Reflection of Secrets picks up where the first book "Looking Through Blind Eyes" leaves off.  Now we follow the story of Janie going through depression while being a mother to Daniella. Also she is now back to living with Malachi. Danel her brother is very worried about her and wonders if living with Malachi is the best thing. He is very over protective and makes it know that Malachi shall not hurt his sister in any way. After a couple of months Janie starts hearing Daniella laughing and saying "dada" and she starts thinking she is going crazy. Little does she know Rico is a ghost who is visiting their daughter and keeping an eye on them both. Janie decides to take Daniella to Italy to visit Rico's family and while she is there she finds out more about Rico and that sets her over the edge.  This was a twist to the story that I did not expect.

When Janie comes back, she ends up starting a relationship with Malachi, and everything is going great in their lives until the worst thing that could possibly happens, happens. A mother's worst nightmare. Now fast-forward after this incident and this is where I felt a bit confused at first.
Janie ends up in the hospital and everyone is claiming she has amnesia she does not remember at all being with Malachi and marrying him. When this part of the story was told, I kept wondering what is really going on I felt as though I had amnesia myself.  Why would Malachi act the way he is it is totally different than in the beginning of the book.  I can not wait to read book three in this series to see what is going to happen.

With suspense and a love romance going on this is one book you will want to read. Though I do suggest you read book 1 so you will understand what is going on a bit.

One of the parts of the story that made me love the character Malachi is when he made it clear to Janie that he wants a relationship not a booty call. If that is what she wanted then do not come crawling to his bed. I know us women all love a man who thinks like that, because it shows they care about the woman and not the sex. 

My favorite quotes: "For where there is life, there is hope."

My rating: 5 books

Friday, August 10, 2012

The Demon Bride by Dianna Hardy (Book 3 of The Witching Pen Novellas)

The Demon Bride (The Witching Pen Novellas, #3)
                                                                     Expected Publication August 31, 2012 by Satin Smoke Press                         
                                                                     

Synopsis:

(Book Three of The Witching Pen Novellas)

Two thousand and eleven years after the birth of the Failed One, the Witching Pen will be made manifest on Earth by the Great Shanka Witch of the Old Scrolls. By her hand, the Earth will rumble and shatter, and all dimensions will bleed into one.

The true purpose of the Witching Pen has been revealed, and it must be destroyed before an apocalyptic prophecy comes true. There's just one problem -- the Pen is indestructible.

As everyone searches for much needed answers, Elena lays down plans for a radical mission to save her mother from the Shanka's shadow world.

Meanwhile, Mary has finally discovered who she really is, and what that means for the human race. 

What Mary doesn't know, is that Gwain has been searching for her for over ten thousand years, and had lost all hope of finding her. Now that he has her, he's faced with an impossible choice: does he save the woman who altered his very existence, or does he sacrifice her to save mankind?

(Book length: novel - approx. 70,000 words)



My Review:

Where do I start with this book! First let me state this:
REVIEW OF AN ARC, I RECEIVED FROM THE PUBLISHER!
SPOILER WARNING ALERT FOR BOOKS 1 and 2! PLEASE BE AWARE.

Okay now that, that is out of the way. Let me start on my review of The Demon Bride.

It takes place right where book 2 The Sands of Time left off. This time this more of Mary's and Gwain's story. Though the other characters will play a part, you will read as to why Mary and Gwain are playing a huge role in this book.
Dianna has done it yet once again wrote a book that will you keep reading and not wanting to put it down. You want to flip every page to see what exactly is going to happen. Also there is sex and explicated language involved just so the young adults out there know. I love how she writes a brief guide to the Witching Pen World so you are not lost. Big thank you for that.
Now Mary on the last book was in jail and somehow a portal opened and she was taken. By who we never found out until now. That person being from hell. I will not give it away as I want you to be able to read the book and find out for yourself. Gwain left to go and find her since he has feelings for her and he is pretty much going crazy without her around. 
Mary while being held in Hell, is having nightmares and is about to forego a transformation that she really had no clue about, and learns her name in the Old Tongue is Ymari. She also gets told who she really is and that story  plays a big part in this whole book. After being held in hell for however long finally Gwain is there to save her, and he puts up a fight. Mary also finds out who was the first angel and that she was created! I know big shocker there right considering she just remembers being left on a doorstep with a necklace and has lived in foster care growing up.
With Gwain by her side Mary and him end up bonding and starting what everyone thinks is the apocalypse according to the prophecies. Will it ever occur? You will have to read this book to find out. The ending will leave you breathless and wanting more.
On to the other characters that are in the book, as we all know Pablo and Amy are finally reunited and she has some shocking news herself and big surprise that I never saw coming. Though I am a little upset with Pablo and his anger issues I think they really need to be worked out a bit. Pablo is going to try to get back what is rightfully his, and that is his tribe. On top of that he is visited by one of the fay who asks him "Do you Love her" and will you not abandon her." He knows he loves her and will never abandon her but he is confused as to why he is being asked this pretty much. 
Amy on the other hand is struggling with her "real" feelings and those of Elizabeth (who if you read about in book 2 you will totally understand) they seem to be pulling her in two different directions. All of her memories are coming back. Amy is in love with Pablo but Elizabeth is in love with Paul also known as Etienne. 
Not much is going on with Elena and Karl in this book as they really don't seem to play too much of a big part in this book.

If you have read the other books in this series than I know you will definitely want to read book 3 in this series. You are going to be wanting more of all these fabulous characters! I know I want more of Gwain and his sexy angel self, hell any angel that can make you feel like Mary feels then that is what I want lol. 

The Demon Bride will be availble to buy on Amazon on August 31, 2012 so make sure you mark it on your calenders so you can go and pick yourself up a copy!

My Rating: 5 wine glasses


Where to find the author:
https://www.facebook.com/dianna13

Her websites:

http://www.thewitchingpen.co.uk/

http://www.diannahardy.com/









Project ELE book available on Amazon.

Have you read it yet? If not why not get your copy of Project ELE today! You will not be disappointed, have you read my review on the book if not look around on my blog to find it!

Go to this link to get your book.


 http://www.amazon.com/Project-ELE-The-Series-ebook/dp/B008R523K0/ref=sr11?ie=UTF8&qid=1344560292&sr=8-1&keywords=project+ele

Giveaway going on!

Giveaway being held along with an event on facebook that you can join!
Why not enter to see if you can win, just click the link below.



http://www.eleseries.com/

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Enter in to win!


I just found this contest on facebook! Why not join and see if you can win $75.00. Just click the link below and follow the rafflecopter. Good luck to you all


http://www.lisareneejones.com/win-75-every-time-if-i-were-you-sells-100/

What would you like to see on my blog?

This is for the followers I would like your input on what you would like to see here.

Do you like to read interviews on an author that I have already read and reviewed their book for? I have to ask them first to see if they have time to do one.

Do you like giveaways?

Do you want to see reviews on different genres of books?

As a follower of my blog I want your ideas. Leave me a comment please.


Thank you

Looking Through Blind Eyes by Reyna Hawk


Looking Through Blind Eyes

Synopsis: 

Janie and Daniel wanted to escape the monotony of small town life in Louisiana, so they packed up and head for the City of Angels, Los Angeles, in search of opportunities. What this sister and brother find is organized crime and a dark path that leads to death, suspicion, lies, betrayal and love. Who will survive on the wrong side of a gun?

My Review:

I received this book from the author to give an honest review. I got it as an ebook not paperback.

Can you say Suspense!!
When I first started reading Looking Through Blind Eyes I knew it would be a good book, it started off with action at the first chapter. Now after that everything died down it went into the lives of Janie and Daniel.   
Daniel is very secretive about his work, and of course he doesn't tell his sister Janie about his work instead he keeps her in the dark. Daniel will always protect his sister, even when she meets and starts an on and off relationship with a man named Scott. Who is no good for her. 

Janie is one of the main characters in the book and has a gift in which, when she touches people she normally will get a vision about them. And she can tell if they are good or bad. She normally keeps to herself so no one will know about her gift. Now I have to say her gift of visions does not play a big role in this book. 
While Daniel tries to keep her from finding out what he does for a living, his bosses want to meet his sister. Of course Janie ends up meeting Daniel's bosses and gets a vibe and vision from them. She knows they are men you do not want to cross all of them but one. Rico! 

When something tragic happens to Daniel, Janie is lost! She does not know what she is going to do so she turns to Rico. She starts falling in love with him and their story starts. Janie knows that things are being hiding from her. 


The one problem I had and I am not sure if it was the author's doing, the editor didn't check or if it was just the ebook. But on a lot of words there seemed to be a hyphen that there was no need for. Example: de-mons it should be demons, all one word. Also the word "cuz" it should be: because. I did not feel the need for the slang words in the story because the characters where not teenagers they were adults. It seemed out of place with me. Maybe there was a reason on why the author wrote that.

My favorite quotes or parts:

"When someone trusts you with their heart, it needs to be taken care of. Once it's broke, it never goes back the same again." I LOVED this quote because it is so true or at least to me.

Malachi to Janie:
"Where are you?" he laughed.
"I am stuck under the bed" Janie burst into a cackle of laughter. "I guess my belly is bigger than I thought" Malachi lifted the double bed from the floor so Janie could crawl her way out from underneath."
Janie is pregnant and she was hiding under the bed, this had me in a fit of giggles because I tried to imagine my pregnant self hiding under my bed and there would be no way I could fit. 

Now the author had me through the whole story thinking certain things and towards the end I was so surprised! I totally did not see any of that coming. I am leaving it very vague there because I do not want to spoil anything at all for future readers.
Besides the parts I had problems with this book deserved 5 stars because the story line kept me wanting to read more and the suspense was awesome.
 I am hoping there is a second book because I sure want to read it. I want to read more of Janie and the other characters!

My Rating: 5 books